MEAN WELL RPS-500 series: Enclosed Medical AC/DC Power Supply - RPS-500-48-TF

Description

MEAN WELL RPS-500-48-TF is a 48 V medical AC/DC power supply in the enclosed with top-mounted fan configuration. Its main output is rated 10.4 A / 499.2 W with the built-in top fan. It provides 5 V standby, PS-ON control, power-status signalling and remote sense, with 2 MOPP primary-to-secondary isolation.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL RPS-500 Datasheet (PDF)

The RPS-500 section is on PDF pages 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Model and Application

Complete model RPS-500-48-TF
Construction -TF: enclosed with top-mounted fan.
System configuration Class I with protective ground (FG); this enclosed version is not suitable for a Class II system without FG.
Typical applications Oral irrigators, hemodialysis machines, medical computer monitors, sleep-apnea devices, pumps and electric beds.

Suitable for BF applications with appropriate system design. Component medical approvals do not certify the finished equipment; assess isolation, leakage current, grounding and EMC at system level.

Output Ratings

Nominal main output 48 V.
Main current with specified cooling 10.4 A with the built-in top fan.
Main rated power with specified cooling 499.2 W with the built-in top fan.
Cooling requirement The rated output requires the built-in fan and clear airflow paths. A fanless or failed-fan continuous rating is not specified.
Peak-power allowance 550 W for 3 seconds; this is not a continuous rating. No repeated-pulse duty cycle is specified on these pages.
Main voltage adjustment 45.6–50.4 V.
Ripple and noise, maximum 200 mVp-p.
Voltage tolerance ±1.0%; includes set-up tolerance, line and load regulation.
Line / load regulation ±0.5% / ±1.0%.
Efficiency, typical 94%.

Use the individual main-output current and power limits together with the cooling, input-voltage and ambient-temperature limits. The 5 V standby and fan-rail ratings are separate interface limits; they do not authorize adding extra watts to the stated main-output or peak rating. These pages provide no separate combined-output power formula.

Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C. Ripple/noise is measured with 20 MHz bandwidth using a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.

Input, Timing and Leakage

Input range 80–264 VAC or 113–370 VDC; low-input derating applies.
Input frequency 47–63 Hz.
Power-factor correction Built-in active PFC; PF >0.94 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC, full load.
AC current, typical 5.8 A at 115 VAC; 2.9 A at 230 VAC.
Cold-start inrush, typical 40 A at 115 VAC; 80 A at 230 VAC.
Set-up and rise time 1000 ms set-up / 30 ms rise at 230 VAC; 1500 ms / 30 ms at 115 VAC, full load.
Hold-up time, typical 10 ms at either 230 VAC or 115 VAC, full load.
Earth leakage current Less than 220 µA at 264 VAC, 50 Hz.
Touch current Less than 100 µA at 264 VAC, measured from primary input to DC output.
Low-power condition Less than 0.5 W using PS-ON control; this is not an unconditional main-output-on no-load figure.
Block-diagram frequencies PFC: 90 kHz; PWM: 100 kHz.

Protection

Short circuit / overload 105–135% of rated output power; hiccup mode, with automatic recovery after the fault is removed.
Overvoltage threshold 52.8–62.4 V.
Overvoltage response Hiccup mode; automatically recovers after the fault is removed.
Overtemperature Output shuts down and automatically recovers after the temperature falls.

Protection thresholds are not an increased operating-power allowance.

Standby, Control and Status

5 V standby 5 V at up to 0.6 A without a fan, or 1 A with 25 CFM; tolerance ±2%, ripple/noise 120 mVp-p maximum. Observe the cooling condition rather than treating 1 A as unconditional.
PS-ON High, 2–5 V: main output on. Low, 0–0.5 V: main output off. CN95 pin 3 is PS-ON; pins 2 and 4 are DC COM.
Power Good / Power Fail The TTL status signal goes high 10–500 ms after power set-up, and goes low at least 1 ms before output falls below 90% of its rated value. The available status connection is CN11 pin 4 PG, referenced to pin 3 DC COM; no separate PF pin is assigned.
Remote sense CN11 pin 1 −S and pin 2 +S. Connect the sense lines with correct polarity according to the manufacturer instructions; no maximum compensation voltage is stated here.
Power indication LED power-on indicator.
Built-in fan control Fan turns on by 20% load minimum, as stated for TF/SF versions. The catalogue fan rail is 12 V / 0.5 A, but the external CN12 fan connection is explicitly excluded for TF/SF.

Derating and Environment

Ambient range −30 to +70°C, subject to the applicable cooling-mode curve.
Horizontal-mounting thermal limits With the built-in fan, the horizontal-mounting family curve shows 500 W through 50°C, falling to 190 W at 70°C. No natural-convection curve is provided for this fan-equipped version.
Input-voltage curve, 60 Hz 70% load at 80 VAC, 80% at 90 VAC, reaching 100% at 115 VAC and remaining at 100% through 264 VAC.
Operating altitude Up to 4000 m. Above 2000 m, reduce allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per additional 1000 m for fanless operation, or 5°C per additional 1000 m for fan-cooled operation.
Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
Storage temperature −40 to +85°C.
Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G, 10 minutes per cycle; 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.

The thermal graphs use rounded family power levels; retain the exact model current and rated-power limits above and use the more restrictive applicable limit. Combine input-voltage, temperature and altitude derating. Do not extrapolate a no-fan curve beyond its plotted endpoint.

Installation and Mechanical Details

Overall size, L × W × H 130 × 86 × 58.5 mm.
Mechanical drawing reference PDF page 25; dimensions in millimetres, general tolerance ±1 mm.
Bottom mounting Four M3 mounting positions (hole group 1), 120 × 50 mm centre pattern; maximum penetration 3 mm. Recommended torque 4–6 kgf-cm.
Side mounting Two M3 positions (hole group 2), 120 mm spacing; maximum penetration 4 mm, torque 4–6 kgf-cm. Follow the drawing for the 5 mm, 18.3 mm and 26.5 mm reference offsets.
Top fan and clearance Overall height 58.5 mm includes the 43 mm body plus the 15.5 mm top-fan projection. Keep the upward exhaust path clear.
Protective ground Use within a Class I system with FG. The enclosed C/TF/SF versions are not suitable for a Class II system without FG.
Heat sinks HS1, HS2, HS3 and HS4 must not be shorted together.

Follow the complete manufacturer mechanical and installation drawings. Mounting penetration is measured into the chassis; do not confuse it with total screw length. The catalogue does not state that mating connectors, mounting screws or an external fan are supplied.

Connectors and Mating Parts

AC input CN1 JST B3P-VH or equivalent: pin 1 AC/L, pin 2 absent, pin 3 AC/N. Mating housing printed as JST VHR; terminal JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent.
Main DC output CN2 = −V; CN3 = +V. M3.5 pan-head screws in two positions, maximum tightening torque 8 lbs-in (90 cNm).
Sense / status CN11 TKP DH2I-2X2 or equivalent: pin 1 −S, pin 2 +S, pin 3 DC COM, pin 4 PG. Mating housing printed as TKP DH2; terminal printed only as TKP.
Standby / control CN95 TKP DH2L-2X2 or equivalent: pin 1 5Vsb, pins 2 and 4 DC COM, pin 3 PS-ON. Mating housing printed as TKP DH2; terminal printed only as TKP.
External fan connector The CN12 external-fan connector assignment is explicitly excluded for TF/SF models; do not assume an available auxiliary fan socket.

VHR and DH2 are abbreviated housing-family references; the control-connector terminal entry gives only the TKP manufacturer name. Confirm the complete housing/contact ordering suffix and circuit count with the connector supplier. Do not invent a missing suffix. No complete replacement-fan ordering model is supplied by these pages.

Safety, Isolation and EMC

Listed approvals IEC60601-1:2005+A1+A2; TUV BS EN/EN60601-1:2006+A1+A12+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.60601-1:2014+A2; EAC TP TC004.
Additional design reference BS EN/EN60335-1 is a design reference by request, not an unconditional standard-configuration approval.
Patient-protection isolation Primary–secondary: 2 MOPP; primary–earth: 1 MOPP; secondary–earth: 1 MOPP.
Withstand voltage Input–output 4 kVAC; input–FG 2 kVAC; output–FG 1.5 kVAC.
Insulation resistance Input–output and input–FG: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
EMI BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11). Conducted: Class B for the required Class I configuration with FG. Radiated: Class A.
Mains emissions BS EN/EN61000-3-2 harmonic current Class A; BS EN/EN61000-3-3 voltage flicker.
Immunity framework BS EN/EN55035; BS EN/EN60601-1-2; BS EN/EN61204-3.
ESD BS EN/EN61000-4-2: Level 4, 15 kV air and 8 kV contact.
RF immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-3: Level 3, 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz; Table 9, 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz.
EFT / surge BS EN/EN61000-4-4: Level 3, 2 kV. BS EN/EN61000-4-5: Level 4, 4 kV line–FG and 2 kV line–line.
Conducted / magnetic immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-6: Level 3, 10 V; BS EN/EN61000-4-8: Level 4, 30 A/m.
Voltage dips / interruptions BS EN/EN61000-4-11: 100% dip for 1 period; 30% dip for 25 periods; 100% interruption for 250 periods.

EMC tests used a 360 × 360 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick. This is a component for installation inside equipment; EMC compliance must be reconfirmed in the completed system.

Weight, Reliability and Reference

Catalogue single-unit weight 580 g, from the explicit 0.58 kg P.W entry in PACKING. This is a catalogue reference, not a measured net or shipping weight.
Carton packing reference 24 pieces / 14.9 kg gross / 0.86 CUFT.
MTBF estimates 1132.3 thousand hours minimum by Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 144.2 thousand hours minimum by MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
Manufacturer warranty 3 years, subject to applicable manufacturer terms.
Catalogue edition RPS-500-SPEC 2024-11-22; combined PDF pages 18–27.

MTBF is a statistical estimate under the stated methods, not a guaranteed service life.

MEAN WELL RPS-500 series: Enclosed Medical AC/DC Power Supply - RPS-500-48-TF

Product form

MEAN WELL RPS-500-48-TF is a 48 V medical AC/DC power supply in the enclosed with top-mounted fan configuration. Its main... Read more

$263.68 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL RPS-500-48-TF is a 48 V medical AC/DC power supply in the enclosed with top-mounted fan configuration. Its main output is rated 10.4 A / 499.2 W with the built-in top fan. It provides 5 V standby, PS-ON control, power-status signalling and remote sense, with 2 MOPP primary-to-secondary isolation.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL RPS-500 Datasheet (PDF)

    The RPS-500 section is on PDF pages 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Model and Application

    Complete model RPS-500-48-TF
    Construction -TF: enclosed with top-mounted fan.
    System configuration Class I with protective ground (FG); this enclosed version is not suitable for a Class II system without FG.
    Typical applications Oral irrigators, hemodialysis machines, medical computer monitors, sleep-apnea devices, pumps and electric beds.

    Suitable for BF applications with appropriate system design. Component medical approvals do not certify the finished equipment; assess isolation, leakage current, grounding and EMC at system level.

    Output Ratings

    Nominal main output 48 V.
    Main current with specified cooling 10.4 A with the built-in top fan.
    Main rated power with specified cooling 499.2 W with the built-in top fan.
    Cooling requirement The rated output requires the built-in fan and clear airflow paths. A fanless or failed-fan continuous rating is not specified.
    Peak-power allowance 550 W for 3 seconds; this is not a continuous rating. No repeated-pulse duty cycle is specified on these pages.
    Main voltage adjustment 45.6–50.4 V.
    Ripple and noise, maximum 200 mVp-p.
    Voltage tolerance ±1.0%; includes set-up tolerance, line and load regulation.
    Line / load regulation ±0.5% / ±1.0%.
    Efficiency, typical 94%.

    Use the individual main-output current and power limits together with the cooling, input-voltage and ambient-temperature limits. The 5 V standby and fan-rail ratings are separate interface limits; they do not authorize adding extra watts to the stated main-output or peak rating. These pages provide no separate combined-output power formula.

    Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C. Ripple/noise is measured with 20 MHz bandwidth using a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.

    Input, Timing and Leakage

    Input range 80–264 VAC or 113–370 VDC; low-input derating applies.
    Input frequency 47–63 Hz.
    Power-factor correction Built-in active PFC; PF >0.94 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC, full load.
    AC current, typical 5.8 A at 115 VAC; 2.9 A at 230 VAC.
    Cold-start inrush, typical 40 A at 115 VAC; 80 A at 230 VAC.
    Set-up and rise time 1000 ms set-up / 30 ms rise at 230 VAC; 1500 ms / 30 ms at 115 VAC, full load.
    Hold-up time, typical 10 ms at either 230 VAC or 115 VAC, full load.
    Earth leakage current Less than 220 µA at 264 VAC, 50 Hz.
    Touch current Less than 100 µA at 264 VAC, measured from primary input to DC output.
    Low-power condition Less than 0.5 W using PS-ON control; this is not an unconditional main-output-on no-load figure.
    Block-diagram frequencies PFC: 90 kHz; PWM: 100 kHz.

    Protection

    Short circuit / overload 105–135% of rated output power; hiccup mode, with automatic recovery after the fault is removed.
    Overvoltage threshold 52.8–62.4 V.
    Overvoltage response Hiccup mode; automatically recovers after the fault is removed.
    Overtemperature Output shuts down and automatically recovers after the temperature falls.

    Protection thresholds are not an increased operating-power allowance.

    Standby, Control and Status

    5 V standby 5 V at up to 0.6 A without a fan, or 1 A with 25 CFM; tolerance ±2%, ripple/noise 120 mVp-p maximum. Observe the cooling condition rather than treating 1 A as unconditional.
    PS-ON High, 2–5 V: main output on. Low, 0–0.5 V: main output off. CN95 pin 3 is PS-ON; pins 2 and 4 are DC COM.
    Power Good / Power Fail The TTL status signal goes high 10–500 ms after power set-up, and goes low at least 1 ms before output falls below 90% of its rated value. The available status connection is CN11 pin 4 PG, referenced to pin 3 DC COM; no separate PF pin is assigned.
    Remote sense CN11 pin 1 −S and pin 2 +S. Connect the sense lines with correct polarity according to the manufacturer instructions; no maximum compensation voltage is stated here.
    Power indication LED power-on indicator.
    Built-in fan control Fan turns on by 20% load minimum, as stated for TF/SF versions. The catalogue fan rail is 12 V / 0.5 A, but the external CN12 fan connection is explicitly excluded for TF/SF.

    Derating and Environment

    Ambient range −30 to +70°C, subject to the applicable cooling-mode curve.
    Horizontal-mounting thermal limits With the built-in fan, the horizontal-mounting family curve shows 500 W through 50°C, falling to 190 W at 70°C. No natural-convection curve is provided for this fan-equipped version.
    Input-voltage curve, 60 Hz 70% load at 80 VAC, 80% at 90 VAC, reaching 100% at 115 VAC and remaining at 100% through 264 VAC.
    Operating altitude Up to 4000 m. Above 2000 m, reduce allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per additional 1000 m for fanless operation, or 5°C per additional 1000 m for fan-cooled operation.
    Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
    Storage temperature −40 to +85°C.
    Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
    Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G, 10 minutes per cycle; 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.

    The thermal graphs use rounded family power levels; retain the exact model current and rated-power limits above and use the more restrictive applicable limit. Combine input-voltage, temperature and altitude derating. Do not extrapolate a no-fan curve beyond its plotted endpoint.

    Installation and Mechanical Details

    Overall size, L × W × H 130 × 86 × 58.5 mm.
    Mechanical drawing reference PDF page 25; dimensions in millimetres, general tolerance ±1 mm.
    Bottom mounting Four M3 mounting positions (hole group 1), 120 × 50 mm centre pattern; maximum penetration 3 mm. Recommended torque 4–6 kgf-cm.
    Side mounting Two M3 positions (hole group 2), 120 mm spacing; maximum penetration 4 mm, torque 4–6 kgf-cm. Follow the drawing for the 5 mm, 18.3 mm and 26.5 mm reference offsets.
    Top fan and clearance Overall height 58.5 mm includes the 43 mm body plus the 15.5 mm top-fan projection. Keep the upward exhaust path clear.
    Protective ground Use within a Class I system with FG. The enclosed C/TF/SF versions are not suitable for a Class II system without FG.
    Heat sinks HS1, HS2, HS3 and HS4 must not be shorted together.

    Follow the complete manufacturer mechanical and installation drawings. Mounting penetration is measured into the chassis; do not confuse it with total screw length. The catalogue does not state that mating connectors, mounting screws or an external fan are supplied.

    Connectors and Mating Parts

    AC input CN1 JST B3P-VH or equivalent: pin 1 AC/L, pin 2 absent, pin 3 AC/N. Mating housing printed as JST VHR; terminal JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent.
    Main DC output CN2 = −V; CN3 = +V. M3.5 pan-head screws in two positions, maximum tightening torque 8 lbs-in (90 cNm).
    Sense / status CN11 TKP DH2I-2X2 or equivalent: pin 1 −S, pin 2 +S, pin 3 DC COM, pin 4 PG. Mating housing printed as TKP DH2; terminal printed only as TKP.
    Standby / control CN95 TKP DH2L-2X2 or equivalent: pin 1 5Vsb, pins 2 and 4 DC COM, pin 3 PS-ON. Mating housing printed as TKP DH2; terminal printed only as TKP.
    External fan connector The CN12 external-fan connector assignment is explicitly excluded for TF/SF models; do not assume an available auxiliary fan socket.

    VHR and DH2 are abbreviated housing-family references; the control-connector terminal entry gives only the TKP manufacturer name. Confirm the complete housing/contact ordering suffix and circuit count with the connector supplier. Do not invent a missing suffix. No complete replacement-fan ordering model is supplied by these pages.

    Safety, Isolation and EMC

    Listed approvals IEC60601-1:2005+A1+A2; TUV BS EN/EN60601-1:2006+A1+A12+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.60601-1:2014+A2; EAC TP TC004.
    Additional design reference BS EN/EN60335-1 is a design reference by request, not an unconditional standard-configuration approval.
    Patient-protection isolation Primary–secondary: 2 MOPP; primary–earth: 1 MOPP; secondary–earth: 1 MOPP.
    Withstand voltage Input–output 4 kVAC; input–FG 2 kVAC; output–FG 1.5 kVAC.
    Insulation resistance Input–output and input–FG: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
    EMI BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11). Conducted: Class B for the required Class I configuration with FG. Radiated: Class A.
    Mains emissions BS EN/EN61000-3-2 harmonic current Class A; BS EN/EN61000-3-3 voltage flicker.
    Immunity framework BS EN/EN55035; BS EN/EN60601-1-2; BS EN/EN61204-3.
    ESD BS EN/EN61000-4-2: Level 4, 15 kV air and 8 kV contact.
    RF immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-3: Level 3, 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz; Table 9, 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz.
    EFT / surge BS EN/EN61000-4-4: Level 3, 2 kV. BS EN/EN61000-4-5: Level 4, 4 kV line–FG and 2 kV line–line.
    Conducted / magnetic immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-6: Level 3, 10 V; BS EN/EN61000-4-8: Level 4, 30 A/m.
    Voltage dips / interruptions BS EN/EN61000-4-11: 100% dip for 1 period; 30% dip for 25 periods; 100% interruption for 250 periods.

    EMC tests used a 360 × 360 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick. This is a component for installation inside equipment; EMC compliance must be reconfirmed in the completed system.

    Weight, Reliability and Reference

    Catalogue single-unit weight 580 g, from the explicit 0.58 kg P.W entry in PACKING. This is a catalogue reference, not a measured net or shipping weight.
    Carton packing reference 24 pieces / 14.9 kg gross / 0.86 CUFT.
    MTBF estimates 1132.3 thousand hours minimum by Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 144.2 thousand hours minimum by MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
    Manufacturer warranty 3 years, subject to applicable manufacturer terms.
    Catalogue edition RPS-500-SPEC 2024-11-22; combined PDF pages 18–27.

    MTBF is a statistical estimate under the stated methods, not a guaranteed service life.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa