MEAN WELL MSP-450 series: Enclosed Medical AC/DC Power Supply - MSP-450-5

Description

MEAN WELL MSP-450-5 is a single-output enclosed medical-type AC/DC power supply rated 5 VDC, 90 A and 450 W. It combines active PFC, MOOP-level isolation, controlled fan cooling, remote sense, remote ON/OFF, a DC-OK signal and a separate 5 V standby output. Apply the model-specific input, leakage and derating limits below.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL MSP-450 Datasheet (PDF)

The MSP-450 section is on PDF pages 10, 11, 12. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Exact Model and Output Ratings

Complete model MSP-450-5: MSP-450 single-output enclosed medical-type AC/DC power supply; -5 identifies the nominal 5 VDC output. Catalogue revision 2025-12-05.
Rated output 5 VDC; 90 A; 450 W. Current range: 0–90 A. These are the exact model ratings, subject to the derating limits below.
Output voltage adjustment 4.3–5.8 V using SVR. Observe the rated current and rated power limits when adjusting output voltage.
Ripple and noise 80 mVp-p maximum; measured with 20 MHz bandwidth, a 12-inch twisted pair and 0.1 µF + 47 µF parallel capacitors.
Voltage accuracy Voltage tolerance ±2.0%; line regulation ±0.5%; load regulation ±1.0%. Tolerance includes setup, line and load regulation.
Typical efficiency 83%, at the catalogue default test conditions.

Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient. The family name is not a substitute for this exact model’s output rating.

Input and Timing

Normal input range 85–264 VAC or 120–370 VDC; AC frequency 47–63 Hz. Apply low-input derating.
Active PFC Typical PF >0.95 at 230 VAC and >0.99 at 115 VAC, both at full load.
Typical AC current 5 A at 115 VAC; 2.4 A at 230 VAC.
Inrush / surge withstand Typical inrush 35 A at 115 VAC and 70 A at 230 VAC. Active inrush-current limiting is shown in the block diagram. Withstands 300 VAC surge input for 5 seconds; 300 VAC is not the continuous input rating.
Setup / rise time 1000 ms / 100 ms at 230 VAC; 2500 ms / 100 ms at 115 VAC, at full load.
Hold-up time 16 ms typical at 230 VAC and 16 ms typical at 115 VAC, at full load.
No-load consumption The feature list states no-load input power below 0.6 W. Note 6 specifies below 0.5 W with the main output remotely OFF: RC+ to RC− at 0–0.8 V or shorted.

Setup time is measured at the first cold start. Repeated ON/OFF switching may increase setup time.

Below 40 VAC, the catalogue warns of possible performance degradation and requires the final-equipment manufacturer to reconfirm basic safety and essential performance. This is an abnormal low-input condition, not an extension of the normal 85–264 VAC operating range.

Medical Isolation, Leakage and Approval Scope

Medical isolation level Primary-to-secondary: 2 × MOOP; primary-to-earth: 1 × MOOP. Secondary-to-earth: 1 × MOOP. MOOP stands for means of operator protection.
Leakage at 264 VAC Earth leakage <300 µA; touch leakage <100 µA.
Listed safety approvals IEC60601-1:2005+A1+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.60601-1:2014+A2; EAC TP TC004.
Design references by request BS EN/EN60335-1 and BS EN/EN62368-1 are listed as design references, by request.
Withstand voltage Input-to-output: 4 kVAC; input-to-FG: 2 kVAC; output-to-FG: 0.5 kVAC.
Insulation resistance 100 MΩ minimum for input/output, input/FG and output/FG, tested at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.

The stated insulation classification is MOOP. These pages do not establish a MOPP patient-protection rating or certify the completed medical equipment. Match the required insulation, leakage, grounding and final-system safety evaluation to the intended application.

Protection and Cooling

Short circuit / overload Short-circuit protection is listed. Overload threshold: 105–135% of rated output power, using constant-current limiting; automatic recovery after the fault is removed.
Overvoltage 6–7 V threshold for this model; shuts down the output, with re-powering required to recover.
Overtemperature Shuts down the output; automatic recovery after temperature falls.
Controlled cooling fan Built-in fan ON/OFF control: fan turns on at a typical load threshold of 20 ±10%, or when internal thermistor RTH2 reaches at least 50°C. RTH2 is not the ambient-temperature rating.
Ambient derating Horizontal mounting: 100% load from −40°C to +50°C, decreasing linearly to 50% at +70°C. The operating range is −40°C to +70°C, subject to this curve.
Input-voltage derating At 60 Hz, the curve rises from 80% load at 85 VAC to 100% at 100 VAC, then remains at 100% through 264 VAC.
Altitude derating For this fan-cooled model, reduce the allowed ambient temperature by 5°C per additional 1000 m above 2000 m.

Apply input-voltage, temperature and output-rating limits together. Keep the indicated fan inlet/outlet and surrounding airflow path unobstructed; verify cooling in the final enclosure. No numerical mounting-clearance distance is specified in these catalogue pages.

Standby, Remote Control and DC OK

Standby output 5 V, 0.3 A maximum; tolerance ±5% (4.75–5.25 V), ripple 50 mVp-p maximum. AUX is not switched by the main-output remote ON/OFF control.
Standby reference AUX pin 3 returns to AUXG pin 4. AUXG is isolated from the main +V/−V terminals; do not substitute the DC-OK ground.
Remote ON/OFF Between RC+ pin 1 and RC− pin 2: 4–10 V or open contact = power ON; 0–0.8 V or short contact = power OFF.
DC-OK signal DC-OK pin 5 is referenced to GND pin 6, which connects to main −V. TTL high when the PSU is ON: 3.3–5.6 V; OFF: 0–1 V.
Remote sense Connect +S pin 7 to the positive load terminal and −S pin 8 to the negative load terminal. Twist +S and −S together; maximum line-drop compensation is 0.5 V.

Use the complete function and connection drawings on PDF page 12. DC-OK is a TTL status output, not a dry relay contact; no additional contact-current or sourcing-current rating is specified here.

The documented functions for this family are standby, remote ON/OFF, DC OK and remote sense. No active current-sharing or parallel-unit count is specified for these models.

Power Terminals and CN100 Pin Assignment

AC input terminals 1 / 2 / 3 AC/L / AC/N / FG (frame ground), respectively.
Separate DC output terminals 1–3 / 4–6 DC terminals 1–3: −V; DC terminals 4–6: +V. Use the separate AC and DC numbering shown in the drawing.
CN100 pin 1 — RC+ Remote ON/OFF control input relative to RC− pin 2; an open contact enables the main output and a short disables it.
CN100 pin 2 — RC- Remote-control ground.
CN100 pin 3 — AUX 4.75–5.25 V auxiliary output, maximum 0.3 A, referenced to AUXG pin 4; remains available independently of remote ON/OFF control.
CN100 pin 4 — AUXG Auxiliary return, isolated from the main +V and −V output terminals.
CN100 pin 5 — DC-OK TTL status output referenced to GND pin 6; high when the PSU turns on.
CN100 pin 6 — GND DC-OK signal return; connected to the main −V output.
CN100 pin 7 — +S Positive remote-sense lead to the positive load terminal; use a twisted pair with −S.
CN100 pin 8 — -S Negative remote-sense lead to the negative load terminal; use a twisted pair with +S.

Pin numbers refer to the actual connector orientation shown on PDF page 11. Verify polarity and the separate return functions before wiring.

Mating Connector and Installation Parts

Board connector CN100: HRS DF11-8DP-2DS or equivalent, as printed in the catalogue.
Mating housing HRS DF11-8DS or equivalent, as printed.
Contact reference HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent. The asterisks are a contact-family placeholder, not a complete orderable contact suffix.

Confirm the complete mating-housing/contact variant, wire size and crimp tooling with the connector supplier before ordering. The catalogue does not specify an included harness quantity, a complete contact suffix or an accessory-kit order code; no inclusion is implied by the drawing.

Dimensions, Mounting and Weight

Body dimensions Case 995A; 218 × 105 × 41 mm (L × W × H), general drawing tolerance ±1 mm.
Threaded mounting points The base drawing marks 4-M4 L=5, with 152.4 × 63.5 mm hole spacing. The side drawing marks 8-M4 L=4 across both sides. Follow the shown hole coordinates and the stated L limits.
Terminal and service clearance The AC input-terminal projection is 12 mm maximum; the DC output-terminal projection is 18 mm maximum. Leave access to the terminals, CN100 and SVR, and keep the fan airflow path clear.
Local indication / adjustment LED and output-voltage adjustment SVR are identified on the mechanical drawing.
Catalogue unit weight 1190 g (1.19 kg), catalogue packing reference per unit from the PACKING row; not a measured net or shipping weight.
Packing reference 12 pieces / 15.3 kg / 0.81 CUFT. This bulk packing reference is not the quantity supplied with an individual product.

Use the complete dimension drawing on PDF page 11 for hole placement, connector orientation and installation envelope. The threaded-hole L markings must be respected; the diagram does not establish included screw quantities or tightening torques.

Environment, EMC and Reliability

Humidity / storage Operating humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing. Storage −40°C to +85°C, 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
Vibration 10–500 Hz, 5G, 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.
EMC emissions BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11) Class B; BS EN/EN61000-3-2 and -3; EAC TP TC020.
EMC immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-2,3,4,5,6,8,11; BS EN/EN60601-1-2; EAC TP TC020.
EMC test arrangement The catalogue EMC tests mount the supply on a 360 × 360 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick. The completed equipment must be reconfirmed against the applicable EMC requirements.
MTBF reference 159.3 K hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. These are reliability estimates, not a guaranteed operating life.
Switching reference PWM oscillator frequency: 70 kHz, as shown in the block diagram.
Manufacturer warranty statement The manufacturer catalogue lists a five-year warranty; applicable manufacturer terms govern.

MEAN WELL MSP-450 series: Enclosed Medical AC/DC Power Supply - MSP-450-5

Product form

MEAN WELL MSP-450-5 is a single-output enclosed medical-type AC/DC power supply rated 5 VDC, 90 A and 450 W. It... Read more

$385.41 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL MSP-450-5 is a single-output enclosed medical-type AC/DC power supply rated 5 VDC, 90 A and 450 W. It combines active PFC, MOOP-level isolation, controlled fan cooling, remote sense, remote ON/OFF, a DC-OK signal and a separate 5 V standby output. Apply the model-specific input, leakage and derating limits below.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL MSP-450 Datasheet (PDF)

    The MSP-450 section is on PDF pages 10, 11, 12. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Exact Model and Output Ratings

    Complete model MSP-450-5: MSP-450 single-output enclosed medical-type AC/DC power supply; -5 identifies the nominal 5 VDC output. Catalogue revision 2025-12-05.
    Rated output 5 VDC; 90 A; 450 W. Current range: 0–90 A. These are the exact model ratings, subject to the derating limits below.
    Output voltage adjustment 4.3–5.8 V using SVR. Observe the rated current and rated power limits when adjusting output voltage.
    Ripple and noise 80 mVp-p maximum; measured with 20 MHz bandwidth, a 12-inch twisted pair and 0.1 µF + 47 µF parallel capacitors.
    Voltage accuracy Voltage tolerance ±2.0%; line regulation ±0.5%; load regulation ±1.0%. Tolerance includes setup, line and load regulation.
    Typical efficiency 83%, at the catalogue default test conditions.

    Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient. The family name is not a substitute for this exact model’s output rating.

    Input and Timing

    Normal input range 85–264 VAC or 120–370 VDC; AC frequency 47–63 Hz. Apply low-input derating.
    Active PFC Typical PF >0.95 at 230 VAC and >0.99 at 115 VAC, both at full load.
    Typical AC current 5 A at 115 VAC; 2.4 A at 230 VAC.
    Inrush / surge withstand Typical inrush 35 A at 115 VAC and 70 A at 230 VAC. Active inrush-current limiting is shown in the block diagram. Withstands 300 VAC surge input for 5 seconds; 300 VAC is not the continuous input rating.
    Setup / rise time 1000 ms / 100 ms at 230 VAC; 2500 ms / 100 ms at 115 VAC, at full load.
    Hold-up time 16 ms typical at 230 VAC and 16 ms typical at 115 VAC, at full load.
    No-load consumption The feature list states no-load input power below 0.6 W. Note 6 specifies below 0.5 W with the main output remotely OFF: RC+ to RC− at 0–0.8 V or shorted.

    Setup time is measured at the first cold start. Repeated ON/OFF switching may increase setup time.

    Below 40 VAC, the catalogue warns of possible performance degradation and requires the final-equipment manufacturer to reconfirm basic safety and essential performance. This is an abnormal low-input condition, not an extension of the normal 85–264 VAC operating range.

    Medical Isolation, Leakage and Approval Scope

    Medical isolation level Primary-to-secondary: 2 × MOOP; primary-to-earth: 1 × MOOP. Secondary-to-earth: 1 × MOOP. MOOP stands for means of operator protection.
    Leakage at 264 VAC Earth leakage <300 µA; touch leakage <100 µA.
    Listed safety approvals IEC60601-1:2005+A1+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.60601-1:2014+A2; EAC TP TC004.
    Design references by request BS EN/EN60335-1 and BS EN/EN62368-1 are listed as design references, by request.
    Withstand voltage Input-to-output: 4 kVAC; input-to-FG: 2 kVAC; output-to-FG: 0.5 kVAC.
    Insulation resistance 100 MΩ minimum for input/output, input/FG and output/FG, tested at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.

    The stated insulation classification is MOOP. These pages do not establish a MOPP patient-protection rating or certify the completed medical equipment. Match the required insulation, leakage, grounding and final-system safety evaluation to the intended application.

    Protection and Cooling

    Short circuit / overload Short-circuit protection is listed. Overload threshold: 105–135% of rated output power, using constant-current limiting; automatic recovery after the fault is removed.
    Overvoltage 6–7 V threshold for this model; shuts down the output, with re-powering required to recover.
    Overtemperature Shuts down the output; automatic recovery after temperature falls.
    Controlled cooling fan Built-in fan ON/OFF control: fan turns on at a typical load threshold of 20 ±10%, or when internal thermistor RTH2 reaches at least 50°C. RTH2 is not the ambient-temperature rating.
    Ambient derating Horizontal mounting: 100% load from −40°C to +50°C, decreasing linearly to 50% at +70°C. The operating range is −40°C to +70°C, subject to this curve.
    Input-voltage derating At 60 Hz, the curve rises from 80% load at 85 VAC to 100% at 100 VAC, then remains at 100% through 264 VAC.
    Altitude derating For this fan-cooled model, reduce the allowed ambient temperature by 5°C per additional 1000 m above 2000 m.

    Apply input-voltage, temperature and output-rating limits together. Keep the indicated fan inlet/outlet and surrounding airflow path unobstructed; verify cooling in the final enclosure. No numerical mounting-clearance distance is specified in these catalogue pages.

    Standby, Remote Control and DC OK

    Standby output 5 V, 0.3 A maximum; tolerance ±5% (4.75–5.25 V), ripple 50 mVp-p maximum. AUX is not switched by the main-output remote ON/OFF control.
    Standby reference AUX pin 3 returns to AUXG pin 4. AUXG is isolated from the main +V/−V terminals; do not substitute the DC-OK ground.
    Remote ON/OFF Between RC+ pin 1 and RC− pin 2: 4–10 V or open contact = power ON; 0–0.8 V or short contact = power OFF.
    DC-OK signal DC-OK pin 5 is referenced to GND pin 6, which connects to main −V. TTL high when the PSU is ON: 3.3–5.6 V; OFF: 0–1 V.
    Remote sense Connect +S pin 7 to the positive load terminal and −S pin 8 to the negative load terminal. Twist +S and −S together; maximum line-drop compensation is 0.5 V.

    Use the complete function and connection drawings on PDF page 12. DC-OK is a TTL status output, not a dry relay contact; no additional contact-current or sourcing-current rating is specified here.

    The documented functions for this family are standby, remote ON/OFF, DC OK and remote sense. No active current-sharing or parallel-unit count is specified for these models.

    Power Terminals and CN100 Pin Assignment

    AC input terminals 1 / 2 / 3 AC/L / AC/N / FG (frame ground), respectively.
    Separate DC output terminals 1–3 / 4–6 DC terminals 1–3: −V; DC terminals 4–6: +V. Use the separate AC and DC numbering shown in the drawing.
    CN100 pin 1 — RC+ Remote ON/OFF control input relative to RC− pin 2; an open contact enables the main output and a short disables it.
    CN100 pin 2 — RC- Remote-control ground.
    CN100 pin 3 — AUX 4.75–5.25 V auxiliary output, maximum 0.3 A, referenced to AUXG pin 4; remains available independently of remote ON/OFF control.
    CN100 pin 4 — AUXG Auxiliary return, isolated from the main +V and −V output terminals.
    CN100 pin 5 — DC-OK TTL status output referenced to GND pin 6; high when the PSU turns on.
    CN100 pin 6 — GND DC-OK signal return; connected to the main −V output.
    CN100 pin 7 — +S Positive remote-sense lead to the positive load terminal; use a twisted pair with −S.
    CN100 pin 8 — -S Negative remote-sense lead to the negative load terminal; use a twisted pair with +S.

    Pin numbers refer to the actual connector orientation shown on PDF page 11. Verify polarity and the separate return functions before wiring.

    Mating Connector and Installation Parts

    Board connector CN100: HRS DF11-8DP-2DS or equivalent, as printed in the catalogue.
    Mating housing HRS DF11-8DS or equivalent, as printed.
    Contact reference HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent. The asterisks are a contact-family placeholder, not a complete orderable contact suffix.

    Confirm the complete mating-housing/contact variant, wire size and crimp tooling with the connector supplier before ordering. The catalogue does not specify an included harness quantity, a complete contact suffix or an accessory-kit order code; no inclusion is implied by the drawing.

    Dimensions, Mounting and Weight

    Body dimensions Case 995A; 218 × 105 × 41 mm (L × W × H), general drawing tolerance ±1 mm.
    Threaded mounting points The base drawing marks 4-M4 L=5, with 152.4 × 63.5 mm hole spacing. The side drawing marks 8-M4 L=4 across both sides. Follow the shown hole coordinates and the stated L limits.
    Terminal and service clearance The AC input-terminal projection is 12 mm maximum; the DC output-terminal projection is 18 mm maximum. Leave access to the terminals, CN100 and SVR, and keep the fan airflow path clear.
    Local indication / adjustment LED and output-voltage adjustment SVR are identified on the mechanical drawing.
    Catalogue unit weight 1190 g (1.19 kg), catalogue packing reference per unit from the PACKING row; not a measured net or shipping weight.
    Packing reference 12 pieces / 15.3 kg / 0.81 CUFT. This bulk packing reference is not the quantity supplied with an individual product.

    Use the complete dimension drawing on PDF page 11 for hole placement, connector orientation and installation envelope. The threaded-hole L markings must be respected; the diagram does not establish included screw quantities or tightening torques.

    Environment, EMC and Reliability

    Humidity / storage Operating humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing. Storage −40°C to +85°C, 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
    Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
    Vibration 10–500 Hz, 5G, 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.
    EMC emissions BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11) Class B; BS EN/EN61000-3-2 and -3; EAC TP TC020.
    EMC immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-2,3,4,5,6,8,11; BS EN/EN60601-1-2; EAC TP TC020.
    EMC test arrangement The catalogue EMC tests mount the supply on a 360 × 360 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick. The completed equipment must be reconfirmed against the applicable EMC requirements.
    MTBF reference 159.3 K hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. These are reliability estimates, not a guaranteed operating life.
    Switching reference PWM oscillator frequency: 70 kHz, as shown in the block diagram.
    Manufacturer warranty statement The manufacturer catalogue lists a five-year warranty; applicable manufacturer terms govern.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa