MEAN WELL BIC-2200-96CAN is a bidirectional AC/DC power supply with a 96 V, 22.5 A, 2160 W AC-to-DC rating and grid-connected DC-to-AC energy recovery. Its digital 1U design combines automatic direction selection, fan cooling and active current sharing. This model includes CANBus and selectable battery charging/discharging control.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL BIC-2200 Datasheet (PDF)
The BIC-2200 section is on PDF pages 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model and Operating Modes
Series: BIC-2200; Complete ordering model: BIC-2200-96CAN.
Communication: CANBus; Factory operating mode: Bidirectional automatic detection.
Typical direction-switching time: 1 ms.
AC-to-DC operation takes energy from the AC grid to supply a DC load or charge a battery. DC-to-AC operation returns energy from the DC side to the connected grid. Reverse operation synchronizes to the AC mains and is not a standalone AC source.
Automatic mode selects AC-to-DC when the set voltage exceeds the load voltage, and DC-to-AC when the set voltage is below the load voltage. The default target voltage is the model’s rated DC voltage. Use the operating characteristic and adjustment instructions for the actual load or battery.
This CANBus version also supports manually selected battery charging/discharging through DIRECTION_CTRL. Battery operation and its current settings are described separately below.
Applications include battery formation and grading, V2G systems, electric-vehicle and scooter charging stations, marine charger modules, kinetic-energy recovery, battery testing, electrolysis and wastewater-treatment equipment. Match the complete system to its application and grid connection requirements.
AC-to-DC Output
DC output voltage
96 V
Rated output current
22.5 A
Rated output power
2160 W
Output current range
0–22.5 A
Full-power DC voltage range
96–112 V
DC voltage adjustment range
76–112 V
Ripple and noise, maximum
480 mVp-p
Voltage tolerance
±1.0%
Line / load regulation
±0.5% / ±0.5%
Setup / rise time
1800 ms / 60 ms at 230 VAC, full load
Observe voltage, current, rated power and derating limits together. Voltage and current maxima are not simultaneously available at every adjustment setting. Use SVR and the applicable operating instructions for voltage adjustment.
Voltage tolerance includes setup, line and load regulation. Ripple/noise is measured at 20 MHz with a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.
AC-to-DC Input
AC input range
180–264 VAC
Input frequency
47–63 Hz
Typical AC input current
11 A at 230 VAC
Typical power factor
0.98 at 230 VAC, full load
Typical conversion efficiency
93%
Efficiency test load
75%
Typical cold-start inrush
35 A at 230 VAC
Leakage current
<2 mA at 230 VAC
Input current distortion
THDi <3% at 230 VAC, 100% load
Unless separately stated, specification measurements use 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C ambient. The efficiency value uses 75% load. The digital power stage includes active inrush limiting; the block diagram identifies PFC switching at 70 kHz and PWM at 60 kHz.
DC-to-AC Energy Recovery
DC-to-AC rated input power
1800 W
Maximum DC input current
18.75 A
DC input voltage range
76–112 V
Full-power DC input range
96–112 V
Typical AC output power
1685 W
AC output power test voltage
240 V
Grid synchronization voltage
180–264 VAC
Grid synchronization frequency
47–63 Hz
Typical AC output current
7.5 A at 230 VAC
Typical reverse power factor
0.99 at 230 VAC, full load
Typical reverse efficiency
93%
Reverse efficiency test load
75%
Output current distortion
THDi <3% at 230 VAC, 100% load
The 1800 W figure is the rated DC input power in energy-recovery operation; the AC output has its own typical rating and conversion losses. Above 96 V on the DC side, current is automatically reduced to respect the constant-power limit. Below 96 V, the maximum DC input current limits available power. Apply the input-voltage and temperature limits as well.
The AC output voltage and frequency are set by the connected mains. Anti-islanding protection shuts down the AC output when an islanding condition is detected; re-power to recover.
Protection and Recovery
Forward overload threshold
105–115% of rated output power
Overvoltage shutdown range
134–157 V
Short-circuit protection
Output-current shutdown; re-power to recover
Overtemperature protection
Output-voltage shutdown; automatic recovery after cooling
Anti-islanding protection
AC-output shutdown; re-power to recover
In AC-to-DC overload, constant-current limiting is followed by output shutdown 5 seconds after the DC output voltage goes low; re-power to recover. DC-to-AC operation uses a constant-power design, so the forward overload sequence is not a reverse-mode operating allowance.
Overvoltage shuts down the output voltage and requires re-powering to recover. The Fault signal also reports the specified AC failure, overload, short-circuit, temperature, overvoltage, fan-lock and islanding conditions.
Cooling, Environment and Derating
Horizontal thermal curve: 100% load from −30 to +45°C, then declining to 50% at +70°C; AC-input load curve: 100% from 180 to 264 VAC, at 60 Hz.
Working temperature: −30 to +70°C, subject to derating; Working humidity: 20–90% RH, non-condensing.
Storage: −40 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing; Temperature coefficient: ±0.03%/°C from 0 to 45°C.
Vibration: 10–500 Hz, 2G; 10 minutes/cycle, 60 minutes each on X, Y and Z.
Keep both built-in fans and the illustrated airflow path unobstructed. Apply thermal and input limits together. For fan-cooled operation above 2000 m, reduce permissible ambient temperature by 5°C per additional 1000 m; this note does not state a maximum operating altitude.
CANBus Battery Mode
Default AC-to-DC battery current
20 A
Default DC-to-AC battery current
16 A
Charging command
DIRECTION_CTRL = 00h
Discharging command
DIRECTION_CTRL = 01h
CAN connection
CN47 pin 7 CANH; pin 8 CANL; isolated GND-AUX reference
Battery mode is available only with the CANBus model. The two default battery currents differ from the general forward and reverse current limits and can be adjusted through communication. Configure voltage, current and conversion direction for the actual battery and its permitted operating range.
CN46 pin 6 is the CAN-model C/D Control signal: high 4.5–5.5 V corresponds to charging, and low −0.5 to +0.5 V corresponds to discharging. It references isolated GND-AUX. Use the documented CAN control procedure rather than applying an unspecified control voltage to a signal pin.
CN46 Remote Control and Alarm Signals
CN46 connector
HRS DF11-10DP-2DS or equivalent
CN46 pin 1
+12V-AUX: 11.4–12.6 V, 0.5 A maximum
CN46 pins 2, 4
GND-AUX; isolated from main +V and −V
CN46 pin 3
+5V-AUX: 4.5–5.5 V, for remote ON-OFF use only
CN46 pin 5
Remote ON-OFF, connected relative to pin 3 (+5V-AUX)
CN46 pin 6
C/D Control; CANBus battery-mode signal
CN46 pin 7
DC-OK output
CN46 pin 8
Fault output
CN46 pin 9
T-ALARM output
CN46 pin 10
NC
12 V auxiliary rating
12 V, 0.5 A; ±5% tolerance; 150 mVp-p ripple
Short the remote ON-OFF connection between pin 5 and pin 3 to turn the output ON; open it to turn the output OFF. The connection supports the specified electrical signal or dry contact. The auxiliary outputs are not switched by this remote control; use GND-AUX on pins 2 or 4 as their return.
DC-OK, Fault and T-ALARM are isolated, output-only TTL signals referenced to GND-AUX. High is 4.5–5.5 V, low is −0.5 to +0.5 V, and maximum sourcing current is 4 mA.
DC-OK is high when output voltage is at or below the catalogue 80% ±5% threshold and low when it is at or above that threshold. Fault is high at AC input ≤165 Vrms or for OLP, SCP, OTP, OVP, AC failure, fan lock or islanding protection; it is low at AC input ≥175 Vrms with normal operation.
T-ALARM is high when internal temperature exceeds the alarm limit or any fan fails; it is low when temperature and fans are normal. Alarm outputs must not be driven as control inputs.
CN47 Parallel and Communication Connections
CN47 connector
HRS DF11-10DP-2DS or equivalent
CN47 pins 1, 2
DA differential parallel-control signal
CN47 pins 3, 4
DB differential parallel-control signal
CN47 pins 5, 6
GND: negative-output signal reference; not a load connection
CN47 pin 7
CANH
CN47 pin 8
CANL
CN47 pins 9, 10
GND-AUX; isolated from main output
DA and DB are non-isolated parallel-control signals referenced to CN47 GND. This negative-output signal return must not connect directly to the load. CANBus, where fitted, uses isolated GND-AUX instead; do not interchange the two reference grounds.
Follow the connector orientation shown in the mechanical drawing. Join DA to DA, DB to DB and the parallel GND references between units. Twist long CN47 signal lines in pairs to reduce noise.
Parallel Operation and Three-Phase Distribution
Maximum parallel units: 9; Maximum parallel output current: Rated current per unit × number of units × 0.95.
Single-unit SW50 setting: ON; CN47 parallel connection not fitted; Multi-unit SW50 settings: First and last units ON; all intermediate units OFF.
Use short, large-gauge output wiring. In a parallel system, the unit with the highest output-voltage setting is the master and determines the common DC-bus voltage. Observe each unit’s voltage, current and power limits as well as the 0.95 total-current factor. Below 5% of the total rated current, current sharing may be unbalanced.
In a three-phase, four-wire system, distribute the individual BIC units evenly across the phases and neutral; the nine-unit example uses three units per phase. Each unit still receives single-phase L-to-N voltage within 180–264 VAC, with FG correctly connected. The drawing shows 220 VAC phase-to-neutral and 380 VAC phase-to-phase; it does not permit 380 VAC across one unit’s AC terminals.
Mechanical Installation and Mating Parts
Dimensions
330 × 140 × 41 mm
Profile / case drawing
1U; case 277C; general dimensional tolerance ±0.5 mm
Catalogue unit weight
2900 g
Weight basis
Catalogue packing reference per unit; not a measured net or shipping weight
AC terminal TB1
1 = AC/L; 2 = AC/N; 3 = FG
Installed AC terminal marking
DECA T35-EO32-03
AC-terminal maximum torque
18 kgf·cm
DC terminals
+V and −V; drawing marks two M5 positions
DC-terminal maximum torque
10 kgf·cm
Mounting screws
M4; maximum penetration 4.5 mm; recommended torque 7–10 kgf·cm
CN46 / CN47 mating housing
HRS DF11-10DS or equivalent
CN46 / CN47 contact family
HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent
The side drawings show two M4 mounting positions on each side, 289 mm apart. The bottom drawing shows four M4 positions on a 225 × 78 mm pattern with the depicted 71.55 mm and 33.5 mm edge references. Allow for the input-terminal projection marked 13 mm maximum, terminal wiring and unobstructed fan airflow.
DF11-10DS is the listed mating housing. DF11-**SC is a contact-family designation with an incomplete suffix; choose the complete contact reference for the wire and housing. The catalogue does not specify a separately numbered MEAN WELL cable kit or promise these mating parts are included.
The LED is steady green in AC-to-DC supply operation, flashing green in DC-to-AC grid-inverter operation, and red for an abnormal condition such as overtemperature, overload or fan failure. SVR is the marked voltage adjustment.
For the specified dielectric-withstand and insulation-resistance tests, temporarily remove the marked screw A, then restore it after testing. Follow the manufacturer’s test and installation procedure.
Safety, EMC and Reliability
Dielectric withstand: Input/output: 3 kVAC; input/FG: 2 kVAC; output/FG: 500 VAC; Insulation resistance: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C, 70% RH; input/output, input/FG and output/FG.
Conducted / radiated emissions: BS EN/EN 55032 (CISPR32), Class A / Class A; Harmonics / flicker: BS EN/EN 61000-3-2, Class A / BS EN/EN 61000-3-3.
Minimum calculated MTBF: 462.9 thousand hours, Telcordia SR-332; 46 thousand hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C; Manufacturer warranty: 5 years.
The catalogue lists UL 62368-1, IEC 62368-1, CAN/CSA C22.2 No. 62368-1, TUV BS EN/EN 62368-1, EAC TP TC 004, IEC 62477-1 and TUV BS EN/EN 62477-1 approvals. These product qualifications do not certify the completed installation.
Immunity references BS EN/EN 55035 and BS EN/EN 61000-6-2. The listed tests include ESD 8 kV air (Level 3) and 4 kV contact (Level 2); radiated RF, EFT/burst and conducted RF Level 3; surge 2 kV line-to-line and 4 kV line-to-earth; and magnetic field Level 4. Voltage dips are >95% for 0.5 period and 30% for 25 periods; interruptions are >95% for 250 periods.
Read
more
less