MEAN WELL RPS-400 series: Medical AC/DC Power Supply with Top Fan - RPS-400-27-TF

Description

MEAN WELL RPS-400-27-TF is a 27 V medical AC/DC power supply in the enclosed casing with a top fan configuration. It supplies 14.9 A / 402.3 W with its fitted fan. Select the installation class, load and operating temperature using the version-specific limits below.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL RPS-400 Datasheet (PDF)

The RPS-400 section is on PDF pages 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Model and Configuration

Complete model RPS-400-27-TF. TF: Enclosed casing with a top fan.
System class This enclosed version is not suitable for a Class II system without FG; use the Class I arrangement with FG.
Integration use Medical power conversion for applications such as oral irrigators, hemodialysis equipment, medical monitors, sleep-apnea devices, pumps and electric beds. BF use requires appropriate complete-system consideration.

Main DC Output

Nominal main output 27 V.
Forced-air current and power 14.9 A / 402.3 W; Built-in top fan.
Cooling configuration This TF version is rated with its built-in fan. The type-selection table does not assign a fanless convection mode to TF/SF.
Ripple and noise, maximum 200 mVp-p.
Main-output voltage adjustment 25.6–28.4 V.
Voltage tolerance ±1.0%, including set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
Line / load regulation ±0.5% / ±1.0%.
Efficiency, typical 93.5%.

Use the exact model ratings above; the series designation is not a substitute for its printed wattage. Forced-air ratings are cooling-dependent continuous ratings, not an unrestricted overload or peak-power allowance.

Unless specified otherwise, values are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C. Ripple/noise uses 20 MHz bandwidth and a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.

Input and Timing

Input range 80–264 VAC or 113–370 VDC; 47–63 Hz AC. Apply the input derating curve.
Power factor Built-in active PFC; at full load, PF >0.94 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC.
Input current, typical 4.2 A at 115 VAC; 2.1 A at 230 VAC.
Cold-start inrush, typical 35 A at 115 VAC; 70 A at 230 VAC.
Set-up / rise time 1000 ms / 30 ms at 230 VAC; 1500 ms / 30 ms at 115 VAC, full load.
Hold-up time, typical 16 ms at both 230 VAC and 115 VAC, full load.
Leakage current Earth leakage <200 µA at 264 VAC / 50 Hz; touch current <70 µA at 264 VAC, measured from primary input to DC output.
No-load power Less than 0.5 W by PS-ON control.

Protection and Auxiliary Outputs

Short circuit / overload Short-circuit protection; overload at 105–135% of rated output power. Hiccup mode recovers automatically after the fault is removed.
Overvoltage Threshold 29.7–35.1 V; output shuts down and requires re-power on to recover.
Overtemperature Output shuts down and recovers automatically after temperature decreases.
5 V standby 5 V, 0.6 A without a fan or 1 A with 25 CFM; tolerance ±2%, maximum ripple 120 mVp-p. These are cooling-qualified standby limits.
12 V fan supply 12 V / 0.5 A for driving a fan. Tolerance −15% to +10% at 35% main-output rated current with 25 CFM. The external CN12 fan connector is excluded for TF/SF.

The built-in fan control is specified as fan-on by 20% load minimum for TF/SF. Preserve the fitted fan and its airflow direction.

Control, Status and Remote Sense

PS-ON high (2–5 V) turns the main output on; low (0–0.5 V) turns it off. The PG TTL signal goes high 10–500 ms after power set-up and goes low at least 1 ms before output falls below 90% of its rated voltage, providing the listed power-good/power-fail indication.

CN11: TKP DH2I-2X2 or equivalent; pin 1 −S, pin 2 +S, pin 3 DC COM, pin 4 PG. The −S/+S pins are the remote-sense connections; this section does not specify a numerical cable-drop compensation limit. Follow the complete connection and installation instructions.

CN95: TKP DH2L-2X2 or equivalent; pin 1 5Vsb, pins 2 and 4 DC COM, pin 3 PS-ON. Both CN11 and CN95 list TKP DH2 or equivalent mating housings and TKP or equivalent terminals; the catalogue does not provide a more complete terminal ordering suffix.

Cooling, Derating and Environment

Horizontal temperature/load curves With its built-in fan, the horizontal TF/SF curve holds nominal 400 W from −30 to 50°C, then falls to 150 W at 70°C. The catalogue does not provide a fanless convection mode for this version.
Input-voltage curve, 60 Hz 70% load at 80 VAC, 80% at 90 VAC, rising to 100% at 115 VAC and remaining at 100% through 264 VAC.
Working ambient / humidity −30 to +70°C with derating; 20–90% RH, non-condensing. Convection curves for PCB/C end at 60°C; the 70°C point requires the plotted forced-air configuration.
Storage −40 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
Temperature coefficient / vibration ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C. Vibration: 10–500 Hz, 2 G, 10 minutes per cycle and 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z.
Altitude Operating altitude up to 4000 m. Above 2000 m, reduce allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1000 m for fanless operation or 5°C per 1000 m for fan-cooled operation.

The plotted curves use nominal series-level wattages. Apply them together with this exact model’s voltage/current/power ratings, its installed cooling arrangement and input derating; neither the curve nor the upper temperature permits exceeding the model rating.

Dimensions and Installation

Dimensions, L × W × H 130 × 86 × 58.5 mm; case 247A-D / 247B-T.
Mounting and clearance Bottom: four M3 holes, 120 × 50 mm pattern, maximum penetration 2 mm (hole group 1). Side: two M3 holes, maximum penetration 4 mm (hole group 2). Use 4–6 kgf·cm mounting torque and the complete hole-location drawing.
Airflow The fitted top fan exhaust direction is shown in the TF mechanical drawing; preserve the top clearance and airflow path.
Board and adjustment references SVR1 is the main-output adjustment reference. FS1 is marked F8A/250V. HS1, HS2, HS3 and HS4 must not be shorted.

Drawing units are millimetres with general tolerance ±1 mm unless separately marked. Use the full model-specific mechanical drawing for offsets and clearances; included screws, loose connectors and installation hardware are not stated.

Power Connections and Mating Parts

AC input CN1 JST B3P-VH or equivalent: pin 1 AC/L, pin 2 no pin, pin 3 AC/N. Mating housing: JST VHR or equivalent; terminal: JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent. VHR is the printed family reference, not an invented complete ordering suffix.
Main DC output CN2: −V; CN3: +V. M3.5 pan-head screws at two positions; maximum torque 8 lbs-in (90 cNm), as printed.

Mating-part references identify compatible interface components; they do not establish that loose mating parts are supplied. Choose the correct position count and terminal for each connection.

Safety, Isolation and EMC

Medical approvals IEC60601-1:2005+A1+A2; TUV BS EN/EN60601-1:2006+A1+A12+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.60601-1:2014+A2; EAC TP TC004. BS EN/EN60335-1 is a design reference by request, not an unconditional additional approval.
Isolation / withstand Primary-secondary: 2 × MOPP; primary-earth and secondary-earth: 1 × MOPP each. Withstand: input-output 4 kVAC, input-FG 2 kVAC, output-FG 1.5 kVAC. BF suitability depends on appropriate complete-system configuration.
Insulation resistance Input-output and input-FG: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
Emissions BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11). Use the Class I configuration with FG; the specification lists conducted and radiated Class B. Do not transfer the PCB-only Class II option to this enclosed version. Harmonic current: BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-3.

Immunity: BS EN/EN55035, BS EN/EN60601-1-2 and BS EN/EN61204-3. ESD (EN61000-4-2): level 4, 15 kV air / 8 kV contact. RF (-4-3): level 3, 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz; Table 9: 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz. EFT (-4-4): level 3, 2 kV; surge (-4-5): level 4, 4 kV line-FG / 2 kV line-line. Conducted susceptibility (-4-6): level 3, 10 V; magnetic field (-4-8): level 4, 30 A/m. Dips/interruption (-4-11): 100% dip for 1 period, 30% dip for 25 periods and 100% interruption for 250 periods.

Class I EMC testing used a 360 × 360 × 1 mm metal plate. This is an installation component; re-confirm EMC compliance in the final equipment.

Weight, Reliability and Catalogue

Single-unit catalogue weight 580 g (0.58 kg), explicitly listed as P.W. in PACKING; a catalogue unit reference, not a measured shipping-parcel weight.
Packing reference 24 pieces / 14.9 kg / 0.86 CUFT.
Minimum MTBF estimates 1393.3 thousand hours, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 194.1 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. These statistical estimates are not guaranteed service lives.
Catalogue and warranty RPS-400-SPEC, 2024-11-22, combined PDF pages 8–17. Three-year manufacturer warranty, subject to applicable terms.

