MEAN WELL DBR-3200 series: Rack Mount Battery Charger - DBR-3200-48

Description

MEAN WELL DBR-3200-48 is a 48 V-class rack-mountable front-end battery charger with 55 A constant-current charging, a default 57.6 V boost stage and 55.2 V float stage. This model uses PMBus; select the charging curve and current for the battery and apply input and temperature derating.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL DBR-3200 Datasheet (PDF)

The DBR-3200 section is on PDF pages 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Model and charging application

Full model DBR-3200-48
Product type DBR-3200 1U rack-mountable front-end battery charger
Voltage designation 48 V battery class; use the actual boost and float voltages below
Communication option PMBus standard model with no communication suffix
Catalogue power class 3200 W

Suitable battery types include lead-acid flooded, Gel and AGM, plus Li-ion lithium-iron and lithium-manganese batteries. Configure the charging curve and current for the specific battery manufacturer requirements before connection.

Applications include battery backup, charging systems and central charging infrastructure. The catalogue describes a 1U low-profile design with power density up to 37 W/in³, active PFC and active inrush limiting.

Charging output and battery selection

Default boost charge voltage 57.6 V
Default float charge voltage 55.2 V
Rated charging current 55 A
Voltage adjustment by SVR 47.5 to 58.8 V
Recommended battery capacity 180 to 550 Ah
Battery back-leakage current <1.5 mA
Typical efficiency 94.5%

The default charging sequence is constant current, constant voltage, then float. The illustrated transition from constant voltage to float occurs when current falls to 10% of the constant-current level.

Use the recommended battery-capacity range and suitable current settings. A substantially smaller battery requiring a low charging-current setting can experience higher current ripple. The series power-class designation does not override voltage, current or derating limits.

Embedded charging curves and programming

Default, programmable boost / float 57.6 V / 55.2 V
Gel boost / float 56 V / 54.4 V
Flooded boost / float 56.8 V / 53.6 V
AGM boost / float 58 V / 54 V

These embedded presets use 55 A as the default constant-current setting. Select the correct battery curve; the model suffix identifies communication, not a different default battery voltage.

The PMBus version supports PMBus Rev. 1.1 at up to 100 kHz for reading information, monitoring status and adjusting output settings. Charging-curve parameters can be configured using the separately required MEAN WELL SBP-001 smart battery charging programmer and a personal computer. Refer to the installation manual for two-stage operation, stage timeouts and alternative curves.

Input, conversion and protection

AC input range 90–264 VAC
DC input range 127–370 VDC
Input frequency 47–63 Hz
Typical power factor 0.97 at 230 VAC and full load
Typical AC current 17 A at 230 VAC
Typical cold-start inrush 55 A at 230 VAC
AC leakage current <1.5 mA at 230 VAC
Overvoltage protection 63 to 75 V; output shutdown; reapply input power to recover
Overtemperature protection Output shutdown; automatic recovery after the temperature decreases

Protection features also cover battery undervoltage, no battery connection and short circuit. The status indications identify the relevant operating or fault condition; follow the installation manual when diagnosing a trip.

The 60 Hz input curve permits 50% load at 90 VAC, rising to 100% at 180 VAC; 100% is shown from 180 to 264 VAC. Apply the temperature derating at the same time.

The converter block diagram identifies 110 kHz PFC and 90 kHz PWM switching.

Voltage and current programming

PV adjusts output over 75–125% of nominal voltage: 36–60 V for this voltage class. Connect the external control between CN1 pin 27 (PV) and pin 29 (−V signal).

The PV graph shows 48 V from 0 V control to just below 0.4 V, a transition to 36 V at 0.4 V, a low plateau through 1 V, and 60 V at 4.7 V through 5 V. The graph is labelled non-linear; use its plotted anchors and the installation instructions rather than assuming one linear conversion.

PC adjusts output current over 20–100% of rated current. Connect the external control between CN1 pin 26 (PC) and pin 29 (−V signal). The graph shows 20% from 0.4 to 1 V control, increasing to 100% at 4.7 V and holding through 5 V; it is labelled non-linear.

Temperature compensation and remote control

Temperature compensation is −3 mV/°C per battery cell; this voltage class uses 24 cells. Place the NTC sensor against the battery or nearby. Normal charger operation is possible without the temperature sensor.

The DBR temperature-sense connections are CN1 pin 30 (RTH+) and pin 31 (RTH−). Select the sensor and wiring in accordance with the DBR installation instructions.

Remote control: connect CN1 pin 17 to +5V-AUX pin 13 for ON; leave the contact open for OFF. ON corresponds to 4.5–5.5 V and OFF to −0.5 to +0.5 V. Maximum remote-control input is 5.5 V. Auxiliary outputs remain available independently of remote ON-OFF.

Rack integration and parallel control

Compatible rack option DHP-1UT, ordered separately
Rack-system capability The DBR series specifies up to 12800 W in one 19-inch rack shelf, using the applicable rack and module configuration
Hot-swap provision Built-in ORing FET supports hot swapping in the documented rack arrangement

A single DBR-3200 is one front-end module, not a complete populated rack. Select the DHP-1UT configuration, system wiring and module count to meet the required output, and observe the rack installation instructions.

CN1 pin 24 is DB and pin 25 is DA for differential parallel control. These signals are non-isolated and reference −V signal. Rack-system ratings do not increase the charging-current rating of this individual module.

DBR combined input, output and control connector

CN1 connector Positronic PCIM34W13M400A1
CN1 mating housing Positronic PCIM34W13F400A1
CN1 pins 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 −V main output
CN1 pins 5, 7, 8, 9 and 10 +V main output
CN1 pins 11 / 12 / 13 +12V-AUX / GND-AUX / +5V-AUX
CN1 pins 14 / 15 SCL / SDA
CN1 pins 16 / 17 / 18 / 19 T-ALARM / Remote ON-OFF / DC-OK / AC-OK
CN1 pins 20 / 21 / 22 / 23 D0 charging-curve selection / A2 / A1 / A0 PMBus address lines
CN1 pins 24 / 25 / 26 / 27 DB / DA parallel control / PC current programming / PV voltage programming
CN1 pins 28 / 29 +V signal / −V signal; signal reference only, not load terminals
CN1 pins 30 / 31 / 32 / 33 / 34 RTH+ / RTH− / FG protective earth / AC line / AC neutral

CN1 pin 11 provides 10.8–13.2 V at up to 0.8 A; pin 13 provides 4.5–5.5 V at up to 0.3 A. Both include ORing diodes, remain available independently of remote ON-OFF and reference GND-AUX pin 12, isolated from the main output. The 12 V and 5 V auxiliary specifications are ±10%, with maximum ripple of 450 mVp-p and 150 mVp-p respectively.

CN1 pin 18 DC-OK is high (3.5–5.5 V) when output is at or below 32 V ±1 V, and low (−0.5 to +0.5 V) when output is at or above that threshold; it is associated with battery-low protection. Pin 19 AC-OK is high at input of at least 87 Vrms and low at input of 75 Vrms or less. Pin 16 T-ALARM is high on a temperature alarm or fan failure and low when temperature and fan operation are normal.

The alarm outputs are output-only, isolated signals referenced to GND-AUX, with a 10 mA maximum sourcing current and low level of −0.5 to +0.5 V. Communication and remote ON-OFF are also isolated and reference GND-AUX. D0, address lines, DB/DA and PC/PV are non-isolated and reference −V signal.

Use the connector orientation and numbered positions in the complete drawing. The mating housing is a component reference; it is not stated to be included with each charger.

Status indication

Green indicates float charging, stage 3. Orange indicates constant-current or constant-voltage charging, stages 1 and 2. Constant red indicates an abnormal condition such as overtemperature, overload, fan failure or charging timeout.

Flashing red indicates an internal temperature of 60°C; at this warning point the unit can continue operating normally without entering overtemperature shutdown. The catalogue specifies a warning through the PMBus interface on the PMBus version.

Cooling, derating and environment

Operating temperature −30 to +70°C, subject to derating
Horizontal temperature curve 100% load through 50°C, decreasing to 50% at 70°C
Cooling Built-in DC fans controlled according to internal temperature
Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing
Storage conditions −40 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing
Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C
Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2G; 10 minutes per cycle and 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z

Operation between −30 and −25°C requires 230 VAC input. For operation above 2000 m, reduce the allowed ambient temperature by 5°C for each additional 1000 m. Apply input-voltage and temperature limits together and keep the fan air path clear.

Safety, EMC and reliability

Catalogue safety approvals UL62368-1; CSA C22.2 No.62368-1; TUV BS EN/EN62368-1; EAC TP TC 004
Withstand voltage Input/output 3 kVAC; input/FG 2 kVAC; output/FG 1.5 kVAC
Insulation resistance 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH for input/output, input/FG and output/FG
MTBF reference 528.8 thousand hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332; 44.4 thousand hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C

Conducted emissions: BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32) Class B. Radiated emissions: BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32) Class A. Harmonic current: BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; voltage flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-3.

