HLG-120H-C1050AB LED driver
MEAN WELL HLG-120H-C1050AB is a 155.4 W constant current LED driver rated at 1050 mA, with a metal Class I enclosure, active PFC and fanless free-air convection cooling. Its IP65 design supports suitable indoor or outdoor lighting installations subject to the installation requirements. Output current adjustable through the built-in potentiometer, plus 3-in-1 dimming using 1–10 VDC, 10 V PWM or resistance.
Download MEAN WELL HLG-120H-C Datasheet (PDF)Download MEAN WELL LED Installation Manual
HLG-C catalog, PDF pages 21–30. Use the exact output and function suffix when selecting the driver.
Output and function
| Rated output |
1050 mA constant current; 155.4 W rated power. |
| Constant current region |
74–148 V |
| Current accuracy |
Current ripple: 8% maximum at rated current. Current tolerance: ±5%. |
| Function and ingress rating |
AB type; IP65. Output current adjustable through the built-in potentiometer, plus 3-in-1 dimming using 1–10 VDC, 10 V PWM or resistance. |
| Current adjustment |
525–1050 mA through the internal potentiometer (Io ADJ); output voltage adjustment is not specified. |
| LED load selection |
Constant current operation directly drives the LED load. The highest output voltage depends on the system configuration; contact MEAN WELL about load compatibility. A fixed nominal output voltage is not specified. |
| Dimming control |
Apply 1–10 VDC, a 10 V PWM signal at 100 Hz–3 kHz, or resistance between DIM+ and DIM−. The curves cover 10–100% output current. Resistance is 10–100 kΩ divided by N, where N is the number of synchronized drivers. Typical dimming source current: 100 µA. |
| Dimming wiring and off control |
DIM+ is purple and DIM− is pink. Do not connect DIM− to −V. Connect directly to LEDs; additional downstream drivers are not suitable. For 0% brightness, use the illustrated external mains switch and relay arrangement, or consult MEAN WELL for other options. |
| Availability and programs |
The datasheet labels this function option as a standard / in-stock type. This identifies the catalog option and does not promise current inventory. |
Input and performance
| Input range |
90–305 VAC or 127–431 VDC; 47–63 Hz AC. Apply the static and temperature derating limits. |
| AC current and power factor |
Typical AC current: 1.6 / 0.8 / 0.7 A at 115 / 230 / 277 VAC. Typical full-load PF: ≥0.98 / ≥0.96 / ≥0.93 at the same voltages. |
| Efficiency and THD |
Typical efficiency: 94%. THD <20% at loads ≥50% at 115 and 230 VAC; 75% at 277 VAC. |
| Start-up and mains loading |
Set-up time: 1000 ms at 115 VAC; 500 ms at 230 VAC, measured at first cold start; repeated ON/OFF cycles may increase it. Typical cold-start inrush: 50 A; 600 µs pulse width at 50% Ipeak, 230 VAC, per NEMA 410. Maximum units on a 16 A B / C circuit breaker at 230 VAC: 4 / 6. |
| Leakage and conditions |
Leakage current <0.75 mA at 277 VAC. Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC, rated current and 25°C ambient. Separate rise-time, hold-up-time and idle-power values are not specified. |
Protection
| Short circuit |
Constant current limiting; automatic recovery after the short circuit is removed. |
| Overvoltage |
165–175 V; shuts down output voltage, with automatic recovery or power-on recovery. |
| Overtemperature |
Shuts down the output; automatically recovers after cooling. If triggered at light load or no load, AC re-power is required. |
Temperature and reliability
| Case and ambient limits |
Operating case temperature: −40 to +90°C; maximum Tcase +90°C. Horizontal installation: 80% at −40°C, rising to 100% at −20°C; 100% load through +60°C ambient, then derate to 60% at +70°C. Case-temperature load curve: 80% at −40°C, rising to 100% at −20°C, then 100% through +90°C. Both limits apply; free-air convection cooling. |
| Input and altitude derating |
Static input curve: 80% at 90 VAC; 100% from 100 to 305 VAC (60 Hz). Above 2,000 m altitude, reduce the allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1,000 m for this fanless design. |
| Environmental limits |
Working humidity: 10–95% RH, non-condensing. Storage: −40 to +80°C, 10–95% RH. Temperature coefficient: ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C. Vibration: 10–500 Hz, 5 G, 12 min/cycle for 72 min along each X, Y and Z axis. |
| Operating curves |
PFC switching frequency: 70 kHz; PWM switching frequency: 60 kHz. PF curves use Tc 80°C; THD and efficiency curves use the 700 mA model at Tc 80°C and distinguish 115, 230 and 277 VAC. Curve examples are not a guarantee of identical performance for every current option. |
| Life, reliability and warranty |
Typical lifetime >62,000 hours at Tc / TMP about 80°C or lower. The lifetime curve indicates approximately 100,000 h at Tc 20–75°C, 70,000 h at 80°C, 50,000 h at 85°C and 35,000 h at 90°C. MTBF: 2456.4K hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 191.1K hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. Seven-year warranty, subject to the manufacturer warranty statement and operating conditions. |
Mechanical details and wiring
| Dimensions and mounting |
220 × 68 × 38.8 mm (L × W × H); case 994; drawing tolerance ±1 mm. Four Ø4.2 mm mounting slots; vertical slot spacing 34.2 mm. Main case body length 196 mm, excluding the end mounting flanges. Use the complete drawing for fixing locations. |
| Temperature measurement point |
The marked tc point is 98 mm from the main case right edge and 34 mm from its bottom edge; use this point for case-temperature verification. |
| Input and output leads |
Input: SJOW 17 AWG × 3 conductors / H05RN-F 3 × 1.0 mm²; brown AC/L, blue AC/N, green/yellow FG. Output: SJOW 17 AWG × 2 conductors / H05RN-F 2 × 1.0 mm²; brown +V and blue −V. Input and output lead lengths: 300 ±20 mm. |
| Control leads |
SJOW 17 AWG × 2 conductors / H05RN-F 2 × 1.0 mm²; purple DIM+, pink DIM−; 300 ±20 mm. |
| Unit weight and packing |
1.04 kg (1040 g) per unit. Carton reference: 12 pcs / 13.5 kg / 0.8 CUFT. The individual weight is stated separately from carton mass. |
Safety and EMC
| Electrical classification |
Metal Class I design; protective earth is required. |
| Safety standards |
UL 8750; CSA C22.2 No. 250.13-12; BS EN/EN/AS/NZS 61347-1 and 61347-2-13; BS EN/EN 62384 (independent); GB/T 19510.1 and 19510.213; J61347-1 and J61347-2-13; EAC TP TC 004. |
| Isolation |
Withstand voltage: input–output 3.75 kVAC; input–FG 2 kVAC; output–FG 1.5 kVAC. Isolation resistance for these paths: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH. |
| EMC |
Emissions: BS EN/EN 55015; BS EN/EN 61000-3-2 Class C at ≥50% load; BS EN/EN 61000-3-3; GB/T 17743; GB 17625.1; EAC TP TC 020. Immunity: BS EN/EN 61000-4-2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -8 and -11; BS EN/EN 61547, light industry level. Surge immunity: 4 kV line-to-earth and 2 kV line-to-line; EAC TP TC 020. |
| System integration |
The driver is a component; the final equipment manufacturer must re-qualify EMC with the complete installation. For the stated ErP luminaire requirement, use behind a mains switch instead of a permanent unswitched connection. |
Accessories and applications
| Optional waterproof connectors |
M12-04: four pins, 5 A per pin, 10 A maximum suitable current. M12-05: five pins, 5 A per pin, 10 A maximum suitable current. M15-02: two pins, 12 A per pin, 12 A maximum suitable current. Confirm voltage rating, pin use, wire size and environmental suitability before selection; current ratings alone do not establish compatibility. |
| Optional cable joiners |
CJ04-1 accepts 14–16 AWG; CJ04-2 accepts 18–22 AWG. Both ranges exclude the standard 17 AWG driver leads, so these are not confirmed direct-fit joiners for those leads. Drawing: 66 mm long, Ø25 mm, with 26 mm and 20 mm sections. Up to four wires may be joined by soldering or tool clamping. Purchase separately and confirm sealing and wire compatibility. |
| Applications |
Street, fishing lamp, harbor, building architectural, greenhouse and bay LED lighting. |
Installation manual requirements
| Installation safety |
Disconnect the mains supply and prevent accidental reconnection before installation or maintenance. Have faults examined by a qualified technician; do not open the power-supply case yourself. |
| Ventilation and mounting |
Keep ventilation clear and do not stack objects on the unit. Keep 10–15 cm clearance when the adjacent device is a heat source. Follow this model’s mounting, ambient-temperature and output-derating requirements. |
| System wiring and protection |
Use approved primary and secondary wiring rated for at least the applicable unit current. Provide suitable system-level insulation and an enclosure around single-insulated wiring; verify EMC again in the completed system. |
| Environmental and load limits |
Do not immerse the unit or install it near fire or above its specified ambient limit. Keep output current and power within the model’s rated operating envelope. If a fitted external flexible cable is damaged, replacement is limited to the manufacturer, its service agent or a similarly qualified person. |
| Connection seals and support |
If waterproof connectors are fitted, secure their connections to prevent water entry. Verify the mounting structure and luminaire strength; use safety cables for bay-light applications. |
| Protective-earth installation |
Connect the fitted FG/PE conductor to PE according to this Class I model’s wiring diagram. |
| Weather protection |
This IP65 model must be installed indoors or in a location sheltered from rain outdoors, as required by the installation manual. The IP rating does not permit immersion. |
| Controller installation |
Verify the compatibility and capacity of the controller for this exact interface. For standalone use with dimming conductors smaller than 18 AWG (0.75 mm²), use SELV controllers/networks; contact MEAN WELL for guidance before using FELV control. Follow this model’s control wiring. |
| Dimming isolation |
The installation manual lists this HLG-60H–320H-C family’s analog dimming circuit as not isolated from the secondary circuit. Follow the specified DIM wiring and controller requirements. |
Confirm the exact LED load, operating temperature, control interface and installation requirements against the linked datasheet and manual before commissioning.