MEAN WELL MSP-1000 series: Medical AC/DC Power Supply - MSP-1000-15

Description

MEAN WELL MSP-1000-15 is a single-output enclosed medical AC/DC power supply rated at 15 V, 64 A and 960 W. It supports a maximum 1000 W for 3 seconds; 960 W remains the continuous rating. Active current sharing is available under the specified parallel-operation limits. Select the load using the output rating and both ambient-temperature and input-voltage derating curves.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL MSP-1000 Datasheet (PDF)

The MSP-1000 section is on PDF pages 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Model and Output

Complete model MSP-1000-15
Model code MSP identifies the series; 1000 is the power-class designation; 15 identifies the nominal DC output voltage. Use the actual rating below for this model.
Rated DC output 15 V / 64 A / 960 W
Current range 0–64 A
Built-in voltage adjustment 14–17 V, using SVR1; respect the rated current and power limits.
Ripple and noise 150 mVp-p maximum; 20 MHz bandwidth; 12-inch twisted pair terminated with parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.
Voltage tolerance ±1.5%, including setup tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
Line / load regulation ±0.5% / ±1.5%
Efficiency 92% typical under the stated measurement conditions.

Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient.

Maximum output power is 1000 W for 3 seconds; do not treat this short-duration figure as the continuous output rating.

Input and Startup

Input range 90–264 VAC, 127–370 VDC; universal AC input with active PFC. The low-line curve limits usable output.
Frequency / surge tolerance 47–63 Hz; withstands 300 VAC surge input for 5 seconds.
Power factor PF >0.95 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC, typical at full load.
Input current 8.5 A at 115 VAC / 5 A at 230 VAC, typical.
Inrush current 20 A at 115 VAC / 40 A at 230 VAC, typical; active inrush-current limiting is shown in the block diagram.
Setup / rise time 1000 ms / 50 ms at 230 VAC; 2000 ms / 50 ms at 115 VAC, at full load.
Hold-up time 16 ms at 230 VAC and 16 ms at 115 VAC, typical at full load.

Setup time is measured at the first cold start; repeated power cycling can increase it. Below 40 VAC, performance may degrade and the final-equipment manufacturer must reconfirm basic safety and essential performance; this note does not extend the rated input range.

Protection

Short circuit / overload Short-circuit protection is listed. Overload threshold: 105–135% of rated output power; constant-current limiting with automatic recovery after the fault is removed.
Over-voltage protection 18.2–20.6 V; output shuts down and requires re-powering to recover.
Over-temperature protection Output shuts down and automatically recovers after temperature decreases.

Remote Control, Standby and DC-OK

Remote ON/OFF CN100 pin 3 (RC+) to pin 4 (RC-): short = ON; open = OFF.
Remote-off no-load consumption <0.75 W with RC+ and RC- open.
Standby auxiliary output 5 V / 0.3 A; 4.75–5.25 V, ±5% tolerance, 50 mVp-p maximum ripple. AUX pin 2 is referenced to AUXG pin 1 and is not switched off by remote ON/OFF.
DC-OK signal TTL output, referenced to CN100 GND pin 6 or 8: 3.3–5.6 V when the supply is ON; 0–1 V when OFF.
Remote sense Up to 0.5 V load-wiring drop compensation. Connect +S pin 9 to load positive and -S pin 10 to load negative; twist the sense pair to minimize pickup.

CN100 Control Connector

Pin 1 — AUXG Auxiliary-output ground.
Pin 2 — AUX Auxiliary voltage output, referenced to pin 1; 0.3 A maximum.
Pins 3 / 4 — RC+ / RC- Remote-control input and return: short = ON; open = OFF.
Pin 5 — CS Current-share signal; interconnect CS pins when using the supported parallel arrangement.
Pins 6 / 8 — GND Connected to output -V; DC-OK signal return.
Pin 7 — DC-OK TTL status signal, HIGH when the supply turns on; referenced to pin 8.
Pins 9 / 10 — +S / -S Positive and negative remote sense; connect as shown in the model-specific wiring diagram.

Parallel Operation

Use short, large-diameter output wiring. Maximum total parallel current = rated current per unit × number of units × 0.9. Up to four units are shown; follow the complete manufacturer interconnection diagram, including CS, GND and sense wiring.

The output-voltage difference between parallel units must be less than 0.2 V. Below 5% of the total rated current, current sharing may not be fully balanced. The catalogue describes the family as up to 4000 W (3+1), but the model-specific current formula and derating limits still apply.

Cooling, Derating and Environment

Temperature and load The specification lists -40 to +70°C subject to the derating curve. Horizontal mounting, 12/15 V branch: 100% load through +50°C, declining to 60% at +60°C; the plotted branch ends at +60°C.
Input-voltage derating At 60 Hz, the input curve rises from 80% load at 90 VAC to 100% at 200 VAC, remaining at 100% through 264 VAC.
Cooling / fan control Built-in cooling fan with ON/OFF control by internal NTC RT50 or 30% load minimum, as stated in the specification. The catalogue does not give a numeric ambient switching temperature for this sensor.
Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
Storage -40 to +85°C and 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
Vibration 10–500 Hz, 5 G; 10 minutes per cycle and 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.
Altitude derating For this fan-cooled supply, reduce the permissible ambient temperature by 5°C per additional 1000 m above 2000 m (6500 ft), as specified in the catalogue note.

Temperature and low-input-voltage limits apply together; the upper working-temperature figure does not mean full rated power is available at every input voltage.

Dimensions, Terminals and Installation

Overall dimensions 218 × 105 × 63.5 mm (L × W × H); case 977. Mechanical drawing tolerance ±0.5 mm.
Mounting-hole labels Bottom: 4-M4 L=6; sides: 8-M4 L=4 (both sides). Use the complete drawing for thread engagement and hole positions; these labels are not accessory ordering codes.
Hole-position references The drawing marks 152.4 mm spacing, a 32.8 mm end reference, and the 20.75/63.5 mm transverse references; side-view references include 38.3 and 12.5 mm. Follow the full drawing for each datum.
AC input terminals 1 = AC/L; 2 = AC/N; 3 = FG protective earth.
DC output terminals 1–3 = +V; 4–6 = -V. Confirm polarity against this model’s terminal diagram.
Terminal drawing dimensions The AC side marks 10 and 8.2 mm; the DC side marks 11 and 9.2 mm. These are drawing dimensions at their indicated locations, not a claim that every value is terminal pitch.
Terminal projections AC-input side: 12 mm maximum; DC-output side: 18 mm maximum.
Airflow and adjustment The mechanical drawing arrow points outward at the fan/input end. Keep the indicated airflow path unobstructed. The drawing identifies the LED and SVR1 output-voltage adjustment.

Connector Mating Parts

CN100 board connector HRS DF11-10DP-2DS or equivalent.
Mating housing HRS DF11-10DS or equivalent, as listed for CN100.
Mating terminal HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent is the printed terminal family; ** is not a confirmed orderable suffix.

The catalogue identifies these mating parts but does not state that a cable, housing, terminals or mounting screws are included. Confirm the exact terminal suffix and wiring requirements before ordering; do not infer a complete accessory kit.

Medical Safety, Leakage and Insulation

Medical isolation Primary–secondary: 2 × MOPP; primary–earth: 1 × MOPP; secondary–earth: 1 × MOPP.
Safety standards IEC 60601-1:2005+A1+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No. 60601-1:2014+A2; EAC TP TC 004 approved. Design references include BS EN/EN60335-1 and BS EN/EN62368-1 (by request).
Leakage current Earth leakage <360 µA at 264 VAC; touch leakage <100 µA at 264 VAC.
Withstand voltage Input–output: 4.5 kVAC; input–FG: 2 kVAC; output–FG: 1.5 kVAC.
Insulation resistance 100 MΩ for input–output, input–FG and output–FG, tested at 500 VDC / 25°C / 70% RH.

The catalogue states suitability for BF applications with appropriate system consideration. The supply is a component; this does not certify the finished medical equipment or its patient connections.

EMC and Integration Conditions

Conducted / radiated emissions BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11), Class B for each.
Harmonic current / flicker BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; BS EN/EN61000-3-3.
Immunity standards BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN60601-1-2.
ESD BS EN/EN61000-4-2, Level 4: 15 kV air and 8 kV contact.
Radiated RF / EFT-burst / conducted RF BS EN/EN61000-4-3, -4 and -6 respectively: Level 3.
Surge BS EN/EN61000-4-5, Level 4: 2 kV line-to-line / 4 kV line-to-earth.
Magnetic field BS EN/EN61000-4-8, Level 4.
Dips / interruptions BS EN/EN61000-4-11: 100% dip for 1 period; 30% dip for 25 periods; 100% interruption for 250 periods.

EMC testing uses the supply mounted on a 360 × 700 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick. This is a component-level test arrangement, not a statement that a plate is included. Reconfirm EMC compliance in the final equipment using the manufacturer’s component-power-supply guidance.

Weight, Reliability and Catalogue Reference

Catalogue unit weight 1530 g; catalogue packing reference per unit (1.53 kg in PACKING), not a measured net weight or shipment weight.
MTBF 850.5 K hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 105.8 K hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. These figures are reliability references, not a guaranteed service-life duration.
Switching-frequency diagram PWM oscillator: 65 kHz. PFC oscillator: 90 kHz.
Manufacturer warranty statement The manufacturer catalogue lists a five-year warranty, subject to the applicable manufacturer terms.
Applicable datasheet MSP-1000-SPEC, 2025-01-23; PDF pages 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22.

MEAN WELL MSP-1000 series: Medical AC/DC Power Supply - MSP-1000-15

Product form

MEAN WELL MSP-1000-15 is a single-output enclosed medical AC/DC power supply rated at 15 V, 64 A and 960 W.... Read more

$528.34 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL MSP-1000-15 is a single-output enclosed medical AC/DC power supply rated at 15 V, 64 A and 960 W. It supports a maximum 1000 W for 3 seconds; 960 W remains the continuous rating. Active current sharing is available under the specified parallel-operation limits. Select the load using the output rating and both ambient-temperature and input-voltage derating curves.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL MSP-1000 Datasheet (PDF)

    The MSP-1000 section is on PDF pages 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Model and Output

    Complete model MSP-1000-15
    Model code MSP identifies the series; 1000 is the power-class designation; 15 identifies the nominal DC output voltage. Use the actual rating below for this model.
    Rated DC output 15 V / 64 A / 960 W
    Current range 0–64 A
    Built-in voltage adjustment 14–17 V, using SVR1; respect the rated current and power limits.
    Ripple and noise 150 mVp-p maximum; 20 MHz bandwidth; 12-inch twisted pair terminated with parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.
    Voltage tolerance ±1.5%, including setup tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
    Line / load regulation ±0.5% / ±1.5%
    Efficiency 92% typical under the stated measurement conditions.

    Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient.

    Maximum output power is 1000 W for 3 seconds; do not treat this short-duration figure as the continuous output rating.

    Input and Startup

    Input range 90–264 VAC, 127–370 VDC; universal AC input with active PFC. The low-line curve limits usable output.
    Frequency / surge tolerance 47–63 Hz; withstands 300 VAC surge input for 5 seconds.
    Power factor PF >0.95 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC, typical at full load.
    Input current 8.5 A at 115 VAC / 5 A at 230 VAC, typical.
    Inrush current 20 A at 115 VAC / 40 A at 230 VAC, typical; active inrush-current limiting is shown in the block diagram.
    Setup / rise time 1000 ms / 50 ms at 230 VAC; 2000 ms / 50 ms at 115 VAC, at full load.
    Hold-up time 16 ms at 230 VAC and 16 ms at 115 VAC, typical at full load.

    Setup time is measured at the first cold start; repeated power cycling can increase it. Below 40 VAC, performance may degrade and the final-equipment manufacturer must reconfirm basic safety and essential performance; this note does not extend the rated input range.

    Protection

    Short circuit / overload Short-circuit protection is listed. Overload threshold: 105–135% of rated output power; constant-current limiting with automatic recovery after the fault is removed.
    Over-voltage protection 18.2–20.6 V; output shuts down and requires re-powering to recover.
    Over-temperature protection Output shuts down and automatically recovers after temperature decreases.

    Remote Control, Standby and DC-OK

    Remote ON/OFF CN100 pin 3 (RC+) to pin 4 (RC-): short = ON; open = OFF.
    Remote-off no-load consumption <0.75 W with RC+ and RC- open.
    Standby auxiliary output 5 V / 0.3 A; 4.75–5.25 V, ±5% tolerance, 50 mVp-p maximum ripple. AUX pin 2 is referenced to AUXG pin 1 and is not switched off by remote ON/OFF.
    DC-OK signal TTL output, referenced to CN100 GND pin 6 or 8: 3.3–5.6 V when the supply is ON; 0–1 V when OFF.
    Remote sense Up to 0.5 V load-wiring drop compensation. Connect +S pin 9 to load positive and -S pin 10 to load negative; twist the sense pair to minimize pickup.

    CN100 Control Connector

    Pin 1 — AUXG Auxiliary-output ground.
    Pin 2 — AUX Auxiliary voltage output, referenced to pin 1; 0.3 A maximum.
    Pins 3 / 4 — RC+ / RC- Remote-control input and return: short = ON; open = OFF.
    Pin 5 — CS Current-share signal; interconnect CS pins when using the supported parallel arrangement.
    Pins 6 / 8 — GND Connected to output -V; DC-OK signal return.
    Pin 7 — DC-OK TTL status signal, HIGH when the supply turns on; referenced to pin 8.
    Pins 9 / 10 — +S / -S Positive and negative remote sense; connect as shown in the model-specific wiring diagram.

    Parallel Operation

    Use short, large-diameter output wiring. Maximum total parallel current = rated current per unit × number of units × 0.9. Up to four units are shown; follow the complete manufacturer interconnection diagram, including CS, GND and sense wiring.

    The output-voltage difference between parallel units must be less than 0.2 V. Below 5% of the total rated current, current sharing may not be fully balanced. The catalogue describes the family as up to 4000 W (3+1), but the model-specific current formula and derating limits still apply.

    Cooling, Derating and Environment

    Temperature and load The specification lists -40 to +70°C subject to the derating curve. Horizontal mounting, 12/15 V branch: 100% load through +50°C, declining to 60% at +60°C; the plotted branch ends at +60°C.
    Input-voltage derating At 60 Hz, the input curve rises from 80% load at 90 VAC to 100% at 200 VAC, remaining at 100% through 264 VAC.
    Cooling / fan control Built-in cooling fan with ON/OFF control by internal NTC RT50 or 30% load minimum, as stated in the specification. The catalogue does not give a numeric ambient switching temperature for this sensor.
    Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
    Storage -40 to +85°C and 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
    Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
    Vibration 10–500 Hz, 5 G; 10 minutes per cycle and 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.
    Altitude derating For this fan-cooled supply, reduce the permissible ambient temperature by 5°C per additional 1000 m above 2000 m (6500 ft), as specified in the catalogue note.

    Temperature and low-input-voltage limits apply together; the upper working-temperature figure does not mean full rated power is available at every input voltage.

    Dimensions, Terminals and Installation

    Overall dimensions 218 × 105 × 63.5 mm (L × W × H); case 977. Mechanical drawing tolerance ±0.5 mm.
    Mounting-hole labels Bottom: 4-M4 L=6; sides: 8-M4 L=4 (both sides). Use the complete drawing for thread engagement and hole positions; these labels are not accessory ordering codes.
    Hole-position references The drawing marks 152.4 mm spacing, a 32.8 mm end reference, and the 20.75/63.5 mm transverse references; side-view references include 38.3 and 12.5 mm. Follow the full drawing for each datum.
    AC input terminals 1 = AC/L; 2 = AC/N; 3 = FG protective earth.
    DC output terminals 1–3 = +V; 4–6 = -V. Confirm polarity against this model’s terminal diagram.
    Terminal drawing dimensions The AC side marks 10 and 8.2 mm; the DC side marks 11 and 9.2 mm. These are drawing dimensions at their indicated locations, not a claim that every value is terminal pitch.
    Terminal projections AC-input side: 12 mm maximum; DC-output side: 18 mm maximum.
    Airflow and adjustment The mechanical drawing arrow points outward at the fan/input end. Keep the indicated airflow path unobstructed. The drawing identifies the LED and SVR1 output-voltage adjustment.

    Connector Mating Parts

    CN100 board connector HRS DF11-10DP-2DS or equivalent.
    Mating housing HRS DF11-10DS or equivalent, as listed for CN100.
    Mating terminal HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent is the printed terminal family; ** is not a confirmed orderable suffix.

    The catalogue identifies these mating parts but does not state that a cable, housing, terminals or mounting screws are included. Confirm the exact terminal suffix and wiring requirements before ordering; do not infer a complete accessory kit.

    Medical Safety, Leakage and Insulation

    Medical isolation Primary–secondary: 2 × MOPP; primary–earth: 1 × MOPP; secondary–earth: 1 × MOPP.
    Safety standards IEC 60601-1:2005+A1+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No. 60601-1:2014+A2; EAC TP TC 004 approved. Design references include BS EN/EN60335-1 and BS EN/EN62368-1 (by request).
    Leakage current Earth leakage <360 µA at 264 VAC; touch leakage <100 µA at 264 VAC.
    Withstand voltage Input–output: 4.5 kVAC; input–FG: 2 kVAC; output–FG: 1.5 kVAC.
    Insulation resistance 100 MΩ for input–output, input–FG and output–FG, tested at 500 VDC / 25°C / 70% RH.

    The catalogue states suitability for BF applications with appropriate system consideration. The supply is a component; this does not certify the finished medical equipment or its patient connections.

    EMC and Integration Conditions

    Conducted / radiated emissions BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11), Class B for each.
    Harmonic current / flicker BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; BS EN/EN61000-3-3.
    Immunity standards BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN60601-1-2.
    ESD BS EN/EN61000-4-2, Level 4: 15 kV air and 8 kV contact.
    Radiated RF / EFT-burst / conducted RF BS EN/EN61000-4-3, -4 and -6 respectively: Level 3.
    Surge BS EN/EN61000-4-5, Level 4: 2 kV line-to-line / 4 kV line-to-earth.
    Magnetic field BS EN/EN61000-4-8, Level 4.
    Dips / interruptions BS EN/EN61000-4-11: 100% dip for 1 period; 30% dip for 25 periods; 100% interruption for 250 periods.

    EMC testing uses the supply mounted on a 360 × 700 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick. This is a component-level test arrangement, not a statement that a plate is included. Reconfirm EMC compliance in the final equipment using the manufacturer’s component-power-supply guidance.

    Weight, Reliability and Catalogue Reference

    Catalogue unit weight 1530 g; catalogue packing reference per unit (1.53 kg in PACKING), not a measured net weight or shipment weight.
    MTBF 850.5 K hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 105.8 K hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. These figures are reliability references, not a guaranteed service-life duration.
    Switching-frequency diagram PWM oscillator: 65 kHz. PFC oscillator: 90 kHz.
    Manufacturer warranty statement The manufacturer catalogue lists a five-year warranty, subject to the applicable manufacturer terms.
    Applicable datasheet MSP-1000-SPEC, 2025-01-23; PDF pages 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa