MEAN WELL CSP-3000-250 is an enclosed, single-output AC/DC power supply rated at 250 V DC, 12 A and 3000 W. It combines active PFC, built-in fans, selectable voltage or current programming, remote ON/OFF, a 12 V auxiliary supply, alarm signals and active current sharing. Use the output-mode, operating-area and installation limits below for the intended load.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL CSP-3000 Datasheet (PDF)
The CSP-3000 section is on PDF pages 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model and Output Specifications
| Complete model |
CSP-3000-250 |
| Model code |
CSP is the series; 3000 identifies the 3000 W power class; 250 identifies the nominal output voltage in volts. |
| Nominal DC output |
250 V DC / 12 A / 3000 W |
| Specified current range |
0 to 12 A |
| Constant-current region |
125 to 250 V; use the model-specific PC-mode operating-area diagram and the 3000 W limit. |
| Ripple and noise, maximum |
1000 mVp-p. In PV mode, measured with 20 MHz bandwidth using a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with parallel 0.1 uF and 47 uF capacitors. |
| Voltage tolerance / regulation |
Voltage tolerance ±1.0%, including setup, line and load regulation; line regulation ±0.5%; load regulation ±0.5%. |
| Typical efficiency |
92.5% at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C, the standard catalog measurement conditions unless otherwise stated. |
| Setup / rise / hold-up |
1000 ms setup and 80 ms rise at 230 VAC and full load; typical hold-up time 10 ms at full load. |
Input and Power Factor
| Input range |
180 to 264 VAC or 254 to 370 VDC; AC frequency 47 to 63 Hz. The catalog requires turning off the output when input is below 160 VAC. |
| Power factor |
Built-in active PFC; typical PF ≥0.95 at 230 VAC and full load. |
| Typical AC current |
20 A at 180 VAC; 16 A at 230 VAC. |
| Inrush / leakage |
Typical cold-start inrush 60 A at 230 VAC; leakage current <0.3 mA at 240 VAC. |
| Input load curve |
The static-characteristics plot shows 100% load across the specified 180 to 264 VAC input range at 60 Hz; thermal and installation limits still apply. |
Voltage and Current Programming
| PV / PC selection |
CN1 pins 5 and 6 shorted selects PV (output-voltage programming); open selects PC (output-current programming). Factory setting is PV at maximum output voltage with a jumper cap fitted. Removing that jumper selects PC at the maximum constant-current setting. |
| Built-in adjustment |
SVR2 sets output voltage or the constant-current point over 20% to 100% of the applicable maximum. Select PV or PC first. |
| External programming input |
CN2 pin 5 is PV/PC+ and pin 6 is PV/PC-. Use the catalog DC-voltage input or a 10 V PWM signal at 500 Hz to 1 kHz. Typical port current is 100 uA. These are control inputs, not output-power terminals. |
| External PV range |
37.5 to 250 V maximum. The PV graph spans 1.5 to 10 V external DC input, or 15% to 100% PWM duty, and is marked non-linear. |
| External PC range |
1.4 to 17 A maximum in the model-specific range table. The PC graph spans 0.8 to 10 V external DC input, or 8% to 100% PWM duty, and is marked non-linear. |
| PC operating area |
Programming current above the nominal 12 A requires lower output voltage and must remain inside the PDF operating area and the 3000 W power limit. It does not permit 17 A at the nominal 250 V. |
| Recommended high-performance area |
The shaded PC-mode region on PDF page 38 includes 9 A at 250 V to 12 A at 250 V, then the 3000 W boundary to 17 A at 176.5 V; the diagram extends down to 125 V. Use the complete I-V diagram for the intended operating point; the unshaded allowed area and shaded recommended area are different. |
Protection and Recovery
| Short circuit |
Output shuts down and latches off; re-power to recover. |
| Over-current / overload |
The specification gives 105% to 120% of rated output power. With CN1 pins 5/6 shorted, the factory protection behavior is constant-current limiting followed by shutdown after 3 seconds; re-power to recover. With the jumper removed, protection is continuous constant-current limiting. This jumper also selects PV/PC mode. |
| Over-voltage |
265 to 315 V; output shuts down; re-power to recover. |
| Over-temperature |
Output shuts down. It recovers automatically after the temperature falls, or by re-powering as stated in the catalog. |
| Fan failure |
Fan-failure protection is listed; a steady red indicator identifies a fan fault. Keep the cooling path unobstructed. |
Remote Control, Auxiliary Supply and Alarms
| Remote ON/OFF pins |
CN1 pin 3 = RC; pin 1 = RCG. Use one complete connection circuit from PDF page 40. In examples 2.2(A) and 2.2(B), an open switch means output ON and a closed switch means OFF. Example 2.2(C) reverses that logic: closed = ON and open = OFF. |
| Auxiliary supply |
12 V at 0.4 A. CN2 pin 2 = 12V AUX+; pin 1 = 12V AUXG. The auxiliary output may be used with the catalog remote-control circuits. |
| P OK relay contact |
CN1 pin 7 = P-OK; pin 9 = P-OK GND. Power OK is low (0.5 V maximum at 500 mA); power failure is high or open. An external voltage source and resistor are required; respect the 20 V and 500 mA limits and the 10 W relay-contact limit. |
| P OK2 signal |
CN1 pin 2 = P-OK-2; pin 4 = P-OK-GND-2. The catalog labels this a TTL alarm and shows an open-collector circuit. Power OK is low (0.5 V maximum at 10 mA); power failure is high or open. Use an external voltage source and resistor, maximum 30 V and 10 mA. |
Parallel Operation
| Permitted arrangement |
Up to three CSP-3000 units with built-in active current sharing, using short, large-diameter output wiring. Connect like-polarity CS+ and CS- signals together; do not reverse them. |
| Current-sharing pins |
CN1 pin 8 = CS+; pin 10 = CS-. |
| Constant-voltage parallel mode |
Keep the difference between unit output voltages below 0.2 V, fine-tuned with SVR1. Maximum combined current = rated current per unit × number of units × 0.9. Below 50% rated current per unit × number of units, current sharing may not be fully balanced. PV and PC programming are unavailable in this mode. |
| Constant-current parallel mode |
Each unit must carry no more than 90% of its rated power. PC can be used; PV is unavailable. Apply each unit's voltage/current operating area and all thermal limits. |
| System power planning |
The family headline is up to 9000 W (2+1), but the detailed parallel-operation limits require the 0.9 factor or 90% per-unit power condition. Do not treat three 3000 W nameplates as an unrestricted 9000 W continuous installation. |
Cooling and Environment
| Cooling |
Forced air from built-in DC fans with fan-speed control; airflow runs from the fan end toward the terminal end as drawn. Conformal coating is listed for this catalog version. |
| Operating temperature / derating |
-20 to +65°C. For horizontal mounting, the curve shows 100% load through +50°C, reducing to 50% load at +65°C. The upper ambient limit is not a full-load rating. |
| Altitude derating |
Above 2000 m (6500 ft), the catalog specifies 5°C per 1000 m ambient derating for fan-cooled models such as CSP-3000. This note does not state an unlimited operating altitude. |
| Humidity / storage |
Operating humidity 20% to 90% RH, non-condensing. Storage -40 to +85°C and 10% to 95% RH, non-condensing. |
| Temperature coefficient |
±0.05%/°C over 0 to +50°C. |
| Vibration |
10 to 500 Hz, 2G; 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes along each of X, Y and Z axes. |
Dimensions, Mounting and Power Terminals
| Body dimensions |
278 × 177.8 × 63.5 mm (L × W × H); case 982B, drawing tolerance ±1 mm. Height is also described as 2U. Allow additional clearance for terminals, cables and airflow. |
| Mounting holes |
Eight M4 side holes total across both sides and four M4 bottom holes are shown. Maximum screw penetration is 5 mm; recommended mounting torque is 7 to 10 kgf·cm. |
| Hole layout |
Bottom-hole centers are 236.3 × 162 mm, with the drawing showing 27 mm longitudinal and 7.9 mm transverse offsets at the indicated ends. The side-hole pattern uses the same 236.3 mm longitudinal spacing and 38 mm vertical spacing. Use the full drawing for orientation. |
| AC input terminal |
Pin 1 = AC/L; pin 2 = AC/N; pin 3 = protective ground (FG). Maximum terminal mounting torque 18 kgf·cm. |
| DC output terminal |
Pin 1 = V-; pin 2 = V+. Maximum terminal mounting torque 18 kgf·cm. Check the physical pin orientation against PDF page 44. |
Control Connectors and Mating Parts
| CN1 board connector |
HRS DF11-10DP-2DS or equivalent, 10 positions. |
| CN1 mating housing |
HRS DF11-10DS or equivalent. One mating housing is required to connect this 10-position interface; the number of fitted contacts depends on the functions wired. |
| CN2 board connector |
HRS DF11-8DP-2DS or equivalent, 8 positions. |
| CN2 mating housing |
HRS DF11-8DS or equivalent. One mating housing is required to connect this 8-position interface; the number of fitted contacts depends on the functions wired. |
| Contact selection |
The catalog gives HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent as the contact-family notation. The ** characters are an unspecified contact suffix, not a complete orderable contact number. Select the actual terminal suffix for the chosen housing and wire size; included mating parts are not stated. |
| CN1 remaining control assignments |
Pin 5 = GND for PV/PC mode choice; pin 6 = Mode. The other CN1 assignments are given in the remote-control, alarm and parallel sections above. |
| CN2 unused pins |
Pins 3, 4, 7 and 8 are NC. Keep them open circuit; do not connect them to other pins or signals. |
Status Indicator
| Steady green |
Power supply operating normally. |
| Slow flashing green |
1.4-second cycle: standby, remote OFF. |
| Fast flashing red |
200 ms cycle: output over-voltage or output voltage too low. |
| Slow flashing red |
1.4-second cycle: NTC fault, over-temperature protection or temperature-switch action. |
| Steady red |
Fan fault. |
| Red and green flashing |
200 ms cycle: line or control-signal fault as described in the catalog. Leave the documented NC pins open; the indicator does not authorize connecting them. |
Safety, EMC and Integration
| Listed safety standards |
UL62368-1, BS EN/EN62368-1, EAC TP TC004 and GB4943.1. Apply the relevant product certificates and final-equipment requirements for the installation. |
| Withstand voltage |
Input to output: 3 kVAC; input to FG: 2 kVAC; output to FG: 0.5 kVAC. |
| Insulation resistance |
100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH for input/output, input/FG and output/FG. |
| EMC emissions |
BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32) Class A for conducted and radiated emissions; harmonic current BS EN/EN61000-3-2 and voltage flicker BS EN/EN61000-3-3. |
| EMC immunity |
BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN61000-6-2. ESD: level 3, 8 kV air; level 2, 4 kV contact. Radiated RF, EFT/burst and conducted immunity: level 3. Surge: level 3, 2 kV line-to-earth; level 2, 1 kV line-to-line. Magnetic field: level 4. |
| Voltage dips / interruptions |
The table specifies >95% dip for 0.5 periods, 30% dip for 25 periods, and >95% interruptions for 250 periods under BS EN/EN61000-4-11. |
| Integration requirement |
This is a component for final equipment. The catalog EMC tests mounted it on a 720 × 360 × 1 mm metal plate; the finished equipment must be checked again for EMC compliance. |
Catalog Weight and Reliability
| Single-unit packing reference |
3.5 kg per unit (3500 g), from the catalog PACKING field. This is a catalog packing reference, not a measured net weight or a promised shipping-parcel weight. |
| Carton reference |
4 units / 14.4 kg / 1.39 CUFT; carton data are separate from the single-unit reference. |
| MTBF reference |
Minimum 721.1 thousand hours under Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); minimum 80.5 thousand hours under MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. These are statistical references, not service-life guarantees. |
| Manufacturer warranty reference |
The catalog states a 5-year manufacturer warranty; applicable manufacturer terms and purchase conditions govern coverage. |