MEAN WELL RPT-160 series: Enclosed Triple Output Medical AC/DC Power Supply - RPTG-160C-C

Description

MEAN WELL RPTG-160C-C is an enclosed casing triple-output AC/DC power supply with 5 V / 15 V / −15 V rails. The catalogue combined ratings are 135.8 W with 20.5 CFM airflow and 94.4 W with natural convection, subject to the individual channel limits and standby-power notes below. This G model adds a 5 V standby rail and PS-ON control.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL RPT-160 Datasheet (PDF)

The RPT-160 section is on PDF pages 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Model and Application

Complete model RPTG-160C-C.
Configuration Optional enclosed type. G: green model with standby and PS-ON.
Output code C: CH1 / CH2 / CH3 = 5 V / 15 V / −15 V.
System grounding Class I with protective ground (FG). Both M1 and M2 safety-ground points must be grounded.
Typical applications Oral irrigators, hemodialysis equipment, medical monitors, sleep-apnea devices and pumps.

BF application requires appropriate complete-system consideration. Isolation, leakage, protective grounding and final-equipment EMC must be assessed for the actual installation. The optional enclosed version has a different approval status from the PCB version; see the safety section.

Combined Output and Test Conditions

Combined rated power, 20.5 CFM 135.8 W, as printed in the model table.
Combined rated power, convection 94.4 W, as printed in the model table.
CH1 adjustment 5–5.5 V using SVR1; no independent CH2/CH3 adjustment range is stated.
Efficiency, typical 83%.

The rated-power footnotes include 5Vsb at 0.8 A with 20.5 CFM, or 0.6 A with natural convection. Standby is already included in these totals; do not add it again.

Keep every channel within its stated minimum and maximum load, and meet the applicable combined-power limit, cooling and derating conditions simultaneously. The series name is not a per-channel wattage rating.

Unless stated otherwise, specifications are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C. Ripple/noise is measured over 20 MHz with a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors. Tolerance includes set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.

CH1 Output

Nominal voltage 5 V relative to COM.
Rated current, 20.5 CFM 13.3 A.
Load-current range, 20.5 CFM 0.6–13.3 A.
Load-current range, convection 0.6–8.5 A.
Minimum load 0.6 A in both stated cooling modes.
Ripple and noise, maximum 60 mVp-p.
Voltage tolerance ±2.0%.
Line regulation ±0.5%.
Load regulation ±2.0%.

CH2 Output

Nominal voltage 15 V relative to COM.
Rated current, 20.5 CFM 3.4 A.
Load-current range, 20.5 CFM 0.1–3.4 A.
Load-current range, convection 0.1–2.5 A.
Minimum load 0.1 A in both stated cooling modes.
Ripple and noise, maximum 80 mVp-p.
Voltage tolerance ±4.0%.
Line regulation ±1.0%.
Load regulation ±3.0%.

CH3 Output

Nominal voltage −15 V relative to COM.
Rated current, 20.5 CFM 0.95 A.
Load-current range, 20.5 CFM 0.1–0.95 A.
Load-current range, convection 0.1–0.76 A.
Minimum load 0.1 A in both stated cooling modes.
Ripple and noise, maximum 100 mVp-p.
Voltage tolerance ±8.0%.
Line regulation ±1.0%.
Load regulation ±8.0%.

Input, Timing and Leakage

Input 90–264 VAC or 127–370 VDC; apply low-input derating.
AC frequency 47–63 Hz.
Power-factor correction Built-in active PFC; at full load PF >0.93 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC.
AC current, typical 1.8 A at 115 VAC; 0.9 A at 230 VAC.
Cold-start inrush, typical 35 A at 115 VAC; 70 A at 230 VAC.
Set-up / rise 1800 ms / 30 ms at 230 VAC; 3500 ms / 30 ms at 115 VAC, full load.
Hold-up, typical 30 ms at 230 VAC; 20 ms at 115 VAC, full load.
Earth leakage Less than 160 µA at 264 VAC.
Touch current Less than 100 µA at 264 VAC, measured from primary input to DC output.
Block-diagram frequency 100 kHz.

Protection

Short circuit / overload 105–135% of rated output power; hiccup mode automatically recovers after the fault is removed.
Overvoltage CH1 threshold: 5.7–6.8 V. Output shuts down; re-power on to recover.
Overtemperature, TSW1 Output shuts down and automatically recovers after temperature decreases.
Overtemperature, TSW2 Output shuts down; re-power on to recover.

Protection thresholds are not an overload operating allowance. The two thermal-protection responses are distinct.

Status and Standby Control

Power Good / Power Fail Catalogue timing: 10 ms < PG < 500 ms; PF >1 ms. The status connector is CN3, pin 1 PG and pin 2 GND. No separate PF connector pin is assigned.
Indicator An LED power indicator is marked on the PCB mechanical drawing.
5 V standby 5 V at up to 0.6 A without a fan, or 0.8 A with 20.5 CFM; tolerance ±2%, ripple/noise 50 mVp-p maximum.
PS-ON High, 2–5 V: power on. Low, 0–0.5 V: power off. CN901 pin 1 is PS/ON; pins 2 and 4 are GND. The illustrated transistor interface is marked 5 mA maximum.
Low-power condition Less than 0.75 W using PS-ON control. This is a G-model controlled-off condition, not an unconditional output-on no-load rating.

Derating and Environment

Ambient range −20 to +70°C, subject to the cooling-mode curve.
Horizontal-mounting temperature curve On the common catalogue percentage scale, the enclosed convection curve is 95% through 40°C and falls to 38% at 60°C; with 20.5 CFM it is 95% through 50°C and falls to 38% at 70°C. Use the enclosed model’s reduced current and combined-power ratings; the graph is not an alternative higher wattage specification.
Input-voltage curve, 60 Hz 80% load at 90 VAC, rising to 100% at 100 VAC and remaining at 100% through 264 VAC.
Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
Storage −40 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z.
Operating altitude Up to 3000 m. Above 2000 m, reduce allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1000 m for fanless operation, or 5°C per 1000 m for fan-cooled operation.

Combine the temperature, input-voltage, altitude and loading limits. Natural-convection curves end at 60°C; the 70°C endpoint requires the stated forced-air condition. Do not infer a pulse or peak-power allowance.

Mechanical Installation and Cooling

Size, L × W × H 130 × 86 × 43 mm.
Drawing PDF page 24; dimensions in millimetres.
Enclosure Optional -C enclosure, Case No.247A.
Bottom mounting Four M3 positions on a 120 × 50 mm pattern; 5 mm and 18.3 mm edge references.
Side mounting The side drawing marks four M3 L=4 positions and separate 120 mm / 110.5 mm dimensions; follow the complete drawing for their locations.
Screw penetration and torque The installation table specifies M3, maximum penetration 2 mm for both listed hole groups, and 4–6 kgf-cm torque. Select screw length for the actual mounting thickness; do not treat the side-view L=4 marking as permission to exceed the installation limit.
External airflow placement 20.5 CFM external fan, 5 cm from the enclosure, blowing in the shown direction; fan centre is referenced 65 mm from the output-side edge.
Grounding and heat sinks M1 and M2 are safety-ground points and both must be grounded. HS1, HS2 and HS3 must not be shorted.
Adjustment and fuse references SVR1 is the adjustment reference; the drawing marks FS1 and FS2, without assigning a replacement fuse ordering code.

The shown fan establishes the forced-air test/installation condition; a fan, mounting screws or loose mating connectors are not stated as included. Keep the indicated airflow path and clearances open. No separate mounting-kit ordering code is given.

Connections and Mating Components

AC input CN1 JST B3P-VH or equivalent: pin 1 AC/L, pin 2 no pin, pin 3 AC/N. Mating housing JST VHR or equivalent; terminal JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent.
Three-output connector CN2 JST B8P-VH or equivalent: pins 1–4 COM, pins 5–6 CH1, pin 7 CH2, pin 8 CH3. Mating housing JST VHR or equivalent; terminal JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent.
Power Good connector CN3 JST B2B-XH or equivalent: pin 1 PG, pin 2 GND. Mating housing JST XHP or equivalent; terminal JST SXH-001T-P0.6 or equivalent.
Standby/control CN901 Catalogue connector reference JST B-XH or equivalent: pin 1 PS/ON, pins 2 and 4 GND, pin 3 5VSB. Mating housing JST XHP or equivalent; terminal reference JST SXH-001T or equivalent.

VHR, XHP, B-XH and SXH-001T are the abbreviated references printed in this catalogue. Select the exact position count and complete manufacturer ordering suffix for the required mating part; these pages do not provide every suffix. Do not substitute another series’ pin assignment.

Safety, Isolation and EMC

Version-specific approval status The enclosed specification states design reference to IEC60601-1, EAC TP TC004 and TUV BS EN/EN60601-1, with CB/TUV pending in this catalogue revision. Do not treat the PCB approval list, including ANSI/AAMI, as an approval for this -C product.
Isolation Primary–secondary: 2 MOPP; primary–earth: 1 MOPP; secondary–earth: 1 MOPP.
Withstand voltage Input–output: 4 kVAC; input–FG: 2 kVAC; output–FG: 1.5 kVAC.
Insulation resistance Input–output, input–FG and output–FG: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
Emissions BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11): conducted Class B and radiated Class B in the Class I configuration with FG. Harmonics: BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; voltage flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-3.
Equipment configuration Use Class I with FG; the -C version is not suitable for a Class II system without FG.

Immunity: BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN60601-1-2. ESD (-4-2): level 4, 15 kV air / 8 kV contact. RF field (-4-3): level 3, 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz; Table 9 proximity fields 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz. EFT (-4-4): level 3, 2 kV. Surge (-4-5): level 3, 2 kV line–FG / 1 kV line–line. Conducted susceptibility (-4-6): level 3, 10 V. Magnetic field (-4-8): level 4, 30 A/m. Dips/interruption (-4-11): 100% dip for 1 period, 30% dip for 25 periods, 100% interruption for 250 periods.

The catalogue EMC setup uses a 360 × 360 × 1 mm metal plate. This power supply is an installation component; re-confirm compliance in the finished equipment.

Weight, Reliability and Catalogue

Single-unit catalogue weight 490 g (0.49 kg), explicitly printed per unit in PACKING; a catalogue packing reference, not a measured net or shipping-parcel weight.
Packing 24 pieces / 12.8 kg / 0.77 CUFT.
MTBF, minimum estimates 1719.1 thousand hours, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 175.1 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
Lifetime statement The series feature list states a lifetime greater than 85,000 hours, without test conditions on these pages; it is not a guaranteed service life for every installation.
Warranty Three-year manufacturer warranty, subject to applicable terms.
Catalogue RPT-160-SPEC, 2024-04-15; combined PDF pages 19–25.

MEAN WELL RPT-160 series: Enclosed Triple Output Medical AC/DC Power Supply - RPTG-160C-C

Product form

MEAN WELL RPTG-160C-C is an enclosed casing triple-output AC/DC power supply with 5 V / 15 V / −15 V... Read more

$178.41 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL RPTG-160C-C is an enclosed casing triple-output AC/DC power supply with 5 V / 15 V / −15 V rails. The catalogue combined ratings are 135.8 W with 20.5 CFM airflow and 94.4 W with natural convection, subject to the individual channel limits and standby-power notes below. This G model adds a 5 V standby rail and PS-ON control.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL RPT-160 Datasheet (PDF)

    The RPT-160 section is on PDF pages 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Model and Application

    Complete model RPTG-160C-C.
    Configuration Optional enclosed type. G: green model with standby and PS-ON.
    Output code C: CH1 / CH2 / CH3 = 5 V / 15 V / −15 V.
    System grounding Class I with protective ground (FG). Both M1 and M2 safety-ground points must be grounded.
    Typical applications Oral irrigators, hemodialysis equipment, medical monitors, sleep-apnea devices and pumps.

    BF application requires appropriate complete-system consideration. Isolation, leakage, protective grounding and final-equipment EMC must be assessed for the actual installation. The optional enclosed version has a different approval status from the PCB version; see the safety section.

    Combined Output and Test Conditions

    Combined rated power, 20.5 CFM 135.8 W, as printed in the model table.
    Combined rated power, convection 94.4 W, as printed in the model table.
    CH1 adjustment 5–5.5 V using SVR1; no independent CH2/CH3 adjustment range is stated.
    Efficiency, typical 83%.

    The rated-power footnotes include 5Vsb at 0.8 A with 20.5 CFM, or 0.6 A with natural convection. Standby is already included in these totals; do not add it again.

    Keep every channel within its stated minimum and maximum load, and meet the applicable combined-power limit, cooling and derating conditions simultaneously. The series name is not a per-channel wattage rating.

    Unless stated otherwise, specifications are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C. Ripple/noise is measured over 20 MHz with a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors. Tolerance includes set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.

    CH1 Output

    Nominal voltage 5 V relative to COM.
    Rated current, 20.5 CFM 13.3 A.
    Load-current range, 20.5 CFM 0.6–13.3 A.
    Load-current range, convection 0.6–8.5 A.
    Minimum load 0.6 A in both stated cooling modes.
    Ripple and noise, maximum 60 mVp-p.
    Voltage tolerance ±2.0%.
    Line regulation ±0.5%.
    Load regulation ±2.0%.

    CH2 Output

    Nominal voltage 15 V relative to COM.
    Rated current, 20.5 CFM 3.4 A.
    Load-current range, 20.5 CFM 0.1–3.4 A.
    Load-current range, convection 0.1–2.5 A.
    Minimum load 0.1 A in both stated cooling modes.
    Ripple and noise, maximum 80 mVp-p.
    Voltage tolerance ±4.0%.
    Line regulation ±1.0%.
    Load regulation ±3.0%.

    CH3 Output

    Nominal voltage −15 V relative to COM.
    Rated current, 20.5 CFM 0.95 A.
    Load-current range, 20.5 CFM 0.1–0.95 A.
    Load-current range, convection 0.1–0.76 A.
    Minimum load 0.1 A in both stated cooling modes.
    Ripple and noise, maximum 100 mVp-p.
    Voltage tolerance ±8.0%.
    Line regulation ±1.0%.
    Load regulation ±8.0%.

    Input, Timing and Leakage

    Input 90–264 VAC or 127–370 VDC; apply low-input derating.
    AC frequency 47–63 Hz.
    Power-factor correction Built-in active PFC; at full load PF >0.93 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC.
    AC current, typical 1.8 A at 115 VAC; 0.9 A at 230 VAC.
    Cold-start inrush, typical 35 A at 115 VAC; 70 A at 230 VAC.
    Set-up / rise 1800 ms / 30 ms at 230 VAC; 3500 ms / 30 ms at 115 VAC, full load.
    Hold-up, typical 30 ms at 230 VAC; 20 ms at 115 VAC, full load.
    Earth leakage Less than 160 µA at 264 VAC.
    Touch current Less than 100 µA at 264 VAC, measured from primary input to DC output.
    Block-diagram frequency 100 kHz.

    Protection

    Short circuit / overload 105–135% of rated output power; hiccup mode automatically recovers after the fault is removed.
    Overvoltage CH1 threshold: 5.7–6.8 V. Output shuts down; re-power on to recover.
    Overtemperature, TSW1 Output shuts down and automatically recovers after temperature decreases.
    Overtemperature, TSW2 Output shuts down; re-power on to recover.

    Protection thresholds are not an overload operating allowance. The two thermal-protection responses are distinct.

    Status and Standby Control

    Power Good / Power Fail Catalogue timing: 10 ms < PG < 500 ms; PF >1 ms. The status connector is CN3, pin 1 PG and pin 2 GND. No separate PF connector pin is assigned.
    Indicator An LED power indicator is marked on the PCB mechanical drawing.
    5 V standby 5 V at up to 0.6 A without a fan, or 0.8 A with 20.5 CFM; tolerance ±2%, ripple/noise 50 mVp-p maximum.
    PS-ON High, 2–5 V: power on. Low, 0–0.5 V: power off. CN901 pin 1 is PS/ON; pins 2 and 4 are GND. The illustrated transistor interface is marked 5 mA maximum.
    Low-power condition Less than 0.75 W using PS-ON control. This is a G-model controlled-off condition, not an unconditional output-on no-load rating.

    Derating and Environment

    Ambient range −20 to +70°C, subject to the cooling-mode curve.
    Horizontal-mounting temperature curve On the common catalogue percentage scale, the enclosed convection curve is 95% through 40°C and falls to 38% at 60°C; with 20.5 CFM it is 95% through 50°C and falls to 38% at 70°C. Use the enclosed model’s reduced current and combined-power ratings; the graph is not an alternative higher wattage specification.
    Input-voltage curve, 60 Hz 80% load at 90 VAC, rising to 100% at 100 VAC and remaining at 100% through 264 VAC.
    Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
    Storage −40 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
    Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
    Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z.
    Operating altitude Up to 3000 m. Above 2000 m, reduce allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1000 m for fanless operation, or 5°C per 1000 m for fan-cooled operation.

    Combine the temperature, input-voltage, altitude and loading limits. Natural-convection curves end at 60°C; the 70°C endpoint requires the stated forced-air condition. Do not infer a pulse or peak-power allowance.

    Mechanical Installation and Cooling

    Size, L × W × H 130 × 86 × 43 mm.
    Drawing PDF page 24; dimensions in millimetres.
    Enclosure Optional -C enclosure, Case No.247A.
    Bottom mounting Four M3 positions on a 120 × 50 mm pattern; 5 mm and 18.3 mm edge references.
    Side mounting The side drawing marks four M3 L=4 positions and separate 120 mm / 110.5 mm dimensions; follow the complete drawing for their locations.
    Screw penetration and torque The installation table specifies M3, maximum penetration 2 mm for both listed hole groups, and 4–6 kgf-cm torque. Select screw length for the actual mounting thickness; do not treat the side-view L=4 marking as permission to exceed the installation limit.
    External airflow placement 20.5 CFM external fan, 5 cm from the enclosure, blowing in the shown direction; fan centre is referenced 65 mm from the output-side edge.
    Grounding and heat sinks M1 and M2 are safety-ground points and both must be grounded. HS1, HS2 and HS3 must not be shorted.
    Adjustment and fuse references SVR1 is the adjustment reference; the drawing marks FS1 and FS2, without assigning a replacement fuse ordering code.

    The shown fan establishes the forced-air test/installation condition; a fan, mounting screws or loose mating connectors are not stated as included. Keep the indicated airflow path and clearances open. No separate mounting-kit ordering code is given.

    Connections and Mating Components

    AC input CN1 JST B3P-VH or equivalent: pin 1 AC/L, pin 2 no pin, pin 3 AC/N. Mating housing JST VHR or equivalent; terminal JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent.
    Three-output connector CN2 JST B8P-VH or equivalent: pins 1–4 COM, pins 5–6 CH1, pin 7 CH2, pin 8 CH3. Mating housing JST VHR or equivalent; terminal JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent.
    Power Good connector CN3 JST B2B-XH or equivalent: pin 1 PG, pin 2 GND. Mating housing JST XHP or equivalent; terminal JST SXH-001T-P0.6 or equivalent.
    Standby/control CN901 Catalogue connector reference JST B-XH or equivalent: pin 1 PS/ON, pins 2 and 4 GND, pin 3 5VSB. Mating housing JST XHP or equivalent; terminal reference JST SXH-001T or equivalent.

    VHR, XHP, B-XH and SXH-001T are the abbreviated references printed in this catalogue. Select the exact position count and complete manufacturer ordering suffix for the required mating part; these pages do not provide every suffix. Do not substitute another series’ pin assignment.

    Safety, Isolation and EMC

    Version-specific approval status The enclosed specification states design reference to IEC60601-1, EAC TP TC004 and TUV BS EN/EN60601-1, with CB/TUV pending in this catalogue revision. Do not treat the PCB approval list, including ANSI/AAMI, as an approval for this -C product.
    Isolation Primary–secondary: 2 MOPP; primary–earth: 1 MOPP; secondary–earth: 1 MOPP.
    Withstand voltage Input–output: 4 kVAC; input–FG: 2 kVAC; output–FG: 1.5 kVAC.
    Insulation resistance Input–output, input–FG and output–FG: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
    Emissions BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11): conducted Class B and radiated Class B in the Class I configuration with FG. Harmonics: BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; voltage flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-3.
    Equipment configuration Use Class I with FG; the -C version is not suitable for a Class II system without FG.

    Immunity: BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN60601-1-2. ESD (-4-2): level 4, 15 kV air / 8 kV contact. RF field (-4-3): level 3, 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz; Table 9 proximity fields 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz. EFT (-4-4): level 3, 2 kV. Surge (-4-5): level 3, 2 kV line–FG / 1 kV line–line. Conducted susceptibility (-4-6): level 3, 10 V. Magnetic field (-4-8): level 4, 30 A/m. Dips/interruption (-4-11): 100% dip for 1 period, 30% dip for 25 periods, 100% interruption for 250 periods.

    The catalogue EMC setup uses a 360 × 360 × 1 mm metal plate. This power supply is an installation component; re-confirm compliance in the finished equipment.

    Weight, Reliability and Catalogue

    Single-unit catalogue weight 490 g (0.49 kg), explicitly printed per unit in PACKING; a catalogue packing reference, not a measured net or shipping-parcel weight.
    Packing 24 pieces / 12.8 kg / 0.77 CUFT.
    MTBF, minimum estimates 1719.1 thousand hours, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 175.1 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
    Lifetime statement The series feature list states a lifetime greater than 85,000 hours, without test conditions on these pages; it is not a guaranteed service life for every installation.
    Warranty Three-year manufacturer warranty, subject to applicable terms.
    Catalogue RPT-160-SPEC, 2024-04-15; combined PDF pages 19–25.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa