MEAN WELL ICL-16R is a DIN rail AC inrush current limiter for 180–264 VAC systems. It limits capacitive-load starting current to the specified 23 A while carrying 16 A continuously. An integrated bypass relay and thermal fuse support operation within the stated 2,500 µF load and set-up-time-dependent switching limits.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL ICL-16 Datasheet (PDF)
The ICL-16 section is on PDF pages 1, 2, 3, 4. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model and Application
| Product function |
AC inrush current limiter for the start-up of capacitive loads and power supplies; not an AC/DC converter or a regulated DC power supply. |
| Exact configuration |
ICL-16R: R identifies the DIN rail, rail-mounted type. |
| Current ratings |
23 A inrush limiting current and 16 A continuous AC current. The series number does not replace the separate 23 A inrush specification. |
| Operating principle |
Internal limiting resistor and integrated bypass relay, controlled electronically; not a simple NTC-only limiter. |
The module reduces capacitive-load starting current to help avoid unintended circuit-breaker tripping. It can allow multiple downstream power supplies on one AC line, subject to the total current, capacitance and switching-cycle limits. Breaker coordination must be checked for the actual installation.
AC Electrical Ratings
| Input voltage |
180–264 VAC. |
| AC line frequency |
47–63 Hz. |
| Inrush limiting current |
23 A. |
| Continuous rated current |
16 A continuous. |
| AC input power reference |
3,680 VA at 230 VAC (16 A × 230 VAC). This apparent-power reference is not a DC output-wattage rating. |
| Module input consumption |
Less than 1.5 W at 264 VAC, 50 Hz input. |
| Allowed capacitive load |
2,500 µF maximum. |
Choose the number and type of downstream power supplies using their aggregate input current, input capacitance and start-up characteristics. The application drawing does not specify a universal maximum number of power supplies or a model-independent breaker size.
Relay Timing and Permitted Switching Cycles
| Power-on limiting interval, TON |
300 ±50 ms. |
| Internal relay release time |
500 ±50 ms. |
| Power-supply set-up time below 250 ms |
1 limiting cycle per 5 minutes. |
| Power-supply set-up time from 250 to 350 ms |
1 limiting cycle per minute. |
| Power-supply set-up time above 350 ms |
5 limiting cycles per minute, with more than 1,500 ms per cycle. |
Use the row matching the connected power supply’s set-up time. The relay timing values do not override the corresponding permitted cycle rate.
Protection and AC Wiring
| Internal protection |
A thermal fuse provides overload and fire protection. |
| Line path |
The limiting resistor and bypass relay are in the L path; the block diagram shows a continuous N path. |
| Application connection |
Connect the AC source through the circuit breaker to the marked input. Connect the marked output L and N to the corresponding AC inputs of the downstream power supplies. |
| Installation boundary |
The circuit breaker and downstream power supplies in the application example are external system components; no quantity of these components is included by the diagram. |
The thermal fuse is not described as an automatically resetting protection. Follow the installation instructions and identify the marked INPUT and OUTPUT before connecting the unit; keep all continuous-current, capacitance and cycle limits within specification.
Dimensions, Terminals and Installation
| Dimensions, W × H × D |
35 × 90 × 54.5 mm; drawing tolerance ±1 mm. |
| Additional drawing clearances |
The side drawing also marks a 58.4 mm overall extent and vertical reference dimensions of 63.65 mm and 45.15 mm. Use the complete drawing to check installation space. |
| Case |
ICL-16R. |
| Mounting |
DIN rail TS35/7.5 or TS35/15. |
| Input terminals |
Pin 1: AC/L input; pin 2: AC/N input. |
| Output terminals |
Pin 3: AC/L output; pin 4: AC/N output. |
Use the supplied unit’s installation instructions for terminal tightening and mounting details not specified in this drawing. No terminal torque or additional complete mounting-kit order code is supplied in the reviewed ICL-16 pages. The rail specification identifies the mounting interface; the drawing does not establish that a rail is supplied with the product.
Environment and Altitude
| Working ambient temperature |
−30 to +70°C. |
| Working humidity |
20–90% RH, non-condensing. |
| Storage temperature |
−40 to +85°C. |
| Temperature coefficient |
±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C, as listed. |
| Vibration |
10–500 Hz, 2 G, 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z; mounting compliance with IEC60068-2-6. |
| Operating altitude |
Up to 5,000 m. |
| Overvoltage category |
III according to IEC62368-1, for altitude up to 5,000 m. |
| Pollution degree |
2. |
| High-altitude temperature allowance |
Above 2,000 m, apply the catalogue’s fanless ambient-temperature reduction of 3.5°C per additional 1,000 m. |
Apply ambient, altitude, current and switching-cycle conditions together. No additional numerical temperature/load curve is specified in these ICL-16 pages.
Safety and EMC
| Listed safety approval |
LVD BS EN/EN62368-1 approved. |
| Conducted and radiated emissions |
BS EN/EN55032, Class B for each. |
| Harmonic current |
BS EN/EN61000-3-2, Class A. |
| Voltage flicker |
BS EN/EN61000-3-3 is listed; no numerical test level is provided. |
| Immunity framework |
BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN61000-6-2. |
| Electrostatic discharge |
BS EN/EN61000-4-2: Level 3, 8 kV air; Level 2, 4 kV contact; criterion A. |
| Radiated susceptibility |
BS EN/EN61000-4-3, Level 3, criterion A. |
| EFT / burst |
BS EN/EN61000-4-4, Level 3, criterion A. |
| Surge |
BS EN/EN61000-4-5, Level 4, 2 kV L–N, criterion A. |
| Conducted immunity |
BS EN/EN61000-4-6, Level 3, criterion A. |
| Magnetic field |
BS EN/EN61000-4-8, Level 4, criterion A. |
| Voltage dips and interruptions |
BS EN/EN61000-4-11: greater than 95% dip for 0.5 periods; 30% dip for 25 periods; greater than 95% interruption for 250 periods. |
The completed equipment must be rechecked for compliance with the applicable EMC directives. Module test data do not automatically establish compliance of the entire installation.
Weight, Reliability and Reference Conditions
| Single-unit catalogue weight |
116 g (0.116 kg), explicitly listed in PACKING. This is a catalogue unit-weight reference, not a measured net weight or shipping-package total. |
| Packing reference |
96 pieces / 12.2 kg / 1.04 CUFT. |
| Minimum MTBF estimates |
7229.0 thousand hours by Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 2157.3 thousand hours by MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. |
| Default measurement conditions |
230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient, unless specifically stated otherwise. |
| Catalogue warranty |
The catalogue lists a 3-year manufacturer warranty, subject to its applicable terms. |
| Datasheet version |
ICL-16 specification dated 2026-04-03; combined catalogue pages 1–4. |
MTBF figures are statistical estimates under the stated methods, not a guaranteed service life.