MEAN WELL MPM-65 series: PCB-mount medical AC/DC power module - MPM-65-15

Description

MEAN WELL MPM-65-15 is a PCB-mount medical AC/DC power module delivering 15 V DC at 4.33 A (65 W) by convection, with a conditional 4.77 A / 71.6 W peak rating for up to 10 seconds. It accepts 80–264 V AC or 113–370 V DC and provides Class II insulation with 2 × MOPP; BF application suitability depends on the completed system.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL MPM-65 Datasheet (PDF)

The MPM-65 section is on PDF pages 25, 26, 27, 28. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Model and mounting

Complete model MPM-65-15
Product type Isolated AC/DC medical power module, single 15 V DC output
Mounting configuration No suffix: PCB mounting version.
Model code MPM identifies the series; 65 identifies the family; 15 identifies nominal output voltage. Use the actual continuous and peak ratings below.

Output and peak load

Nominal DC output 15 V
Continuous convection rating 4.33 A; 65 W
Peak rating 4.77 A; 71.6 W, for up to 10 seconds under the duty and average-power limits.
Ripple and noise, maximum 120 mV peak-to-peak
Voltage tolerance ±2.0%, including set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
Line / load regulation ±0.5% / ±0.5%
Minimum load No minimum load required.

Peak operation is limited to a maximum 33% duty cycle within every 30-second interval, and average output power must not exceed the continuous rated power. The peak duration, duty cycle, average power and thermal/input derating conditions all apply together.

Ripple and noise are measured with a 20 MHz bandwidth using a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors in parallel. Unless separately stated, catalogue parameters use 230 V AC input, rated load and 25°C ambient.

Input, efficiency and timing

Input range 80–264 V AC or 113–370 V DC; output derating applies at low input.
AC frequency 47–63 Hz
Typical efficiency 92.5% at the catalogue reference conditions.
Typical AC current 1.5 A at 115 V AC; 1 A at 230 V AC.
Typical cold-start inrush 30 A at 115 V AC; 65 A at 230 V AC.
Set-up / rise time 1000 ms / 30 ms at 230 V AC or 115 V AC, full load.
Typical hold-up time 50 ms at 230 V AC; 12 ms at 115 V AC, full load.
No-load input power Less than 0.1 W.

The 60 Hz input-voltage curve on PDF page 27 permits 80% load at 80 V AC, rising to 100% at 100 V AC and remaining at 100% through 264 V AC. Apply this together with the ambient-temperature curve. The block diagram identifies a 70 kHz switching frequency.

Protection

Short circuit / overload Overload threshold: 115–135% of rated output power. Hiccup protection recovers automatically after the fault is removed.
Overvoltage 15.8–20.3 V; output shuts down. Re-power the unit to recover.
Overtemperature Output shuts down; re-power the unit to recover.

Temperature, cooling and altitude

Working ambient range -30 to +80°C, subject to the applicable load derating curve.
Storage temperature -40 to +85°C.
Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
Maximum operating altitude / overvoltage category 4000 m / OVC II.

For this 15 V version, the horizontal-mounting curve allows 100% load from -30°C to 50°C, then requires derating: 80% at 60°C, 50% at 70°C and 30% at 80°C.

Above 2000 m, reduce the allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per additional 1000 m for this convection-cooled module. A generic 5°C/1000 m note for fan-equipped models does not identify a fan in this version. The upper ambient limit is not a full-load rating.

Medical isolation and integration

Insulation class Class II, double insulation; no functional-ground terminal.
Primary-to-secondary protection 2 × MOPP (means of patient protection).
Input-to-output withstand voltage 4 kV AC.
Input-to-output insulation resistance 100 MΩ at 500 V DC, 25°C and 70% RH.
Maximum touch current Less than 100 µA at 264 V AC, measured from primary input to DC output.

Suitable for BF (body-floating, patient-contact) applications only with appropriate system consideration. The module is a component, so the completed medical equipment and its applied-part isolation must be assessed as a system.

The specification lists IEC 60601-1:2005+A1; TUV BS EN/EN 60601-1:2006+A1+A12+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No. 60601-1:2014+A2; and EAC TP TC 004 approvals. Design reference to BS EN/EN 60335-1 is by request and is not a blanket approval for every delivered unit.

Catalogue application examples include portable medical devices, mobile clinical workstations, medical computer monitors and medical examination instruments.

EMC

Conducted and radiated emissions BS EN/EN 55011 (CISPR 11), Class B; the family feature states Class B without additional components.
Harmonic current BS EN/EN 61000-3-2, Class A.
Voltage flicker BS EN/EN 61000-3-3 is listed; no separate class or level is stated.
Immunity standards BS EN/EN 55035 and BS EN/EN 60601-1-2.

Immunity test entries: BS EN/EN 61000-4-2, ESD Level 4, 15 kV air and 8 kV contact; 61000-4-3, RF Level 3, 10 V/m from 80 MHz to 2.7 GHz, plus Table 9 fields of 9–28 V/m from 385 MHz to 5.78 GHz; 61000-4-4, EFT Level 3, 2 kV; 61000-4-5, surge Level 3, 1 kV line-to-line; 61000-4-6, conducted Level 3, 10 V; and 61000-4-8, magnetic field Level 4, 30 A/m.

The BS EN/EN 61000-4-11 entries are greater than 95% dip for 0.5 periods, 30% dip for 25 periods, and greater than 95% interruption for 250 periods. These component test entries do not replace final-equipment EMC verification.

Dimensions, terminals and installation

Overall dimensions, L × W × H 87 × 52 × 29.5 mm
Catalogue case / general tolerance IRM60 / ±1 mm unless otherwise marked.
Connection method PCB pins marked AC/N, AC/L, −Vo and +Vo; bottom-view footprint.
Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.

Use the bottom-view PCB footprint on PDF page 28: AC/N and AC/L are the two input pins on the right of that drawing; −Vo and +Vo are the two output pins on the left. AC pins are 1 mm diameter and DC pins are 2 mm diameter, with 3.5 ±1 mm projection. The pin-column spacing is 76 mm, input-pin spacing 6.75 mm and output-pin spacing 5.5 mm. The drawing also gives 5.7, 5 and 40.75 mm coordinate references; use the complete footprint rather than a mirrored top view.

PCB soldering limits: wave soldering 265°C for 5 seconds maximum; manual soldering 390°C for 3 seconds maximum.

Use the model-specific installation drawing and the manufacturer installation instructions referenced in the PDF. The catalogue does not specify a separate mating-connector, bracket or wiring-kit order code for this version; it also does not give terminal torque or wire-gauge values. Select installation hardware for the actual mounting and electrical conditions.

Reference mass and reliability

Catalogue packing reference per unit 191 g, from the explicit unit value in the PACKING entry on PDF page 26. This is not a measured net weight or shipping-package weight.
MTBF, catalogue minimum estimates 5087.8 thousand hours, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 563.4 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
Manufacturer datasheet warranty 3 years.

MEAN WELL MPM-65 series: PCB-mount medical AC/DC power module - MPM-65-15

Product form

MEAN WELL MPM-65-15 is a PCB-mount medical AC/DC power module delivering 15 V DC at 4.33 A (65 W) by... Read more

$58.16 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL MPM-65-15 is a PCB-mount medical AC/DC power module delivering 15 V DC at 4.33 A (65 W) by convection, with a conditional 4.77 A / 71.6 W peak rating for up to 10 seconds. It accepts 80–264 V AC or 113–370 V DC and provides Class II insulation with 2 × MOPP; BF application suitability depends on the completed system.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL MPM-65 Datasheet (PDF)

    The MPM-65 section is on PDF pages 25, 26, 27, 28. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Model and mounting

    Complete model MPM-65-15
    Product type Isolated AC/DC medical power module, single 15 V DC output
    Mounting configuration No suffix: PCB mounting version.
    Model code MPM identifies the series; 65 identifies the family; 15 identifies nominal output voltage. Use the actual continuous and peak ratings below.

    Output and peak load

    Nominal DC output 15 V
    Continuous convection rating 4.33 A; 65 W
    Peak rating 4.77 A; 71.6 W, for up to 10 seconds under the duty and average-power limits.
    Ripple and noise, maximum 120 mV peak-to-peak
    Voltage tolerance ±2.0%, including set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
    Line / load regulation ±0.5% / ±0.5%
    Minimum load No minimum load required.

    Peak operation is limited to a maximum 33% duty cycle within every 30-second interval, and average output power must not exceed the continuous rated power. The peak duration, duty cycle, average power and thermal/input derating conditions all apply together.

    Ripple and noise are measured with a 20 MHz bandwidth using a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors in parallel. Unless separately stated, catalogue parameters use 230 V AC input, rated load and 25°C ambient.

    Input, efficiency and timing

    Input range 80–264 V AC or 113–370 V DC; output derating applies at low input.
    AC frequency 47–63 Hz
    Typical efficiency 92.5% at the catalogue reference conditions.
    Typical AC current 1.5 A at 115 V AC; 1 A at 230 V AC.
    Typical cold-start inrush 30 A at 115 V AC; 65 A at 230 V AC.
    Set-up / rise time 1000 ms / 30 ms at 230 V AC or 115 V AC, full load.
    Typical hold-up time 50 ms at 230 V AC; 12 ms at 115 V AC, full load.
    No-load input power Less than 0.1 W.

    The 60 Hz input-voltage curve on PDF page 27 permits 80% load at 80 V AC, rising to 100% at 100 V AC and remaining at 100% through 264 V AC. Apply this together with the ambient-temperature curve. The block diagram identifies a 70 kHz switching frequency.

    Protection

    Short circuit / overload Overload threshold: 115–135% of rated output power. Hiccup protection recovers automatically after the fault is removed.
    Overvoltage 15.8–20.3 V; output shuts down. Re-power the unit to recover.
    Overtemperature Output shuts down; re-power the unit to recover.

    Temperature, cooling and altitude

    Working ambient range -30 to +80°C, subject to the applicable load derating curve.
    Storage temperature -40 to +85°C.
    Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
    Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
    Maximum operating altitude / overvoltage category 4000 m / OVC II.

    For this 15 V version, the horizontal-mounting curve allows 100% load from -30°C to 50°C, then requires derating: 80% at 60°C, 50% at 70°C and 30% at 80°C.

    Above 2000 m, reduce the allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per additional 1000 m for this convection-cooled module. A generic 5°C/1000 m note for fan-equipped models does not identify a fan in this version. The upper ambient limit is not a full-load rating.

    Medical isolation and integration

    Insulation class Class II, double insulation; no functional-ground terminal.
    Primary-to-secondary protection 2 × MOPP (means of patient protection).
    Input-to-output withstand voltage 4 kV AC.
    Input-to-output insulation resistance 100 MΩ at 500 V DC, 25°C and 70% RH.
    Maximum touch current Less than 100 µA at 264 V AC, measured from primary input to DC output.

    Suitable for BF (body-floating, patient-contact) applications only with appropriate system consideration. The module is a component, so the completed medical equipment and its applied-part isolation must be assessed as a system.

    The specification lists IEC 60601-1:2005+A1; TUV BS EN/EN 60601-1:2006+A1+A12+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No. 60601-1:2014+A2; and EAC TP TC 004 approvals. Design reference to BS EN/EN 60335-1 is by request and is not a blanket approval for every delivered unit.

    Catalogue application examples include portable medical devices, mobile clinical workstations, medical computer monitors and medical examination instruments.

    EMC

    Conducted and radiated emissions BS EN/EN 55011 (CISPR 11), Class B; the family feature states Class B without additional components.
    Harmonic current BS EN/EN 61000-3-2, Class A.
    Voltage flicker BS EN/EN 61000-3-3 is listed; no separate class or level is stated.
    Immunity standards BS EN/EN 55035 and BS EN/EN 60601-1-2.

    Immunity test entries: BS EN/EN 61000-4-2, ESD Level 4, 15 kV air and 8 kV contact; 61000-4-3, RF Level 3, 10 V/m from 80 MHz to 2.7 GHz, plus Table 9 fields of 9–28 V/m from 385 MHz to 5.78 GHz; 61000-4-4, EFT Level 3, 2 kV; 61000-4-5, surge Level 3, 1 kV line-to-line; 61000-4-6, conducted Level 3, 10 V; and 61000-4-8, magnetic field Level 4, 30 A/m.

    The BS EN/EN 61000-4-11 entries are greater than 95% dip for 0.5 periods, 30% dip for 25 periods, and greater than 95% interruption for 250 periods. These component test entries do not replace final-equipment EMC verification.

    Dimensions, terminals and installation

    Overall dimensions, L × W × H 87 × 52 × 29.5 mm
    Catalogue case / general tolerance IRM60 / ±1 mm unless otherwise marked.
    Connection method PCB pins marked AC/N, AC/L, −Vo and +Vo; bottom-view footprint.
    Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.

    Use the bottom-view PCB footprint on PDF page 28: AC/N and AC/L are the two input pins on the right of that drawing; −Vo and +Vo are the two output pins on the left. AC pins are 1 mm diameter and DC pins are 2 mm diameter, with 3.5 ±1 mm projection. The pin-column spacing is 76 mm, input-pin spacing 6.75 mm and output-pin spacing 5.5 mm. The drawing also gives 5.7, 5 and 40.75 mm coordinate references; use the complete footprint rather than a mirrored top view.

    PCB soldering limits: wave soldering 265°C for 5 seconds maximum; manual soldering 390°C for 3 seconds maximum.

    Use the model-specific installation drawing and the manufacturer installation instructions referenced in the PDF. The catalogue does not specify a separate mating-connector, bracket or wiring-kit order code for this version; it also does not give terminal torque or wire-gauge values. Select installation hardware for the actual mounting and electrical conditions.

    Reference mass and reliability

    Catalogue packing reference per unit 191 g, from the explicit unit value in the PACKING entry on PDF page 26. This is not a measured net weight or shipping-package weight.
    MTBF, catalogue minimum estimates 5087.8 thousand hours, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 563.4 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
    Manufacturer datasheet warranty 3 years.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa