MEAN WELL RSP-1500 series: single-output enclosed AC/DC power supply with active PFC - RSP-1500-12

Description

MEAN WELL RSP-1500-12 is an enclosed single-output AC/DC power supply rated at 12 V DC, 125 A and 1500 W, with active PFC and a built-in DC fan. It accepts 90 to 264 VAC or 127 to 370 VDC. Apply the input, temperature and functional limits below.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL RSP-1500 Datasheet (PDF)

The RSP-1500 section is on PDF pages 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Model and Output Specifications

Complete model RSP-1500-12
Nominal DC output 12 V
Rated current / current range 125 A / 0 to 125 A
Rated output power 1500 W
Maximum ripple and noise 150 mVp-p
Voltage adjustment by built-in SVR 10 to 13.5 V
Voltage tolerance / line / load regulation ±1.0% / ±0.5% / ±0.5%
Typical efficiency 87%

Unless otherwise specified, parameters are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient. Ripple and noise use 20 MHz bandwidth and a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors in parallel. Voltage tolerance includes setup tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.

Input, Timing and Protection

Continuous input range 90 to 264 VAC / 127 to 370 VDC; 47 to 63 Hz
Active PFC, typical power factor 0.95 at 230 VAC; 0.98 at 115 VAC, full load
Typical AC input current 17 A at 115 VAC; 8 A at 230 VAC
Typical inrush current 30 A at 115 VAC; 60 A at 230 VAC
Leakage current <2 mA at 240 VAC
Setup / rise / typical hold-up time 1500 / 100 ms at full load; hold-up 10 ms at full load
Overload threshold 105 to 135% of rated output power
Overvoltage threshold 13.8 to 16.8 V

Short-circuit and overload protection use constant-current limiting, followed by output shutdown after 5 seconds. Re-power to recover.

Overvoltage protection shuts down the output and requires re-powering. Overtemperature protection shuts down the output and recovers automatically when temperature decreases. These protection thresholds are not additional continuous output ratings.

The block diagram includes active inrush-current limiting and shows PFC / PWM switching frequencies of 70 / 100 kHz.

Cooling, Environment and Derating

Cooling Built-in DC fan, forced-air cooling
Working temperature -20 to 70°C, with derating
Humidity and storage Operation: 20 to 90% RH; storage: -40 to +85°C and 10 to 95% RH, non-condensing
Temperature coefficient ±0.05%/°C from 0 to 50°C

The 60 Hz input-derating table specifies 100–264 VAC: 1500 W / 125 A; 90 VAC: 1200 W / 100 A.

In the horizontal installation shown, full-load operation extends to 45°C; the permitted load then falls along the model-specific curve to 50% at 70°C. Apply input and temperature derating together.

For this fan-cooled model, reduce the allowable ambient temperature by 5°C per 1000 m above 2000 m altitude. This note does not establish an unlimited operating altitude.

Vibration rating: 10 to 500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis. Keep the fan inlet and outlet clear.

The published efficiency-versus-load graph is for the 48 V model measured at 230 VAC; it is not an efficiency curve for every voltage or input condition.

Remote Sense and Voltage Programming

Remote sense compensates up to 0.3 V of load-wiring drop. For remote sensing, connect CN1 pin 8 (+S) and pin 7 (-S) to the corresponding load terminals using a twisted pair. The local-sense/PV example instead connects +S to +V and -S to -V at the supply; do not additionally bridge the sense leads locally while using the remote-sense load connection.

External-resistor voltage programming provides approximately 70 to 100% of nominal output. Connect a resistor rated at least 0.25 W between TRIM (pin 4) and -S (pin 3, 5 or 7) on CN1 or CN2. The typical curve indicates 0 ohm at 70%, 470 ohm at 80%, 1.8 kohm at 90% and open circuit at 100%. This resistor-control range is separate from the SVR adjustment range.

Remote ON/OFF, Auxiliary Supply and Power OK

Remote-control terminals are RCG (CN2 pin 1), RC2 (CN2 pin 2), and RC1 (CN3 pin 5). The external-voltage circuit uses 5 V and the illustrated 620-ohm series resistor between RC2 and RCG: open switch turns the output ON; closed switch turns it OFF.

For the internal-auxiliary circuit shown in figure 3.2(B), connect RC1 to RC2 and switch RCG to AUXG: open is ON, closed is OFF. In figure 3.2(C), join RC1 to RC2, join RCG to AUXG, and place the switch between those two joined groups: closed is ON, open is OFF. Use one complete illustrated circuit; do not combine these arrangements.

CN3 pin 6 (AUX) supplies 12 V at up to 0.1 A relative to pin 4 (AUXG), only for remote ON/OFF control. It is not specified as a general-purpose auxiliary load supply.

Power OK uses CN3 pin 2 (P OK) and pin 1 (P OK GND). This open-collector output needs an external supply and pull-up resistor. Above 65% of rated output voltage, the signal is low (0.5 V maximum at 10 mA) to indicate OK; below 65%, it is high/open to indicate failure. Maximum sink rating is 10 mA at 50 V.

Parallel Operation

Use up to four compatible supplies with short, large-diameter output wiring. Adjust the difference between individual output voltages to less than 0.2 V. The maximum shared current is rated current per unit × number of units × 0.9; derating still applies.

Connect the +S, -S and current-sharing signals between units as shown in the parallel diagram. The current-sharing terminal is labelled LS (pin 6 of CN1/CN2); the connection diagram also uses CS for this function. Remote-sense wires to the load are connected to the master unit only, using a twisted pair. Do not treat the family 6000 W (3+1) headline as a guaranteed usable load rating for every voltage model.

Connectors and Pin Assignments

CN1 and CN2 use HRS DF11-8DP-2DS headers or equivalent and are internally connected. Their pin assignments are 1 RCG, 2 RC2, 3/5/7 -S, 4 TRIM, 6 LS (current sharing), and 8 +S. The listed mating housing is HRS DF11-8DS or equivalent.

CN3 uses HRS DF11-6DP-2DS or equivalent: 1 P OK GND, 2 P OK, 3 RCG, 4 AUXG, 5 RC1, and 6 AUX. Its listed mating housing is HRS DF11-6DS or equivalent.

The crimp-contact reference is printed as HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent. The asterisks are an incomplete contact designation: select the exact compatible contact for the intended wire and housing before ordering. These connector references identify mating parts; they do not establish that loose housings, contacts, cables or jumpers are included. The drawings state the required connections, not a confirmed factory-installed jumper configuration.

Dimensions, Weight and Installation

Housing dimensions (L × W × H) 278 × 127 × 83.5 mm
Catalog single-unit reference weight 3000 g
Packing reference 3.0 kg; 4 pcs / 13 kg / 1.19 CUFT

Drawing dimensions are in millimetres with ±0.5 mm tolerance. Housing dimensions exclude the need to allow for terminal projections, mounting flanges, wiring and the airflow shown in the complete drawing.

Case No. 943A is 2U high. The drawing marks 8-M4 L=5 holes across both sides and 4-M4 L=5 on top. Recommended mounting screws are M4, maximum penetration 5 mm, with 7 to 10 kgf·cm mounting torque. The AC input terminal projection is 16 mm maximum; the output copper bars extend 38 mm. The output bar drawing marks 2-M4 and an 8.5 mm hole.

AC terminal assignment: 1 FG (protective earth), 2 AC/N, 3 AC/L. Maximum AC-terminal mounting torque is 18 kgf·cm. The drawing identifies the LED and SVR. Use the complete drawing for mounting centres and terminal clearances; hole annotations are not quantities of supplied screws.

Safety, EMC and Reliability

UL62368-1, CAN/CSA C22.2 No. 62368-1, TUV BS EN/EN62368-1, BSMI CNS15598-1, AS/NZS62368.1 and EAC TP TC 004 are listed as approved in this datasheet.

Dielectric withstand: input-to-output 3 kVAC; input-to-FG 2 kVAC; output-to-FG 0.5 kVAC. Insulation resistance is 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH for input/output, input/FG and output/FG.

Conducted emissions: BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32), BSMI CNS15936, Class B / Class A only for BSMI; radiated emissions: Class A. Harmonic current is listed against BS EN/EN61000-3-2 without a class in this table; voltage flicker against BS EN/EN61000-3-3.

Immunity: BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN61000-6-2. IEC/EN61000-4 tests list ESD Level 3 (8 kV air) / Level 2 (4 kV contact), radiated RF Level 3, EFT/burst Level 2, surge Level 3 (2 kV line-earth) / Level 2 (1 kV line-line), conducted RF Level 3, and magnetic field Level 4.

Voltage-dip and interruption tests list >95% dip for 0.5 periods, 30% dip for 25 periods, and >95% interruption for 250 periods.

This power supply is a component for installation in final equipment. EMC tests use a 720 × 360 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick; the completed equipment must be reconfirmed against its applicable EMC requirements.

MTBF: 814.4K hours minimum by Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore), and 90.4K hours minimum by MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. MTBF is a reliability calculation, not a service-life guarantee. Manufacturer-stated warranty: 5 years.

Conformal coating is listed as an optional treatment for RSP-1500. It is not established as included in the unsuffixed model; confirm the selected coating arrangement when ordering.

MEAN WELL RSP-1500 series: single-output enclosed AC/DC power supply with active PFC - RSP-1500-12

Product form

MEAN WELL RSP-1500-12 is an enclosed single-output AC/DC power supply rated at 12 V DC, 125 A and 1500 W,... Read more

$998.04 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL RSP-1500-12 is an enclosed single-output AC/DC power supply rated at 12 V DC, 125 A and 1500 W, with active PFC and a built-in DC fan. It accepts 90 to 264 VAC or 127 to 370 VDC. Apply the input, temperature and functional limits below.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL RSP-1500 Datasheet (PDF)

    The RSP-1500 section is on PDF pages 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Model and Output Specifications

    Complete model RSP-1500-12
    Nominal DC output 12 V
    Rated current / current range 125 A / 0 to 125 A
    Rated output power 1500 W
    Maximum ripple and noise 150 mVp-p
    Voltage adjustment by built-in SVR 10 to 13.5 V
    Voltage tolerance / line / load regulation ±1.0% / ±0.5% / ±0.5%
    Typical efficiency 87%

    Unless otherwise specified, parameters are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient. Ripple and noise use 20 MHz bandwidth and a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors in parallel. Voltage tolerance includes setup tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.

    Input, Timing and Protection

    Continuous input range 90 to 264 VAC / 127 to 370 VDC; 47 to 63 Hz
    Active PFC, typical power factor 0.95 at 230 VAC; 0.98 at 115 VAC, full load
    Typical AC input current 17 A at 115 VAC; 8 A at 230 VAC
    Typical inrush current 30 A at 115 VAC; 60 A at 230 VAC
    Leakage current <2 mA at 240 VAC
    Setup / rise / typical hold-up time 1500 / 100 ms at full load; hold-up 10 ms at full load
    Overload threshold 105 to 135% of rated output power
    Overvoltage threshold 13.8 to 16.8 V

    Short-circuit and overload protection use constant-current limiting, followed by output shutdown after 5 seconds. Re-power to recover.

    Overvoltage protection shuts down the output and requires re-powering. Overtemperature protection shuts down the output and recovers automatically when temperature decreases. These protection thresholds are not additional continuous output ratings.

    The block diagram includes active inrush-current limiting and shows PFC / PWM switching frequencies of 70 / 100 kHz.

    Cooling, Environment and Derating

    Cooling Built-in DC fan, forced-air cooling
    Working temperature -20 to 70°C, with derating
    Humidity and storage Operation: 20 to 90% RH; storage: -40 to +85°C and 10 to 95% RH, non-condensing
    Temperature coefficient ±0.05%/°C from 0 to 50°C

    The 60 Hz input-derating table specifies 100–264 VAC: 1500 W / 125 A; 90 VAC: 1200 W / 100 A.

    In the horizontal installation shown, full-load operation extends to 45°C; the permitted load then falls along the model-specific curve to 50% at 70°C. Apply input and temperature derating together.

    For this fan-cooled model, reduce the allowable ambient temperature by 5°C per 1000 m above 2000 m altitude. This note does not establish an unlimited operating altitude.

    Vibration rating: 10 to 500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis. Keep the fan inlet and outlet clear.

    The published efficiency-versus-load graph is for the 48 V model measured at 230 VAC; it is not an efficiency curve for every voltage or input condition.

    Remote Sense and Voltage Programming

    Remote sense compensates up to 0.3 V of load-wiring drop. For remote sensing, connect CN1 pin 8 (+S) and pin 7 (-S) to the corresponding load terminals using a twisted pair. The local-sense/PV example instead connects +S to +V and -S to -V at the supply; do not additionally bridge the sense leads locally while using the remote-sense load connection.

    External-resistor voltage programming provides approximately 70 to 100% of nominal output. Connect a resistor rated at least 0.25 W between TRIM (pin 4) and -S (pin 3, 5 or 7) on CN1 or CN2. The typical curve indicates 0 ohm at 70%, 470 ohm at 80%, 1.8 kohm at 90% and open circuit at 100%. This resistor-control range is separate from the SVR adjustment range.

    Remote ON/OFF, Auxiliary Supply and Power OK

    Remote-control terminals are RCG (CN2 pin 1), RC2 (CN2 pin 2), and RC1 (CN3 pin 5). The external-voltage circuit uses 5 V and the illustrated 620-ohm series resistor between RC2 and RCG: open switch turns the output ON; closed switch turns it OFF.

    For the internal-auxiliary circuit shown in figure 3.2(B), connect RC1 to RC2 and switch RCG to AUXG: open is ON, closed is OFF. In figure 3.2(C), join RC1 to RC2, join RCG to AUXG, and place the switch between those two joined groups: closed is ON, open is OFF. Use one complete illustrated circuit; do not combine these arrangements.

    CN3 pin 6 (AUX) supplies 12 V at up to 0.1 A relative to pin 4 (AUXG), only for remote ON/OFF control. It is not specified as a general-purpose auxiliary load supply.

    Power OK uses CN3 pin 2 (P OK) and pin 1 (P OK GND). This open-collector output needs an external supply and pull-up resistor. Above 65% of rated output voltage, the signal is low (0.5 V maximum at 10 mA) to indicate OK; below 65%, it is high/open to indicate failure. Maximum sink rating is 10 mA at 50 V.

    Parallel Operation

    Use up to four compatible supplies with short, large-diameter output wiring. Adjust the difference between individual output voltages to less than 0.2 V. The maximum shared current is rated current per unit × number of units × 0.9; derating still applies.

    Connect the +S, -S and current-sharing signals between units as shown in the parallel diagram. The current-sharing terminal is labelled LS (pin 6 of CN1/CN2); the connection diagram also uses CS for this function. Remote-sense wires to the load are connected to the master unit only, using a twisted pair. Do not treat the family 6000 W (3+1) headline as a guaranteed usable load rating for every voltage model.

    Connectors and Pin Assignments

    CN1 and CN2 use HRS DF11-8DP-2DS headers or equivalent and are internally connected. Their pin assignments are 1 RCG, 2 RC2, 3/5/7 -S, 4 TRIM, 6 LS (current sharing), and 8 +S. The listed mating housing is HRS DF11-8DS or equivalent.

    CN3 uses HRS DF11-6DP-2DS or equivalent: 1 P OK GND, 2 P OK, 3 RCG, 4 AUXG, 5 RC1, and 6 AUX. Its listed mating housing is HRS DF11-6DS or equivalent.

    The crimp-contact reference is printed as HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent. The asterisks are an incomplete contact designation: select the exact compatible contact for the intended wire and housing before ordering. These connector references identify mating parts; they do not establish that loose housings, contacts, cables or jumpers are included. The drawings state the required connections, not a confirmed factory-installed jumper configuration.

    Dimensions, Weight and Installation

    Housing dimensions (L × W × H) 278 × 127 × 83.5 mm
    Catalog single-unit reference weight 3000 g
    Packing reference 3.0 kg; 4 pcs / 13 kg / 1.19 CUFT

    Drawing dimensions are in millimetres with ±0.5 mm tolerance. Housing dimensions exclude the need to allow for terminal projections, mounting flanges, wiring and the airflow shown in the complete drawing.

    Case No. 943A is 2U high. The drawing marks 8-M4 L=5 holes across both sides and 4-M4 L=5 on top. Recommended mounting screws are M4, maximum penetration 5 mm, with 7 to 10 kgf·cm mounting torque. The AC input terminal projection is 16 mm maximum; the output copper bars extend 38 mm. The output bar drawing marks 2-M4 and an 8.5 mm hole.

    AC terminal assignment: 1 FG (protective earth), 2 AC/N, 3 AC/L. Maximum AC-terminal mounting torque is 18 kgf·cm. The drawing identifies the LED and SVR. Use the complete drawing for mounting centres and terminal clearances; hole annotations are not quantities of supplied screws.

    Safety, EMC and Reliability

    UL62368-1, CAN/CSA C22.2 No. 62368-1, TUV BS EN/EN62368-1, BSMI CNS15598-1, AS/NZS62368.1 and EAC TP TC 004 are listed as approved in this datasheet.

    Dielectric withstand: input-to-output 3 kVAC; input-to-FG 2 kVAC; output-to-FG 0.5 kVAC. Insulation resistance is 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH for input/output, input/FG and output/FG.

    Conducted emissions: BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32), BSMI CNS15936, Class B / Class A only for BSMI; radiated emissions: Class A. Harmonic current is listed against BS EN/EN61000-3-2 without a class in this table; voltage flicker against BS EN/EN61000-3-3.

    Immunity: BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN61000-6-2. IEC/EN61000-4 tests list ESD Level 3 (8 kV air) / Level 2 (4 kV contact), radiated RF Level 3, EFT/burst Level 2, surge Level 3 (2 kV line-earth) / Level 2 (1 kV line-line), conducted RF Level 3, and magnetic field Level 4.

    Voltage-dip and interruption tests list >95% dip for 0.5 periods, 30% dip for 25 periods, and >95% interruption for 250 periods.

    This power supply is a component for installation in final equipment. EMC tests use a 720 × 360 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick; the completed equipment must be reconfirmed against its applicable EMC requirements.

    MTBF: 814.4K hours minimum by Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore), and 90.4K hours minimum by MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. MTBF is a reliability calculation, not a service-life guarantee. Manufacturer-stated warranty: 5 years.

    Conformal coating is listed as an optional treatment for RSP-1500. It is not established as included in the unsuffixed model; confirm the selected coating arrangement when ordering.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa