MEAN WELL NDR-240-48 is a single-output industrial DIN rail power supply rated at 48 V DC, 5 A and 240 W. It accepts 90–264 VAC or 127–370 VDC and combines active PFC, adjustable output and free-air convection in a 63 mm-wide metal housing. It mounts on TS-35/7.5 or TS-35/15 rail and provides an LED power indicator.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL NDR-240 Datasheet (PDF)
The NDR-240 section is on PDF pages 9, 10, 11, 12. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model and DC Output
| Complete model |
NDR-240-48; NDR-240 catalogue revision 2026-04-03. NDR identifies the series, 240 the output-wattage class, and 48 the nominal output voltage. |
| Rated output |
48 V DC / 5 A / 240 W; output-current range 0–5 A. |
| Output adjustment |
48–55 V using +V ADJ. Observe the rated current and power limits when adjusting voltage. |
| Ripple and noise |
150 mVp-p maximum; measured at 20 MHz bandwidth with a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors. |
| Voltage tolerance |
±1.0%, including setup tolerance, line regulation and load regulation. |
| Line / load regulation |
±0.5% / ±1.0%, respectively. |
| Typical efficiency |
90% at the default 230 VAC input, rated-load and 25°C ambient test conditions. |
The constant-current protection circuit supports inductive or capacitive load applications within the specified operating limits. Protection operation is not an additional continuous output rating.
Input and Timing
| AC / DC input |
90–264 VAC or 127–370 VDC; AC frequency 47–63 Hz. |
| Active PFC / power factor |
Built-in active PFC. The typical-value table states PF >0.98 at 115 VAC and PF >0.95 at 230 VAC, at full load. |
| Typical AC input current |
2.5 A at 115 VAC; 1.3 A at 230 VAC. |
| Typical inrush current |
20 A at 115 VAC; 35 A at 230 VAC. |
| Leakage current |
Less than 1 mA at 240 VAC. |
| Setup / rise time |
1500 / 100 ms at 230 VAC; 3000 / 100 ms at 115 VAC, at full load. |
| Typical hold-up time |
28 ms at 230 VAC; 22 ms at 115 VAC, at full load. |
| Block-diagram switching frequency |
70 kHz, as labelled in the block diagram. |
Unless otherwise specified, parameters are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient. Low-input-voltage operation is subject to load derating.
Protection and Indication
| Short circuit / overload |
105–130% of rated output power; constant-current limiting, with automatic recovery after the fault is removed. |
| Overvoltage |
56–65 V; output shutdown, then re-power to recover. |
| Overtemperature |
Output shutdown, with automatic recovery after the temperature decreases. No numerical trip temperature is stated in this model’s specification. |
| Front indication / adjustment |
The front drawing identifies a DC OK LED indicator and a +V ADJ voltage-adjustment control. |
The protection range is not a published peak-power or duty-cycle rating. Use the model’s rated output together with the input and temperature derating curves.
Cooling, Derating and Environment
| Housing and cooling |
Metal housing with free-air convection cooling; the temperature curve is specified for vertical mounting. |
| Working temperature / load |
−20 to +70°C. The curve allows 100% load from −20 to +50°C, then decreases along the plotted straight line to 50% at +70°C. |
| Input-voltage derating |
At 60 Hz AC, the curve shows 80% load at 90 VAC, increasing to 100% at 100 VAC; the full-load plateau continues through 264 VAC. |
| Working humidity |
20–95% RH, non-condensing. |
| Storage temperature / humidity |
−40 to +85°C; 10–95% RH. |
| Temperature coefficient |
±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C. |
| Vibration |
Component: 10–500 Hz, 2G, 10 min/cycle, 60 min on each X, Y and Z axis. Mounting: compliance with IEC60068-2-6. |
| High-altitude derating |
For this fanless model, reduce the permitted ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1000 m above 2000 m. The footnote does not state a maximum approved operating altitude. |
Apply the input-voltage and temperature limits together, using the more restrictive permissible load. Refer to PDF page 11 for both curves. The +70°C endpoint is not a full-power operating point.
Dimensions, Terminals and Installation
| Body dimensions |
63 × 125.2 × 113.5 mm (W × H × D); case 979C; general drawing tolerance ±1 mm. |
| DIN rail compatibility |
TS-35/7.5 or TS-35/15; the installation drawing shows a 35 mm rail. The rail is for reference and is not included with the unit. |
| TB1 input terminals |
Pin 1: FG (protective earth); pin 2: AC/N or DC negative; pin 3: AC/L or DC positive. |
| TB2 output terminals |
Pins 1 and 2: −V; pins 3 and 4: +V. |
| Recommended full-load clearances |
40 mm above, 20 mm below and 5 mm on each side. If an adjacent device is a heat source, 15 mm clearance is recommended. |
| Wiring / fastening |
Connect FG to protective earth and follow the actual terminal markings. Consult the unit’s installation instructions for conductor sizes and tightening torques; the mechanical terminal table does not specify those numerical limits. |
Use the front, side and rear views on PDF page 12 for the DIN-rail latch and terminal positions. No separately orderable MEAN WELL rail, bracket, terminal cover, connector or cable accessory code is specified in these NDR-240 pages.
Safety, Isolation and EMC
| Catalogue-listed approvals |
UL508, TUV BS EN/EN62368-1, EAC TP TC004 and BSMI CNS14336-1. |
| Additional standards statement |
The catalogue states that the unit meets BS EN/EN60204-1. |
| BIS / IS13252 scope |
The catalogue lists BIS IS13252 (Part 1):2010 / IEC60950-1:2005, with Note 8 stating that some models may not carry the BIS logo. Confirm the actual unit marking and the manufacturer’s applicable approval information before selecting for a BIS-marked requirement. |
| Withstand voltage |
Input–output: 3 kVAC; input–FG: 2 kVAC; output–FG: 0.5 kVAC. |
| Isolation resistance |
Greater than 100 MΩ for input–output, input–FG and output–FG, at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH. |
| EMC emission |
BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32), BS EN/EN61204-3 Class B, BS EN/EN61000-3-2 and -3, EAC TP TC020, and CNS13438. |
| EMC immunity |
BS EN/EN61000-4-2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -8 and -11; BS EN/EN55035; BS EN/EN61000-6-2 (EN50082-2); BS EN/EN61204-3, heavy-industry level; EAC TP TC020. |
| Korean approval / EMC scope |
For this 48 V model, the catalogue additionally lists KC K60950-1 approval, KSC9832 emissions and KSC9835 immunity. |
The final equipment must be checked again to confirm that the whole system complies with applicable EMC requirements. The power supply’s listings do not by themselves certify the completed installation.
Weight, Reliability and Applications
| Catalogue packing reference per unit |
1000 g, from the explicit PACKING entry on PDF page 10: 1 kg; 12 pcs / 13 kg / 1.22 CUFT. This is a catalogue packing reference, not a measured net or shipping weight. |
| MTBF reference |
1645.2 K hours minimum under Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 230.2 K hours minimum under MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. These are reliability references, not a guaranteed service life. |
| Manufacturer-listed applications |
Industrial control systems; Semiconductor fabrication equipment; Factory automation; Electromechanical applications. |
| Factory test / warranty |
The manufacturer lists 100% full-load burn-in testing and a three-year warranty, subject to its applicable terms. |