MEAN WELL RPS-400-48-TF is a 48 V medical AC/DC power supply in the enclosed casing with a top fan configuration. It supplies 8.4 A / 403.2 W with its fitted fan. Select the installation class, load and operating temperature using the version-specific limits below.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL RPS-400 Datasheet (PDF)
The RPS-400 section is on PDF pages 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model and Configuration
| Complete model |
RPS-400-48-TF. TF: Enclosed casing with a top fan. |
| System class |
This enclosed version is not suitable for a Class II system without FG; use the Class I arrangement with FG. |
| Integration use |
Medical power conversion for applications such as oral irrigators, hemodialysis equipment, medical monitors, sleep-apnea devices, pumps and electric beds. BF use requires appropriate complete-system consideration. |
Main DC Output
| Nominal main output |
48 V. |
| Forced-air current and power |
8.4 A / 403.2 W; Built-in top fan. |
| Cooling configuration |
This TF version is rated with its built-in fan. The type-selection table does not assign a fanless convection mode to TF/SF. |
| Ripple and noise, maximum |
200 mVp-p. |
| Main-output voltage adjustment |
45.6–50.4 V. |
| Voltage tolerance |
±1.0%, including set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation. |
| Line / load regulation |
±0.5% / ±1.0%. |
| Efficiency, typical |
94%. |
Use the exact model ratings above; the series designation is not a substitute for its printed wattage. Forced-air ratings are cooling-dependent continuous ratings, not an unrestricted overload or peak-power allowance.
Unless specified otherwise, values are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C. Ripple/noise uses 20 MHz bandwidth and a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.
Input and Timing
| Input range |
80–264 VAC or 113–370 VDC; 47–63 Hz AC. Apply the input derating curve. |
| Power factor |
Built-in active PFC; at full load, PF >0.94 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC. |
| Input current, typical |
4.2 A at 115 VAC; 2.1 A at 230 VAC. |
| Cold-start inrush, typical |
35 A at 115 VAC; 70 A at 230 VAC. |
| Set-up / rise time |
1000 ms / 30 ms at 230 VAC; 1500 ms / 30 ms at 115 VAC, full load. |
| Hold-up time, typical |
16 ms at both 230 VAC and 115 VAC, full load. |
| Leakage current |
Earth leakage <200 µA at 264 VAC / 50 Hz; touch current <70 µA at 264 VAC, measured from primary input to DC output. |
| No-load power |
Less than 0.5 W by PS-ON control. |
Protection and Auxiliary Outputs
| Short circuit / overload |
Short-circuit protection; overload at 105–135% of rated output power. Hiccup mode recovers automatically after the fault is removed. |
| Overvoltage |
Threshold 52.8–62.4 V; output shuts down and requires re-power on to recover. |
| Overtemperature |
Output shuts down and recovers automatically after temperature decreases. |
| 5 V standby |
5 V, 0.6 A without a fan or 1 A with 25 CFM; tolerance ±2%, maximum ripple 120 mVp-p. These are cooling-qualified standby limits. |
| 12 V fan supply |
12 V / 0.5 A for driving a fan. Tolerance −15% to +10% at 35% main-output rated current with 25 CFM. The external CN12 fan connector is excluded for TF/SF. |
The built-in fan control is specified as fan-on by 20% load minimum for TF/SF. Preserve the fitted fan and its airflow direction.
Control, Status and Remote Sense
PS-ON high (2–5 V) turns the main output on; low (0–0.5 V) turns it off. The PG TTL signal goes high 10–500 ms after power set-up and goes low at least 1 ms before output falls below 90% of its rated voltage, providing the listed power-good/power-fail indication.
CN11: TKP DH2I-2X2 or equivalent; pin 1 −S, pin 2 +S, pin 3 DC COM, pin 4 PG. The −S/+S pins are the remote-sense connections; this section does not specify a numerical cable-drop compensation limit. Follow the complete connection and installation instructions.
CN95: TKP DH2L-2X2 or equivalent; pin 1 5Vsb, pins 2 and 4 DC COM, pin 3 PS-ON. Both CN11 and CN95 list TKP DH2 or equivalent mating housings and TKP or equivalent terminals; the catalogue does not provide a more complete terminal ordering suffix.
Cooling, Derating and Environment
| Horizontal temperature/load curves |
With its built-in fan, the horizontal TF/SF curve holds nominal 400 W from −30 to 50°C, then falls to 150 W at 70°C. The catalogue does not provide a fanless convection mode for this version. |
| Input-voltage curve, 60 Hz |
70% load at 80 VAC, 80% at 90 VAC, rising to 100% at 115 VAC and remaining at 100% through 264 VAC. |
| Working ambient / humidity |
−30 to +70°C with derating; 20–90% RH, non-condensing. Convection curves for PCB/C end at 60°C; the 70°C point requires the plotted forced-air configuration. |
| Storage |
−40 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing. |
| Temperature coefficient / vibration |
±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C. Vibration: 10–500 Hz, 2 G, 10 minutes per cycle and 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z. |
| Altitude |
Operating altitude up to 4000 m. Above 2000 m, reduce allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1000 m for fanless operation or 5°C per 1000 m for fan-cooled operation. |
The plotted curves use nominal series-level wattages. Apply them together with this exact model’s voltage/current/power ratings, its installed cooling arrangement and input derating; neither the curve nor the upper temperature permits exceeding the model rating.
Dimensions and Installation
| Dimensions, L × W × H |
130 × 86 × 58.5 mm; case 247A-D / 247B-T. |
| Mounting and clearance |
Bottom: four M3 holes, 120 × 50 mm pattern, maximum penetration 2 mm (hole group 1). Side: two M3 holes, maximum penetration 4 mm (hole group 2). Use 4–6 kgf·cm mounting torque and the complete hole-location drawing. |
| Airflow |
The fitted top fan exhaust direction is shown in the TF mechanical drawing; preserve the top clearance and airflow path. |
| Board and adjustment references |
SVR1 is the main-output adjustment reference. FS1 is marked F8A/250V. HS1, HS2, HS3 and HS4 must not be shorted. |
Drawing units are millimetres with general tolerance ±1 mm unless separately marked. Use the full model-specific mechanical drawing for offsets and clearances; included screws, loose connectors and installation hardware are not stated.
Power Connections and Mating Parts
| AC input CN1 |
JST B3P-VH or equivalent: pin 1 AC/L, pin 2 no pin, pin 3 AC/N. Mating housing: JST VHR or equivalent; terminal: JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent. VHR is the printed family reference, not an invented complete ordering suffix. |
| Main DC output |
CN2: −V; CN3: +V. M3.5 pan-head screws at two positions; maximum torque 8 lbs-in (90 cNm), as printed. |
Mating-part references identify compatible interface components; they do not establish that loose mating parts are supplied. Choose the correct position count and terminal for each connection.
Safety, Isolation and EMC
| Medical approvals |
IEC60601-1:2005+A1+A2; TUV BS EN/EN60601-1:2006+A1+A12+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.60601-1:2014+A2; EAC TP TC004. BS EN/EN60335-1 is a design reference by request, not an unconditional additional approval. |
| Isolation / withstand |
Primary-secondary: 2 × MOPP; primary-earth and secondary-earth: 1 × MOPP each. Withstand: input-output 4 kVAC, input-FG 2 kVAC, output-FG 1.5 kVAC. BF suitability depends on appropriate complete-system configuration. |
| Insulation resistance |
Input-output and input-FG: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH. |
| Emissions |
BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11). Use the Class I configuration with FG; the specification lists conducted and radiated Class B. Do not transfer the PCB-only Class II option to this enclosed version. Harmonic current: BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-3. |
Immunity: BS EN/EN55035, BS EN/EN60601-1-2 and BS EN/EN61204-3. ESD (EN61000-4-2): level 4, 15 kV air / 8 kV contact. RF (-4-3): level 3, 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz; Table 9: 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz. EFT (-4-4): level 3, 2 kV; surge (-4-5): level 4, 4 kV line-FG / 2 kV line-line. Conducted susceptibility (-4-6): level 3, 10 V; magnetic field (-4-8): level 4, 30 A/m. Dips/interruption (-4-11): 100% dip for 1 period, 30% dip for 25 periods and 100% interruption for 250 periods.
Class I EMC testing used a 360 × 360 × 1 mm metal plate. This is an installation component; re-confirm EMC compliance in the final equipment.
Weight, Reliability and Catalogue
| Single-unit catalogue weight |
580 g (0.58 kg), explicitly listed as P.W. in PACKING; a catalogue unit reference, not a measured shipping-parcel weight. |
| Packing reference |
24 pieces / 14.9 kg / 0.86 CUFT. |
| Minimum MTBF estimates |
1393.3 thousand hours, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 194.1 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. These statistical estimates are not guaranteed service lives. |
| Catalogue and warranty |
RPS-400-SPEC, 2024-11-22, combined PDF pages 8–17. Three-year manufacturer warranty, subject to applicable terms. |