HLG-80H-C350D LED driver
MEAN WELL HLG-80H-C350D is a 89.95 W constant current LED driver rated at 350 mA, with a metal Class I enclosure, active PFC and fanless free-air convection cooling. Its IP67 design supports suitable indoor or outdoor lighting installations subject to the installation requirements. Timer dimming, available by request; safety pending. Contact MEAN WELL for the required timing program and approval status.
Download MEAN WELL HLG-80H-C Datasheet (PDF)Download MEAN WELL LED Installation Manual
HLG-C catalog, PDF pages 11–20. Use the exact output and function suffix when selecting the driver.
Output and function
| Rated output |
350 mA constant current; 89.95 W rated power. |
| Constant current region |
Not separately specified for D in the datasheet. For reference only, the 350 mA A type lists 128–257 V and the B type lists 167–257 V. Obtain MEAN WELL confirmation for this exact suffix; neither range is assigned to this model. |
| Current accuracy |
Current ripple: 8% maximum at rated current. Current tolerance: ±5%. |
| Function and ingress rating |
D type; IP67. Timer dimming, available by request; safety pending. Contact MEAN WELL for the required timing program and approval status. |
| Current adjustment |
No user-adjustable internal potentiometer function is specified for this suffix. |
| LED load selection |
Constant current operation directly drives the LED load. The highest output voltage depends on the system configuration; contact MEAN WELL about load compatibility. A fixed nominal output voltage is not specified. |
| Availability and programs |
The datasheet lists this option by request; no timer schedule is supplied for this SKU. Safety approval is pending. |
Input and performance
| Input range |
90–305 VAC or 127–431 VDC; 47–63 Hz AC. Apply the static and temperature derating limits. |
| AC current and power factor |
Typical AC current: 0.88 / 0.45 / 0.38 A at 115 / 230 / 277 VAC. Typical full-load PF: ≥0.98 / ≥0.96 / ≥0.94 at the same voltages. |
| Efficiency and THD |
Typical efficiency: 91.5%. THD <20% at loads ≥60% at 115 and 230 VAC; 75% at 277 VAC. |
| Start-up and mains loading |
Set-up time: 500 ms at both 115 and 230 VAC, measured at first cold start; repeated ON/OFF cycles may increase it. Typical cold-start inrush: 60 A; 410 µs pulse width at 50% Ipeak, 230 VAC, per NEMA 410. Maximum units on a 16 A B / C circuit breaker at 230 VAC: 4 / 8. |
| Leakage and conditions |
Leakage current <0.75 mA at 277 VAC. Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC, rated current and 25°C ambient. Separate rise-time, hold-up-time and idle-power values are not specified. |
Protection
| Short circuit |
Hiccup mode; automatic recovery after the short circuit is removed. |
| Overvoltage |
300–340 V; shuts down output voltage, with automatic recovery or power-on recovery. |
| Overtemperature |
Shuts down the output; re-power to recover. |
Temperature and reliability
| Case and ambient limits |
Operating case temperature: −40 to +80°C; maximum Tcase +80°C. Horizontal installation: 100% load from −40 to +60°C ambient, then derate to 60% at +70°C. The −40 to −30°C region is marked 230 VAC only on both thermal curves. Case-temperature load curve: 100% load from −40 to +80°C. Both limits apply; free-air convection cooling. |
| Input and altitude derating |
Static input curve: 80% at 90 VAC; 100% from 100 to 305 VAC (60 Hz). Above 2,000 m altitude, reduce the allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1,000 m for this fanless design. |
| Environmental limits |
Working humidity: 10–95% RH, non-condensing. Storage: −40 to +80°C, 10–95% RH. Temperature coefficient: ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C. Vibration: 10–500 Hz, 5 G, 12 min/cycle for 72 min along each X, Y and Z axis. |
| Operating curves |
PFC switching frequency: 70 kHz; PWM switching frequency: 60 kHz. PF curves use Tc 70°C; THD and efficiency curves use the 350 mA model at Tc 70°C and distinguish 115, 230 and 277 VAC. Curve examples are not a guarantee of identical performance for every current option. |
| Life, reliability and warranty |
Typical lifetime >62,000 hours at Tc / TMP about 70°C or lower. The lifetime curve indicates approximately 100,000 h at Tc 20–65°C, 70,000 h at 70°C, 50,000 h at 75°C and 35,000 h at 80°C. MTBF: 3098.6K hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 309.8K hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. Seven-year warranty, subject to the manufacturer warranty statement and operating conditions. |
Mechanical details and wiring
| Dimensions and mounting |
195.6 × 61.5 × 38.8 mm (L × W × H); case 997; drawing tolerance ±1 mm. Four Ø4.2 mm mounting slots; vertical slot spacing 32 mm. Main case body length 171.8 mm, excluding the end mounting flanges. Use the complete drawing for fixing locations. |
| Temperature measurement point |
The marked tc point is 85.9 mm from the main case right edge and 30.75 mm from its bottom edge; use this point for case-temperature verification. |
| Input and output leads |
Input: SJOW 17 AWG × 3 conductors / H05RN-F 3 × 1.0 mm²; brown AC/L, blue AC/N, green/yellow FG. Output: SJOW 17 AWG × 2 conductors / H05RN-F 2 × 1.0 mm²; brown +V and blue −V. Input and output lead lengths: 300 ±20 mm. |
| Control leads |
No external DIM lead is shown for this suffix. |
| Unit weight and packing |
0.84 kg (840 g) per unit. Carton reference: 16 pcs / 14.4 kg / 0.54 CUFT. The individual weight is stated separately from carton mass. |
Safety and EMC
| Electrical classification |
Metal Class I design; protective earth is required. |
| Safety standards |
Family standards reference: UL 8750; CSA C22.2 No. 250.0-08; BS EN/EN/AS/NZS 61347-1 and 61347-2-13 (independent); GB/T 19510.1 and 19510.213; EAC TP TC 004. This D timer option is specifically marked safety pending; the family list does not establish completed approval for D. |
| Isolation |
Withstand voltage: input–output 3.75 kVAC; input–FG 2 kVAC; output–FG 1.5 kVAC. Isolation resistance for these paths: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH. |
| EMC |
Emissions: BS EN/EN 55015; BS EN/EN 61000-3-2 Class C at ≥50% load; BS EN/EN 61000-3-3; GB/T 17743; GB 17625.1; EAC TP TC 020. Immunity: BS EN/EN 61000-4-2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -8 and -11; BS EN/EN 61547, heavy industry level. Surge immunity: 4 kV line-to-earth and 2 kV line-to-line; EAC TP TC 020. |
| System integration |
The driver is a component; the final equipment manufacturer must re-qualify EMC with the complete installation. For the stated ErP luminaire requirement, use behind a mains switch instead of a permanent unswitched connection. |
Accessories and applications
| Optional waterproof connectors |
M12-04: four pins, 5 A per pin, 10 A maximum suitable current. M12-05: five pins, 5 A per pin, 10 A maximum suitable current. M15-02: two pins, 12 A per pin, 12 A maximum suitable current. Confirm voltage rating, pin use, wire size and environmental suitability before selection; current ratings alone do not establish compatibility. |
| Optional cable joiners |
CJ04-1 accepts 14–16 AWG; CJ04-2 accepts 18–22 AWG. Both ranges exclude the standard 17 AWG driver leads, so these are not confirmed direct-fit joiners for those leads. Drawing: 66 mm long, Ø25 mm, with 26 mm and 20 mm sections. Up to four wires may be joined by soldering or tool clamping. Purchase separately and confirm sealing and wire compatibility. |
| Applications |
Street, fishing lamp, harbor, building architectural, greenhouse and bay LED lighting. |
Installation manual requirements
| Installation safety |
Disconnect the mains supply and prevent accidental reconnection before installation or maintenance. Have faults examined by a qualified technician; do not open the power-supply case yourself. |
| Ventilation and mounting |
Keep ventilation clear and do not stack objects on the unit. Keep 10–15 cm clearance when the adjacent device is a heat source. Follow this model’s mounting, ambient-temperature and output-derating requirements. |
| System wiring and protection |
Use approved primary and secondary wiring rated for at least the applicable unit current. Provide suitable system-level insulation and an enclosure around single-insulated wiring; verify EMC again in the completed system. |
| Environmental and load limits |
Do not immerse the unit or install it near fire or above its specified ambient limit. Keep output current and power within the model’s rated operating envelope. If a fitted external flexible cable is damaged, replacement is limited to the manufacturer, its service agent or a similarly qualified person. |
| Connection seals and support |
If waterproof connectors are fitted, secure their connections to prevent water entry. Verify the mounting structure and luminaire strength; use safety cables for bay-light applications. |
| Protective-earth installation |
Connect the fitted FG/PE conductor to PE according to this Class I model’s wiring diagram. |
| Timer ordering and approval |
This D timer-dimming version is available by customer request and its option-table safety status is pending. Confirm the required timer profile and approvals with MEAN WELL; the D suffix does not mean DALI or DALI-2. |
Confirm the exact LED load, operating temperature, control interface and installation requirements against the linked datasheet and manual before commissioning.