MEAN WELL RPS-120S series: PCB Medical AC/DC Power Supply - RPS-120S-48

Description

MEAN WELL RPS-120S-48 is a PCB open-frame medical AC/DC supply with 48 V output. It delivers 120 W by convection and up to 150 W for 10 seconds. Apply the load, thermal and system-integration conditions below.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL RPS-120S Datasheet (PDF)

The RPS-120S section is on PDF pages 13, 14, 15, 16. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Model and Application

Complete model RPS-120S-48.
Series and construction RPS-120S medical AC/DC power supply; PCB open-frame construction.
Voltage code 48 specifies the nominal DC output voltage.
System class Suitable for Class I systems with FG or Class II systems without FG, subject to the model-specific EMC conditions below.
Medical application Primary-to-secondary 2 MOPP. Suitable for BF applications only with appropriate system consideration; final equipment compliance remains an integration requirement.

Catalogue applications include oral irrigators, hemodialysis machines, medical monitors, sleep-apnea devices and pumps.

DC Output and Load Conditions

Nominal output 48 V.
Convection rating 2.5 A; catalogue-rated 120 W.
Peak for 10 seconds rating 3.125 A; catalogue-rated 150 W.
Adjustment range 45.6–50.4 V, using SVR1.
Ripple and noise, maximum 200 mVp-p.
Voltage tolerance ±1.0%; includes setup tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
Line regulation ±0.5%.
Load regulation ±1.0%.
Efficiency, typical 93.5%.

The peak rating is limited to 10 seconds; it is not a continuous convection rating. The assigned sheet does not specify a repeated peak duty cycle.

Do not exceed the applicable voltage, current or catalogue-rated power limit. Combine the cooling, input-voltage and ambient-temperature limits. Ripple is measured at 20 MHz with a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.

Input, Start-Up and Consumption

Input range 80–264 VAC or 113–370 VDC; low-input derating applies.
Frequency 47–63 Hz.
AC input current, typical 2.3 A at 115 VAC; 1.1 A at 230 VAC.
Cold-start inrush, typical 30 A at 115 VAC; 60 A at 230 VAC.
No-load consumption Less than 0.3 W.
Set-up and rise 600 ms setup and 30 ms rise at both 230 VAC and 115 VAC, full load.
Hold-up, typical 15 ms at 230 VAC; 15 ms at 115 VAC, full load.
Leakage at 264 VAC Earth leakage <150 µA; touch current <100 µA. Touch current is measured from primary input to DC output.
Switching-frequency diagram 85 kHz.
Power factor Built-in active PFC; PF >0.94 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC, full load.

Unless separately stated, parameters are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C ambient.

Protection

Short circuit and overload Short-circuit protection is listed. Overload operates at 130–160% of rated output power; hiccup mode recovers automatically after the fault is removed.
Overvoltage threshold 52.8–62.4 V.
Overvoltage response Output shuts down; re-power on to recover.
Overtemperature response Output shuts down. Automatic recovery after temperature decreases.

Cooling and Derating

Ambient range −30 to +85°C, with derating; horizontal mounting.
Convection temperature curve 100% load from −30 to 50°C; 50% at 70°C; 30% at 85°C.
Input-voltage curve, 60 Hz 80 VAC: 80 W; 110–120 VAC: 100 W. From 120 VAC to 264 VAC, the plotted limit is 120 W for the 24/27/48 V group; retain this model’s own catalogue wattage limit.

Use the complete plotted curves for intermediate conditions; the maximum ambient temperature is a derated point. Apply the most restrictive simultaneous limit.

Environment

Operating humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
Storage −40 to +85°C.
Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z.
Operating altitude 4,000 m.
High-altitude derating Above 2,000 m, reduce allowed ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1,000 m for fanless operation or 5°C per 1,000 m for fan-cooled operation.

Dimensions and Installation

Dimensions, L × W × H 76.2 × 50.8 × 28 mm. General drawing tolerance ±1 mm.
Mounting geometry Four 3.3 mm mounting holes on a 69.9 × 44.45 mm pattern; 3.175 mm edge offsets; underside projection 3 mm maximum. Follow the complete PCB drawing.
Adjustment Use SVR1 within the stated voltage-adjustment range.

Maintain safety isolation distance between HS1 and the system case.

Follow the manufacturer’s installation manual and the model-specific drawing. No separate mounting-kit ordering code is listed in these assigned pages.

Input and Output Connectors

AC input CN1 JST B3P-VH or equivalent; pin 1: AC/L, pin 2: No pin, pin 3: AC/N.
DC output CN100 JST B4P-VH or equivalent; pins 1, 2 are +V; pins 3, 4 are −V.
Input/output mating housing JST VHR or equivalent, exactly the family designation printed in the sheet. Select the matching circuit count; no complete housing suffix is supplied here.
Input/output contact JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent.

Connector references identify compatible interfaces, not an included loose cable or accessory kit. Confirm fit and ratings for an equivalent component.

Safety and EMC

Safety approvals IEC60601-1:2005+A1+A2; TUV BS EN/EN60601-1:2006+A1+A12+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.60601-1:2014+A2; EAC TP TC004. BS EN/EN60335-1 is a design reference by request, not an unconditional approval.
Isolation barriers Primary–secondary: 2 MOPP; primary–earth: 1 MOPP; secondary–earth: 1 MOPP.
Withstand voltage Input–output: 4 kVAC; input–FG: 2 kVAC; output–FG: 1.5 kVAC.
Insulation resistance I/P–O/P, I/P–FG, O/P–FG: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
Emissions, BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11) Conducted and radiated Class B in Class I with FG. In Class II without FG, conducted Class B and radiated Class A require King Core K5B RC (12 × 15 × 7) in the output cable, as specified in the installation note.
Harmonics and flicker BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; BS EN/EN61000-3-3 listed.
Immunity framework BS EN/EN60601-1-2.
ESD, IEC/EN61000-4-2 Level 4: 15 kV air and 8 kV contact.
RF field, IEC/EN61000-4-3 Level 3: 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz; Table 9 proximity fields 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz.
EFT, IEC/EN61000-4-4 Level 3, 2 kV.
Surge, IEC/EN61000-4-5 Level 4: 4 kV line–FG; 2 kV line–line.
Conducted immunity, IEC/EN61000-4-6 Level 3, 10 V.
Magnetic field, IEC/EN61000-4-8 Level 4, 30 A/m.
Voltage dips and interruptions, IEC/EN61000-4-11 95% dip for 1 period; 30% dip for 25 periods; 95% interruption for 250 periods.

EMC testing uses a 360 × 360 × 1 mm metal plate. This supply is a component for installation in final equipment; the complete equipment must be reconfirmed for EMC and applicable medical-system safety.

Weight and Catalogue Reference

Single-unit catalogue weight 130 g (0.13 kg), explicitly listed in PACKING; a catalogue reference rather than measured shipment weight.
Packing 100 pieces / 14 kg / 1.13 CUFT.
Minimum MTBF estimates 4050.3 thousand hours, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 468.0 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
Manufacturer warranty 3 years, subject to the applicable manufacturer terms.
Catalogue version RPS-120S-SPEC 2026-02-28; combined PDF pages 13–16.

MTBF is a statistical estimate under the listed methods, not a guaranteed service life.

MEAN WELL RPS-120S series: PCB Medical AC/DC Power Supply - RPS-120S-48

Product form

MEAN WELL RPS-120S-48 is a PCB open-frame medical AC/DC supply with 48 V output. It delivers 120 W by convection... Read more

$49.78 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL RPS-120S-48 is a PCB open-frame medical AC/DC supply with 48 V output. It delivers 120 W by convection and up to 150 W for 10 seconds. Apply the load, thermal and system-integration conditions below.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL RPS-120S Datasheet (PDF)

    The RPS-120S section is on PDF pages 13, 14, 15, 16. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Model and Application

    Complete model RPS-120S-48.
    Series and construction RPS-120S medical AC/DC power supply; PCB open-frame construction.
    Voltage code 48 specifies the nominal DC output voltage.
    System class Suitable for Class I systems with FG or Class II systems without FG, subject to the model-specific EMC conditions below.
    Medical application Primary-to-secondary 2 MOPP. Suitable for BF applications only with appropriate system consideration; final equipment compliance remains an integration requirement.

    Catalogue applications include oral irrigators, hemodialysis machines, medical monitors, sleep-apnea devices and pumps.

    DC Output and Load Conditions

    Nominal output 48 V.
    Convection rating 2.5 A; catalogue-rated 120 W.
    Peak for 10 seconds rating 3.125 A; catalogue-rated 150 W.
    Adjustment range 45.6–50.4 V, using SVR1.
    Ripple and noise, maximum 200 mVp-p.
    Voltage tolerance ±1.0%; includes setup tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
    Line regulation ±0.5%.
    Load regulation ±1.0%.
    Efficiency, typical 93.5%.

    The peak rating is limited to 10 seconds; it is not a continuous convection rating. The assigned sheet does not specify a repeated peak duty cycle.

    Do not exceed the applicable voltage, current or catalogue-rated power limit. Combine the cooling, input-voltage and ambient-temperature limits. Ripple is measured at 20 MHz with a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.

    Input, Start-Up and Consumption

    Input range 80–264 VAC or 113–370 VDC; low-input derating applies.
    Frequency 47–63 Hz.
    AC input current, typical 2.3 A at 115 VAC; 1.1 A at 230 VAC.
    Cold-start inrush, typical 30 A at 115 VAC; 60 A at 230 VAC.
    No-load consumption Less than 0.3 W.
    Set-up and rise 600 ms setup and 30 ms rise at both 230 VAC and 115 VAC, full load.
    Hold-up, typical 15 ms at 230 VAC; 15 ms at 115 VAC, full load.
    Leakage at 264 VAC Earth leakage <150 µA; touch current <100 µA. Touch current is measured from primary input to DC output.
    Switching-frequency diagram 85 kHz.
    Power factor Built-in active PFC; PF >0.94 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC, full load.

    Unless separately stated, parameters are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C ambient.

    Protection

    Short circuit and overload Short-circuit protection is listed. Overload operates at 130–160% of rated output power; hiccup mode recovers automatically after the fault is removed.
    Overvoltage threshold 52.8–62.4 V.
    Overvoltage response Output shuts down; re-power on to recover.
    Overtemperature response Output shuts down. Automatic recovery after temperature decreases.

    Cooling and Derating

    Ambient range −30 to +85°C, with derating; horizontal mounting.
    Convection temperature curve 100% load from −30 to 50°C; 50% at 70°C; 30% at 85°C.
    Input-voltage curve, 60 Hz 80 VAC: 80 W; 110–120 VAC: 100 W. From 120 VAC to 264 VAC, the plotted limit is 120 W for the 24/27/48 V group; retain this model’s own catalogue wattage limit.

    Use the complete plotted curves for intermediate conditions; the maximum ambient temperature is a derated point. Apply the most restrictive simultaneous limit.

    Environment

    Operating humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
    Storage −40 to +85°C.
    Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
    Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z.
    Operating altitude 4,000 m.
    High-altitude derating Above 2,000 m, reduce allowed ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1,000 m for fanless operation or 5°C per 1,000 m for fan-cooled operation.

    Dimensions and Installation

    Dimensions, L × W × H 76.2 × 50.8 × 28 mm. General drawing tolerance ±1 mm.
    Mounting geometry Four 3.3 mm mounting holes on a 69.9 × 44.45 mm pattern; 3.175 mm edge offsets; underside projection 3 mm maximum. Follow the complete PCB drawing.
    Adjustment Use SVR1 within the stated voltage-adjustment range.

    Maintain safety isolation distance between HS1 and the system case.

    Follow the manufacturer’s installation manual and the model-specific drawing. No separate mounting-kit ordering code is listed in these assigned pages.

    Input and Output Connectors

    AC input CN1 JST B3P-VH or equivalent; pin 1: AC/L, pin 2: No pin, pin 3: AC/N.
    DC output CN100 JST B4P-VH or equivalent; pins 1, 2 are +V; pins 3, 4 are −V.
    Input/output mating housing JST VHR or equivalent, exactly the family designation printed in the sheet. Select the matching circuit count; no complete housing suffix is supplied here.
    Input/output contact JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent.

    Connector references identify compatible interfaces, not an included loose cable or accessory kit. Confirm fit and ratings for an equivalent component.

    Safety and EMC

    Safety approvals IEC60601-1:2005+A1+A2; TUV BS EN/EN60601-1:2006+A1+A12+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.60601-1:2014+A2; EAC TP TC004. BS EN/EN60335-1 is a design reference by request, not an unconditional approval.
    Isolation barriers Primary–secondary: 2 MOPP; primary–earth: 1 MOPP; secondary–earth: 1 MOPP.
    Withstand voltage Input–output: 4 kVAC; input–FG: 2 kVAC; output–FG: 1.5 kVAC.
    Insulation resistance I/P–O/P, I/P–FG, O/P–FG: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
    Emissions, BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11) Conducted and radiated Class B in Class I with FG. In Class II without FG, conducted Class B and radiated Class A require King Core K5B RC (12 × 15 × 7) in the output cable, as specified in the installation note.
    Harmonics and flicker BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; BS EN/EN61000-3-3 listed.
    Immunity framework BS EN/EN60601-1-2.
    ESD, IEC/EN61000-4-2 Level 4: 15 kV air and 8 kV contact.
    RF field, IEC/EN61000-4-3 Level 3: 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz; Table 9 proximity fields 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz.
    EFT, IEC/EN61000-4-4 Level 3, 2 kV.
    Surge, IEC/EN61000-4-5 Level 4: 4 kV line–FG; 2 kV line–line.
    Conducted immunity, IEC/EN61000-4-6 Level 3, 10 V.
    Magnetic field, IEC/EN61000-4-8 Level 4, 30 A/m.
    Voltage dips and interruptions, IEC/EN61000-4-11 95% dip for 1 period; 30% dip for 25 periods; 95% interruption for 250 periods.

    EMC testing uses a 360 × 360 × 1 mm metal plate. This supply is a component for installation in final equipment; the complete equipment must be reconfirmed for EMC and applicable medical-system safety.

    Weight and Catalogue Reference

    Single-unit catalogue weight 130 g (0.13 kg), explicitly listed in PACKING; a catalogue reference rather than measured shipment weight.
    Packing 100 pieces / 14 kg / 1.13 CUFT.
    Minimum MTBF estimates 4050.3 thousand hours, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 468.0 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
    Manufacturer warranty 3 years, subject to the applicable manufacturer terms.
    Catalogue version RPS-120S-SPEC 2026-02-28; combined PDF pages 13–16.

    MTBF is a statistical estimate under the listed methods, not a guaranteed service life.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa