MEAN WELL GC220 series: Two-stage Battery Charger - GC220A24-AD1

Description

MEAN WELL GC220A24-AD1 is a two-stage battery charger with a typical 27.2 V charging output, 8 A continuous output current and a catalogue-rated 217.6 W output. This 24 V battery-voltage-code model uses the Anderson (AD1) connector. Match the battery chemistry, charging voltage and permitted current before use.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL GC220 Datasheet (PDF)

The GC220 section is on PDF pages 13, 14, 15. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Model and charging selection

Complete order code GC220A24-AD1
Series and voltage code GC220: single-output battery charger. A24 identifies the 24 V battery-voltage code; the typical charger output is 27.2 V.
Selected connector code AD1; optional configuration with Anderson (AD1).

The series is intended for lead-acid batteries (flooded, gel and AGM) and Li-ion battery applications described as lithium iron and lithium manganese in the catalogue. Charger specifications may require modification for the particular battery. Confirm compatibility with the battery manufacturer and MEAN WELL; nominal battery voltage alone is insufficient.

Charging output

Typical charging voltage 27.2 V DC.
Continuous output current (typical) 8 A.
Rated output power 217.6 W.
Recommended battery capacity 40–125 Ah; manufacturer-suggested range. Observe the battery manufacturer's maximum charging-current limit.
Charging stages and indication Stage 1: constant current (CC), red LED. Stage 2: constant voltage (CV) / floating charge, green LED.
Constant-current operating region 50–100% of rated output voltage. The charging curve shows current tapering during CV operation toward its 10% reference line.

The charging curve is a stage illustration, not a fixed charging-time guarantee. Respect the specified current and power limits as well as the battery's permitted charging profile.

AC and DC input

Input voltage and frequency 90–264 VAC or 127–370 VDC; 47–63 Hz AC.
Input class and inlet Class I with protective earth; three-pole IEC320-C14 AC inlet. Use a suitable grounded mains connection.
Active PFC / power factor (typical) Built-in active PFC; PF >0.90 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC, full load.
Efficiency (typical) 92.5%, under the default 230 VAC / rated-load / 25°C test conditions.
AC current 4 A at 115 VAC; 2 A at 230 VAC.
Inrush / leakage / no-load power Inrush maximum 120 A at 230 VAC; leakage maximum 1.5 mA at 240 VAC; no-load consumption <1 W.

Protection

Overload 90–110% of rated output power; constant-current limiting, with automatic recovery after the fault is removed.
Short circuit Hiccup mode, with automatic recovery after the fault is removed.
Overvoltage 105–135% of rated output voltage; output shutdown, re-power to recover.
Overtemperature 95±10°C, sensed by TSW1; power-transistor heatsink. Output shuts down; it recovers automatically after the temperature falls. This is a protection-sensor threshold, not the permitted external ambient temperature.

Cooling and derating

Working temperature and cooling -30 to 60°C, subject to the derating curves; free-air convection, horizontal orientation.
Temperature curve at 230 VAC -30°C: 100%; 50°C: 100%; 60°C: 80%. Reduce load along the sloped section.
Temperature curve at 100 VAC -30°C: 100%; 40°C: 100%; 60°C: 50%. Reduce load along the sloped section.
Input-voltage curve 90 VAC: 90%; 100 VAC: 100%; 264 VAC: 100%; AC test frequency 60 Hz.

Apply input-voltage and temperature derating together; the maximum ambient rating does not imply full-load operation.

Above 2000 m, reduce allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per additional 1000 m for these fanless units. This temperature correction is not a separately specified maximum operating-altitude approval.

Environment and reliability

Humidity Working: 20–90% RH, non-condensing. Storage: 10–95% RH.
Storage temperature −40 to +85°C.
Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2G; 10 min/cycle; 60 min along each X, Y and Z axis.
MTBF Minimum 1557.3 thousand hours, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); minimum 170.2 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.

Dimensions, connections and ordering

Dimensions 210 × 85 × 46 mm (L × W × H); case 961A; drawing tolerance ±1 mm.
Construction Fully enclosed plastic case with a two-colour charging-status LED.
Selected output connector AD1: Anderson (AD1); optional model configuration.
Output cable SJTW 14AWG × 2C; 1000±50 mm
Housing and contacts Anderson 1327FP red housing (+V), 1327G6FP black housing (−V), and 261G2 contacts rated 45 A, or equivalent.
Connector rating scope The 45 A figure is a contact-component rating; this charger's continuous output remains 8 A.
Unit mass reference 1200 g, from the catalogue PACKING reference per unit; not a measured net weight or shipping-package weight.

These references identify the fitted output-connector construction. Loose contacts, mating housings and additional leads are not stated as included.

GC220 AD1 is the optional connector configuration selected by this complete order code.

Other output plugs and cable types are available by customer request. Confirm the complete approved configuration with the supplier; the R7B and AD1 versions are distinct order codes.

The AC inlet is specified, but an included AC mains cord is not identified in these pages. Confirm regional cord supply with the seller.

Safety, EMC and application notes

Safety-standard scope TUV BS EN/EN62368-1 and EAC TP TC 004. UL1012 applies to AD1 versions only.
Listed approvals UL / TUV / CB / FCC / CE / UKCA / EAC, as listed for this connector configuration.
Isolation Input-to-output withstand: 3 kVAC. Input-to-output insulation resistance: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
EMC emissions BS EN/EN55032 Class B; FCC Part 15 / CISPR22 Class B; CAN ICES-3(B)/NMB-3(B); BS EN/EN61000-3-2 and -3-3; EAC TP TC 020.
EMC immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -8 and -11; BS EN/EN55035, light-industry level; EAC TP TC 020.
Measurement basis Unless otherwise specified: 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient.
Catalogue warranty statement The manufacturer datasheet lists a 2-year warranty; applicable sales terms are confirmed with the supplier.

The charger is an independent unit; the final complete equipment must still be checked for EMC compliance.

Use the full mechanical drawing and the supplied unit's instructions when selecting connectors and planning installation.

MEAN WELL GC220 series: Two-stage Battery Charger - GC220A24-AD1

Product form

MEAN WELL GC220A24-AD1 is a two-stage battery charger with a typical 27.2 V charging output, 8 A continuous output current... Read more

$159.69 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL GC220A24-AD1 is a two-stage battery charger with a typical 27.2 V charging output, 8 A continuous output current and a catalogue-rated 217.6 W output. This 24 V battery-voltage-code model uses the Anderson (AD1) connector. Match the battery chemistry, charging voltage and permitted current before use.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL GC220 Datasheet (PDF)

    The GC220 section is on PDF pages 13, 14, 15. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Model and charging selection

    Complete order code GC220A24-AD1
    Series and voltage code GC220: single-output battery charger. A24 identifies the 24 V battery-voltage code; the typical charger output is 27.2 V.
    Selected connector code AD1; optional configuration with Anderson (AD1).

    The series is intended for lead-acid batteries (flooded, gel and AGM) and Li-ion battery applications described as lithium iron and lithium manganese in the catalogue. Charger specifications may require modification for the particular battery. Confirm compatibility with the battery manufacturer and MEAN WELL; nominal battery voltage alone is insufficient.

    Charging output

    Typical charging voltage 27.2 V DC.
    Continuous output current (typical) 8 A.
    Rated output power 217.6 W.
    Recommended battery capacity 40–125 Ah; manufacturer-suggested range. Observe the battery manufacturer's maximum charging-current limit.
    Charging stages and indication Stage 1: constant current (CC), red LED. Stage 2: constant voltage (CV) / floating charge, green LED.
    Constant-current operating region 50–100% of rated output voltage. The charging curve shows current tapering during CV operation toward its 10% reference line.

    The charging curve is a stage illustration, not a fixed charging-time guarantee. Respect the specified current and power limits as well as the battery's permitted charging profile.

    AC and DC input

    Input voltage and frequency 90–264 VAC or 127–370 VDC; 47–63 Hz AC.
    Input class and inlet Class I with protective earth; three-pole IEC320-C14 AC inlet. Use a suitable grounded mains connection.
    Active PFC / power factor (typical) Built-in active PFC; PF >0.90 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC, full load.
    Efficiency (typical) 92.5%, under the default 230 VAC / rated-load / 25°C test conditions.
    AC current 4 A at 115 VAC; 2 A at 230 VAC.
    Inrush / leakage / no-load power Inrush maximum 120 A at 230 VAC; leakage maximum 1.5 mA at 240 VAC; no-load consumption <1 W.

    Protection

    Overload 90–110% of rated output power; constant-current limiting, with automatic recovery after the fault is removed.
    Short circuit Hiccup mode, with automatic recovery after the fault is removed.
    Overvoltage 105–135% of rated output voltage; output shutdown, re-power to recover.
    Overtemperature 95±10°C, sensed by TSW1; power-transistor heatsink. Output shuts down; it recovers automatically after the temperature falls. This is a protection-sensor threshold, not the permitted external ambient temperature.

    Cooling and derating

    Working temperature and cooling -30 to 60°C, subject to the derating curves; free-air convection, horizontal orientation.
    Temperature curve at 230 VAC -30°C: 100%; 50°C: 100%; 60°C: 80%. Reduce load along the sloped section.
    Temperature curve at 100 VAC -30°C: 100%; 40°C: 100%; 60°C: 50%. Reduce load along the sloped section.
    Input-voltage curve 90 VAC: 90%; 100 VAC: 100%; 264 VAC: 100%; AC test frequency 60 Hz.

    Apply input-voltage and temperature derating together; the maximum ambient rating does not imply full-load operation.

    Above 2000 m, reduce allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per additional 1000 m for these fanless units. This temperature correction is not a separately specified maximum operating-altitude approval.

    Environment and reliability

    Humidity Working: 20–90% RH, non-condensing. Storage: 10–95% RH.
    Storage temperature −40 to +85°C.
    Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
    Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2G; 10 min/cycle; 60 min along each X, Y and Z axis.
    MTBF Minimum 1557.3 thousand hours, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); minimum 170.2 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.

    Dimensions, connections and ordering

    Dimensions 210 × 85 × 46 mm (L × W × H); case 961A; drawing tolerance ±1 mm.
    Construction Fully enclosed plastic case with a two-colour charging-status LED.
    Selected output connector AD1: Anderson (AD1); optional model configuration.
    Output cable SJTW 14AWG × 2C; 1000±50 mm
    Housing and contacts Anderson 1327FP red housing (+V), 1327G6FP black housing (−V), and 261G2 contacts rated 45 A, or equivalent.
    Connector rating scope The 45 A figure is a contact-component rating; this charger's continuous output remains 8 A.
    Unit mass reference 1200 g, from the catalogue PACKING reference per unit; not a measured net weight or shipping-package weight.

    These references identify the fitted output-connector construction. Loose contacts, mating housings and additional leads are not stated as included.

    GC220 AD1 is the optional connector configuration selected by this complete order code.

    Other output plugs and cable types are available by customer request. Confirm the complete approved configuration with the supplier; the R7B and AD1 versions are distinct order codes.

    The AC inlet is specified, but an included AC mains cord is not identified in these pages. Confirm regional cord supply with the seller.

    Safety, EMC and application notes

    Safety-standard scope TUV BS EN/EN62368-1 and EAC TP TC 004. UL1012 applies to AD1 versions only.
    Listed approvals UL / TUV / CB / FCC / CE / UKCA / EAC, as listed for this connector configuration.
    Isolation Input-to-output withstand: 3 kVAC. Input-to-output insulation resistance: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
    EMC emissions BS EN/EN55032 Class B; FCC Part 15 / CISPR22 Class B; CAN ICES-3(B)/NMB-3(B); BS EN/EN61000-3-2 and -3-3; EAC TP TC 020.
    EMC immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -8 and -11; BS EN/EN55035, light-industry level; EAC TP TC 020.
    Measurement basis Unless otherwise specified: 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient.
    Catalogue warranty statement The manufacturer datasheet lists a 2-year warranty; applicable sales terms are confirmed with the supplier.

    The charger is an independent unit; the final complete equipment must still be checked for EMC compliance.

    Use the full mechanical drawing and the supplied unit's instructions when selecting connectors and planning installation.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa