MEAN WELL PSPA-1000 series: Single-Output AC/DC Power Supply with Active PFC - PSPA-1000-48

Description

MEAN WELL PSPA-1000-48 is a single-output enclosed AC/DC power supply rated at 48 V, 21 A and 1008 W. It combines active PFC, forced-air cooling, remote ON/OFF, remote sensing and active current sharing for industrial equipment. Apply the model-specific temperature, input-voltage and parallel-operation limits below; the series designation is not an unconditional output-power rating.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL PSPA-1000 Datasheet (PDF)

The PSPA-1000 section is on PDF pages 4, 5, 6, 7, 8. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Model and Rated Output

Complete model PSPA-1000-48
Series / product type PSPA-1000 / single-output enclosed AC/DC power supply
Rated DC output 48 V / 21 A / 1008 W
Output current range 0 to 21 A
Local voltage adjustment 46 to 56 V using the front VR
Ripple and noise, maximum 250 mVp-p
Voltage tolerance ±1.0%
Line regulation ±0.5%
Load regulation ±0.5%
Efficiency, typical 94% at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C

In the model code, PSPA identifies the series, 1000 is its nominal wattage class and 48 identifies the rated output voltage. This exact model is rated 1008 W.

Ripple and noise are measured with 20 MHz bandwidth using a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors in parallel. Voltage tolerance includes set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.

Unless a different condition is stated, the specification values are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C ambient. Apply the voltage, current, power and derating limits together.

Input and Timing

AC input 90 to 264 VAC, universal full range; 300 VAC for 5 seconds only
DC input 127 to 370 VDC
Frequency 47 to 63 Hz
Active PFC / power factor, typical 0.95 at 230 VAC; 0.99 at 115 VAC, at full load
AC current, typical 8.5 A at 115 VAC; 5 A at 230 VAC
Inrush current, typical 20 A at 115 VAC; 40 A at 230 VAC
Leakage current <0.5 mA at 240 VAC
Setup / rise time 1000 ms / 50 ms at both 115 VAC and 230 VAC
Hold-up time, typical 16 ms at full load

The 60 Hz input-derating curve shows 80% load at 90 VAC, rising to 100% at 200 VAC; 100% continues through 264 VAC. Follow the drawn curve between these points and also observe temperature derating. The 300 VAC / 5-second condition does not extend the continuous input range.

The block diagram includes active inrush-current limiting and lists PFC switching frequency 65 kHz and PWM switching frequency 90 kHz.

Protection

Protection functions Short circuit, overload, overvoltage and overtemperature
Overload threshold 105 to 135% of rated output power
Overload response Constant current limiting; automatic recovery after the fault is removed
Overvoltage threshold 58 to 65 V
Overvoltage response Output shuts down; re-power to recover
Overtemperature response Output shuts down; re-power to recover

The overload range is a protection threshold, not a continuous overload or peak-power operating rating.

Cooling and Operating Conditions

Cooling Forced air by a built-in DC fan
Working ambient temperature -20 to +70°C series specification; apply the model-specific curve below
Working humidity 20 to 90% RH, non-condensing
Storage temperature / humidity -40 to +85°C / 10 to 95% RH, non-condensing
Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0 to 50°C
Vibration 10 to 500 Hz, 2G; 10 minutes/cycle, 60 minutes each on X, Y and Z axes

For this 48 V model, the horizontal-installation curve shows 100% load from -20°C through +60°C, then decreases to 60% load at +70°C. The +70°C operating endpoint is a reduced-load condition, not a full-power rating.

Maintain the mechanical drawing’s airflow path from the terminal face toward the opposite fan end. Keep the ventilation path clear; no fan start/stop temperature threshold is specified for this model in this datasheet.

For operation above 2000 m, the fan-cooled altitude note requires an additional 5°C ambient-temperature derating per 1000 m. That note does not establish a separate maximum operating-altitude rating.

Remote Sense and Remote ON/OFF

Sense compensation Up to 0.5 V drop in the load wiring
Minimum load with remote sense 5% of rated load, equivalent to 1.05 A at rated voltage
CN15 pin 1 / pin 2 RS- / RS+
Remote-control terminals TB1 pin 1 R.C. and pin 2 R.C.G
Remote switch state Short R.C. to R.C.G: ON; open: OFF

Connect RS+ to the positive load point and RS- to the negative load point. Twist the two sense wires together to reduce noise pickup; use the power terminals, not the sense pins, for load current.

The remote ON/OFF function can control a unit individually or in coordination with other units. Use the contact connection shown between R.C. and R.C.G; do not infer an external control-voltage range from another series.

POK Output-Status Signal

Signal terminal / reference TB1 pin 3 POK / pin 2 R.C.G, as shown in the application circuit
TTL output when PSU is ON 2.4 to 5 V
TTL output when PSU is OFF 0 to 0.4 V
External-TTL sink mode Maximum sink current 10 mA; maximum external voltage 5.6 V

POK is the output-status signal identified as DC OK on the series cover. The function manual describes two uses: sinking current from an external TTL circuit or sending a TTL voltage signal. Observe the applicable mode and its limits; it is not a general-purpose power output.

Active Current Sharing and Parallel Wiring

Parallel capacity Up to 4 units with built-in active current sharing
Output-voltage matching Difference between parallel units must be less than 0.2 V
Maximum total current Rated current per unit × number of units × 0.9
Four-unit example for this model 75.6 A total; 3628.8 W at nominal 48 V, before additional input/thermal derating
Low-load balance limitation Sharing may not be fully balanced below 5% of aggregate rated current

Use matching-output units. Parallel the DC outputs using short, large-diameter wiring, then connect the common output to the load. The wiring diagram joins P (TB1 pin 4) between the units and separately joins R.C.G (TB1 pin 2) between the units.

Do not confuse the P sharing connection with remote ON/OFF. Each unit must also have the required R.C./R.C.G operating state. For remote sensing, follow the separate remote-sense connection and its 5% minimum-load condition.

The series overview describes up to 4000 W (3+1), but the model-specific current rating and the mandatory 0.9 parallel-current equation govern usable output. Input and thermal derating can reduce it further; this is not an unconditional 4000 W system rating.

Terminals and Connector Selection

TB1 pin 1 R.C. — remote control
TB1 pin 2 R.C.G — remote-control ground
TB1 pin 3 POK — output-status signal
TB1 pin 4 P — current-share connection
TB1 pin 5 FG — frame/protective ground
TB1 pin 6 / pin 7 AC/N / AC/L
TB2 pins 1–4 DC output -V
TB2 pins 5–8 DC output +V
CN15 pins 1 / 2 RS- / RS+
CN15 connector reference JST B-XH or equivalent
Mating-housing reference JST XHP or equivalent
Contact reference JST SXH-001T or equivalent

The JST references above reproduce the actual printed connector identifiers. B-XH and XHP are abbreviated family references; choose the correct two-position header/housing and wire-compatible contact using the connector supplier’s complete part-number data before ordering. No unprinted suffix is implied.

These connector references identify compatible components; they do not establish that a mating housing, contacts, cable or spare parts are supplied with the power supply. No separate MEAN WELL accessory order code is listed on these five model pages.

Dimensions and Installation

Body dimensions, L × W × H 170 × 120 × 93 mm
Mechanical case / general tolerance Case 910A / ±0.5 mm
Drawing envelope / projection 185 mm longitudinal envelope; terminal projection marked 14 mm maximum
Mounting-hole centres Side drawing: 150 × 50 mm; bottom drawing: 150 × 100 mm
Mounting-hole callout 2-M3 L=4 mm max. at the indicated hole groups
Recommended mounting screw / penetration M3 / maximum 4 mm into the chassis
Recommended mounting torque 6 to 8 kgf·cm
Terminal pitch TB1: 8 mm; TB2: 9.5 mm; first-terminal edge offset: 11.5 mm

Use the dimensioned mechanical drawing for exact hole positions and connection clearances. The mounting depth is the permitted penetration into the chassis, not a total screw-length instruction; allow for the thickness of the mounting surface.

The front drawing identifies the adjustment VR, LED and CN15. Keep live AC connections, frame ground, DC output and low-level signal terminals distinct. The mounting drawing does not state that installation screws or brackets are included.

Safety, EMC and Integration

Withstand voltage Input-output: 3 kVAC; input-FG: 2 kVAC; output-FG: 0.5 kVAC
Insulation resistance 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH, for input-output / input-FG / output-FG
Approved standards listed UL62368-1; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.62368-1; TUV BS EN/EN62368-1; BSMI CNS15598-1; AS/NZS62368.1; EAC TP TC 004

Conducted and radiated emissions: BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32) and CNS15936, Class B. Harmonics: BS EN/EN61000-3-2, Class A. Voltage flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-3.

Immunity: BS EN/EN55035, BS EN/EN61000-6-2 and BSMI CNS13438. EN61000-4 tests list ESD Level 3 at 8 kV air / Level 2 at 4 kV contact; radiated RF, EFT/burst and conducted RF Level 3; surge Level 4 at 2 kV line-line / 4 kV line-earth; magnetic field Level 4. Voltage dips/interruption are >95% for 0.5 periods, 30% for 25 periods and >95% for 250 periods.

This power supply is a component for installation in final equipment. The EMC tests used a 360 × 360 × 1 mm metal plate. The completed equipment must be checked again for compliance; component standards do not automatically certify the finished installation.

Weight, Reliability and Catalogue Reference

Catalogue packing reference per unit 1.93 kg / 1930 g
Catalogue carton data 8 pieces / 16.4 kg / 1.53 CUFT
MTBF, minimum prediction 807.1K hours, Telcordia SR-332; 94.9K hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C
Manufacturer warranty statement 5 years, as listed for PSPA-1000
Catalogue location / printed revision PSP / PSPA combined PDF, pages 4–8 / 2024-12-23

The per-unit mass is the catalogue PACKING reference. It is not a measured net or shipped-parcel weight, and the carton total must not be entered as the unit weight. MTBF is a reliability prediction, not a guaranteed operating life.

Typical applications listed for this series include industrial automation, test and measurement, laser-related machines, burn-in facilities and RF equipment. Select and integrate the supply according to the actual electrical load and operating conditions.

MEAN WELL PSPA-1000 series: Single-Output AC/DC Power Supply with Active PFC - PSPA-1000-48

Product form

MEAN WELL PSPA-1000-48 is a single-output enclosed AC/DC power supply rated at 48 V, 21 A and 1008 W. It... Read more

$599.81 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL PSPA-1000-48 is a single-output enclosed AC/DC power supply rated at 48 V, 21 A and 1008 W. It combines active PFC, forced-air cooling, remote ON/OFF, remote sensing and active current sharing for industrial equipment. Apply the model-specific temperature, input-voltage and parallel-operation limits below; the series designation is not an unconditional output-power rating.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL PSPA-1000 Datasheet (PDF)

    The PSPA-1000 section is on PDF pages 4, 5, 6, 7, 8. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Model and Rated Output

    Complete model PSPA-1000-48
    Series / product type PSPA-1000 / single-output enclosed AC/DC power supply
    Rated DC output 48 V / 21 A / 1008 W
    Output current range 0 to 21 A
    Local voltage adjustment 46 to 56 V using the front VR
    Ripple and noise, maximum 250 mVp-p
    Voltage tolerance ±1.0%
    Line regulation ±0.5%
    Load regulation ±0.5%
    Efficiency, typical 94% at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C

    In the model code, PSPA identifies the series, 1000 is its nominal wattage class and 48 identifies the rated output voltage. This exact model is rated 1008 W.

    Ripple and noise are measured with 20 MHz bandwidth using a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors in parallel. Voltage tolerance includes set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.

    Unless a different condition is stated, the specification values are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C ambient. Apply the voltage, current, power and derating limits together.

    Input and Timing

    AC input 90 to 264 VAC, universal full range; 300 VAC for 5 seconds only
    DC input 127 to 370 VDC
    Frequency 47 to 63 Hz
    Active PFC / power factor, typical 0.95 at 230 VAC; 0.99 at 115 VAC, at full load
    AC current, typical 8.5 A at 115 VAC; 5 A at 230 VAC
    Inrush current, typical 20 A at 115 VAC; 40 A at 230 VAC
    Leakage current <0.5 mA at 240 VAC
    Setup / rise time 1000 ms / 50 ms at both 115 VAC and 230 VAC
    Hold-up time, typical 16 ms at full load

    The 60 Hz input-derating curve shows 80% load at 90 VAC, rising to 100% at 200 VAC; 100% continues through 264 VAC. Follow the drawn curve between these points and also observe temperature derating. The 300 VAC / 5-second condition does not extend the continuous input range.

    The block diagram includes active inrush-current limiting and lists PFC switching frequency 65 kHz and PWM switching frequency 90 kHz.

    Protection

    Protection functions Short circuit, overload, overvoltage and overtemperature
    Overload threshold 105 to 135% of rated output power
    Overload response Constant current limiting; automatic recovery after the fault is removed
    Overvoltage threshold 58 to 65 V
    Overvoltage response Output shuts down; re-power to recover
    Overtemperature response Output shuts down; re-power to recover

    The overload range is a protection threshold, not a continuous overload or peak-power operating rating.

    Cooling and Operating Conditions

    Cooling Forced air by a built-in DC fan
    Working ambient temperature -20 to +70°C series specification; apply the model-specific curve below
    Working humidity 20 to 90% RH, non-condensing
    Storage temperature / humidity -40 to +85°C / 10 to 95% RH, non-condensing
    Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0 to 50°C
    Vibration 10 to 500 Hz, 2G; 10 minutes/cycle, 60 minutes each on X, Y and Z axes

    For this 48 V model, the horizontal-installation curve shows 100% load from -20°C through +60°C, then decreases to 60% load at +70°C. The +70°C operating endpoint is a reduced-load condition, not a full-power rating.

    Maintain the mechanical drawing’s airflow path from the terminal face toward the opposite fan end. Keep the ventilation path clear; no fan start/stop temperature threshold is specified for this model in this datasheet.

    For operation above 2000 m, the fan-cooled altitude note requires an additional 5°C ambient-temperature derating per 1000 m. That note does not establish a separate maximum operating-altitude rating.

    Remote Sense and Remote ON/OFF

    Sense compensation Up to 0.5 V drop in the load wiring
    Minimum load with remote sense 5% of rated load, equivalent to 1.05 A at rated voltage
    CN15 pin 1 / pin 2 RS- / RS+
    Remote-control terminals TB1 pin 1 R.C. and pin 2 R.C.G
    Remote switch state Short R.C. to R.C.G: ON; open: OFF

    Connect RS+ to the positive load point and RS- to the negative load point. Twist the two sense wires together to reduce noise pickup; use the power terminals, not the sense pins, for load current.

    The remote ON/OFF function can control a unit individually or in coordination with other units. Use the contact connection shown between R.C. and R.C.G; do not infer an external control-voltage range from another series.

    POK Output-Status Signal

    Signal terminal / reference TB1 pin 3 POK / pin 2 R.C.G, as shown in the application circuit
    TTL output when PSU is ON 2.4 to 5 V
    TTL output when PSU is OFF 0 to 0.4 V
    External-TTL sink mode Maximum sink current 10 mA; maximum external voltage 5.6 V

    POK is the output-status signal identified as DC OK on the series cover. The function manual describes two uses: sinking current from an external TTL circuit or sending a TTL voltage signal. Observe the applicable mode and its limits; it is not a general-purpose power output.

    Active Current Sharing and Parallel Wiring

    Parallel capacity Up to 4 units with built-in active current sharing
    Output-voltage matching Difference between parallel units must be less than 0.2 V
    Maximum total current Rated current per unit × number of units × 0.9
    Four-unit example for this model 75.6 A total; 3628.8 W at nominal 48 V, before additional input/thermal derating
    Low-load balance limitation Sharing may not be fully balanced below 5% of aggregate rated current

    Use matching-output units. Parallel the DC outputs using short, large-diameter wiring, then connect the common output to the load. The wiring diagram joins P (TB1 pin 4) between the units and separately joins R.C.G (TB1 pin 2) between the units.

    Do not confuse the P sharing connection with remote ON/OFF. Each unit must also have the required R.C./R.C.G operating state. For remote sensing, follow the separate remote-sense connection and its 5% minimum-load condition.

    The series overview describes up to 4000 W (3+1), but the model-specific current rating and the mandatory 0.9 parallel-current equation govern usable output. Input and thermal derating can reduce it further; this is not an unconditional 4000 W system rating.

    Terminals and Connector Selection

    TB1 pin 1 R.C. — remote control
    TB1 pin 2 R.C.G — remote-control ground
    TB1 pin 3 POK — output-status signal
    TB1 pin 4 P — current-share connection
    TB1 pin 5 FG — frame/protective ground
    TB1 pin 6 / pin 7 AC/N / AC/L
    TB2 pins 1–4 DC output -V
    TB2 pins 5–8 DC output +V
    CN15 pins 1 / 2 RS- / RS+
    CN15 connector reference JST B-XH or equivalent
    Mating-housing reference JST XHP or equivalent
    Contact reference JST SXH-001T or equivalent

    The JST references above reproduce the actual printed connector identifiers. B-XH and XHP are abbreviated family references; choose the correct two-position header/housing and wire-compatible contact using the connector supplier’s complete part-number data before ordering. No unprinted suffix is implied.

    These connector references identify compatible components; they do not establish that a mating housing, contacts, cable or spare parts are supplied with the power supply. No separate MEAN WELL accessory order code is listed on these five model pages.

    Dimensions and Installation

    Body dimensions, L × W × H 170 × 120 × 93 mm
    Mechanical case / general tolerance Case 910A / ±0.5 mm
    Drawing envelope / projection 185 mm longitudinal envelope; terminal projection marked 14 mm maximum
    Mounting-hole centres Side drawing: 150 × 50 mm; bottom drawing: 150 × 100 mm
    Mounting-hole callout 2-M3 L=4 mm max. at the indicated hole groups
    Recommended mounting screw / penetration M3 / maximum 4 mm into the chassis
    Recommended mounting torque 6 to 8 kgf·cm
    Terminal pitch TB1: 8 mm; TB2: 9.5 mm; first-terminal edge offset: 11.5 mm

    Use the dimensioned mechanical drawing for exact hole positions and connection clearances. The mounting depth is the permitted penetration into the chassis, not a total screw-length instruction; allow for the thickness of the mounting surface.

    The front drawing identifies the adjustment VR, LED and CN15. Keep live AC connections, frame ground, DC output and low-level signal terminals distinct. The mounting drawing does not state that installation screws or brackets are included.

    Safety, EMC and Integration

    Withstand voltage Input-output: 3 kVAC; input-FG: 2 kVAC; output-FG: 0.5 kVAC
    Insulation resistance 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH, for input-output / input-FG / output-FG
    Approved standards listed UL62368-1; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.62368-1; TUV BS EN/EN62368-1; BSMI CNS15598-1; AS/NZS62368.1; EAC TP TC 004

    Conducted and radiated emissions: BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32) and CNS15936, Class B. Harmonics: BS EN/EN61000-3-2, Class A. Voltage flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-3.

    Immunity: BS EN/EN55035, BS EN/EN61000-6-2 and BSMI CNS13438. EN61000-4 tests list ESD Level 3 at 8 kV air / Level 2 at 4 kV contact; radiated RF, EFT/burst and conducted RF Level 3; surge Level 4 at 2 kV line-line / 4 kV line-earth; magnetic field Level 4. Voltage dips/interruption are >95% for 0.5 periods, 30% for 25 periods and >95% for 250 periods.

    This power supply is a component for installation in final equipment. The EMC tests used a 360 × 360 × 1 mm metal plate. The completed equipment must be checked again for compliance; component standards do not automatically certify the finished installation.

    Weight, Reliability and Catalogue Reference

    Catalogue packing reference per unit 1.93 kg / 1930 g
    Catalogue carton data 8 pieces / 16.4 kg / 1.53 CUFT
    MTBF, minimum prediction 807.1K hours, Telcordia SR-332; 94.9K hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C
    Manufacturer warranty statement 5 years, as listed for PSPA-1000
    Catalogue location / printed revision PSP / PSPA combined PDF, pages 4–8 / 2024-12-23

    The per-unit mass is the catalogue PACKING reference. It is not a measured net or shipped-parcel weight, and the carton total must not be entered as the unit weight. MTBF is a reliability prediction, not a guaranteed operating life.

    Typical applications listed for this series include industrial automation, test and measurement, laser-related machines, burn-in facilities and RF equipment. Select and integrate the supply according to the actual electrical load and operating conditions.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa