MEAN WELL HLG-120H-C series: Constant Current LED Driver - HLG-120H-C500A

Description

HLG-120H-C500A LED driver

MEAN WELL HLG-120H-C500A is a 150 W constant current LED driver rated at 500 mA, with a metal Class I enclosure, active PFC and fanless free-air convection cooling. Its IP65 design supports suitable indoor or outdoor lighting installations subject to the installation requirements. Output current adjustable through the built-in potentiometer.

Download MEAN WELL HLG-120H-C Datasheet (PDF)Download MEAN WELL LED Installation Manual

HLG-C catalog, PDF pages 21–30. Use the exact output and function suffix when selecting the driver.

Output and function

Rated output 500 mA constant current; 150 W rated power.
Constant current region 150–300 V
Current accuracy Current ripple: 8% maximum at rated current. Current tolerance: ±5%.
Function and ingress rating A type; IP65. Output current adjustable through the built-in potentiometer.
Current adjustment 250–500 mA through the internal potentiometer (Io ADJ); output voltage adjustment is not specified.
LED load selection Constant current operation directly drives the LED load. The highest output voltage depends on the system configuration; contact MEAN WELL about load compatibility. A fixed nominal output voltage is not specified.
Availability and programs The datasheet labels this function option as a standard / in-stock type. This identifies the catalog option and does not promise current inventory.

Input and performance

Input range 90–305 VAC or 127–431 VDC; 47–63 Hz AC. Apply the static and temperature derating limits.
AC current and power factor Typical AC current: 1.6 / 0.8 / 0.7 A at 115 / 230 / 277 VAC. Typical full-load PF: ≥0.98 / ≥0.96 / ≥0.93 at the same voltages.
Efficiency and THD Typical efficiency: 94%. THD <20% at loads ≥50% at 115 and 230 VAC; 75% at 277 VAC.
Start-up and mains loading Set-up time: 1000 ms at 115 VAC; 500 ms at 230 VAC, measured at first cold start; repeated ON/OFF cycles may increase it. Typical cold-start inrush: 50 A; 600 µs pulse width at 50% Ipeak, 230 VAC, per NEMA 410. Maximum units on a 16 A B / C circuit breaker at 230 VAC: 4 / 6.
Leakage and conditions Leakage current <0.75 mA at 277 VAC. Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC, rated current and 25°C ambient. Separate rise-time, hold-up-time and idle-power values are not specified.

Protection

Short circuit Constant current limiting; automatic recovery after the short circuit is removed.
Overvoltage 335–355 V; shuts down output voltage, with automatic recovery or power-on recovery.
Overtemperature Shuts down the output; automatically recovers after cooling. If triggered at light load or no load, AC re-power is required.

Temperature and reliability

Case and ambient limits Operating case temperature: −40 to +90°C; maximum Tcase +90°C. Horizontal installation: 80% at −40°C, rising to 100% at −20°C; 100% load through +60°C ambient, then derate to 60% at +70°C. Case-temperature load curve: 80% at −40°C, rising to 100% at −20°C, then 100% through +90°C. Both limits apply; free-air convection cooling.
Input and altitude derating Static input curve: 80% at 90 VAC; 100% from 100 to 305 VAC (60 Hz). Above 2,000 m altitude, reduce the allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1,000 m for this fanless design.
Environmental limits Working humidity: 10–95% RH, non-condensing. Storage: −40 to +80°C, 10–95% RH. Temperature coefficient: ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C. Vibration: 10–500 Hz, 5 G, 12 min/cycle for 72 min along each X, Y and Z axis.
Operating curves PFC switching frequency: 70 kHz; PWM switching frequency: 60 kHz. PF curves use Tc 80°C; THD and efficiency curves use the 700 mA model at Tc 80°C and distinguish 115, 230 and 277 VAC. Curve examples are not a guarantee of identical performance for every current option.
Life, reliability and warranty Typical lifetime >62,000 hours at Tc / TMP about 80°C or lower. The lifetime curve indicates approximately 100,000 h at Tc 20–75°C, 70,000 h at 80°C, 50,000 h at 85°C and 35,000 h at 90°C. MTBF: 2456.4K hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 191.1K hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. Seven-year warranty, subject to the manufacturer warranty statement and operating conditions.

Mechanical details and wiring

Dimensions and mounting 220 × 68 × 38.8 mm (L × W × H); case 994; drawing tolerance ±1 mm. Four Ø4.2 mm mounting slots; vertical slot spacing 34.2 mm. Main case body length 196 mm, excluding the end mounting flanges. Use the complete drawing for fixing locations.
Temperature measurement point The marked tc point is 98 mm from the main case right edge and 34 mm from its bottom edge; use this point for case-temperature verification.
Input and output leads Input: SJOW 17 AWG × 3 conductors / H05RN-F 3 × 1.0 mm²; brown AC/L, blue AC/N, green/yellow FG. Output: SJOW 17 AWG × 2 conductors / H05RN-F 2 × 1.0 mm²; brown +V and blue −V. Input and output lead lengths: 300 ±20 mm.
Control leads No external DIM lead is shown for this suffix.
Unit weight and packing 1.04 kg (1040 g) per unit. Carton reference: 12 pcs / 13.5 kg / 0.8 CUFT. The individual weight is stated separately from carton mass.

Safety and EMC

Electrical classification Metal Class I design; protective earth is required.
Safety standards UL 8750; CSA C22.2 No. 250.13-12; BS EN/EN/AS/NZS 61347-1 and 61347-2-13; BS EN/EN 62384 (independent); GB/T 19510.1 and 19510.213; J61347-1 and J61347-2-13; EAC TP TC 004.
Isolation Withstand voltage: input–output 3.75 kVAC; input–FG 2 kVAC; output–FG 1.5 kVAC. Isolation resistance for these paths: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
EMC Emissions: BS EN/EN 55015; BS EN/EN 61000-3-2 Class C at ≥50% load; BS EN/EN 61000-3-3; GB/T 17743; GB 17625.1; EAC TP TC 020. Immunity: BS EN/EN 61000-4-2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -8 and -11; BS EN/EN 61547, light industry level. Surge immunity: 4 kV line-to-earth and 2 kV line-to-line; EAC TP TC 020.
System integration The driver is a component; the final equipment manufacturer must re-qualify EMC with the complete installation. For the stated ErP luminaire requirement, use behind a mains switch instead of a permanent unswitched connection.

Accessories and applications

Optional waterproof connectors M12-04: four pins, 5 A per pin, 10 A maximum suitable current. M12-05: five pins, 5 A per pin, 10 A maximum suitable current. M15-02: two pins, 12 A per pin, 12 A maximum suitable current. Confirm voltage rating, pin use, wire size and environmental suitability before selection; current ratings alone do not establish compatibility.
Optional cable joiners CJ04-1 accepts 14–16 AWG; CJ04-2 accepts 18–22 AWG. Both ranges exclude the standard 17 AWG driver leads, so these are not confirmed direct-fit joiners for those leads. Drawing: 66 mm long, Ø25 mm, with 26 mm and 20 mm sections. Up to four wires may be joined by soldering or tool clamping. Purchase separately and confirm sealing and wire compatibility.
Applications Street, fishing lamp, harbor, building architectural, greenhouse and bay LED lighting.

Installation manual requirements

Installation safety Disconnect the mains supply and prevent accidental reconnection before installation or maintenance. Have faults examined by a qualified technician; do not open the power-supply case yourself.
Ventilation and mounting Keep ventilation clear and do not stack objects on the unit. Keep 10–15 cm clearance when the adjacent device is a heat source. Follow this model’s mounting, ambient-temperature and output-derating requirements.
System wiring and protection Use approved primary and secondary wiring rated for at least the applicable unit current. Provide suitable system-level insulation and an enclosure around single-insulated wiring; verify EMC again in the completed system.
Environmental and load limits Do not immerse the unit or install it near fire or above its specified ambient limit. Keep output current and power within the model’s rated operating envelope. If a fitted external flexible cable is damaged, replacement is limited to the manufacturer, its service agent or a similarly qualified person.
Connection seals and support If waterproof connectors are fitted, secure their connections to prevent water entry. Verify the mounting structure and luminaire strength; use safety cables for bay-light applications.
Protective-earth installation Connect the fitted FG/PE conductor to PE according to this Class I model’s wiring diagram.
Weather protection This IP65 model must be installed indoors or in a location sheltered from rain outdoors, as required by the installation manual. The IP rating does not permit immersion.

Confirm the exact LED load, operating temperature, control interface and installation requirements against the linked datasheet and manual before commissioning.

MEAN WELL HLG-120H-C series: Constant Current LED Driver - HLG-120H-C500A

Product form

HLG-120H-C500A LED driver MEAN WELL HLG-120H-C500A is a 150 W constant current LED driver rated at 500 mA, with a... Read more

$115.33 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    HLG-120H-C500A LED driver

    MEAN WELL HLG-120H-C500A is a 150 W constant current LED driver rated at 500 mA, with a metal Class I enclosure, active PFC and fanless free-air convection cooling. Its IP65 design supports suitable indoor or outdoor lighting installations subject to the installation requirements. Output current adjustable through the built-in potentiometer.

    Download MEAN WELL HLG-120H-C Datasheet (PDF)Download MEAN WELL LED Installation Manual

    HLG-C catalog, PDF pages 21–30. Use the exact output and function suffix when selecting the driver.

    Output and function

    Rated output 500 mA constant current; 150 W rated power.
    Constant current region 150–300 V
    Current accuracy Current ripple: 8% maximum at rated current. Current tolerance: ±5%.
    Function and ingress rating A type; IP65. Output current adjustable through the built-in potentiometer.
    Current adjustment 250–500 mA through the internal potentiometer (Io ADJ); output voltage adjustment is not specified.
    LED load selection Constant current operation directly drives the LED load. The highest output voltage depends on the system configuration; contact MEAN WELL about load compatibility. A fixed nominal output voltage is not specified.
    Availability and programs The datasheet labels this function option as a standard / in-stock type. This identifies the catalog option and does not promise current inventory.

    Input and performance

    Input range 90–305 VAC or 127–431 VDC; 47–63 Hz AC. Apply the static and temperature derating limits.
    AC current and power factor Typical AC current: 1.6 / 0.8 / 0.7 A at 115 / 230 / 277 VAC. Typical full-load PF: ≥0.98 / ≥0.96 / ≥0.93 at the same voltages.
    Efficiency and THD Typical efficiency: 94%. THD <20% at loads ≥50% at 115 and 230 VAC; 75% at 277 VAC.
    Start-up and mains loading Set-up time: 1000 ms at 115 VAC; 500 ms at 230 VAC, measured at first cold start; repeated ON/OFF cycles may increase it. Typical cold-start inrush: 50 A; 600 µs pulse width at 50% Ipeak, 230 VAC, per NEMA 410. Maximum units on a 16 A B / C circuit breaker at 230 VAC: 4 / 6.
    Leakage and conditions Leakage current <0.75 mA at 277 VAC. Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC, rated current and 25°C ambient. Separate rise-time, hold-up-time and idle-power values are not specified.

    Protection

    Short circuit Constant current limiting; automatic recovery after the short circuit is removed.
    Overvoltage 335–355 V; shuts down output voltage, with automatic recovery or power-on recovery.
    Overtemperature Shuts down the output; automatically recovers after cooling. If triggered at light load or no load, AC re-power is required.

    Temperature and reliability

    Case and ambient limits Operating case temperature: −40 to +90°C; maximum Tcase +90°C. Horizontal installation: 80% at −40°C, rising to 100% at −20°C; 100% load through +60°C ambient, then derate to 60% at +70°C. Case-temperature load curve: 80% at −40°C, rising to 100% at −20°C, then 100% through +90°C. Both limits apply; free-air convection cooling.
    Input and altitude derating Static input curve: 80% at 90 VAC; 100% from 100 to 305 VAC (60 Hz). Above 2,000 m altitude, reduce the allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1,000 m for this fanless design.
    Environmental limits Working humidity: 10–95% RH, non-condensing. Storage: −40 to +80°C, 10–95% RH. Temperature coefficient: ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C. Vibration: 10–500 Hz, 5 G, 12 min/cycle for 72 min along each X, Y and Z axis.
    Operating curves PFC switching frequency: 70 kHz; PWM switching frequency: 60 kHz. PF curves use Tc 80°C; THD and efficiency curves use the 700 mA model at Tc 80°C and distinguish 115, 230 and 277 VAC. Curve examples are not a guarantee of identical performance for every current option.
    Life, reliability and warranty Typical lifetime >62,000 hours at Tc / TMP about 80°C or lower. The lifetime curve indicates approximately 100,000 h at Tc 20–75°C, 70,000 h at 80°C, 50,000 h at 85°C and 35,000 h at 90°C. MTBF: 2456.4K hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 191.1K hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. Seven-year warranty, subject to the manufacturer warranty statement and operating conditions.

    Mechanical details and wiring

    Dimensions and mounting 220 × 68 × 38.8 mm (L × W × H); case 994; drawing tolerance ±1 mm. Four Ø4.2 mm mounting slots; vertical slot spacing 34.2 mm. Main case body length 196 mm, excluding the end mounting flanges. Use the complete drawing for fixing locations.
    Temperature measurement point The marked tc point is 98 mm from the main case right edge and 34 mm from its bottom edge; use this point for case-temperature verification.
    Input and output leads Input: SJOW 17 AWG × 3 conductors / H05RN-F 3 × 1.0 mm²; brown AC/L, blue AC/N, green/yellow FG. Output: SJOW 17 AWG × 2 conductors / H05RN-F 2 × 1.0 mm²; brown +V and blue −V. Input and output lead lengths: 300 ±20 mm.
    Control leads No external DIM lead is shown for this suffix.
    Unit weight and packing 1.04 kg (1040 g) per unit. Carton reference: 12 pcs / 13.5 kg / 0.8 CUFT. The individual weight is stated separately from carton mass.

    Safety and EMC

    Electrical classification Metal Class I design; protective earth is required.
    Safety standards UL 8750; CSA C22.2 No. 250.13-12; BS EN/EN/AS/NZS 61347-1 and 61347-2-13; BS EN/EN 62384 (independent); GB/T 19510.1 and 19510.213; J61347-1 and J61347-2-13; EAC TP TC 004.
    Isolation Withstand voltage: input–output 3.75 kVAC; input–FG 2 kVAC; output–FG 1.5 kVAC. Isolation resistance for these paths: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
    EMC Emissions: BS EN/EN 55015; BS EN/EN 61000-3-2 Class C at ≥50% load; BS EN/EN 61000-3-3; GB/T 17743; GB 17625.1; EAC TP TC 020. Immunity: BS EN/EN 61000-4-2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -8 and -11; BS EN/EN 61547, light industry level. Surge immunity: 4 kV line-to-earth and 2 kV line-to-line; EAC TP TC 020.
    System integration The driver is a component; the final equipment manufacturer must re-qualify EMC with the complete installation. For the stated ErP luminaire requirement, use behind a mains switch instead of a permanent unswitched connection.

    Accessories and applications

    Optional waterproof connectors M12-04: four pins, 5 A per pin, 10 A maximum suitable current. M12-05: five pins, 5 A per pin, 10 A maximum suitable current. M15-02: two pins, 12 A per pin, 12 A maximum suitable current. Confirm voltage rating, pin use, wire size and environmental suitability before selection; current ratings alone do not establish compatibility.
    Optional cable joiners CJ04-1 accepts 14–16 AWG; CJ04-2 accepts 18–22 AWG. Both ranges exclude the standard 17 AWG driver leads, so these are not confirmed direct-fit joiners for those leads. Drawing: 66 mm long, Ø25 mm, with 26 mm and 20 mm sections. Up to four wires may be joined by soldering or tool clamping. Purchase separately and confirm sealing and wire compatibility.
    Applications Street, fishing lamp, harbor, building architectural, greenhouse and bay LED lighting.

    Installation manual requirements

    Installation safety Disconnect the mains supply and prevent accidental reconnection before installation or maintenance. Have faults examined by a qualified technician; do not open the power-supply case yourself.
    Ventilation and mounting Keep ventilation clear and do not stack objects on the unit. Keep 10–15 cm clearance when the adjacent device is a heat source. Follow this model’s mounting, ambient-temperature and output-derating requirements.
    System wiring and protection Use approved primary and secondary wiring rated for at least the applicable unit current. Provide suitable system-level insulation and an enclosure around single-insulated wiring; verify EMC again in the completed system.
    Environmental and load limits Do not immerse the unit or install it near fire or above its specified ambient limit. Keep output current and power within the model’s rated operating envelope. If a fitted external flexible cable is damaged, replacement is limited to the manufacturer, its service agent or a similarly qualified person.
    Connection seals and support If waterproof connectors are fitted, secure their connections to prevent water entry. Verify the mounting structure and luminaire strength; use safety cables for bay-light applications.
    Protective-earth installation Connect the fitted FG/PE conductor to PE according to this Class I model’s wiring diagram.
    Weather protection This IP65 model must be installed indoors or in a location sheltered from rain outdoors, as required by the installation manual. The IP rating does not permit immersion.

    Confirm the exact LED load, operating temperature, control interface and installation requirements against the linked datasheet and manual before commissioning.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa