MEAN WELL RS-25-24 is an enclosed single-output switching power supply rated at 24 V DC, 1.1 A and 26.4 W, cooled by free-air convection. It accepts 88 to 264 VAC input.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL RS-25 Datasheet (PDF)
This combined G3 catalog includes the RS-25 section on PDF pages 3, 4. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model identification
| Complete model |
RS-25-24 |
| Series |
RS-25 single-output enclosed switching power supply |
| Output-voltage suffix |
24 V nominal DC output |
| Model-specific rated output |
26.4 W; the family name is not the exact rated power of every output-voltage version |
Output specifications
| Nominal DC output |
24 V |
| Rated output current |
1.1 A |
| Output current range |
0 to 1.1 A |
| Rated output power |
26.4 W |
| Output adjustment range |
22 to 27.6 V |
| Ripple and noise, maximum |
120 mV peak-to-peak |
| Voltage tolerance |
+/-1.0% |
| Line regulation |
+/-0.5% |
| Load regulation |
+/-0.5% |
| Efficiency, typical |
86% |
Unless otherwise stated, parameters are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25 degrees C ambient.
Ripple and noise are measured with 20 MHz bandwidth using a 12-inch twisted-pair wire terminated with parallel 0.1 uF and 47 uF capacitors.
Voltage tolerance includes setup tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
Line regulation is measured from low line to high line at rated load.
Load regulation is measured from 0% to 100% rated load.
The adjustment range is not permission to exceed the rated output current or output power.
Input and startup
| Universal AC input range |
88 to 264 VAC |
| DC input range |
125 to 373 VDC |
| Input frequency |
47 to 63 Hz |
| AC input current, typical |
0.7 A at 115 VAC; 0.4 A at 230 VAC |
| Cold-start inrush current, typical |
45 A at 230 VAC |
| Leakage current |
Less than 2 mA at 240 VAC |
| Setup time at full load |
1800 ms at 230 VAC; 4000 ms at 115 VAC |
| Rise time at full load |
23 ms at 230 VAC; 30 ms at 115 VAC |
| Hold-up time, typical at full load |
80 ms at 230 VAC; 14 ms at 115 VAC |
| Input-voltage load curve |
88 VAC: 100% load; 264 VAC: 100% load |
The static-characteristic curve is specified at 60 Hz. The specified 300 VAC input surge endurance is 5 seconds and does not extend the continuous AC input range.
Protection
| Short circuit and overload |
Hiccup mode; automatic recovery after the fault is removed |
| Overload trigger |
110 to 180% of rated output power |
| Overvoltage threshold |
27.6 to 32.4 V |
| Overvoltage response |
Output shutdown with Zener-diode clamping; no automatic-recovery claim is specified for this protection row. |
Operating environment and cooling
| Working temperature |
-20 to +70 degrees C, subject to load derating |
| Cooling |
Free-air convection |
| Temperature-load curve |
For this 24 V model, the plotted load limit is 100% from -20 to 50 degrees C, decreasing to 60% at 70 degrees C. Follow the curve between these anchors and also observe input-voltage derating. |
| Curve mounting orientation |
Horizontal mounting is identified on the curve. |
| Working humidity |
20 to 90% RH, non-condensing |
| Storage temperature and humidity |
-40 to +85 degrees C; 10 to 95% RH |
| Temperature coefficient |
+/-0.03% per degree C over 0 to 50 degrees C |
| Vibration test |
10-500 Hz, 5G; 10 minutes per cycle; 60 minutes along each of the X, Y and Z axes |
| High-altitude ambient derating |
Above 2000 m, reduce the permissible ambient temperature by 3.5 degrees C per 1000 m for this fanless model. This note does not specify a maximum operating altitude. |
The electrolytic capacitors are rated at 105 degrees C; this is a component rating, not the permissible ambient temperature.
Keep ventilation paths clear and evaluate the actual ambient temperature and loading in the final enclosure.
Dimensions, terminals and installation
| Overall size, L x W x H |
78 x 51 x 28 mm |
| Case reference |
931A |
| Mechanical drawing tolerance |
+/-1 mm general tolerance |
| Bottom-view threaded holes |
2-M3; L=3 mm as marked; 55 mm pitch |
| Side-view threaded holes |
2-M3; 66.5 mm pitch; no L dimension is specified here |
| Projection shown in drawing |
14 mm maximum |
| Terminal 1 |
AC/L |
| Terminal 2 |
AC/N |
| Terminal 3 |
FG (frame ground) |
| Terminal 4 |
-V |
| Terminal 5 |
+V |
| Output adjustment |
Use the +V ADJ control shown in the mechanical drawing |
Mechanical details and terminal numbering are on G3 PDF page 4. Use the exact drawing for hole positions and any marked L dimensions; do not substitute another family's screw-depth limit.
Connect the marked frame-ground terminal, verify output polarity, and disconnect the input before wiring. Mounting screws and external wiring must be selected for the installation; the mounting-hole markings do not establish an included hardware quantity.
Safety, insulation and EMC
| Safety standards listed in this datasheet revision |
UL 62368-1; TUV BS EN/EN 62368-1; AS/NZS 62368.1; EAC TP TC 004; CCC GB 4943.1; BSMI CNS 15598-1; BIS IS 13252 (Part 1):2010 / IEC 60950-1:2005 |
| Withstand voltage |
Input-output: 3 kVAC; input-frame ground: 2 kVAC; output-frame ground: 0.5 kVAC |
| Isolation resistance |
Input-output, input-frame ground and output-frame ground: 100 Mohm at 500 VDC, 25 degrees C and 70% RH |
| EMC emissions |
BS EN/EN 55032 (CISPR 32), Class B; BS EN/EN 61000-3-2 and -3; EAC TP TC 020; GB 9254 Class B; GB 17625.1; CNS 15936 Class B |
| EMC immunity |
BS EN/EN 61000-4-2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -8 and -11; BS EN/EN 55035; light industry level; EAC TP TC 020 |
| EMC test mounting plate |
360 x 360 x 1 mm metal plate |
The power supply is a component for installation in final equipment. The complete installation must be checked again for EMC compliance.
Features and reliability
| Power indication |
LED indicator for power on |
| Production screening |
100% full-load burn-in test |
| Capacitors |
105-degree-C long-life electrolytic capacitors |
| Manufacturer warranty listing |
The manufacturer datasheet lists a 3-year warranty; this is not an additional seller warranty promise |
| MTBF, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore) |
3992.0 thousand hours minimum |
| MTBF, MIL-HDBK-217F |
663.3 thousand hours minimum at 25 degrees C |
| No-load input power |
Less than 0.5 W |
MTBF is a reliability prediction, not a guaranteed service life.
Mounting hardware and accessories
| Installation hardware |
Select external screws and wiring to match the drawing, terminal ratings and final equipment installation |
The mechanical drawing defines mounting points; it does not specify a supplied screw kit.
Weight reference
| Catalog per-unit packing reference |
200 g (0.2 kg) |
| Catalog carton packing |
60 pcs / 13 kg / 0.46 CUFT |
The mass is the per-unit reference printed in the catalog PACKING row, not an independently measured net weight or the whole-carton weight.
Catalog reference and application notes
| Source |
MEAN WELL G3 consolidated catalog, PDF pages 3-4 |
| Datasheet revision |
2024-11-22 |
Use the model-specific operating and derating limits above. The safety and EMC listings describe the datasheet revision; compliance of the complete equipment depends on its final installation.