MEAN WELL GEM06I series: Interchangeable-Plug Medical AC/DC Adapter - GEM06I05-USB

Description

MEAN WELL GEM06I05-USB is a GEM06I medical AC/DC adapter providing 5 VDC at 1.2 A, with a catalogue maximum rated power of 6 W. This version has a built-in USB Type-A output socket. Its Class II design uses an interchangeable AC plug sold separately. Apply the model-specific load, temperature and medical-integration conditions below.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL GEM06I Datasheet (PDF)

The GEM06I section is on PDF pages 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Model and Configuration

Complete order number GEM06I05-USB.
Safety model number GEM06I05.
Product type Interchangeable-Plug Medical AC/DC Adapter; wall-mounted, single DC output.
Input construction Class II, without a protective-earth pin; interchangeable AC plug ordered separately.
Output connection Built-in USB Type-A socket, 5 V model.
Housing Fully enclosed 94V-0 flame-retardant plastic case; IP22 marking in the applicable catalogue.
No-load consumption <0.3 W.
Energy-efficiency statement Level V; EISA 2007 / DoE and EU ErP statements in the 2020-10-30 catalogue.
Catalogue warranty 3 years.

Intended applications include blood-glucose and blood-pressure meters, nebulizers, inhalers, portable medical equipment and sleep-apnea devices. Apply the model-specific medical and operating conditions below.

Model-Specific DC Output

Nominal output 5 VDC.
Rated output current 1.2 A.
Current range 0–1.2 A.
Catalogue-rated output power, maximum 6 W.
Ripple and noise, maximum 50 mVp-p.
Voltage tolerance ±5.0%.
Line regulation ±0.5%.
Load regulation ±5.0%.
Efficiency, typical 70%.

Observe the stated voltage, current and power ratings together. Output-voltage tolerance includes set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.

Input and Timing

Voltage range 80–264 VAC or 113–370 VDC.
AC frequency 47–63 Hz.
AC input current 0.18 A at 100 VAC.
Cold-start inrush, maximum 15 A at 115 VAC; 30 A at 230 VAC.
Touch current <55 µA at 264 VAC.
Set-up / rise / hold-up time 1000 / 50 / 12 ms. At full load; default catalogue measurement condition is 230 VAC.

Protection

Short circuit and overload >105% rated output power; hiccup mode with automatic recovery after the fault condition is removed.
Overvoltage Zener-diode clamp.

Temperature, Input Derating and Environment

Working temperature −20 to +40°C for this 5 V version, as limited by its dedicated curve.
Ambient-temperature curve 100% load from −20 to +40°C; the 5 V branch ends at +40°C.
Input-voltage curve 80% load at 80 VAC, increasing to 100% at 115 VAC; 100% from 115 to 264 VAC.
Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
Storage temperature and humidity −20 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
Temperature coefficient ±0.04%/°C over 0–50°C.
Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle and 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z axes.

Apply the ambient-temperature and low-input-voltage load restrictions together; the upper operating temperature does not represent unrestricted full-load operation.

Medical Insulation and Safety

Primary-to-secondary isolation 2 × MOPP.
Electric-shock protection Class II power unit without a protective-earth pin.
Dielectric withstand Input to output: 5656 VDC.
Insulation resistance Input to output: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
Catalogue-listed safety standards TUV EN60601-1; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1 (3.1 version); CAN/CSA-C22.2 No. 60601-1, 3rd edition; EAC TP TC 004.
Home-healthcare standard scope GEM06I05-USB is explicitly excluded from EN60601-1-11 and ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1-11 in the catalogue.

The catalogue identifies the adapter for BF applications. This is a power-supply selection characteristic; medical-device safety, applied-part classification and EMC compliance must be established for the complete equipment. The standards above describe this 2020-10-30 catalogue version.

Electromagnetic Compatibility

Conducted and radiated emissions EN55011 (CISPR11), FCC Part 15 and Part 18 / CISPR22, Class B.
Harmonic current EN61000-3-2, Class A.
Voltage flicker EN61000-3-3.
Immunity framework EN60601-1-2 and EN61204-3.
ESD EN61000-4-2: Level 4, 15 kV air; Level 4, 8 kV contact.
Radiated RF EN61000-4-3: Level 3, 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz; Table 9, 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz.
EFT bursts EN61000-4-4: Level 3, 2 kV.
Surge EN61000-4-5: Level 3, 1 kV line-to-line.
Conducted RF EN61000-4-6: Level 2, 3 V.
Magnetic field EN61000-4-8: Level 4, 30 A/m.
Dips and interruptions EN61000-4-11: >95% dip for 0.5 periods; 30% dip for 25 periods; >95% interruption for 250 periods.

The final equipment must be checked again for whole-system EMC compliance, as required by the catalogue integration note.

Mechanical Details and Output Connection

Dimensions, L × W × H 73.9 × 39 × 48.5 mm; refer to the selected AC-plug outline in the corresponding mechanical drawing.
Single-unit catalogue mass 72 g, the explicit per-unit PACKING reference for USB connection.
Weight basis Catalogue packing reference per unit; not a measured net weight or the total shipping-carton weight.
USB Type-A assignment Using the numbering shown in the catalogue mechanical drawing: pin 1 = +V, pin 2 = D−, pin 3 = D+, pin 4 = −V.

The USB drawing identifies the contacts; it does not specify a data service or charging-negotiation protocol. The cable-termination options below describe alternative factory cable configurations, not included adapters for this USB socket.

Interchangeable AC Plugs

AC PLUG-AU2 Australian.
AC PLUG-UK2 UK.
AC PLUG-EU2 European.
AC PLUG-US2 US.
AC PLUG-MIX2 All four types.

Order the selected AC plug separately. AC PLUG-MIX2 contains the Australian, UK, European and US types. The catalogue identifies these “2” plug parts for GEM06I, GEM12I, GEM18I, GEM30I, GEM40I and GEM60I. Select the part for the actual adapter and regional outlet; the Class II adapter has no earth pin.

Optional DC Terminations and Quick Adapters

Tuning fork options, OD / ID / length (mm) P1I: 5.5 / 2.1 / 9.5; P1L: 5.5 / 2.5 / 9.5; P1M: 5.5 / 2.5 / 11; P1IR: 5.5 / 2.1 / 9.5; P1JR: 5.5 / 2.1 / 11; P1LR: 5.5 / 2.5 / 9.5; P1MR: 5.5 / 2.5 / 11. Quick-adapter versions are listed, 7.5 A maximum.
Barrel options, OD / ID / length (mm) P2I: 5.5 / 2.1 / 9.5; P2J: 5.5 / 2.1 / 11; P2L: 5.5 / 2.5 / 9.5; P2M: 5.5 / 2.5 / 11; P2IR: 5.5 / 2.1 / 9.5; P2JR: 5.5 / 2.1 / 11; P2LR: 5.5 / 2.5 / 9.5; P2MR: 5.5 / 2.5 / 11. No quick-adapter accessory is listed for this style.
Floating lock options, OD / ID / length (mm) P2S (S761K): 5.53 / 2.03 / 12.06; P2K (761K): 5.53 / 2.54 / 12.06; P2C (S760K): 5.53 / 2.03 / 9.52; P2D (760K): 5.53 / 2.54 / 9.52. No quick-adapter accessory is listed for this style. SWITCHCRAFT original or equivalent.
Minimum pin options, OD / ID / length (mm) P3A: 2.35 / 0.7 / 11; P3B: 4.0 / 1.7 / 11; P3C: 4.75 / 1.7 / 11. EIAJ equivalent; quick-adapter versions are listed, 5 A maximum.
Center pin options, OD / ID / length (mm) P4A: 5.5 / 3.4 / 11 / 1.0; P4B: 6.5 / 4.4 / 11 / 1.4; P4C: 7.4 / 5.1 / 11 / 0.6. EIAJ equivalent; dimensions additionally include center-pin diameter; quick-adapter versions are listed, 7.5 A maximum.
R6B, locking 3-pin male mini-DIN KYCON KPPX-3P equivalent; pins 1 and 3 = +Vo, pin 2 = −Vo. Quick-adapter accessory listed, 7.5 A maximum.
R7B, locking 4-pin male mini-DIN KYCON KPPX-4P equivalent; pins 1 and 4 = +Vo, pins 2 and 3 = −Vo. Quick-adapter accessory listed, 7.5 A maximum.
R7BF, locking 4-pin female mini-DIN KYCON KPJX-CM-4S equivalent; pins 1 and 4 = +Vo, pins 2 and 3 = −Vo. No quick-adapter accessory is listed.
Stripped and tinned leads Lead 1, ribbed = +Vo; lead 2, lettered = −Vo. Lengths by request; MEAN WELL standard L = 25 mm and L1 = 10 mm. No quick-adapter accessory is listed.

The catalogue offers factory-customized cable terminations subject to minimum order quantity, or the explicitly listed quick-adapter accessories sold separately without a minimum order quantity. These are optional selections, not extra parts included with the stated USB or P1J order number.

Match connector dimensions, mating interface, contact polarity and load current before selecting an accessory. A connector or quick-adapter current ceiling does not increase the power supply rating; the complete assembly remains limited by the lowest applicable electrical rating.

Measurement Conditions and Service Information

General measurement conditions 230 VAC input, rated load, 25°C and 70% RH unless otherwise specified.
DC voltage set point Measured at the output-plug terminal at 50% load.
Ripple/noise measurement 20 MHz bandwidth; 12-inch twisted pair terminated with 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.
Line-regulation test Low-line to high-line input at rated load.
Load-regulation test 10% to 100% rated output load.
Catalogue life 3 years; the catalogue specifies 12 hours/day for 5 V output.
MTBF, minimum 500 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
Catalogue version 2020-10-30; combined PDF pages 1–5.

Use the manufacturer’s installation instructions for the supplied configuration. The catalogue life and MTBF entries are conditional reference data, distinct from the listed warranty.

MEAN WELL GEM06I series: Interchangeable-Plug Medical AC/DC Adapter - GEM06I05-USB

Product form

MEAN WELL GEM06I05-USB is a GEM06I medical AC/DC adapter providing 5 VDC at 1.2 A, with a catalogue maximum rated... Read more

$40.41 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL GEM06I05-USB is a GEM06I medical AC/DC adapter providing 5 VDC at 1.2 A, with a catalogue maximum rated power of 6 W. This version has a built-in USB Type-A output socket. Its Class II design uses an interchangeable AC plug sold separately. Apply the model-specific load, temperature and medical-integration conditions below.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL GEM06I Datasheet (PDF)

    The GEM06I section is on PDF pages 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Model and Configuration

    Complete order number GEM06I05-USB.
    Safety model number GEM06I05.
    Product type Interchangeable-Plug Medical AC/DC Adapter; wall-mounted, single DC output.
    Input construction Class II, without a protective-earth pin; interchangeable AC plug ordered separately.
    Output connection Built-in USB Type-A socket, 5 V model.
    Housing Fully enclosed 94V-0 flame-retardant plastic case; IP22 marking in the applicable catalogue.
    No-load consumption <0.3 W.
    Energy-efficiency statement Level V; EISA 2007 / DoE and EU ErP statements in the 2020-10-30 catalogue.
    Catalogue warranty 3 years.

    Intended applications include blood-glucose and blood-pressure meters, nebulizers, inhalers, portable medical equipment and sleep-apnea devices. Apply the model-specific medical and operating conditions below.

    Model-Specific DC Output

    Nominal output 5 VDC.
    Rated output current 1.2 A.
    Current range 0–1.2 A.
    Catalogue-rated output power, maximum 6 W.
    Ripple and noise, maximum 50 mVp-p.
    Voltage tolerance ±5.0%.
    Line regulation ±0.5%.
    Load regulation ±5.0%.
    Efficiency, typical 70%.

    Observe the stated voltage, current and power ratings together. Output-voltage tolerance includes set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.

    Input and Timing

    Voltage range 80–264 VAC or 113–370 VDC.
    AC frequency 47–63 Hz.
    AC input current 0.18 A at 100 VAC.
    Cold-start inrush, maximum 15 A at 115 VAC; 30 A at 230 VAC.
    Touch current <55 µA at 264 VAC.
    Set-up / rise / hold-up time 1000 / 50 / 12 ms. At full load; default catalogue measurement condition is 230 VAC.

    Protection

    Short circuit and overload >105% rated output power; hiccup mode with automatic recovery after the fault condition is removed.
    Overvoltage Zener-diode clamp.

    Temperature, Input Derating and Environment

    Working temperature −20 to +40°C for this 5 V version, as limited by its dedicated curve.
    Ambient-temperature curve 100% load from −20 to +40°C; the 5 V branch ends at +40°C.
    Input-voltage curve 80% load at 80 VAC, increasing to 100% at 115 VAC; 100% from 115 to 264 VAC.
    Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
    Storage temperature and humidity −20 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
    Temperature coefficient ±0.04%/°C over 0–50°C.
    Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle and 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z axes.

    Apply the ambient-temperature and low-input-voltage load restrictions together; the upper operating temperature does not represent unrestricted full-load operation.

    Medical Insulation and Safety

    Primary-to-secondary isolation 2 × MOPP.
    Electric-shock protection Class II power unit without a protective-earth pin.
    Dielectric withstand Input to output: 5656 VDC.
    Insulation resistance Input to output: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
    Catalogue-listed safety standards TUV EN60601-1; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1 (3.1 version); CAN/CSA-C22.2 No. 60601-1, 3rd edition; EAC TP TC 004.
    Home-healthcare standard scope GEM06I05-USB is explicitly excluded from EN60601-1-11 and ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1-11 in the catalogue.

    The catalogue identifies the adapter for BF applications. This is a power-supply selection characteristic; medical-device safety, applied-part classification and EMC compliance must be established for the complete equipment. The standards above describe this 2020-10-30 catalogue version.

    Electromagnetic Compatibility

    Conducted and radiated emissions EN55011 (CISPR11), FCC Part 15 and Part 18 / CISPR22, Class B.
    Harmonic current EN61000-3-2, Class A.
    Voltage flicker EN61000-3-3.
    Immunity framework EN60601-1-2 and EN61204-3.
    ESD EN61000-4-2: Level 4, 15 kV air; Level 4, 8 kV contact.
    Radiated RF EN61000-4-3: Level 3, 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz; Table 9, 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz.
    EFT bursts EN61000-4-4: Level 3, 2 kV.
    Surge EN61000-4-5: Level 3, 1 kV line-to-line.
    Conducted RF EN61000-4-6: Level 2, 3 V.
    Magnetic field EN61000-4-8: Level 4, 30 A/m.
    Dips and interruptions EN61000-4-11: >95% dip for 0.5 periods; 30% dip for 25 periods; >95% interruption for 250 periods.

    The final equipment must be checked again for whole-system EMC compliance, as required by the catalogue integration note.

    Mechanical Details and Output Connection

    Dimensions, L × W × H 73.9 × 39 × 48.5 mm; refer to the selected AC-plug outline in the corresponding mechanical drawing.
    Single-unit catalogue mass 72 g, the explicit per-unit PACKING reference for USB connection.
    Weight basis Catalogue packing reference per unit; not a measured net weight or the total shipping-carton weight.
    USB Type-A assignment Using the numbering shown in the catalogue mechanical drawing: pin 1 = +V, pin 2 = D−, pin 3 = D+, pin 4 = −V.

    The USB drawing identifies the contacts; it does not specify a data service or charging-negotiation protocol. The cable-termination options below describe alternative factory cable configurations, not included adapters for this USB socket.

    Interchangeable AC Plugs

    AC PLUG-AU2 Australian.
    AC PLUG-UK2 UK.
    AC PLUG-EU2 European.
    AC PLUG-US2 US.
    AC PLUG-MIX2 All four types.

    Order the selected AC plug separately. AC PLUG-MIX2 contains the Australian, UK, European and US types. The catalogue identifies these “2” plug parts for GEM06I, GEM12I, GEM18I, GEM30I, GEM40I and GEM60I. Select the part for the actual adapter and regional outlet; the Class II adapter has no earth pin.

    Optional DC Terminations and Quick Adapters

    Tuning fork options, OD / ID / length (mm) P1I: 5.5 / 2.1 / 9.5; P1L: 5.5 / 2.5 / 9.5; P1M: 5.5 / 2.5 / 11; P1IR: 5.5 / 2.1 / 9.5; P1JR: 5.5 / 2.1 / 11; P1LR: 5.5 / 2.5 / 9.5; P1MR: 5.5 / 2.5 / 11. Quick-adapter versions are listed, 7.5 A maximum.
    Barrel options, OD / ID / length (mm) P2I: 5.5 / 2.1 / 9.5; P2J: 5.5 / 2.1 / 11; P2L: 5.5 / 2.5 / 9.5; P2M: 5.5 / 2.5 / 11; P2IR: 5.5 / 2.1 / 9.5; P2JR: 5.5 / 2.1 / 11; P2LR: 5.5 / 2.5 / 9.5; P2MR: 5.5 / 2.5 / 11. No quick-adapter accessory is listed for this style.
    Floating lock options, OD / ID / length (mm) P2S (S761K): 5.53 / 2.03 / 12.06; P2K (761K): 5.53 / 2.54 / 12.06; P2C (S760K): 5.53 / 2.03 / 9.52; P2D (760K): 5.53 / 2.54 / 9.52. No quick-adapter accessory is listed for this style. SWITCHCRAFT original or equivalent.
    Minimum pin options, OD / ID / length (mm) P3A: 2.35 / 0.7 / 11; P3B: 4.0 / 1.7 / 11; P3C: 4.75 / 1.7 / 11. EIAJ equivalent; quick-adapter versions are listed, 5 A maximum.
    Center pin options, OD / ID / length (mm) P4A: 5.5 / 3.4 / 11 / 1.0; P4B: 6.5 / 4.4 / 11 / 1.4; P4C: 7.4 / 5.1 / 11 / 0.6. EIAJ equivalent; dimensions additionally include center-pin diameter; quick-adapter versions are listed, 7.5 A maximum.
    R6B, locking 3-pin male mini-DIN KYCON KPPX-3P equivalent; pins 1 and 3 = +Vo, pin 2 = −Vo. Quick-adapter accessory listed, 7.5 A maximum.
    R7B, locking 4-pin male mini-DIN KYCON KPPX-4P equivalent; pins 1 and 4 = +Vo, pins 2 and 3 = −Vo. Quick-adapter accessory listed, 7.5 A maximum.
    R7BF, locking 4-pin female mini-DIN KYCON KPJX-CM-4S equivalent; pins 1 and 4 = +Vo, pins 2 and 3 = −Vo. No quick-adapter accessory is listed.
    Stripped and tinned leads Lead 1, ribbed = +Vo; lead 2, lettered = −Vo. Lengths by request; MEAN WELL standard L = 25 mm and L1 = 10 mm. No quick-adapter accessory is listed.

    The catalogue offers factory-customized cable terminations subject to minimum order quantity, or the explicitly listed quick-adapter accessories sold separately without a minimum order quantity. These are optional selections, not extra parts included with the stated USB or P1J order number.

    Match connector dimensions, mating interface, contact polarity and load current before selecting an accessory. A connector or quick-adapter current ceiling does not increase the power supply rating; the complete assembly remains limited by the lowest applicable electrical rating.

    Measurement Conditions and Service Information

    General measurement conditions 230 VAC input, rated load, 25°C and 70% RH unless otherwise specified.
    DC voltage set point Measured at the output-plug terminal at 50% load.
    Ripple/noise measurement 20 MHz bandwidth; 12-inch twisted pair terminated with 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.
    Line-regulation test Low-line to high-line input at rated load.
    Load-regulation test 10% to 100% rated output load.
    Catalogue life 3 years; the catalogue specifies 12 hours/day for 5 V output.
    MTBF, minimum 500 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
    Catalogue version 2020-10-30; combined PDF pages 1–5.

    Use the manufacturer’s installation instructions for the supplied configuration. The catalogue life and MTBF entries are conditional reference data, distinct from the listed warranty.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa