MEAN WELL NSP-3200 series: single-output enclosed AC/DC power supply with PFC and CANBus - NSP-3200-48

Description

MEAN WELL NSP-3200-48 is a single-output enclosed industrial AC/DC power supply rated at 48 V DC, 67 A and 3216 W. It accepts 90 to 264 VAC or 127 to 400 VDC and combines active PFC, intelligent fan cooling, built-in CANBus, voltage programming and remote sensing in a 41 mm low-profile housing. Apply the input, thermal and programmed-output limits below.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL NSP-3200 Datasheet (PDF)

The NSP-3200 section is on PDF pages 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Model, Output and Control Range

Complete model NSP-3200-48
Nominal DC output 48 V
Rated current / current range 67 A / 0 to 67 A
Rated output power 3216 W
Maximum ripple and noise 480 mVp-p
Built-in voltage adjustment 47.5 to 58.8 V
Voltage tolerance / line / load regulation ±1.0% / ±0.5% / ±0.5%
Typical efficiency 94.5%, measured at 75% load
External voltage programming 50 to 125% of nominal voltage; 24.0 to 60.00 V
Communication Built-in CANBus; CAN 2.0B

The complete model comprises the NSP family, 3200 power class and 48 V output code. The actual rating is 3216 W; the family number is not an additional continuous power rating.

Unless otherwise stated, measurements use 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C ambient; efficiency is specifically measured at 75% load. Ripple/noise uses 20 MHz bandwidth and a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors in parallel. Voltage tolerance includes setup, line and load regulation.

Input, Timing and Protection

Continuous input 90 to 264 VAC / 127 to 400 VDC; 47 to 63 Hz
Typical power factor 0.97 at 230 VAC, full load
Typical AC input current 17 A at 230 VAC
Typical cold-start inrush 55 A at 230 VAC
Leakage current <2 mA at 230 VAC
Setup / rise time 1500 / 60 ms at 230 VAC, full load
Typical hold-up time 16 ms at 70% load; 8 ms at full load, 230 VAC
Overload threshold 105 to 115% of rated output power
Overvoltage threshold 63 to 75 V

Active PFC and active inrush-current limiting are shown in the block diagram. PFC and PWM switching frequencies are 110 kHz and 90 kHz respectively.

Short-circuit/overload protection uses constant-current limiting. The output shuts down 5 seconds after the output voltage has fallen low; re-power to recover. This is a protection behavior, not a separate uninterrupted constant-current output rating.

Overvoltage protection shuts down the output and requires re-powering. Overtemperature protection shuts down the output and recovers automatically after temperature falls.

Cooling, Environment and Derating

Cooling Built-in DC fans with intelligent speed control based on internal PSU temperature
Working temperature -20 to +70°C, with derating
Typical fan noise at 25°C 38 dB at 10% load; 38 dB at 70% load; ISO 7779 test setup
Humidity / storage Operation: 20 to 90% RH, non-condensing; storage: -40 to +85°C, 10 to 95% RH, non-condensing
Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C from 0 to 50°C

The 60 Hz input-derating table permits 3216 W / 67 A at 180 to 264 VAC and 1608 W / 33.5 A at 90 VAC. Printed curve annotations show approximately 55% load at 100 VAC and 64% at 115 VAC; follow the complete curve between these points.

For the illustrated horizontal mounting, the temperature curve permits full load from -20 to 50°C, then 75% at 60°C and 50% at 70°C. Apply the input and temperature limits together; the upper temperature is not a full-load rating.

The efficiency-versus-load graph applies to the 48 V model at 230 VAC. It does not establish an efficiency curve for all models or input conditions.

Above 2000 m altitude, reduce allowable ambient temperature by 5°C per additional 1000 m for this fan-cooled model. The note does not specify an unlimited or exact maximum altitude. Keep the illustrated airflow path clear.

Vibration: 10 to 500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle and 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.

Voltage Programming and Sensing

Apply the external DC voltage-programming signal to CN1 pin 12 (PV), referenced to pin 14 (-Vo Signal). This analog control range is separate from adjustment by the built-in potentiometer.

Follow the complete PV curve: below approximately 0.4 V control the diagram shows nominal output; 0.4 to 1 V selects the 50% minimum. Marked points then indicate about 70% at 2 V, 90% at 3 V, 110% at 4 V and 125% at 4.7 to 5 V. The transition at the low end means the whole control range must not be treated as one linear conversion.

The permitted output current also changes with programmed voltage: 80% of rated current from 50 to 90% nominal voltage, rising to 100% at 95%, remaining 100% through nominal voltage, then falling to 80% at 125%. Follow the diagram and all input/thermal limits. With PV adjustment, ripple/noise may under some operating conditions slightly exceed the normal specified limit.

Remote sense compensates up to 0.5 V of load-wiring drop. Connect CN1 pin 15 (+RS) to the positive load terminal and pin 16 (-RS) to the negative load terminal; twist the sense pair to reduce noise pickup.

When remote sense is not used, connect pin 15 to pin 13 (+Vo Signal) and pin 16 to pin 14 (-Vo Signal) for local sensing. Do not additionally bridge these sense leads locally while using the remote-load sensing connection. Signal pins 13 and 14 cannot supply the load.

Remote Control, Auxiliary Power and Alarms

For dry-contact remote ON/OFF, connect a switch between CN1 pin 3 (+5V-aux) and pin 4 (R.C): short is ON, open is OFF. For electrical control, pin 4 is an isolated signal referenced to pin 2 (GND-aux); 4.5 to 5.5 V is ON and -0.5 to +0.5 V is OFF, maximum 5.5 V. Pin 3 is only for remote-control use, not a rated general-purpose 5 V supply.

CN1 pin 1 provides nominal 12 V auxiliary power at up to 0.8 A relative to pin 2. The specification lists ±10% tolerance; the detailed pin table gives 10.6 to 13.2 V. It incorporates ORing diodes, is isolated from the main output and remains independent of remote ON/OFF.

DC-OK (CN1 pin 5) and T-ALARM (pin 6) are isolated TTL outputs referenced to GND-aux, with a 10 mA maximum signal-current rating. DC-OK is high, 3.5 to 5.5 V, when output is at or below 77% ±5%, and low, -0.5 to +0.5 V, when output is at or above 80% ±5%. High therefore indicates the DC-output failure condition, not OK.

T-ALARM is high, 3.5 to 5.5 V, for an internal temperature alarm or fan failure, and low, -0.5 to +0.5 V, when internal temperature and fan operation are normal.

The LED is green during normal operation and steady red for an abnormal condition such as OTP, OLP or fan failure. Flashing red at 60°C internal temperature is an early warning: the unit still operates normally without entering OTP, and an alarm is also sent over CANBus. This is internal temperature, not a 60°C ambient switch point.

CANBus and Connector Pin Assignments

The built-in CAN 2.0B interface supports information reading, status monitoring and output trimming. The datasheet lists a maximum bus speed of 250 kHz; use the manufacturer user manual for the complete protocol and setup.

CN1 uses HRS DF11-16DP-2DS or equivalent, with HRS DF11-16DS mating housing or equivalent. Pins are 1 +12V-aux, 2 GND-aux, 3 +5V-aux (remote-control use only), 4 R.C, 5 DC-OK, 6 T-ALARM, 7/8/9 A0/A1/A2 CANBus address lines, 10/11 NC, 12 PV, 13 +Vo Signal, 14 -Vo Signal, 15 +RS and 16 -RS. Address and PV signals are non-isolated and referenced to -Vo Signal.

CN2 uses HRS DF11-8DP-2DS or equivalent, with HRS DF11-8DS mating housing or equivalent. Pins 1 to 4 are NC; pins 5 and 6 are -Vo Signal and cannot connect directly to the load; pins 7 and 8 are CANH and CANL. CAN data signals are isolated and referenced to GND-aux; do not interchange the isolated return with -Vo Signal.

The printed crimp-contact reference for these connectors is HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent. The asterisks are an incomplete contact designation, so the exact contact must be selected for the wire and housing before ordering. No unlisted contact suffix is implied.

Dimensions, Weight and Mounting

Housing dimensions (L × W × H) 325.8 × 107 × 41 mm; 1U low profile
Catalog single-unit packing reference 2240 g (2.24 kg per unit)
Packing reference 4 pcs / 10 kg / 1.09 CUFT
Case / drawing tolerance Case No. 294A; dimensions in mm, ±0.5 mm

The manufacturer describes the series as reaching up to 37 W/in³ power density; this is a family-level claim, not a separately established value for every operating point. The single-unit packing reference is not a measured net or parcel weight.

The side view marks 2-M4 L=5 on each side and the bottom 3-M3 L=4. M3 mounting screws have a maximum penetration depth of 4 mm and recommended torque 6 to 8 kgf·cm; M4 has maximum penetration 5 mm and torque 7 to 10 kgf·cm.

Allow for the terminal and bracket envelope as shown in the full drawing: -Vo and +Vo output bars extend 28 mm and 38 mm respectively, while the AC terminal projection is 12 mm maximum. The output-hole diameter is 6.5 mm; bracket-related transverse dimensions are 127 and 137 mm. These are separate from the 107 mm housing width.

AC input terminals are 1 FG (protective earth), 2 AC/N and 3 AC/L. Their screw thread is M3.5 and maximum torque is 8 kgf·cm. Do not apply case-mounting torque indiscriminately to electrical terminals. Follow the drawing for hole centres and keep airflow from the terminal end toward the rear fans unobstructed.

Supplied Control Wire and Optional Brackets

One CN1 control-interface mating wire assembly per unit is listed as a standard accessory. The drawing identifies HRS DF11-16DS or equivalent and UL1007 26AWG wire. Its inclusion is distinct from unlisted spare housings or contacts; no separate complete MEAN WELL assembly-order code is supplied in this list.

Mounting bracket PGG2MHS013A is a by-request accessory ordered separately, four brackets per unit. The installation diagram shows the four bracket positions and labels the combination screw M4 × 4. This screw-size label does not establish an additional order code or that screws are supplied with the bracket. Retain the mounting-depth and torque limits above.

Safety, EMC and Reliability

The datasheet lists approval to UL62368-1, CSA C22.2 No. 62368-1, TUV BS EN/EN62368-1, BIS IS 13252 (Part 1):2010 / IEC 60950-1:2005 and EAC TP TC 004. SEMI F47 is a design reference at 200 VAC, not an unconditional certification statement.

Dielectric withstand: input-to-output 3 kVAC, input-to-FG 2 kVAC and output-to-FG 1.5 kVAC. Insulation resistance for the three paths is 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.

Emissions: BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32), conducted Class B and radiated Class A; harmonic current BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; voltage flicker BS EN/EN61000-3-3.

Immunity: BS EN/EN55024 and BS EN/EN61000-6-2. IEC/EN61000-4 tests list ESD at 8 kV air / 4 kV contact; radiated RF, EFT/burst and conducted RF Level 3; surge 2 kV line-line / 4 kV line-earth; magnetic field Level 4. Voltage dips/interruption are >95% for 0.5 periods, 30% for 25 periods and >95% for 250 periods.

This supply is a component for installation in final equipment. EMC tests mount it on a 600 × 900 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick; the finished equipment must be reconfirmed against its EMC requirements.

MTBF is 637.4K hours minimum by Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore), or 63.7K hours minimum by MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. MTBF is a reliability calculation, not a service-life guarantee. Manufacturer-stated warranty: 5 years.

MEAN WELL NSP-3200 series: single-output enclosed AC/DC power supply with PFC and CANBus - NSP-3200-48

Product form

MEAN WELL NSP-3200-48 is a single-output enclosed industrial AC/DC power supply rated at 48 V DC, 67 A and 3216... Read more

$1,296.71 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL NSP-3200-48 is a single-output enclosed industrial AC/DC power supply rated at 48 V DC, 67 A and 3216 W. It accepts 90 to 264 VAC or 127 to 400 VDC and combines active PFC, intelligent fan cooling, built-in CANBus, voltage programming and remote sensing in a 41 mm low-profile housing. Apply the input, thermal and programmed-output limits below.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL NSP-3200 Datasheet (PDF)

    The NSP-3200 section is on PDF pages 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Model, Output and Control Range

    Complete model NSP-3200-48
    Nominal DC output 48 V
    Rated current / current range 67 A / 0 to 67 A
    Rated output power 3216 W
    Maximum ripple and noise 480 mVp-p
    Built-in voltage adjustment 47.5 to 58.8 V
    Voltage tolerance / line / load regulation ±1.0% / ±0.5% / ±0.5%
    Typical efficiency 94.5%, measured at 75% load
    External voltage programming 50 to 125% of nominal voltage; 24.0 to 60.00 V
    Communication Built-in CANBus; CAN 2.0B

    The complete model comprises the NSP family, 3200 power class and 48 V output code. The actual rating is 3216 W; the family number is not an additional continuous power rating.

    Unless otherwise stated, measurements use 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C ambient; efficiency is specifically measured at 75% load. Ripple/noise uses 20 MHz bandwidth and a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors in parallel. Voltage tolerance includes setup, line and load regulation.

    Input, Timing and Protection

    Continuous input 90 to 264 VAC / 127 to 400 VDC; 47 to 63 Hz
    Typical power factor 0.97 at 230 VAC, full load
    Typical AC input current 17 A at 230 VAC
    Typical cold-start inrush 55 A at 230 VAC
    Leakage current <2 mA at 230 VAC
    Setup / rise time 1500 / 60 ms at 230 VAC, full load
    Typical hold-up time 16 ms at 70% load; 8 ms at full load, 230 VAC
    Overload threshold 105 to 115% of rated output power
    Overvoltage threshold 63 to 75 V

    Active PFC and active inrush-current limiting are shown in the block diagram. PFC and PWM switching frequencies are 110 kHz and 90 kHz respectively.

    Short-circuit/overload protection uses constant-current limiting. The output shuts down 5 seconds after the output voltage has fallen low; re-power to recover. This is a protection behavior, not a separate uninterrupted constant-current output rating.

    Overvoltage protection shuts down the output and requires re-powering. Overtemperature protection shuts down the output and recovers automatically after temperature falls.

    Cooling, Environment and Derating

    Cooling Built-in DC fans with intelligent speed control based on internal PSU temperature
    Working temperature -20 to +70°C, with derating
    Typical fan noise at 25°C 38 dB at 10% load; 38 dB at 70% load; ISO 7779 test setup
    Humidity / storage Operation: 20 to 90% RH, non-condensing; storage: -40 to +85°C, 10 to 95% RH, non-condensing
    Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C from 0 to 50°C

    The 60 Hz input-derating table permits 3216 W / 67 A at 180 to 264 VAC and 1608 W / 33.5 A at 90 VAC. Printed curve annotations show approximately 55% load at 100 VAC and 64% at 115 VAC; follow the complete curve between these points.

    For the illustrated horizontal mounting, the temperature curve permits full load from -20 to 50°C, then 75% at 60°C and 50% at 70°C. Apply the input and temperature limits together; the upper temperature is not a full-load rating.

    The efficiency-versus-load graph applies to the 48 V model at 230 VAC. It does not establish an efficiency curve for all models or input conditions.

    Above 2000 m altitude, reduce allowable ambient temperature by 5°C per additional 1000 m for this fan-cooled model. The note does not specify an unlimited or exact maximum altitude. Keep the illustrated airflow path clear.

    Vibration: 10 to 500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle and 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.

    Voltage Programming and Sensing

    Apply the external DC voltage-programming signal to CN1 pin 12 (PV), referenced to pin 14 (-Vo Signal). This analog control range is separate from adjustment by the built-in potentiometer.

    Follow the complete PV curve: below approximately 0.4 V control the diagram shows nominal output; 0.4 to 1 V selects the 50% minimum. Marked points then indicate about 70% at 2 V, 90% at 3 V, 110% at 4 V and 125% at 4.7 to 5 V. The transition at the low end means the whole control range must not be treated as one linear conversion.

    The permitted output current also changes with programmed voltage: 80% of rated current from 50 to 90% nominal voltage, rising to 100% at 95%, remaining 100% through nominal voltage, then falling to 80% at 125%. Follow the diagram and all input/thermal limits. With PV adjustment, ripple/noise may under some operating conditions slightly exceed the normal specified limit.

    Remote sense compensates up to 0.5 V of load-wiring drop. Connect CN1 pin 15 (+RS) to the positive load terminal and pin 16 (-RS) to the negative load terminal; twist the sense pair to reduce noise pickup.

    When remote sense is not used, connect pin 15 to pin 13 (+Vo Signal) and pin 16 to pin 14 (-Vo Signal) for local sensing. Do not additionally bridge these sense leads locally while using the remote-load sensing connection. Signal pins 13 and 14 cannot supply the load.

    Remote Control, Auxiliary Power and Alarms

    For dry-contact remote ON/OFF, connect a switch between CN1 pin 3 (+5V-aux) and pin 4 (R.C): short is ON, open is OFF. For electrical control, pin 4 is an isolated signal referenced to pin 2 (GND-aux); 4.5 to 5.5 V is ON and -0.5 to +0.5 V is OFF, maximum 5.5 V. Pin 3 is only for remote-control use, not a rated general-purpose 5 V supply.

    CN1 pin 1 provides nominal 12 V auxiliary power at up to 0.8 A relative to pin 2. The specification lists ±10% tolerance; the detailed pin table gives 10.6 to 13.2 V. It incorporates ORing diodes, is isolated from the main output and remains independent of remote ON/OFF.

    DC-OK (CN1 pin 5) and T-ALARM (pin 6) are isolated TTL outputs referenced to GND-aux, with a 10 mA maximum signal-current rating. DC-OK is high, 3.5 to 5.5 V, when output is at or below 77% ±5%, and low, -0.5 to +0.5 V, when output is at or above 80% ±5%. High therefore indicates the DC-output failure condition, not OK.

    T-ALARM is high, 3.5 to 5.5 V, for an internal temperature alarm or fan failure, and low, -0.5 to +0.5 V, when internal temperature and fan operation are normal.

    The LED is green during normal operation and steady red for an abnormal condition such as OTP, OLP or fan failure. Flashing red at 60°C internal temperature is an early warning: the unit still operates normally without entering OTP, and an alarm is also sent over CANBus. This is internal temperature, not a 60°C ambient switch point.

    CANBus and Connector Pin Assignments

    The built-in CAN 2.0B interface supports information reading, status monitoring and output trimming. The datasheet lists a maximum bus speed of 250 kHz; use the manufacturer user manual for the complete protocol and setup.

    CN1 uses HRS DF11-16DP-2DS or equivalent, with HRS DF11-16DS mating housing or equivalent. Pins are 1 +12V-aux, 2 GND-aux, 3 +5V-aux (remote-control use only), 4 R.C, 5 DC-OK, 6 T-ALARM, 7/8/9 A0/A1/A2 CANBus address lines, 10/11 NC, 12 PV, 13 +Vo Signal, 14 -Vo Signal, 15 +RS and 16 -RS. Address and PV signals are non-isolated and referenced to -Vo Signal.

    CN2 uses HRS DF11-8DP-2DS or equivalent, with HRS DF11-8DS mating housing or equivalent. Pins 1 to 4 are NC; pins 5 and 6 are -Vo Signal and cannot connect directly to the load; pins 7 and 8 are CANH and CANL. CAN data signals are isolated and referenced to GND-aux; do not interchange the isolated return with -Vo Signal.

    The printed crimp-contact reference for these connectors is HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent. The asterisks are an incomplete contact designation, so the exact contact must be selected for the wire and housing before ordering. No unlisted contact suffix is implied.

    Dimensions, Weight and Mounting

    Housing dimensions (L × W × H) 325.8 × 107 × 41 mm; 1U low profile
    Catalog single-unit packing reference 2240 g (2.24 kg per unit)
    Packing reference 4 pcs / 10 kg / 1.09 CUFT
    Case / drawing tolerance Case No. 294A; dimensions in mm, ±0.5 mm

    The manufacturer describes the series as reaching up to 37 W/in³ power density; this is a family-level claim, not a separately established value for every operating point. The single-unit packing reference is not a measured net or parcel weight.

    The side view marks 2-M4 L=5 on each side and the bottom 3-M3 L=4. M3 mounting screws have a maximum penetration depth of 4 mm and recommended torque 6 to 8 kgf·cm; M4 has maximum penetration 5 mm and torque 7 to 10 kgf·cm.

    Allow for the terminal and bracket envelope as shown in the full drawing: -Vo and +Vo output bars extend 28 mm and 38 mm respectively, while the AC terminal projection is 12 mm maximum. The output-hole diameter is 6.5 mm; bracket-related transverse dimensions are 127 and 137 mm. These are separate from the 107 mm housing width.

    AC input terminals are 1 FG (protective earth), 2 AC/N and 3 AC/L. Their screw thread is M3.5 and maximum torque is 8 kgf·cm. Do not apply case-mounting torque indiscriminately to electrical terminals. Follow the drawing for hole centres and keep airflow from the terminal end toward the rear fans unobstructed.

    Supplied Control Wire and Optional Brackets

    One CN1 control-interface mating wire assembly per unit is listed as a standard accessory. The drawing identifies HRS DF11-16DS or equivalent and UL1007 26AWG wire. Its inclusion is distinct from unlisted spare housings or contacts; no separate complete MEAN WELL assembly-order code is supplied in this list.

    Mounting bracket PGG2MHS013A is a by-request accessory ordered separately, four brackets per unit. The installation diagram shows the four bracket positions and labels the combination screw M4 × 4. This screw-size label does not establish an additional order code or that screws are supplied with the bracket. Retain the mounting-depth and torque limits above.

    Safety, EMC and Reliability

    The datasheet lists approval to UL62368-1, CSA C22.2 No. 62368-1, TUV BS EN/EN62368-1, BIS IS 13252 (Part 1):2010 / IEC 60950-1:2005 and EAC TP TC 004. SEMI F47 is a design reference at 200 VAC, not an unconditional certification statement.

    Dielectric withstand: input-to-output 3 kVAC, input-to-FG 2 kVAC and output-to-FG 1.5 kVAC. Insulation resistance for the three paths is 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.

    Emissions: BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32), conducted Class B and radiated Class A; harmonic current BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; voltage flicker BS EN/EN61000-3-3.

    Immunity: BS EN/EN55024 and BS EN/EN61000-6-2. IEC/EN61000-4 tests list ESD at 8 kV air / 4 kV contact; radiated RF, EFT/burst and conducted RF Level 3; surge 2 kV line-line / 4 kV line-earth; magnetic field Level 4. Voltage dips/interruption are >95% for 0.5 periods, 30% for 25 periods and >95% for 250 periods.

    This supply is a component for installation in final equipment. EMC tests mount it on a 600 × 900 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick; the finished equipment must be reconfirmed against its EMC requirements.

    MTBF is 637.4K hours minimum by Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore), or 63.7K hours minimum by MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. MTBF is a reliability calculation, not a service-life guarantee. Manufacturer-stated warranty: 5 years.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa