HVGC-150-1050AB LED driver
MEAN WELL HVGC-150-1050AB is a 150.15 W, 1050 mA constant current LED driver with high-voltage output, a metal Class I enclosure, active PFC and fanless free-air convection cooling. Its IP65 design supports suitable indoor or outdoor installations subject to the installation requirements. Output current adjustable through the built-in potentiometer, plus 3-in-1 dimming using 0–10 VDC, 10 V PWM or resistance.
Download MEAN WELL HVGC-150 Datasheet (PDF)Download MEAN WELL LED Installation Manual
HVGC catalog, PDF pages 19–27. Use the exact output and function suffix when selecting the driver.
Output and function
Rated output
1050 mA constant current; 150.15 W rated power.
Constant current region
15–143 V. Select the LED load within this range; the highest output voltage depends on the system configuration. Contact MEAN WELL for compatibility questions.
Current accuracy
Current tolerance: ±5%. Current ripple: 8% maximum at rated current. Ripple is measured between 50% and 100% of maximum voltage under rated power delivery.
Function and ingress rating
AB type; IP65. Output current adjustable through the built-in potentiometer, plus 3-in-1 dimming using 0–10 VDC, 10 V PWM or resistance.
Current adjustment
630–1050 mA through the built-in Io ADJ potentiometer; output voltage adjustment is not specified.
LED connection
This series operates in constant current mode to drive LEDs directly. The exact current option and function suffix determine the operating limits.
Dimming signals
Apply 0–10 VDC, a 10 V PWM signal at 100 Hz–3 kHz, or additive resistance between DIM+ and DIM−. Typical dimming source current: 100 µA. Resistance control runs from a short circuit to 100 kΩ/N; N is the number of synchronized drivers.
Dimming range and wiring
Minimum dimming level is approximately 6%; output current is undefined between 0% and 6%. The output can fall to 0% with approximately 0 Ω, 0 VDC, or 0% PWM duty. Purple DIM+ and pink DIM−; do not connect DIM− to −V. Connect directly to LEDs; additional downstream drivers are unsuitable.
Catalog option
The datasheet identifies this as a standard / in-stock function option. This is a catalog classification, not a promise of current inventory.
Input and performance
Input range
180–528 VAC or 254–747 VDC; 47–63 Hz AC. Apply the voltage-specific thermal limits.
AC current and power factor
Typical AC current: 0.5 A at 347 VAC; 0.38 A at 480 VAC. Full-load typical PF: ≥0.98 / ≥0.97 / ≥0.95 / ≥0.93 at 230 / 277 / 347 / 480 VAC.
Efficiency and harmonic distortion
Typical efficiency: 90%. THD <20% at loads ≥50% at 230, 277 and 347 VAC; 75% at 480 VAC.
Set-up time
500 ms at 230 VAC; 400 ms at 347 and 480 VAC. Measured at first cold start; repeated power cycling may increase set-up time.
Mains loading
Typical cold-start inrush: 35 A; 790 µs pulse width measured at 50% Ipeak at 480 VAC, per NEMA 410. Maximum units on a 16 A type B / type C circuit breaker at 480 VAC: 4 / 6.
Leakage and measurement conditions
Leakage current <0.75 mA at 480 VAC. Unless otherwise stated, specifications use 347 VAC, rated output current and 25°C ambient. Separate rise-time, hold-up-time and idle-power values are not stated.
Protection
Short circuit
Constant current limiting; automatic recovery when the fault is removed.
Overvoltage
151–165 V; shuts down output voltage, with automatic recovery or re-power recovery.
Overtemperature
Shuts down output voltage; automatic recovery after the temperature falls.
Temperature and reliability
Case and ambient limits
Operating case temperature: −40 to +80°C, with maximum Tcase +80°C. Horizontal installation: 100% load from −40 to +60°C ambient, then derate to 60% at +70°C. The case-temperature load curve shows 100% from −40 to +80°C. Meet both case and ambient limits; free-air convection cooling.
Input and altitude derating
At 60 Hz: 80% load at 180 VAC, increasing to 100% at 200 VAC, then 100% through 528 VAC. Above 2,000 m altitude, reduce allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1,000 m for this fanless design.
Environment
Working humidity: 20–95% RH, non-condensing. Storage: −40 to +80°C, 10–95% RH. Temperature coefficient: ±0.03%/°C over 0–60°C. Vibration: 10–500 Hz, 5 G, 12 min/cycle, 72 min along each X, Y and Z axis.
Operating curves
PFC switching frequency 130 kHz; PWM switching frequency 70 kHz. PF curves use Tc 70°C; THD and efficiency examples use the 350 mA model at Tc 70°C, distinguishing 230, 277, 347 and 480 VAC. These examples do not guarantee identical performance for every current option.
Life and reliability
Typical lifetime >50,000 hours at Tc / TMP about 80°C or lower. The lifetime graph indicates approximately 100,000 h at Tc 20–70°C, 70,000 h at 75°C and 50,000 h at 80°C. MTBF: 1755.7K hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 179.5K hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
Warranty
Five-year manufacturer warranty, subject to its warranty statement and the specified operating conditions.
Mechanical details and wiring
Dimensions
245 × 68 × 38.8 mm (L × W × H); case 994; drawing tolerance ±1 mm.
Mounting reference
The mechanical drawings show four Ø4.2 mm mounting slots, vertical spacing 34.2 mm, and main case body length 221 mm excluding end mounting flanges. Use the full drawing for fixing positions.
Temperature measurement point
The marked tc point is 106.9 mm from the main case right edge and 34 mm from the bottom edge; use this point for case-temperature verification.
Input and output leads
Input: STW 18 AWG × 3C; brown AC/L, blue AC/N and green/yellow FG. Output: STW 18 AWG × 2C; red +V and black −V. Input and output lead lengths: 300 ±20 mm.
Control leads
UL2517 18 AWG × 2C; purple DIM+ and pink DIM−. Lead length: 300 ±20 mm.
Unit weight and packing
1.24 kg (1240 g) per unit. Carton reference: 12 pcs / 15.9 kg / 0.78 CUFT. Per-unit mass is separately stated in the specification.
Safety and EMC
Electrical classification
Metal Class I design requiring protective earth. This electrical protection class is distinct from any hazardous-location designation.
Safety standards
UL 8750 Type HL; CSA C22.2 No. 250.0-08; TUV BS EN/EN 61347-1 and 61347-2-13; EAC TP TC 004.
Type HL application
The family specifies Type HL for Class I, Division 2 hazardous classified locations. A/AB types require built-in installation to comply with the Type HL application.
Isolation
Withstand voltage: input–output 3.75 kVAC; input–FG 2 kVAC; output–FG 1.5 kVAC. Isolation resistance: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH across these paths.
EMC
Emissions: BS EN/EN 55015; BS EN/EN 61000-3-2 Class C at ≥50% load; BS EN/EN 61000-3-3; FCC Part 15 Class B; EAC TP TC 020. Immunity: BS EN/EN 61000-4-2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -8 and -11; BS EN/EN 61547, light-industry level; EAC TP TC 020. Surge immunity: 4 kV line-to-earth and 2 kV line-to-line.
System integration
The driver is a component; final equipment manufacturers must re-qualify EMC for the complete installation. For the stated ErP luminaire requirement, use behind a mains switch without a permanent unswitched mains connection. The product is intended for North American and EU lighting equipment; contact MEAN WELL for other uses.
Accessories and applications
Optional waterproof connectors
M12-04: four pins, 5 A per pin, 10 A maximum suitable current. M12-05: five pins, 5 A per pin, 10 A maximum suitable current. M15-02: two pins, 12 A per pin, 12 A maximum suitable current. Confirm voltage rating, pin use, wire size and environmental sealing; current ratings alone do not establish compatibility with high-voltage output.
Optional cable joiners
CJ04-1 accepts 14–16 AWG; CJ04-2 accepts 18–22 AWG. The standard 18 AWG output falls within CJ04-2’s wire range, not CJ04-1’s. This is a wire-size comparison only; verify all connection and sealing requirements. Joiner drawing: 66 mm long, Ø25 mm, with 26 mm and 20 mm sections. Up to four wires may be joined by soldering or tool clamping; purchase separately.
Applications
LED street, high-bay, parking-space and fishing-lamp lighting.
Installation manual requirements
Installation safety
Disconnect the mains supply and prevent accidental reconnection before installation or maintenance. Have faults examined by a qualified technician; do not open the power-supply case yourself.
Ventilation and mounting
Keep ventilation clear and do not stack objects on the unit. Keep 10–15 cm clearance when the adjacent device is a heat source. Follow this model’s mounting, ambient-temperature and output-derating requirements.
System wiring and protection
Use approved primary and secondary wiring rated for at least the applicable unit current. Provide suitable system-level insulation and an enclosure around single-insulated wiring; verify EMC again in the completed system.
Environmental and load limits
Do not immerse the unit or install it near fire or above its specified ambient limit. Keep output current and power within the model’s rated operating envelope. If a fitted external flexible cable is damaged, replacement is limited to the manufacturer, its service agent or a similarly qualified person.
Connection seals and support
If waterproof connectors are fitted, secure their connections to prevent water entry. Verify the mounting structure and luminaire strength; use safety cables for bay-light applications.
Protective-earth installation
Connect the fitted FG/PE conductor to PE according to this Class I model’s wiring diagram.
Weather protection
This model is IP65 and must be installed indoors or in a location sheltered from rain outdoors, as required by the installation manual. The IP rating does not permit immersion.
Dimming isolation
The installation manual lists HVGC-65 through HVGC-320 analog dimming as not isolated from the secondary output. Follow this model’s DIM wiring and controller requirements.
Controller installation
Verify controller compatibility and capacity for this exact DIM interface. The depicted control conductors are 18 AWG. If standalone dimming conductors smaller than 18 AWG are used, use only SELV controllers or networks and contact MEAN WELL before using FELV control.
Confirm the exact LED load, operating temperature, control interface and installation requirements against the linked datasheet and manual before commissioning.
Read
more
less