MEAN WELL BIC-2200-24 is a bidirectional AC/DC power supply with a 24 V, 90 A, 2160 W AC-to-DC rating and grid-connected DC-to-AC energy recovery. Its digital 1U design combines automatic direction selection, fan cooling and active current sharing. This standard model has no communication protocol.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL BIC-2200 Datasheet (PDF)
The BIC-2200 section is on PDF pages 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model and Operating Modes
Series: BIC-2200; Complete ordering model: BIC-2200-24.
Communication: None; no communication suffix; Factory operating mode: Bidirectional automatic detection.
Typical direction-switching time: 1 ms.
AC-to-DC operation takes energy from the AC grid to supply a DC load or charge a battery. DC-to-AC operation returns energy from the DC side to the connected grid. Reverse operation synchronizes to the AC mains and is not a standalone AC source.
Automatic mode selects AC-to-DC when the set voltage exceeds the load voltage, and DC-to-AC when the set voltage is below the load voltage. The default target voltage is the model’s rated DC voltage. Use the operating characteristic and adjustment instructions for the actual load or battery.
This ordering code has no communication protocol and does not provide the CANBus-only battery mode or DIRECTION_CTRL commands.
Applications include battery formation and grading, V2G systems, electric-vehicle and scooter charging stations, marine charger modules, kinetic-energy recovery, battery testing, electrolysis and wastewater-treatment equipment. Match the complete system to its application and grid connection requirements.
AC-to-DC Output
| DC output voltage |
24 V |
| Rated output current |
90 A |
| Rated output power |
2160 W |
| Output current range |
0–90 A |
| Full-power DC voltage range |
24–28 V |
| DC voltage adjustment range |
19–28 V |
| Ripple and noise, maximum |
260 mVp-p |
| Voltage tolerance |
±1.0% |
| Line / load regulation |
±0.5% / ±0.5% |
| Setup / rise time |
1800 ms / 60 ms at 230 VAC, full load |
Observe voltage, current, rated power and derating limits together. Voltage and current maxima are not simultaneously available at every adjustment setting. Use SVR and the applicable operating instructions for voltage adjustment.
Voltage tolerance includes setup, line and load regulation. Ripple/noise is measured at 20 MHz with a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.
AC-to-DC Input
| AC input range |
180–264 VAC |
| Input frequency |
47–63 Hz |
| Typical AC input current |
11 A at 230 VAC |
| Typical power factor |
0.98 at 230 VAC, full load |
| Typical conversion efficiency |
93% |
| Efficiency test load |
75% |
| Typical cold-start inrush |
35 A at 230 VAC |
| Leakage current |
<2 mA at 230 VAC |
| Input current distortion |
THDi <3% at 230 VAC, 100% load |
Unless separately stated, specification measurements use 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C ambient. The efficiency value uses 75% load. The digital power stage includes active inrush limiting; the block diagram identifies PFC switching at 70 kHz and PWM at 60 kHz.
DC-to-AC Energy Recovery
| DC-to-AC rated input power |
1800 W |
| Maximum DC input current |
75 A |
| DC input voltage range |
19–28 V |
| Full-power DC input range |
24–28 V |
| Typical AC output power |
1720 W |
| AC output power test voltage |
240 V |
| Grid synchronization voltage |
180–264 VAC |
| Grid synchronization frequency |
47–63 Hz |
| Typical AC output current |
7.5 A at 230 VAC |
| Typical reverse power factor |
0.99 at 230 VAC, full load |
| Typical reverse efficiency |
93% |
| Reverse efficiency test load |
75% |
| Output current distortion |
THDi <3% at 230 VAC, 100% load |
The 1800 W figure is the rated DC input power in energy-recovery operation; the AC output has its own typical rating and conversion losses. Above 24 V on the DC side, current is automatically reduced to respect the constant-power limit. Below 24 V, the maximum DC input current limits available power. Apply the input-voltage and temperature limits as well.
The AC output voltage and frequency are set by the connected mains. Anti-islanding protection shuts down the AC output when an islanding condition is detected; re-power to recover.
Protection and Recovery
| Forward overload threshold |
105–115% of rated output power |
| Overvoltage shutdown range |
33.6–39.2 V |
| Short-circuit protection |
Output-current shutdown; re-power to recover |
| Overtemperature protection |
Output-voltage shutdown; automatic recovery after cooling |
| Anti-islanding protection |
AC-output shutdown; re-power to recover |
In AC-to-DC overload, constant-current limiting is followed by output shutdown 5 seconds after the DC output voltage goes low; re-power to recover. DC-to-AC operation uses a constant-power design, so the forward overload sequence is not a reverse-mode operating allowance.
Overvoltage shuts down the output voltage and requires re-powering to recover. The Fault signal also reports the specified AC failure, overload, short-circuit, temperature, overvoltage, fan-lock and islanding conditions.
Cooling, Environment and Derating
Horizontal thermal curve: 100% load from −30 to +45°C, then declining to 50% at +70°C; AC-input load curve: 100% from 180 to 264 VAC, at 60 Hz.
Working temperature: −30 to +70°C, subject to derating; Working humidity: 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
Storage: −40 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing; Temperature coefficient: ±0.03%/°C from 0 to 45°C.
Vibration: 10–500 Hz, 2G; 10 minutes/cycle, 60 minutes each on X, Y and Z.
Keep both built-in fans and the illustrated airflow path unobstructed. Apply thermal and input limits together. For fan-cooled operation above 2000 m, reduce permissible ambient temperature by 5°C per additional 1000 m; this note does not state a maximum operating altitude.
CN46 Remote Control and Alarm Signals
| CN46 connector |
HRS DF11-10DP-2DS or equivalent |
| CN46 pin 1 |
+12V-AUX: 11.4–12.6 V, 0.5 A maximum |
| CN46 pins 2, 4 |
GND-AUX; isolated from main +V and −V |
| CN46 pin 3 |
+5V-AUX: 4.5–5.5 V, for remote ON-OFF use only |
| CN46 pin 5 |
Remote ON-OFF, connected relative to pin 3 (+5V-AUX) |
| CN46 pin 6 |
CANBus-model function; not available on this no-protocol model |
| CN46 pin 7 |
DC-OK output |
| CN46 pin 8 |
Fault output |
| CN46 pin 9 |
T-ALARM output |
| CN46 pin 10 |
NC |
| 12 V auxiliary rating |
12 V, 0.5 A; ±5% tolerance; 150 mVp-p ripple |
Short the remote ON-OFF connection between pin 5 and pin 3 to turn the output ON; open it to turn the output OFF. The connection supports the specified electrical signal or dry contact. The auxiliary outputs are not switched by this remote control; use GND-AUX on pins 2 or 4 as their return.
DC-OK, Fault and T-ALARM are isolated, output-only TTL signals referenced to GND-AUX. High is 4.5–5.5 V, low is −0.5 to +0.5 V, and maximum sourcing current is 4 mA.
DC-OK is high when output voltage is at or below the catalogue 80% ±5% threshold and low when it is at or above that threshold. Fault is high at AC input ≤165 Vrms or for OLP, SCP, OTP, OVP, AC failure, fan lock or islanding protection; it is low at AC input ≥175 Vrms with normal operation.
T-ALARM is high when internal temperature exceeds the alarm limit or any fan fails; it is low when temperature and fans are normal. Alarm outputs must not be driven as control inputs.
CN47 Parallel and Communication Connections
| CN47 connector |
HRS DF11-10DP-2DS or equivalent |
| CN47 pins 1, 2 |
DA differential parallel-control signal |
| CN47 pins 3, 4 |
DB differential parallel-control signal |
| CN47 pins 5, 6 |
GND: negative-output signal reference; not a load connection |
| CN47 pin 7 |
CANH is reserved for the CANBus model |
| CN47 pin 8 |
CANL is reserved for the CANBus model |
| CN47 pins 9, 10 |
GND-AUX; isolated from main output |
DA and DB are non-isolated parallel-control signals referenced to CN47 GND. This negative-output signal return must not connect directly to the load. CANBus, where fitted, uses isolated GND-AUX instead; do not interchange the two reference grounds.
Follow the connector orientation shown in the mechanical drawing. Join DA to DA, DB to DB and the parallel GND references between units. Twist long CN47 signal lines in pairs to reduce noise.
Parallel Operation and Three-Phase Distribution
Maximum parallel units: 9; Maximum parallel output current: Rated current per unit × number of units × 0.95.
Single-unit SW50 setting: ON; CN47 parallel connection not fitted; Multi-unit SW50 settings: First and last units ON; all intermediate units OFF.
Use short, large-gauge output wiring. In a parallel system, the unit with the highest output-voltage setting is the master and determines the common DC-bus voltage. Observe each unit’s voltage, current and power limits as well as the 0.95 total-current factor. Below 5% of the total rated current, current sharing may be unbalanced.
In a three-phase, four-wire system, distribute the individual BIC units evenly across the phases and neutral; the nine-unit example uses three units per phase. Each unit still receives single-phase L-to-N voltage within 180–264 VAC, with FG correctly connected. The drawing shows 220 VAC phase-to-neutral and 380 VAC phase-to-phase; it does not permit 380 VAC across one unit’s AC terminals.
Mechanical Installation and Mating Parts
| Dimensions |
330 × 140 × 41 mm |
| Profile / case drawing |
1U; case 277C; general dimensional tolerance ±0.5 mm |
| Catalogue unit weight |
2900 g |
| Weight basis |
Catalogue packing reference per unit; not a measured net or shipping weight |
| AC terminal TB1 |
1 = AC/L; 2 = AC/N; 3 = FG |
| Installed AC terminal marking |
DECA T35-EO32-03 |
| AC-terminal maximum torque |
18 kgf·cm |
| DC terminals |
+V and −V; drawing marks two M5 positions |
| DC-terminal maximum torque |
10 kgf·cm |
| Mounting screws |
M4; maximum penetration 4.5 mm; recommended torque 7–10 kgf·cm |
| CN46 / CN47 mating housing |
HRS DF11-10DS or equivalent |
| CN46 / CN47 contact family |
HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent |
The side drawings show two M4 mounting positions on each side, 289 mm apart. The bottom drawing shows four M4 positions on a 225 × 78 mm pattern with the depicted 71.55 mm and 33.5 mm edge references. Allow for the input-terminal projection marked 13 mm maximum, terminal wiring and unobstructed fan airflow.
DF11-10DS is the listed mating housing. DF11-**SC is a contact-family designation with an incomplete suffix; choose the complete contact reference for the wire and housing. The catalogue does not specify a separately numbered MEAN WELL cable kit or promise these mating parts are included.
The LED is steady green in AC-to-DC supply operation, flashing green in DC-to-AC grid-inverter operation, and red for an abnormal condition such as overtemperature, overload or fan failure. SVR is the marked voltage adjustment.
For the specified dielectric-withstand and insulation-resistance tests, temporarily remove the marked screw A, then restore it after testing. Follow the manufacturer’s test and installation procedure.
Safety, EMC and Reliability
Dielectric withstand: Input/output: 3 kVAC; input/FG: 2 kVAC; output/FG: 500 VAC; Insulation resistance: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C, 70% RH; input/output, input/FG and output/FG.
Conducted / radiated emissions: BS EN/EN 55032 (CISPR32), Class A / Class A; Harmonics / flicker: BS EN/EN 61000-3-2, Class A / BS EN/EN 61000-3-3.
Minimum calculated MTBF: 462.9 thousand hours, Telcordia SR-332; 46 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C; Manufacturer warranty: 5 years.
The catalogue lists UL 62368-1, IEC 62368-1, CAN/CSA C22.2 No. 62368-1, TUV BS EN/EN 62368-1, EAC TP TC 004, IEC 62477-1 and TUV BS EN/EN 62477-1 approvals. These product qualifications do not certify the completed installation.
Immunity references BS EN/EN 55035 and BS EN/EN 61000-6-2. The listed tests include ESD 8 kV air (Level 3) and 4 kV contact (Level 2); radiated RF, EFT/burst and conducted RF Level 3; surge 2 kV line-to-line and 4 kV line-to-earth; and magnetic field Level 4. Voltage dips are >95% for 0.5 period and 30% for 25 periods; interruptions are >95% for 250 periods.