MEAN WELL RSP-500 series: single-output enclosed AC/DC power supply - RSP-500-3.3

Description

MEAN WELL RSP-500-3.3 is a single-output enclosed AC/DC switching power supply rated 3.3 V, 90 A and 297 W. It accepts 85-264 VAC or 120-370 VDC and includes active PFC, a DC cooling fan, remote ON/OFF control and remote sensing. Its 230 × 127 × 40.5 mm enclosure has a 1U profile. Apply the model-specific fan behavior and derating conditions below.

Product Datasheet

Download MEAN WELL RSP-500 Datasheet (PDF)

The RSP-500 section is on PDF pages 18, 19, 20, 21. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

Model and Rated Output

Complete model RSP-500-3.3
Series / construction RSP-500; single-output enclosed AC/DC switching power supply with built-in active PFC
Rated DC output 3.3 V; 90 A; 297 W
Output current range 0-90 A
Output voltage adjustment 2.8-3.6 V, using SVR1 (+V ADJ.)
Ripple and noise 120 mVp-p maximum
Voltage tolerance ±2.0%
Line regulation ±0.5%
Load regulation ±1.0%
Typical efficiency 81%

RSP identifies the series, 500 is the catalog output-wattage family designation, and the final 3.3 identifies the nominal output voltage. This model is rated 297 W; the family name does not override that model-specific value.

Keep output current and power within this model's ratings and apply the temperature and input-voltage derating limits. Adjusting voltage does not increase the permitted rated current or power.

Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient. Voltage tolerance includes setup tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.

Ripple and noise are measured with 20 MHz bandwidth, using a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors in parallel.

Input and Start-up

AC input 85-264 VAC, universal full range
DC input 120-370 VDC
Input frequency 47-63 Hz
Typical power factor >0.95 at 230 VAC; >0.98 at 115 VAC, at full load
Typical AC input current 4.2 A at 115 VAC; 2.1 A at 230 VAC
Typical inrush current 20 A at 115 VAC; 40 A at 230 VAC
Leakage current <2 mA at 240 VAC
Setup / rise time 1,500 / 80 ms at 230 VAC; 3,000 / 80 ms at 115 VAC, at full load
Typical hold-up time 18 ms at 230 VAC; 14 ms at 115 VAC, at full load
Input circuit Built-in active PFC and active inrush-current limiting

The low-input static characteristic permits approximately 80% load at 85 VAC, rising to 100% at 100 VAC, then remaining at 100% through 264 VAC. The plotted input-voltage characteristic is for 60 Hz; temperature derating still applies.

Protection and Cooling

Short-circuit protection Listed in the manufacturer datasheet
Overload protection 105-130% of rated output power; constant-current limiting, with automatic recovery after the fault is removed
Overvoltage protection 3.8-4.5 V; output shuts down, and input power must be reapplied to recover
Overtemperature protection Output shuts down and recovers automatically after temperature falls
Cooling Forced-air cooling by the built-in DC fan
Fan behavior Fan always on for this 3.3 V model
Indication LED indicator shown beside the terminals and output-voltage adjuster
Switching frequency 70 kHz, as shown in the block diagram

The overload threshold is a protection setting, not an extra continuous or timed peak-power allowance.

The manufacturer datasheet lists a 3-year warranty; coverage is subject to the applicable manufacturer warranty terms.

Built-in Remote ON/OFF and Remote Sense

Connection CN100, four positions; remote control and remote sense are built-in functions
CN100 pin 1: -S Negative sense; connect to the negative terminal of the load
CN100 pin 2: +S Positive sense; connect to the positive terminal of the load
CN100 pin 3: RC- Return for the RC+ control-signal input
CN100 pin 4: RC+ Remote ON/OFF control-signal input
Power ON RC+ to RC- open, or 0-0.8 VDC between pin 4 and pin 3
Power OFF 4-10 VDC between RC+ pin 4 and RC- pin 3
Remote-control circuit The catalog switch example uses an external power source and I=6-20 mA
Remote-sense compensation Up to 0.3 V of voltage drop in the load wiring

For remote sensing, connect +S to load positive and -S to load negative. Twist the two sense leads together to reduce noise pickup; the main load current uses the DC output terminals.

Wire the remote-control switch and external source as shown on catalog page 21. In that circuit SW OFF or an open connection turns the supply ON, while SW ON applies 4-10 V and turns it OFF. Do not confuse the switch label with the power-supply state.

Connector and Connection Parts

CN100 onboard connector HRS DF11-04DP-2DS or equivalent
Mating housing identified in the catalog HRS DF11-4DS or equivalent
Crimp-terminal family as printed HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent
Connection quantity One four-position CN100 connection; populate the contact positions needed for the functions being wired

The catalog prints ** in the contact reference. Select the exact contact variant for the intended wire and connector specifications before ordering; a complete contact suffix is not specified here.

The connector references identify mating parts for the control/sense interface. The datasheet does not state that a mating housing, loose contacts, control switch or external control source is supplied with the power supply.

Dimensions, Mounting and Power Terminals

Enclosure dimensions 230 × 127 × 40.5 mm (L × W × H); 1U profile
Mechanical drawing Case No. 226A; dimensions in mm, drawing tolerance ±1 mm
Base mounting callout 5-M4, L=4 mm
Side mounting callout 4-M4 (both sides), L=5 mm
AC input TB1 Pin 1: AC/L; pin 2: AC/N; pin 3: FG (protective earth)
DC output TB2 Pins 1-3: -V; pins 4-6: +V
Output adjustment SVR1 (+V ADJ.) beside the terminal area
Airflow The mechanical drawing shows airflow into the fan end of the enclosure

Use the mounting layout on catalog page 20. The base drawing shows longitudinal references of 39.3 mm and 159.7 mm with a central 88 mm reference, and 19/69/89 mm transverse references. The side drawing shows 40 mm and 170 mm longitudinal references with 12.5 mm and 18 mm vertical references; these are hole-location dimensions, not ventilation-clearance distances.

Choose fastener engagement to match the drawing's L=4 mm base and L=5 mm side limits. The screw's total length must also allow for the thickness of the mounting material. Do not infer a terminal-tightening torque or wire gauge from these mounting-thread dimensions.

Keep the fan inlet, enclosure ventilation and air path unobstructed. The supplied datasheet does not specify a numerical external ventilation clearance. Connect protective earth at FG and observe the labeled input and output polarity.

Environment and Derating

Working ambient temperature -30 to +70°C, subject to derating
Temperature/load curve Horizontal mounting: 100% load from -30 to +50°C, decreasing to 50% load at +70°C
Input/load curve 60 Hz AC input: approximately 80% load at 85 VAC, 100% at 100 VAC, and 100% through 264 VAC
Working humidity 20-90% RH, non-condensing
Storage temperature / humidity -40 to +85°C; 10-95% RH
Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0-50°C
Vibration test 10-500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle; 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis
Altitude derating Above 2,000 m (6,500 ft), reduce the allowable ambient temperature by 5°C per additional 1,000 m for this fan-cooled series

The intermediate sloping portions of the catalog curves are straight lines. The +70°C working limit does not mean full power is available at that temperature. Observe both the input-voltage and temperature limits for the installation.

Safety, EMC and Reliability

Safety standards listed as approved UL62368-1; TUV BS EN/EN62368-1; AS/NZS 62368.1; EAC TP TC 004; CCC GB4943.1; BSMI CNS15598-1; BIS IS13252(Part1):2010 / IEC60950-1:2005
Withstand voltage Input-output: 3 kVAC; input-FG: 2 kVAC; output-FG: 0.5 kVAC
Isolation resistance 100 MΩ for input-output, input-FG and output-FG, at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH
EMC emissions BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32) Class B; BS EN/EN61000-3-2 and -3; EAC TP TC 020; GB/T 9254; CNS15936 Class B
EMC immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -8 and -11; BS EN/EN55035; BS EN/EN61000-6-2; EAC TP TC 020
MTBF reference 1,372.4K hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 187.9K hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C

These are the standards and test values listed in the supplied datasheet. The power supply is a component for installation in final equipment; EMC compliance of the completed equipment must be checked again. The datasheet refers installers to the manufacturer's EMI testing guidance for component power supplies.

The MTBF figures are statistical reliability references, not a guaranteed service life. Manufacturer product-liability information and applicable certification documents should be consulted for the final application.

Weight Reference

Catalog packing reference per unit 1.3 kg (1,300 g)
Published packing line 1.3 kg; 9 pieces / 12.7 kg / 0.7 CUFT

The 1.3 kg value is the catalog's stated per-unit packing reference. It is not described here as measured net weight or the total shipping-package weight.

MEAN WELL RSP-500 series: single-output enclosed AC/DC power supply - RSP-500-3.3

Product form

MEAN WELL RSP-500-3.3 is a single-output enclosed AC/DC switching power supply rated 3.3 V, 90 A and 297 W. It... Read more

$200.59 Incl. VAT

    • Guaranteed secure & safe checkout.

      shop pay

    Description

    MEAN WELL RSP-500-3.3 is a single-output enclosed AC/DC switching power supply rated 3.3 V, 90 A and 297 W. It accepts 85-264 VAC or 120-370 VDC and includes active PFC, a DC cooling fan, remote ON/OFF control and remote sensing. Its 230 × 127 × 40.5 mm enclosure has a 1U profile. Apply the model-specific fan behavior and derating conditions below.

    Product Datasheet

    Download MEAN WELL RSP-500 Datasheet (PDF)

    The RSP-500 section is on PDF pages 18, 19, 20, 21. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.

    Model and Rated Output

    Complete model RSP-500-3.3
    Series / construction RSP-500; single-output enclosed AC/DC switching power supply with built-in active PFC
    Rated DC output 3.3 V; 90 A; 297 W
    Output current range 0-90 A
    Output voltage adjustment 2.8-3.6 V, using SVR1 (+V ADJ.)
    Ripple and noise 120 mVp-p maximum
    Voltage tolerance ±2.0%
    Line regulation ±0.5%
    Load regulation ±1.0%
    Typical efficiency 81%

    RSP identifies the series, 500 is the catalog output-wattage family designation, and the final 3.3 identifies the nominal output voltage. This model is rated 297 W; the family name does not override that model-specific value.

    Keep output current and power within this model's ratings and apply the temperature and input-voltage derating limits. Adjusting voltage does not increase the permitted rated current or power.

    Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient. Voltage tolerance includes setup tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.

    Ripple and noise are measured with 20 MHz bandwidth, using a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors in parallel.

    Input and Start-up

    AC input 85-264 VAC, universal full range
    DC input 120-370 VDC
    Input frequency 47-63 Hz
    Typical power factor >0.95 at 230 VAC; >0.98 at 115 VAC, at full load
    Typical AC input current 4.2 A at 115 VAC; 2.1 A at 230 VAC
    Typical inrush current 20 A at 115 VAC; 40 A at 230 VAC
    Leakage current <2 mA at 240 VAC
    Setup / rise time 1,500 / 80 ms at 230 VAC; 3,000 / 80 ms at 115 VAC, at full load
    Typical hold-up time 18 ms at 230 VAC; 14 ms at 115 VAC, at full load
    Input circuit Built-in active PFC and active inrush-current limiting

    The low-input static characteristic permits approximately 80% load at 85 VAC, rising to 100% at 100 VAC, then remaining at 100% through 264 VAC. The plotted input-voltage characteristic is for 60 Hz; temperature derating still applies.

    Protection and Cooling

    Short-circuit protection Listed in the manufacturer datasheet
    Overload protection 105-130% of rated output power; constant-current limiting, with automatic recovery after the fault is removed
    Overvoltage protection 3.8-4.5 V; output shuts down, and input power must be reapplied to recover
    Overtemperature protection Output shuts down and recovers automatically after temperature falls
    Cooling Forced-air cooling by the built-in DC fan
    Fan behavior Fan always on for this 3.3 V model
    Indication LED indicator shown beside the terminals and output-voltage adjuster
    Switching frequency 70 kHz, as shown in the block diagram

    The overload threshold is a protection setting, not an extra continuous or timed peak-power allowance.

    The manufacturer datasheet lists a 3-year warranty; coverage is subject to the applicable manufacturer warranty terms.

    Built-in Remote ON/OFF and Remote Sense

    Connection CN100, four positions; remote control and remote sense are built-in functions
    CN100 pin 1: -S Negative sense; connect to the negative terminal of the load
    CN100 pin 2: +S Positive sense; connect to the positive terminal of the load
    CN100 pin 3: RC- Return for the RC+ control-signal input
    CN100 pin 4: RC+ Remote ON/OFF control-signal input
    Power ON RC+ to RC- open, or 0-0.8 VDC between pin 4 and pin 3
    Power OFF 4-10 VDC between RC+ pin 4 and RC- pin 3
    Remote-control circuit The catalog switch example uses an external power source and I=6-20 mA
    Remote-sense compensation Up to 0.3 V of voltage drop in the load wiring

    For remote sensing, connect +S to load positive and -S to load negative. Twist the two sense leads together to reduce noise pickup; the main load current uses the DC output terminals.

    Wire the remote-control switch and external source as shown on catalog page 21. In that circuit SW OFF or an open connection turns the supply ON, while SW ON applies 4-10 V and turns it OFF. Do not confuse the switch label with the power-supply state.

    Connector and Connection Parts

    CN100 onboard connector HRS DF11-04DP-2DS or equivalent
    Mating housing identified in the catalog HRS DF11-4DS or equivalent
    Crimp-terminal family as printed HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent
    Connection quantity One four-position CN100 connection; populate the contact positions needed for the functions being wired

    The catalog prints ** in the contact reference. Select the exact contact variant for the intended wire and connector specifications before ordering; a complete contact suffix is not specified here.

    The connector references identify mating parts for the control/sense interface. The datasheet does not state that a mating housing, loose contacts, control switch or external control source is supplied with the power supply.

    Dimensions, Mounting and Power Terminals

    Enclosure dimensions 230 × 127 × 40.5 mm (L × W × H); 1U profile
    Mechanical drawing Case No. 226A; dimensions in mm, drawing tolerance ±1 mm
    Base mounting callout 5-M4, L=4 mm
    Side mounting callout 4-M4 (both sides), L=5 mm
    AC input TB1 Pin 1: AC/L; pin 2: AC/N; pin 3: FG (protective earth)
    DC output TB2 Pins 1-3: -V; pins 4-6: +V
    Output adjustment SVR1 (+V ADJ.) beside the terminal area
    Airflow The mechanical drawing shows airflow into the fan end of the enclosure

    Use the mounting layout on catalog page 20. The base drawing shows longitudinal references of 39.3 mm and 159.7 mm with a central 88 mm reference, and 19/69/89 mm transverse references. The side drawing shows 40 mm and 170 mm longitudinal references with 12.5 mm and 18 mm vertical references; these are hole-location dimensions, not ventilation-clearance distances.

    Choose fastener engagement to match the drawing's L=4 mm base and L=5 mm side limits. The screw's total length must also allow for the thickness of the mounting material. Do not infer a terminal-tightening torque or wire gauge from these mounting-thread dimensions.

    Keep the fan inlet, enclosure ventilation and air path unobstructed. The supplied datasheet does not specify a numerical external ventilation clearance. Connect protective earth at FG and observe the labeled input and output polarity.

    Environment and Derating

    Working ambient temperature -30 to +70°C, subject to derating
    Temperature/load curve Horizontal mounting: 100% load from -30 to +50°C, decreasing to 50% load at +70°C
    Input/load curve 60 Hz AC input: approximately 80% load at 85 VAC, 100% at 100 VAC, and 100% through 264 VAC
    Working humidity 20-90% RH, non-condensing
    Storage temperature / humidity -40 to +85°C; 10-95% RH
    Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0-50°C
    Vibration test 10-500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle; 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis
    Altitude derating Above 2,000 m (6,500 ft), reduce the allowable ambient temperature by 5°C per additional 1,000 m for this fan-cooled series

    The intermediate sloping portions of the catalog curves are straight lines. The +70°C working limit does not mean full power is available at that temperature. Observe both the input-voltage and temperature limits for the installation.

    Safety, EMC and Reliability

    Safety standards listed as approved UL62368-1; TUV BS EN/EN62368-1; AS/NZS 62368.1; EAC TP TC 004; CCC GB4943.1; BSMI CNS15598-1; BIS IS13252(Part1):2010 / IEC60950-1:2005
    Withstand voltage Input-output: 3 kVAC; input-FG: 2 kVAC; output-FG: 0.5 kVAC
    Isolation resistance 100 MΩ for input-output, input-FG and output-FG, at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH
    EMC emissions BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32) Class B; BS EN/EN61000-3-2 and -3; EAC TP TC 020; GB/T 9254; CNS15936 Class B
    EMC immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -8 and -11; BS EN/EN55035; BS EN/EN61000-6-2; EAC TP TC 020
    MTBF reference 1,372.4K hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 187.9K hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C

    These are the standards and test values listed in the supplied datasheet. The power supply is a component for installation in final equipment; EMC compliance of the completed equipment must be checked again. The datasheet refers installers to the manufacturer's EMI testing guidance for component power supplies.

    The MTBF figures are statistical reliability references, not a guaranteed service life. Manufacturer product-liability information and applicable certification documents should be consulted for the final application.

    Weight Reference

    Catalog packing reference per unit 1.3 kg (1,300 g)
    Published packing line 1.3 kg; 9 pieces / 12.7 kg / 0.7 CUFT

    The 1.3 kg value is the catalog's stated per-unit packing reference. It is not described here as measured net weight or the total shipping-package weight.

    Recently viewed products

      Footer image

      © 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

      • US (USD $) US (USD $)
      • Ach Direct Debit
      • AliPay
      • Amazon
      • American Express
      • Apple Pay
      • Diners Club
      • Discover
      • Google Pay
      • Mastercard
      • PayPal
      • Shop Pay
      • USDC
      • Visa