MEAN WELL RSP-500-48 is a single-output enclosed AC/DC switching power supply rated 48 V, 10.5 A and 504 W. It accepts 85-264 VAC or 120-370 VDC and includes active PFC, a DC cooling fan, remote ON/OFF control and remote sensing. Its 230 × 127 × 40.5 mm enclosure has a 1U profile. Apply the model-specific fan behavior and derating conditions below.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL RSP-500 Datasheet (PDF)
The RSP-500 section is on PDF pages 18, 19, 20, 21. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model and Rated Output
| Complete model |
RSP-500-48 |
| Series / construction |
RSP-500; single-output enclosed AC/DC switching power supply with built-in active PFC |
| Rated DC output |
48 V; 10.5 A; 504 W |
| Output current range |
0-10.5 A |
| Output voltage adjustment |
41-56 V, using SVR1 (+V ADJ.) |
| Ripple and noise |
150 mVp-p maximum |
| Voltage tolerance |
±1.0% |
| Line regulation |
±0.2% |
| Load regulation |
±0.5% |
| Typical efficiency |
90.5% |
RSP identifies the series, 500 is the catalog output-wattage family designation, and the final 48 identifies the nominal output voltage. This model is rated 504 W; the family name does not override that model-specific value.
Keep output current and power within this model's ratings and apply the temperature and input-voltage derating limits. Adjusting voltage does not increase the permitted rated current or power.
Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient. Voltage tolerance includes setup tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
Ripple and noise are measured with 20 MHz bandwidth, using a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors in parallel.
Input and Start-up
| AC input |
85-264 VAC, universal full range |
| DC input |
120-370 VDC |
| Input frequency |
47-63 Hz |
| Typical power factor |
>0.95 at 230 VAC; >0.98 at 115 VAC, at full load |
| Typical AC input current |
5.3 A at 115 VAC; 2.65 A at 230 VAC |
| Typical inrush current |
20 A at 115 VAC; 40 A at 230 VAC |
| Leakage current |
<2 mA at 240 VAC |
| Setup / rise time |
1,500 / 80 ms at 230 VAC; 3,000 / 80 ms at 115 VAC, at full load |
| Typical hold-up time |
18 ms at 230 VAC; 14 ms at 115 VAC, at full load |
| Input circuit |
Built-in active PFC and active inrush-current limiting |
The low-input static characteristic permits approximately 80% load at 85 VAC, rising to 100% at 100 VAC, then remaining at 100% through 264 VAC. The plotted input-voltage characteristic is for 60 Hz; temperature derating still applies.
Protection and Cooling
| Short-circuit protection |
Listed in the manufacturer datasheet |
| Overload protection |
105-130% of rated output power; constant-current limiting, with automatic recovery after the fault is removed |
| Overvoltage protection |
58.4-68 V; output shuts down, and input power must be reapplied to recover |
| Overtemperature protection |
Output shuts down and recovers automatically after temperature falls |
| Cooling |
Forced-air cooling by the built-in DC fan |
| Fan behavior |
Temperature-controlled fan ON/OFF for this 48 V model |
| Typical fan thresholds |
RTH2 >=50°C ±10°C: fan on; RTH2 <=40°C ±10°C: fan off |
| Indication |
LED indicator shown beside the terminals and output-voltage adjuster |
| Switching frequency |
70 kHz, as shown in the block diagram |
The overload threshold is a protection setting, not an extra continuous or timed peak-power allowance.
RTH2 is the internal thermistor temperature, not the ambient operating temperature. Keep the airflow path clear even when the fan is temporarily stopped.
The manufacturer datasheet lists a 3-year warranty; coverage is subject to the applicable manufacturer warranty terms.
Built-in Remote ON/OFF and Remote Sense
| Connection |
CN100, four positions; remote control and remote sense are built-in functions |
| CN100 pin 1: -S |
Negative sense; connect to the negative terminal of the load |
| CN100 pin 2: +S |
Positive sense; connect to the positive terminal of the load |
| CN100 pin 3: RC- |
Return for the RC+ control-signal input |
| CN100 pin 4: RC+ |
Remote ON/OFF control-signal input |
| Power ON |
RC+ to RC- open, or 0-0.8 VDC between pin 4 and pin 3 |
| Power OFF |
4-10 VDC between RC+ pin 4 and RC- pin 3 |
| Remote-control circuit |
The catalog switch example uses an external power source and I=6-20 mA |
| Remote-sense compensation |
Up to 0.3 V of voltage drop in the load wiring |
For remote sensing, connect +S to load positive and -S to load negative. Twist the two sense leads together to reduce noise pickup; the main load current uses the DC output terminals.
Wire the remote-control switch and external source as shown on catalog page 21. In that circuit SW OFF or an open connection turns the supply ON, while SW ON applies 4-10 V and turns it OFF. Do not confuse the switch label with the power-supply state.
Connector and Connection Parts
| CN100 onboard connector |
HRS DF11-04DP-2DS or equivalent |
| Mating housing identified in the catalog |
HRS DF11-4DS or equivalent |
| Crimp-terminal family as printed |
HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent |
| Connection quantity |
One four-position CN100 connection; populate the contact positions needed for the functions being wired |
The catalog prints ** in the contact reference. Select the exact contact variant for the intended wire and connector specifications before ordering; a complete contact suffix is not specified here.
The connector references identify mating parts for the control/sense interface. The datasheet does not state that a mating housing, loose contacts, control switch or external control source is supplied with the power supply.
Dimensions, Mounting and Power Terminals
| Enclosure dimensions |
230 × 127 × 40.5 mm (L × W × H); 1U profile |
| Mechanical drawing |
Case No. 226A; dimensions in mm, drawing tolerance ±1 mm |
| Base mounting callout |
5-M4, L=4 mm |
| Side mounting callout |
4-M4 (both sides), L=5 mm |
| AC input TB1 |
Pin 1: AC/L; pin 2: AC/N; pin 3: FG (protective earth) |
| DC output TB2 |
Pins 1-3: -V; pins 4-6: +V |
| Output adjustment |
SVR1 (+V ADJ.) beside the terminal area |
| Airflow |
The mechanical drawing shows airflow into the fan end of the enclosure |
Use the mounting layout on catalog page 20. The base drawing shows longitudinal references of 39.3 mm and 159.7 mm with a central 88 mm reference, and 19/69/89 mm transverse references. The side drawing shows 40 mm and 170 mm longitudinal references with 12.5 mm and 18 mm vertical references; these are hole-location dimensions, not ventilation-clearance distances.
Choose fastener engagement to match the drawing's L=4 mm base and L=5 mm side limits. The screw's total length must also allow for the thickness of the mounting material. Do not infer a terminal-tightening torque or wire gauge from these mounting-thread dimensions.
Keep the fan inlet, enclosure ventilation and air path unobstructed. The supplied datasheet does not specify a numerical external ventilation clearance. Connect protective earth at FG and observe the labeled input and output polarity.
Environment and Derating
| Working ambient temperature |
-30 to +70°C, subject to derating |
| Temperature/load curve |
Horizontal mounting: 100% load from -30 to +50°C, decreasing to 50% load at +70°C |
| Input/load curve |
60 Hz AC input: approximately 80% load at 85 VAC, 100% at 100 VAC, and 100% through 264 VAC |
| Working humidity |
20-90% RH, non-condensing |
| Storage temperature / humidity |
-40 to +85°C; 10-95% RH |
| Temperature coefficient |
±0.03%/°C over 0-50°C |
| Vibration test |
10-500 Hz, 2 G; 10 minutes per cycle; 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis |
| Altitude derating |
Above 2,000 m (6,500 ft), reduce the allowable ambient temperature by 5°C per additional 1,000 m for this fan-cooled series |
The intermediate sloping portions of the catalog curves are straight lines. The +70°C working limit does not mean full power is available at that temperature. Observe both the input-voltage and temperature limits for the installation.
Safety, EMC and Reliability
| Safety standards listed as approved |
UL62368-1; TUV BS EN/EN62368-1; AS/NZS 62368.1; EAC TP TC 004; CCC GB4943.1; BSMI CNS15598-1; BIS IS13252(Part1):2010 / IEC60950-1:2005 |
| Withstand voltage |
Input-output: 3 kVAC; input-FG: 2 kVAC; output-FG: 0.5 kVAC |
| Isolation resistance |
100 MΩ for input-output, input-FG and output-FG, at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH |
| EMC emissions |
BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32) Class B; BS EN/EN61000-3-2 and -3; EAC TP TC 020; GB/T 9254; CNS15936 Class B |
| EMC immunity |
BS EN/EN61000-4-2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -8 and -11; BS EN/EN55035; BS EN/EN61000-6-2; EAC TP TC 020 |
| MTBF reference |
1,372.4K hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 187.9K hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C |
These are the standards and test values listed in the supplied datasheet. The power supply is a component for installation in final equipment; EMC compliance of the completed equipment must be checked again. The datasheet refers installers to the manufacturer's EMI testing guidance for component power supplies.
The MTBF figures are statistical reliability references, not a guaranteed service life. Manufacturer product-liability information and applicable certification documents should be consulted for the final application.
Weight Reference
| Catalog packing reference per unit |
1.3 kg (1,300 g) |
| Published packing line |
1.3 kg; 9 pieces / 12.7 kg / 0.7 CUFT |
The 1.3 kg value is the catalog's stated per-unit packing reference. It is not described here as measured net weight or the total shipping-package weight.