Immunity follows BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN61000-6-2: ESD 8 kV air Level 3 and 4 kV contact Level 2; radiated susceptibility Level 3; burst Level 3; surge 2 kV line-to-line and 4 kV line-to-earth; conducted susceptibility Level 3; magnetic-field immunity Level 4. Voltage dips are >95% for 0.5 periods and 30% for 25 periods; interruptions are >95% for 250 periods.

The EMC test setup mounts the charger on a 600 × 900 × 1 mm metal plate. It is a component for integration into final equipment; reconfirm the completed equipment’s EMC compliance. The catalogue lists a five-year manufacturer warranty, subject to the applicable manufacturer terms.

Dimensions, installation and ordering

Unit dimensions 325 × 107 × 41 mm (L × W × H); case 256
Weight reference 2650 g, explicit catalogue PACKING reference per unit; not a measured shipping weight
Carton reference 4 units / 11.6 kg / 0.93 CUFT
Charging programmer MEAN WELL SBP-001; a personal computer is also required for charging-curve configuration
Optional finish Conformal coating is available by request; it is not identified by the present communication suffix

The rack-module drawing marks two M4 holes, L = 5 mm, on each side, with associated 2.8 mm holes. The connector projects 11 mm maximum and the opposite-end callout is 10 mm maximum. The 325 × 107 × 41 mm case dimensions are distinct from the complete handle and connector envelope; use the complete drawing for insertion clearances and mounting coordinates.

The mechanical drawing shows airflow from the LED/fan end toward the combined connector end. Keep this path unobstructed in the rack.

All mechanical dimensions are in millimetres with a general ±0.5 mm tolerance. Unless otherwise specified, electrical parameters are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient. Follow the charger installation manual, selected communication instructions and battery manufacturer requirements.

MEAN WELL DBR-3200 series: Rack Mount Battery Charger - DBR-3200-48

Product form

MEAN WELL DBR-3200-48 is a 48 V-class rack-mountable front-end battery charger with 55 A constant-current charging, a default 57.6 V... Read more

$2,443.59 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL DBR-3200-48 is a 48 V-class rack-mountable front-end battery charger with 55 A constant-current charging, a default 57.6 V boost stage and 55.2 V float stage. This model uses PMBus; select the charging curve and current for the battery and apply input and temperature derating.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL DBR-3200 Datasheet (PDF)

    The DBR-3200 section is on PDF pages 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Model and charging application

    Full model DBR-3200-48
    Product type DBR-3200 1U rack-mountable front-end battery charger
    Voltage designation 48 V battery class; use the actual boost and float voltages below
    Communication option PMBus standard model with no communication suffix
    Catalogue power class 3200 W

    Suitable battery types include lead-acid flooded, Gel and AGM, plus Li-ion lithium-iron and lithium-manganese batteries. Configure the charging curve and current for the specific battery manufacturer requirements before connection.

    Applications include battery backup, charging systems and central charging infrastructure. The catalogue describes a 1U low-profile design with power density up to 37 W/in³, active PFC and active inrush limiting.

    Charging output and battery selection

    Default boost charge voltage 57.6 V
    Default float charge voltage 55.2 V
    Rated charging current 55 A
    Voltage adjustment by SVR 47.5 to 58.8 V
    Recommended battery capacity 180 to 550 Ah
    Battery back-leakage current <1.5 mA
    Typical efficiency 94.5%

    The default charging sequence is constant current, constant voltage, then float. The illustrated transition from constant voltage to float occurs when current falls to 10% of the constant-current level.

    Use the recommended battery-capacity range and suitable current settings. A substantially smaller battery requiring a low charging-current setting can experience higher current ripple. The series power-class designation does not override voltage, current or derating limits.

    Embedded charging curves and programming

    Default, programmable boost / float 57.6 V / 55.2 V
    Gel boost / float 56 V / 54.4 V
    Flooded boost / float 56.8 V / 53.6 V
    AGM boost / float 58 V / 54 V

    These embedded presets use 55 A as the default constant-current setting. Select the correct battery curve; the model suffix identifies communication, not a different default battery voltage.

    The PMBus version supports PMBus Rev. 1.1 at up to 100 kHz for reading information, monitoring status and adjusting output settings. Charging-curve parameters can be configured using the separately required MEAN WELL SBP-001 smart battery charging programmer and a personal computer. Refer to the installation manual for two-stage operation, stage timeouts and alternative curves.

    Input, conversion and protection

    AC input range 90–264 VAC
    DC input range 127–370 VDC
    Input frequency 47–63 Hz
    Typical power factor 0.97 at 230 VAC and full load
    Typical AC current 17 A at 230 VAC
    Typical cold-start inrush 55 A at 230 VAC
    AC leakage current <1.5 mA at 230 VAC
    Overvoltage protection 63 to 75 V; output shutdown; reapply input power to recover
    Overtemperature protection Output shutdown; automatic recovery after the temperature decreases

    Protection features also cover battery undervoltage, no battery connection and short circuit. The status indications identify the relevant operating or fault condition; follow the installation manual when diagnosing a trip.

    The 60 Hz input curve permits 50% load at 90 VAC, rising to 100% at 180 VAC; 100% is shown from 180 to 264 VAC. Apply the temperature derating at the same time.

    The converter block diagram identifies 110 kHz PFC and 90 kHz PWM switching.

    Voltage and current programming

    PV adjusts output over 75–125% of nominal voltage: 36–60 V for this voltage class. Connect the external control between CN1 pin 27 (PV) and pin 29 (−V signal).

    The PV graph shows 48 V from 0 V control to just below 0.4 V, a transition to 36 V at 0.4 V, a low plateau through 1 V, and 60 V at 4.7 V through 5 V. The graph is labelled non-linear; use its plotted anchors and the installation instructions rather than assuming one linear conversion.

    PC adjusts output current over 20–100% of rated current. Connect the external control between CN1 pin 26 (PC) and pin 29 (−V signal). The graph shows 20% from 0.4 to 1 V control, increasing to 100% at 4.7 V and holding through 5 V; it is labelled non-linear.

    Temperature compensation and remote control

    Temperature compensation is −3 mV/°C per battery cell; this voltage class uses 24 cells. Place the NTC sensor against the battery or nearby. Normal charger operation is possible without the temperature sensor.

    The DBR temperature-sense connections are CN1 pin 30 (RTH+) and pin 31 (RTH−). Select the sensor and wiring in accordance with the DBR installation instructions.

    Remote control: connect CN1 pin 17 to +5V-AUX pin 13 for ON; leave the contact open for OFF. ON corresponds to 4.5–5.5 V and OFF to −0.5 to +0.5 V. Maximum remote-control input is 5.5 V. Auxiliary outputs remain available independently of remote ON-OFF.

    Rack integration and parallel control

    Compatible rack option DHP-1UT, ordered separately
    Rack-system capability The DBR series specifies up to 12800 W in one 19-inch rack shelf, using the applicable rack and module configuration
    Hot-swap provision Built-in ORing FET supports hot swapping in the documented rack arrangement

    A single DBR-3200 is one front-end module, not a complete populated rack. Select the DHP-1UT configuration, system wiring and module count to meet the required output, and observe the rack installation instructions.

    CN1 pin 24 is DB and pin 25 is DA for differential parallel control. These signals are non-isolated and reference −V signal. Rack-system ratings do not increase the charging-current rating of this individual module.

    DBR combined input, output and control connector

    CN1 connector Positronic PCIM34W13M400A1
    CN1 mating housing Positronic PCIM34W13F400A1
    CN1 pins 1, 2, 3, 4 and 6 −V main output
    CN1 pins 5, 7, 8, 9 and 10 +V main output
    CN1 pins 11 / 12 / 13 +12V-AUX / GND-AUX / +5V-AUX
    CN1 pins 14 / 15 SCL / SDA
    CN1 pins 16 / 17 / 18 / 19 T-ALARM / Remote ON-OFF / DC-OK / AC-OK
    CN1 pins 20 / 21 / 22 / 23 D0 charging-curve selection / A2 / A1 / A0 PMBus address lines
    CN1 pins 24 / 25 / 26 / 27 DB / DA parallel control / PC current programming / PV voltage programming
    CN1 pins 28 / 29 +V signal / −V signal; signal reference only, not load terminals
    CN1 pins 30 / 31 / 32 / 33 / 34 RTH+ / RTH− / FG protective earth / AC line / AC neutral

    CN1 pin 11 provides 10.8–13.2 V at up to 0.8 A; pin 13 provides 4.5–5.5 V at up to 0.3 A. Both include ORing diodes, remain available independently of remote ON-OFF and reference GND-AUX pin 12, isolated from the main output. The 12 V and 5 V auxiliary specifications are ±10%, with maximum ripple of 450 mVp-p and 150 mVp-p respectively.

    CN1 pin 18 DC-OK is high (3.5–5.5 V) when output is at or below 32 V ±1 V, and low (−0.5 to +0.5 V) when output is at or above that threshold; it is associated with battery-low protection. Pin 19 AC-OK is high at input of at least 87 Vrms and low at input of 75 Vrms or less. Pin 16 T-ALARM is high on a temperature alarm or fan failure and low when temperature and fan operation are normal.

    The alarm outputs are output-only, isolated signals referenced to GND-AUX, with a 10 mA maximum sourcing current and low level of −0.5 to +0.5 V. Communication and remote ON-OFF are also isolated and reference GND-AUX. D0, address lines, DB/DA and PC/PV are non-isolated and reference −V signal.

    Use the connector orientation and numbered positions in the complete drawing. The mating housing is a component reference; it is not stated to be included with each charger.

    Status indication

    Green indicates float charging, stage 3. Orange indicates constant-current or constant-voltage charging, stages 1 and 2. Constant red indicates an abnormal condition such as overtemperature, overload, fan failure or charging timeout.

    Flashing red indicates an internal temperature of 60°C; at this warning point the unit can continue operating normally without entering overtemperature shutdown. The catalogue specifies a warning through the PMBus interface on the PMBus version.

    Cooling, derating and environment

    Operating temperature −30 to +70°C, subject to derating
    Horizontal temperature curve 100% load through 50°C, decreasing to 50% at 70°C
    Cooling Built-in DC fans controlled according to internal temperature
    Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing
    Storage conditions −40 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing
    Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C
    Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2G; 10 minutes per cycle and 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z

    Operation between −30 and −25°C requires 230 VAC input. For operation above 2000 m, reduce the allowed ambient temperature by 5°C for each additional 1000 m. Apply input-voltage and temperature limits together and keep the fan air path clear.

    Safety, EMC and reliability

    Catalogue safety approvals UL62368-1; CSA C22.2 No.62368-1; TUV BS EN/EN62368-1; EAC TP TC 004
    Withstand voltage Input/output 3 kVAC; input/FG 2 kVAC; output/FG 1.5 kVAC
    Insulation resistance 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH for input/output, input/FG and output/FG
    MTBF reference 528.8 thousand hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332; 44.4 thousand hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C

    Conducted emissions: BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32) Class B. Radiated emissions: BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32) Class A. Harmonic current: BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; voltage flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-3.

    Immunity follows BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN61000-6-2: ESD 8 kV air Level 3 and 4 kV contact Level 2; radiated susceptibility Level 3; burst Level 3; surge 2 kV line-to-line and 4 kV line-to-earth; conducted susceptibility Level 3; magnetic-field immunity Level 4. Voltage dips are >95% for 0.5 periods and 30% for 25 periods; interruptions are >95% for 250 periods.

    The EMC test setup mounts the charger on a 600 × 900 × 1 mm metal plate. It is a component for integration into final equipment; reconfirm the completed equipment’s EMC compliance. The catalogue lists a five-year manufacturer warranty, subject to the applicable manufacturer terms.

    Dimensions, installation and ordering

    Unit dimensions 325 × 107 × 41 mm (L × W × H); case 256
    Weight reference 2650 g, explicit catalogue PACKING reference per unit; not a measured shipping weight
    Carton reference 4 units / 11.6 kg / 0.93 CUFT
    Charging programmer MEAN WELL SBP-001; a personal computer is also required for charging-curve configuration
    Optional finish Conformal coating is available by request; it is not identified by the present communication suffix

    The rack-module drawing marks two M4 holes, L = 5 mm, on each side, with associated 2.8 mm holes. The connector projects 11 mm maximum and the opposite-end callout is 10 mm maximum. The 325 × 107 × 41 mm case dimensions are distinct from the complete handle and connector envelope; use the complete drawing for insertion clearances and mounting coordinates.

    The mechanical drawing shows airflow from the LED/fan end toward the combined connector end. Keep this path unobstructed in the rack.

    All mechanical dimensions are in millimetres with a general ±0.5 mm tolerance. Unless otherwise specified, electrical parameters are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient. Follow the charger installation manual, selected communication instructions and battery manufacturer requirements.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa