MEAN WELL RPS-75-3.3 is a 5 × 3-inch open-frame medical AC/DC power supply with a 3.3 V main output. The main-output current is 15 A with natural convection and 20 A with the specified 23.5 CFM airflow. Standard RPS-75 model with remote sense. It is intended for Class I equipment with protective grounding; BF applications require appropriate system consideration.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL RPS-75 Datasheet (PDF)
The RPS-75 section is on PDF pages 33, 34, 35, 36. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model and Application
| Complete model |
RPS-75-3.3 |
| Configuration |
Standard RPS-75 model with remote sense. |
| Board format |
127 × 76.2 mm (5 × 3 inches); open-frame PCB construction. |
| Intended applications |
Oral irrigators, hemodialysis equipment, medical monitors and sleep-apnea devices. |
Medical component approvals and isolation ratings do not certify the completed device. The equipment design must satisfy the applicable patient-protection, grounding, leakage-current and EMC requirements.
Output Ratings and Cooling Conditions
| Nominal main output |
3.3 V. |
| Convection main-output current |
0–15 A. |
| Forced-air main-output current |
0–20 A with at least 23.5 CFM as shown in the installation drawing. |
| Convection rated power |
49.5 W. |
| Catalogue peak-load rating |
66 W with 23.5 CFM forced air; use the temperature and input derating curves. |
| Voltage adjustment |
2.9–3.6 V for the main output. |
| Ripple and noise, maximum |
60 mVp-p. |
| Voltage tolerance |
±2.0%; includes set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation. |
| Line regulation |
±0.5%. |
| Load regulation |
±1.5%. |
| Efficiency, typical |
73%. |
The higher catalogue rating is tied to forced-air cooling. No pulse-duration or duty-cycle allowance is specified on these pages; do not substitute an unsupported transient-peak claim for the cooling requirements.
Unless otherwise stated, parameters are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C ambient. Ripple/noise uses 20 MHz bandwidth and a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.
Input, Timing and Leakage
| Input range |
90–264 VAC or 127–370 VDC; observe the low-input derating curve. |
| Input frequency |
47–63 Hz. |
| AC current, typical |
1.5 A at 115 VAC; 1 A at 230 VAC. |
| Cold-start inrush, typical |
25 A at 115 VAC; 50 A at 230 VAC. |
| Set-up and rise time |
500 ms set-up at 230 VAC; 500 ms at 115 VAC; 30 ms rise at either input, at full load. |
| Hold-up time, typical |
90 ms at 230 VAC; 20 ms at 115 VAC, at full load. |
| Earth leakage current |
Less than 150 µA at 264 VAC. |
| Touch current |
Less than 100 µA at 264 VAC, measured from primary input to DC output. |
| No-load input power |
Less than 0.75 W. |
| Switching-frequency reference |
65 kHz in the block diagram. |
Protection
| Short circuit and overload |
140–180% of rated output power; hiccup mode automatically recovers after the fault is removed. |
| Overvoltage threshold |
3.8–4.5 V. |
| Overvoltage response |
Output shuts down; re-power to recover. |
Protection trip thresholds do not increase the usable output rating.
Control and Monitoring
| Remote sense |
Available through CN3: pin 1 RS+, pin 2 RS−. The catalogue does not specify a maximum compensation voltage. |
| Status indication |
LED1 is shown on the mechanical drawing. |
Temperature, Input Derating and Environment
| Working temperature |
−20 to +70°C with the applicable cooling and load restrictions. |
| Horizontal-mounting temperature curve |
Convection: 100% of the convection rating from −20°C to 40°C, then derate to 50% at 70°C. The 23.5 CFM curve is marked 133% through 60°C, falling to 50% at 70°C; apply the exact model-specific forced-air current and power entries above. |
| Input-voltage curve |
At 60 Hz, the graph permits 80% load at 90 VAC, rising to 100% at 100 VAC and remaining at 100% through 264 VAC. |
| Working humidity |
20–90% RH, non-condensing. |
| Storage |
−40 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing. |
| Temperature coefficient |
±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C. |
| Vibration |
10–500 Hz, 2 G, 10 minutes per cycle; 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z. |
| Operating altitude |
Up to 3,000 m. Above 2,000 m, reduce permitted ambient temperature by 3.5°C per additional 1,000 m for fanless operation, or 5°C per additional 1,000 m with a fan. |
Combine temperature, input-voltage and airflow restrictions. Do not interpret the maximum ambient temperature as a full-power rating.
Installation and Mechanical Details
| Dimensions, L × W × H |
127 × 76.2 × 31 mm. |
| Mounting holes |
Four holes, diameter 3.8 mm; centre spacing 115.8 × 64.75 mm. |
| Drawing references |
Edge-to-hole offsets are 5.6 mm and 5.7 mm as drawn. General dimensional tolerance ±1 mm; projection below the board 3 mm maximum. |
| Forced-air arrangement |
At least 23.5 CFM; the drawing shows a fan 15 cm from the board edge, centred at the 63.5 mm longitudinal position, with airflow across the board in the indicated direction. |
| Safety ground and chassis |
M1 is the safety-ground point. Secure electrical connections between M1, M2 and chassis ground for the specified installation and EMC performance. |
| Heat sinks |
HS1, HS2 and HS3 must not be shorted together. |
| On-board fuse marking |
T2.5/250V is shown on the AC fuse; this is a rating/designation, not a complete replacement ordering code. |
Follow the complete mechanical drawing and manufacturer installation manual. The catalogue does not specify mounting-screw torque, supplied mounting hardware or a complete fan ordering code. The indicated airflow arrangement is required for the corresponding higher-load rating.
Compatible Connectors and Mating Parts
| AC input CN1 |
JST B3P-VH or equivalent; pin 1 AC/N, pin 2 absent, pin 3 AC/L. Mating housing is printed as JST VHR; terminal JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent. |
| DC output CN2 |
JST B8P-VH or equivalent; pins 1–4 +V, pins 5–8 −V. Mating housing is printed as JST VHR; terminal JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent. |
| Remote-sense CN3 |
JST B2B-XH or equivalent; pin 1 RS+, pin 2 RS−. Mating housing is printed as JST XHP; terminal JST SXH-001T-P0.6 or equivalent. |
The complete printed connector and terminal references above identify the documented interface parts. VHR and XHP are abbreviated housing-family references; Confirm the full housing/contact suffix and circuit count with the connector supplier before ordering. No unprinted suffix or inclusion in the power-supply package is implied.
Safety, Isolation and EMC
| Listed medical approvals |
IEC60601-1:2005+A1+A2; TUV BS EN/EN60601-1:2006+A1+A12+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.60601-1:2014+A2; EAC TP TC004. |
| Other design reference |
BS EN/EN60335-1 is listed as a design reference by request, not an unconditional standard configuration approval. |
| Patient-protection isolation |
Primary to secondary: 2 × MOPP; primary to earth: 1 × MOPP. |
| System configuration |
Class I with FG. Suitable for BF applications with appropriate system consideration. |
| Withstand voltage |
Input to output 4 kVAC; input to FG 2 kVAC; output to FG 1.5 kVAC. |
| Insulation resistance |
Input/output, input/FG and output/FG: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH. |
| Emissions |
BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11), conducted and radiated Class B for Class I configuration. Harmonic current: BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-3. |
| Immunity framework |
BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN60601-1-2. |
| ESD |
BS EN/EN61000-4-2: Level 4, 15 kV air and 8 kV contact. |
| RF immunity |
BS EN/EN61000-4-3: Level 3, 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz; Table 9, 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz. |
| EFT / burst and surge |
BS EN/EN61000-4-4: Level 3, 2 kV. BS EN/EN61000-4-5: Level 4, 4 kV line-to-FG and 2 kV line-to-line. |
| Conducted and magnetic immunity |
BS EN/EN61000-4-6: Level 3, 10 V. BS EN/EN61000-4-8: Level 4, 30 A/m. |
| Voltage dips and interruptions |
BS EN/EN61000-4-11: 100% dip for 1 period, 30% dip for 25 periods, and 100% interruption for 250 periods. |
EMC testing used a 360 × 360 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick. This supply is an equipment component; EMC compliance must be confirmed again in the finished equipment.
Weight, Reliability and Catalogue Reference
| Single-unit catalogue weight |
260 g, from the explicit 0.26 kg per-unit PACKING entry. This is a catalogue reference, not a measured net or shipping weight. |
| Packing reference |
63 pieces / 16.3 kg / 1.28 CUFT. |
| MTBF estimates |
2837.6 thousand hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 446.8 thousand hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. |
| Manufacturer warranty |
3 years, subject to applicable manufacturer terms. |
| Catalogue revision |
RPS-75-SPEC 2024-11-22; combined PDF pages 33–36. |
| Lifetime feature |
The family feature page states lifetime greater than 80,000 hours; it provides no operating-condition curve here. This is not an unconditional service-life guarantee. |
MTBF is a statistical reliability estimate under the stated methods, not a guaranteed service life.