MEAN WELL SE-1500-15 is a single-output enclosed AC/DC switching power supply rated at 15 V DC, 100 A and 1500 W. It provides forced-air cooling and remote sensing. Output ratings are subject to the input-voltage, ambient-temperature and installation conditions below.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL SE-1500 Datasheet (PDF)
This combined SE catalog contains the SE-1500 section on pages 8–10; the specification revision is 2024-09-25. Refer to its full mechanical and function drawings when selecting wiring and installation hardware.
The manufacturer datasheet lists a 2-year warranty; coverage is subject to the applicable manufacturer warranty terms.
Model and Output Specifications
| Item |
Specification / condition |
| Complete model |
SE-1500-15 |
| Datasheet family |
SE-1500 |
| Nominal DC output |
15 V |
| Rated output current |
100 A |
| Current range |
0–100 A |
| Rated output power |
1500 W |
| Ripple and noise, maximum |
150 mVp-p |
| Output voltage adjustment |
13.5–16.5 V |
| Voltage tolerance |
±1.0% |
| Line regulation |
±0.5% |
| Load regulation |
±0.5% |
| Typical efficiency |
85% |
Unless otherwise specified, parameters are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient.
Ripple and noise: 20 MHz bandwidth; 12-inch twisted pair terminated with parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.
Voltage tolerance includes set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
Input and Start-up
| Item |
Specification / condition |
| AC input range |
180–264 VAC |
| AC range selection |
No 115 V AC range; 180–264 V AC input only. |
| DC input range |
254–370 VDC |
| Input frequency |
47–63 Hz |
| Typical AC input current |
17.5 A at 230 VAC |
| AC surge-current control |
Active surge-current limiting |
| Typical inrush current |
60 A at 230 VAC |
| Leakage current |
<3.5 mA at 240 VAC |
| Setup time |
150 ms at 230 VAC |
| Rise time |
12 ms at 230 VAC |
| Typical hold-up time |
26 ms at 230 VAC |
Setup, rise and hold-up times apply at full load and 230 VAC input. This family has a 180–264 VAC input range, with no 115 VAC setting in this datasheet.
Protection and Recovery
| Item |
Specification / condition |
| Short-circuit protection |
Listed in the datasheet. |
| Overload threshold |
105–125 % of rated output power; Shut down output voltage; re-power on to recover. |
| Overvoltage threshold |
18–21 V; Shut down output voltage; re-power on to recover. |
| Overtemperature protection |
Shut down output voltage; automatically recovers after temperature goes down. |
The overload percentage is a protection threshold, not a specified timed peak-power rating. Do not size the load as though this percentage were an additional continuous output capability.
Cooling and Control Connections
Forced-air cooling uses built-in DC ball-bearing fans. Fan-lock protection is shown in the block diagram.
The mechanical drawing identifies an LED beside the output and control connections.
For remote sensing, connect CN3 pin 4 (+S) to the positive load terminal and pin 3 (-S) to the negative load terminal. Use a twisted sense pair as shown in the function diagram.
DC OK is a TTL-level signal measured from CN3 pin 1 to pin 2 (DC_OK GND): 3.3–5.6 V when the supply is on and 0–1 V when it is off. The diagram specifies 10 mA maximum signal current; pin 2 is connected to -V.
Remote ON/OFF is controlled between CN3 pin 6 (RC+) and pin 5 (RC-): 0–0.8 V enables the output, while 4–10 V disables it. The wiring diagram uses an external control source and specifies 6–20 mA control current.
| Item |
Specification / condition |
| CN3 pin 1 |
DC_OK signal |
| CN3 pin 2 |
DC_OK GND |
| CN3 pin 3 |
-S |
| CN3 pin 4 |
+S |
| CN3 pin 5 |
RC- |
| CN3 pin 6 |
RC+ |
Mating Connectors and Ordering Details
| Item |
Specification / condition |
| Board connector, as printed |
JST B6B-XH or equivalent |
| Mating housing reference, as printed |
JST XHP or equivalent |
| Contact reference, as printed |
JST SXH-001T or equivalent |
| Connector positions |
6 |
CN3 is listed as JST B6B-XH or equivalent. The mating references are JST XHP housing and JST SXH-001T contacts, or equivalents. Use one compatible six-position housing; six contacts populate all three signal pairs, while each individual function uses its designated two pins. The catalog does not give complete ordering suffixes, so confirm the exact housing/contact variants for the selected wiring.
The housing/contact quantities above describe the connection needed to populate the port, not an included accessory kit. Inclusion of mating parts is not stated in this datasheet. Use the printed references to confirm exact compatible ordering variants; do not treat a wildcard or abbreviated family reference as a complete contact order code.
Dimensions, Mounting and Wiring
| Item |
Specification / condition |
| Case drawing |
982A |
| Housing dimensions, L × W × H |
278 × 177.8 × 63.5 mm |
| Drawing tolerance |
±1 mm |
| Mounting callouts, as printed |
4-M4 L=5mm; 8-M4 (Both Sides) L=8mm |
Housing dimensions are 278 × 177.8 × 63.5 mm (L × W × H), with drawing tolerance ±1 mm. Mounting is marked 4-M4, L=5 mm, at the base and 8-M4 across both sides, L=8 mm. The input-terminal projection is 16 mm max.; the output projection is dimensioned at 40 mm. The unit is specified for 180–264 VAC; it has no 115 V input-range option in this datasheet. Input terminals 1/2/3 are L/N/FG. Connect the load to the labelled +V and -V output busbars; their detail includes 2-M4 and an 8.5 mm diameter hole.
Case dimensions are separate from terminal projections and the space needed for wiring. Mounting-hole callouts describe the drawing, not supplied screw quantities. Use the full drawing for hole locations and any stated thread-depth limits.
Operating Environment and Derating
| Item |
Specification / condition |
| Working ambient temperature |
-20–70 °C; apply derating curves |
| Working humidity |
20–90 % RH, non-condensing |
| Storage temperature |
-40–85 °C |
| Storage humidity |
10–95 % RH |
| Temperature coefficient |
±0.05%/°C over 0–50 °C |
| Vibration |
10–500 Hz; 2 G; 10 min/cycle; 60 min each along X/Y/Z |
| Item |
Specification / condition |
| Temperature-derating curve, this output |
-20 °C: 80% load; -10 °C: 100% load; 50 °C: 100% load; 70 °C: 40% load |
| Curve mounting orientation |
Horizontal |
| Item |
Specification / condition |
| Input derating, 180–264 VAC |
180 VAC: 90% load; 200 VAC: 100% load; 264 VAC: 100% load |
The input-voltage static-characteristics graph is specified at 60 Hz. Values above are the labelled curve points for this model, not a replacement for the complete curves. Apply temperature and input-voltage derating together; consult the original graphs between labelled points. The rightmost plotted input label does not replace the specified operating range.
For operation above 2,000 m, apply the datasheet ambient-temperature derating of 5°C per additional 1,000 m for fan-cooled models.
Keep the illustrated fan-airflow path clear. The catalog temperature-derating curves are specified for horizontal mounting.
The altitude note gives an additional temperature derating above 2,000 m; this datasheet does not state a maximum operating altitude.
Safety, Insulation and Integration Conditions
| Item |
Specification / condition |
| Approvals listed in this datasheet for the model |
UL62368-1; BSMI CNS15598-1; EAC TP TC 004 |
| Design standard reference, not an approval claim |
BS EN/EN62368-1 |
| Withstand voltage |
Input–output: 3 kVAC; input–FG: 1.5 kVAC; output–FG: 0.5 kVAC |
| Isolation resistance |
100 MΩ at 500 VDC; I/P-O/P, I/P-FG, O/P-FG; 25°C / 70% RH |
| MTBF reference, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore) |
999.9 thousand hours minimum |
| MTBF reference, MIL-HDBK-217F |
134.5 thousand hours minimum at 25°C |
The listed approvals and design references reflect this datasheet revision and model scope. They do not certify a complete end product or remove installation and application restrictions.
The datasheet states that this supply does not meet EN 61000-3-2 harmonic-current requirements. It excludes use in end equipment in the European Union connected to public mains rated 220 VAC or higher when the end equipment has average or continuous input power above 75 W, or when the supply forms part of a lighting system. The listed exceptions are professional equipment with total rated input power above 1,000 W, and symmetrically controlled heating elements rated at 200 W or less.
The supply is a component for integration into final equipment. The catalog EMC tests used a 720 × 360 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick; compliance must be re-confirmed in the completed equipment.
Weight and Packing Reference
| Item |
Specification / condition |
| Catalog packing reference per unit |
3300 g (3.3 kg) |
| Carton reference |
4 units / 14.2 kg / 1.14 CUFT |
The per-unit value is the catalog PACKING reference. It is not a measured net mass or an actual shipping-parcel weight; the carton figures are separate packing data.