MEAN WELL RPS-400 series: Medical AC/DC Power Supply with Top Fan - RPS-400-27-TF

Product form

MEAN WELL RPS-400-27-TF is a 27 V medical AC/DC power supply in the enclosed casing with a top fan configuration.... Read more

$229.67 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL RPS-400-27-TF is a 27 V medical AC/DC power supply in the enclosed casing with a top fan configuration. It supplies 14.9 A / 402.3 W with its fitted fan. Select the installation class, load and operating temperature using the version-specific limits below.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL RPS-400 Datasheet (PDF)

    The RPS-400 section is on PDF pages 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Model and Configuration

    Complete model RPS-400-27-TF. TF: Enclosed casing with a top fan.
    System class This enclosed version is not suitable for a Class II system without FG; use the Class I arrangement with FG.
    Integration use Medical power conversion for applications such as oral irrigators, hemodialysis equipment, medical monitors, sleep-apnea devices, pumps and electric beds. BF use requires appropriate complete-system consideration.

    Main DC Output

    Nominal main output 27 V.
    Forced-air current and power 14.9 A / 402.3 W; Built-in top fan.
    Cooling configuration This TF version is rated with its built-in fan. The type-selection table does not assign a fanless convection mode to TF/SF.
    Ripple and noise, maximum 200 mVp-p.
    Main-output voltage adjustment 25.6–28.4 V.
    Voltage tolerance ±1.0%, including set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
    Line / load regulation ±0.5% / ±1.0%.
    Efficiency, typical 93.5%.

    Use the exact model ratings above; the series designation is not a substitute for its printed wattage. Forced-air ratings are cooling-dependent continuous ratings, not an unrestricted overload or peak-power allowance.

    Unless specified otherwise, values are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C. Ripple/noise uses 20 MHz bandwidth and a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.

    Input and Timing

    Input range 80–264 VAC or 113–370 VDC; 47–63 Hz AC. Apply the input derating curve.
    Power factor Built-in active PFC; at full load, PF >0.94 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC.
    Input current, typical 4.2 A at 115 VAC; 2.1 A at 230 VAC.
    Cold-start inrush, typical 35 A at 115 VAC; 70 A at 230 VAC.
    Set-up / rise time 1000 ms / 30 ms at 230 VAC; 1500 ms / 30 ms at 115 VAC, full load.
    Hold-up time, typical 16 ms at both 230 VAC and 115 VAC, full load.
    Leakage current Earth leakage <200 µA at 264 VAC / 50 Hz; touch current <70 µA at 264 VAC, measured from primary input to DC output.
    No-load power Less than 0.5 W by PS-ON control.

    Protection and Auxiliary Outputs

    Short circuit / overload Short-circuit protection; overload at 105–135% of rated output power. Hiccup mode recovers automatically after the fault is removed.
    Overvoltage Threshold 29.7–35.1 V; output shuts down and requires re-power on to recover.
    Overtemperature Output shuts down and recovers automatically after temperature decreases.
    5 V standby 5 V, 0.6 A without a fan or 1 A with 25 CFM; tolerance ±2%, maximum ripple 120 mVp-p. These are cooling-qualified standby limits.
    12 V fan supply 12 V / 0.5 A for driving a fan. Tolerance −15% to +10% at 35% main-output rated current with 25 CFM. The external CN12 fan connector is excluded for TF/SF.

    The built-in fan control is specified as fan-on by 20% load minimum for TF/SF. Preserve the fitted fan and its airflow direction.

    Control, Status and Remote Sense

    PS-ON high (2–5 V) turns the main output on; low (0–0.5 V) turns it off. The PG TTL signal goes high 10–500 ms after power set-up and goes low at least 1 ms before output falls below 90% of its rated voltage, providing the listed power-good/power-fail indication.

    CN11: TKP DH2I-2X2 or equivalent; pin 1 −S, pin 2 +S, pin 3 DC COM, pin 4 PG. The −S/+S pins are the remote-sense connections; this section does not specify a numerical cable-drop compensation limit. Follow the complete connection and installation instructions.

    CN95: TKP DH2L-2X2 or equivalent; pin 1 5Vsb, pins 2 and 4 DC COM, pin 3 PS-ON. Both CN11 and CN95 list TKP DH2 or equivalent mating housings and TKP or equivalent terminals; the catalogue does not provide a more complete terminal ordering suffix.

    Cooling, Derating and Environment

    Horizontal temperature/load curves With its built-in fan, the horizontal TF/SF curve holds nominal 400 W from −30 to 50°C, then falls to 150 W at 70°C. The catalogue does not provide a fanless convection mode for this version.
    Input-voltage curve, 60 Hz 70% load at 80 VAC, 80% at 90 VAC, rising to 100% at 115 VAC and remaining at 100% through 264 VAC.
    Working ambient / humidity −30 to +70°C with derating; 20–90% RH, non-condensing. Convection curves for PCB/C end at 60°C; the 70°C point requires the plotted forced-air configuration.
    Storage −40 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
    Temperature coefficient / vibration ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C. Vibration: 10–500 Hz, 2 G, 10 minutes per cycle and 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z.
    Altitude Operating altitude up to 4000 m. Above 2000 m, reduce allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1000 m for fanless operation or 5°C per 1000 m for fan-cooled operation.

    The plotted curves use nominal series-level wattages. Apply them together with this exact model’s voltage/current/power ratings, its installed cooling arrangement and input derating; neither the curve nor the upper temperature permits exceeding the model rating.

    Dimensions and Installation

    Dimensions, L × W × H 130 × 86 × 58.5 mm; case 247A-D / 247B-T.
    Mounting and clearance Bottom: four M3 holes, 120 × 50 mm pattern, maximum penetration 2 mm (hole group 1). Side: two M3 holes, maximum penetration 4 mm (hole group 2). Use 4–6 kgf·cm mounting torque and the complete hole-location drawing.
    Airflow The fitted top fan exhaust direction is shown in the TF mechanical drawing; preserve the top clearance and airflow path.
    Board and adjustment references SVR1 is the main-output adjustment reference. FS1 is marked F8A/250V. HS1, HS2, HS3 and HS4 must not be shorted.

    Drawing units are millimetres with general tolerance ±1 mm unless separately marked. Use the full model-specific mechanical drawing for offsets and clearances; included screws, loose connectors and installation hardware are not stated.

    Power Connections and Mating Parts

    AC input CN1 JST B3P-VH or equivalent: pin 1 AC/L, pin 2 no pin, pin 3 AC/N. Mating housing: JST VHR or equivalent; terminal: JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent. VHR is the printed family reference, not an invented complete ordering suffix.
    Main DC output CN2: −V; CN3: +V. M3.5 pan-head screws at two positions; maximum torque 8 lbs-in (90 cNm), as printed.

    Mating-part references identify compatible interface components; they do not establish that loose mating parts are supplied. Choose the correct position count and terminal for each connection.

    Safety, Isolation and EMC

    Medical approvals IEC60601-1:2005+A1+A2; TUV BS EN/EN60601-1:2006+A1+A12+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.60601-1:2014+A2; EAC TP TC004. BS EN/EN60335-1 is a design reference by request, not an unconditional additional approval.
    Isolation / withstand Primary-secondary: 2 × MOPP; primary-earth and secondary-earth: 1 × MOPP each. Withstand: input-output 4 kVAC, input-FG 2 kVAC, output-FG 1.5 kVAC. BF suitability depends on appropriate complete-system configuration.
    Insulation resistance Input-output and input-FG: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
    Emissions BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11). Use the Class I configuration with FG; the specification lists conducted and radiated Class B. Do not transfer the PCB-only Class II option to this enclosed version. Harmonic current: BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-3.

    Immunity: BS EN/EN55035, BS EN/EN60601-1-2 and BS EN/EN61204-3. ESD (EN61000-4-2): level 4, 15 kV air / 8 kV contact. RF (-4-3): level 3, 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz; Table 9: 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz. EFT (-4-4): level 3, 2 kV; surge (-4-5): level 4, 4 kV line-FG / 2 kV line-line. Conducted susceptibility (-4-6): level 3, 10 V; magnetic field (-4-8): level 4, 30 A/m. Dips/interruption (-4-11): 100% dip for 1 period, 30% dip for 25 periods and 100% interruption for 250 periods.

    Class I EMC testing used a 360 × 360 × 1 mm metal plate. This is an installation component; re-confirm EMC compliance in the final equipment.

    Weight, Reliability and Catalogue

    Single-unit catalogue weight 580 g (0.58 kg), explicitly listed as P.W. in PACKING; a catalogue unit reference, not a measured shipping-parcel weight.
    Packing reference 24 pieces / 14.9 kg / 0.86 CUFT.
    Minimum MTBF estimates 1393.3 thousand hours, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 194.1 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. These statistical estimates are not guaranteed service lives.
    Catalogue and warranty RPS-400-SPEC, 2024-11-22, combined PDF pages 8–17. Three-year manufacturer warranty, subject to applicable terms.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa