ICL Series: Inrush Current Limiter

4 products

MEAN WELL ICL Series AC Inrush Current Limiter

Complete Portfolio: 16A & 28A Continuous | DIN Rail & Linear Formats | Internal Bypass Relay

  • Product Overview
  • ICL-16 Series (16A)
  • ICL-28 Series (28A)
  • Core Technology
  • Form Factors & Dimensions

Prevent Circuit Breaker Tripping

The MEAN WELL ICL Series is designed to solve a common industrial and commercial lighting problem: false tripping of circuit breakers due to massive startup inrush currents. When powering on multiple capacitive loads (like LED drivers or switching power supplies) simultaneously, the ICL series acts as a buffer, safely suppressing the initial AC current spike.

Why Choose the ICL Series?

  • Increased Loading: By clamping the inrush current, you can safely install significantly more LED drivers or power supplies on a single circuit breaker without fear of nuisance tripping.
  • Two Form Factors: Available in an ultra-slim step-shape DIN Rail ("R" type) for electrical distribution boards, or a flat linear shape ("L" type) for integration into lighting fixtures and suspended ceilings.
  • High Reliability: Features an integrated bypass relay and thermal fuses to ensure long-term, heat-free operation once the startup phase is complete.

ICL-16R / ICL-16L Specifications

The 16A models are perfectly scaled for standard commercial lighting circuits and mid-sized industrial control panels.

Parameter Specification Details
AC Input Range 180 ~ 264VAC (47~63Hz)
Continuous Current Limit 16A
Inrush Current Limit Clamped at 23A
Max Power Capacity 3680VA (16A x 230VAC)
Allowable Capacitive Load Up to 2500 μF (maximum)
Internal Relay Delay 300 ± 50ms
Energy Efficiency: Thanks to the internal bypass relay, the continuous power consumption of the ICL-16 series is incredibly low (<1.5W at 264VAC).

ICL-28R / ICL-28L Specifications

Designed for heavy-duty applications, the 28A models accommodate massive capacitive loads and high-wattage lighting installations, drastically reducing infrastructure cabling costs.

Parameter Specification Details
AC Input Range 180 ~ 264VAC (47~63Hz)
Continuous Current Limit 28A
Inrush Current Limit Clamped at 48A
Max Power Capacity 6440VA (28A x 230VAC)
Allowable Capacitive Load Up to 6000 μF (maximum)
Internal Relay Delay 150 ± 50ms

Smart Inrush Suppression Technology

The Bypass Relay Mechanism

Unlike simple NTC thermistors that generate continuous heat, the ICL series utilizes an intelligent internal relay circuit. Upon powering up, the current passes through suppression resistors. After a fraction of a second (150ms to 300ms), once the downstream capacitors are charged, the internal relay clicks shut. This bypasses the resistors entirely, eliminating heat generation and reducing power loss (less than 2W dissipation) during normal operation.

Safety & Environmental Protections

  • Thermal Protection: Built-in temperature fuses protect against overload and fire hazards.
  • Overvoltage Category III: OVC III compliance ensures high reliability in building installations, suitable for operation at altitudes up to 5000 meters.
  • Wide Temperature Range: Operates safely in extreme environments from -30°C up to +70°C without condensation.

Form Factors & Dimensions

The ICL series is offered in two distinct physical configurations to accommodate any installation scenario.

"R" Type: DIN Rail Mount

Features a step-shape plastic housing designed to mount seamlessly alongside circuit breakers on standard TS-35/7.5 or TS-35/15 DIN rails.

  • ICL-16R (2 SU width): 35 * 90 * 54.5 mm (W*H*D)
  • ICL-28R (3 SU width): 52.5 * 90 * 54.5 mm (W*H*D)

"L" Type: Linear Enclosed

Features a long, narrow, low-profile design ideal for integrating directly into LED lighting fixtures, suspended ceilings, or confined machinery spaces.

  • ICL-16L: 175 * 42 * 24 mm (L*W*H)
  • ICL-28L: 175 * 42 * 24 mm (L*W*H)
  • ICL-28L

    MEAN WELL ICL-28 series: 28A Linear AC Inrush Current Limiter - ICL-28L

    MEAN WELL ICL-28L is a linear AC inrush current limiter for capacitive loads on 180–264 V AC lines. It limits starting current to the specified 48 A while carrying up to 28 A continuously, subject to temperature derating. An integrated bypass relay reduces nuisance circuit-breaker trips when multiple power supplies share an AC line. Product Datasheet Download MEAN WELL ICL-28 Datasheet (PDF) The ICL-28 section is on PDF pages 5, 6, 7, 8, 9. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation. Model Code and Application Complete model ICL-28L ICL AC inrush current limiter series. 28 28 A continuous rated current. Shape suffix L: linear type, terminal-block mounted. This device limits the starting current drawn by downstream capacitive loads; it is not a regulated AC/DC power supply. The catalogue identifies use with multiple power supplies on one AC line and the possibility of smaller or faster circuit breakers. Breaker selection still depends on the complete installation and load conditions. AC Ratings and Switching Limits AC input voltage 180–264 V AC. AC line frequency 47–63 Hz. Inrush current limiting 48 A; distinct from the continuous-current rating. Continuous rated current 28 A, subject to the derating curve. AC input apparent power 6440 VA at 28 A × 230 V AC; this is an AC line rating, not regulated DC output power. Internal power consumption Less than 2 W at 264 V AC, 50 Hz input. Relay limiting time at power-on 150 ±50 ms. Relay release time 100 ±50 ms. Limiting cycle rate 3 cycles per minute. Allowed capacitive load 6000 µF maximum. Respect the continuous-current, capacitive-load and repetition limits together. The 48 A inrush-limiting figure is not an additional continuous-current or peak-power rating. Operating Principle and Protection Limiting circuit Integrated bypass relay with a series limiting resistor and control circuit; not a simple NTC-only arrangement. Internal protection A thermal fuse protects against overload and fire. The block diagram shows the limiting element and its relay bypass in the live conductor, with the neutral path continuing through the module. The reviewed specification does not define a reset procedure or automatic recovery for the thermal fuse; do not treat it as a resettable overload controller. Temperature, Environment and Derating Operating ambient −30 to +70°C; apply the derating curve. Horizontal-mounting curve 100% load from −30 to +60°C, decreasing along the plotted line to 80% at +70°C. Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing. Storage temperature −40 to +85°C. Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–60°C. Operating altitude Up to 5000 m. Altitude temperature derating For this fanless unit, reduce permissible ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1000 m above 2000 m (6500 ft). Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G, 10 minutes per cycle; 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis. Mounting compliance with IEC60068-2-6 is listed. The published temperature curve is marked HORIZONTAL. Apply both its load reduction and the altitude condition; the +70°C ambient limit does not allow full 28 A load at that temperature. Connection and System Selection Terminal 1 AC/N input. Terminal 2 AC/L input. Terminal 3 AC/N output. Terminal 4 AC/L output. The application diagram places the circuit breaker upstream in the live conductor and connects the downstream power supplies in parallel to the limiter AC output. Keep the input and output terminal assignments separate; do not use this as a DC-output parallel-sharing diagram. The diagram shows a generic group of power supplies, not a specified model combination or a guaranteed unit count. Select the connected supplies against total continuous input current, capacitance, starting behavior and the switching-cycle limit. The catalogue refers users to manufacturer selection guidance for the permissible number of supplies. Dimensions, Mounting and Hardware Body dimensions (L × W × H) 175 × 42 × 24 mm. Case number PLM-40. Drawing tolerance ±1 mm. TB1 / TB2 terminal reference SWITCHLAB MB422-750 equivalent. TB1 input pins 1: AC/N input; 2: AC/L input. TB2 output pins 3: AC/N output; 4: AC/L output. Mounting drawing details The drawing marks 4.5 mm at the end mounting details and 3.5 mm at the lower profile. Follow the illustrated positions rather than treating these callouts as an unlisted screw specification. This is the linear, terminal-block-mounted version, not the DIN-rail R version. The terminal reference identifies the equivalent component shown at TB1/TB2; it is not a statement that separate mating connectors, cables or a mounting kit are included. The reviewed pages do not specify tightening torque, cable cross-section or a separate accessory ordering code for this model. Safety and EMC Listed safety approval LVD BS EN/EN62368-1. Overvoltage category III according to IEC62368-1, at altitudes up to 5000 m. Pollution degree 2. Conducted and radiated emissions BS EN/EN55032, Class B for both. Harmonic current BS EN/EN61000-3-2, Class A. Voltage flicker BS EN/EN61000-3-3; no separate test-level value is printed. Immunity standards BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN61000-6-2. ESD BS EN/EN61000-4-2: Level 3, 8 kV air; Level 2, 4 kV contact; criterion A. Radiated immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-3: Level 3, criterion A. EFT / burst BS EN/EN61000-4-4: Level 3, criterion A. Surge BS EN/EN61000-4-5: Level 4, 2 kV L-N, criterion A. Conducted immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-6: Level 3, criterion A. Magnetic-field immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-8: Level 4, criterion A. Voltage dips and interruptions BS EN/EN61000-4-11: >95% dip for 0.5 periods; 30% dip for 25 periods; >95% interruption for 250 periods. The final equipment must re-confirm compliance with the EMC directives. Apply the manufacturer installation and component-EMI guidance to the complete system; the module data does not certify every connected load combination. Weight, Reliability and Reference Conditions Catalogue unit-weight reference 155 g, converted from the explicit 0.155 kg per-unit PACKING reference. This is not a measured net weight or an individual shipping-package weight. MTBF, Telcordia 6781.7 K hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore). MTBF, MIL-HDBK-217F 1626.6 K hours minimum at 25°C. Manufacturer warranty statement The catalogue lists three years; manufacturer warranty terms apply. Default measurement conditions 230 V AC input, rated load and 25°C ambient, unless otherwise specified. Datasheet version ICL-28-SPEC, 2026-04-03; combined catalogue pages 5–9. MTBF is a statistical reliability estimate, not a guaranteed service life. Per-unit weight is taken directly from the catalogue, not calculated by dividing carton weight.

  • ICL-28R

    MEAN WELL ICL-28 series: 28A DIN Rail AC Inrush Current Limiter - ICL-28R

    MEAN WELL ICL-28R is a din rail AC inrush current limiter for capacitive loads on 180–264 V AC lines. It limits starting current to the specified 48 A while carrying up to 28 A continuously, subject to temperature derating. An integrated bypass relay reduces nuisance circuit-breaker trips when multiple power supplies share an AC line. Product Datasheet Download MEAN WELL ICL-28 Datasheet (PDF) The ICL-28 section is on PDF pages 5, 6, 7, 8, 9. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation. Model Code and Application Complete model ICL-28R ICL AC inrush current limiter series. 28 28 A continuous rated current. Shape suffix R: DIN rail type, rail mounted. This device limits the starting current drawn by downstream capacitive loads; it is not a regulated AC/DC power supply. The catalogue identifies use with multiple power supplies on one AC line and the possibility of smaller or faster circuit breakers. Breaker selection still depends on the complete installation and load conditions. AC Ratings and Switching Limits AC input voltage 180–264 V AC. AC line frequency 47–63 Hz. Inrush current limiting 48 A; distinct from the continuous-current rating. Continuous rated current 28 A, subject to the derating curve. AC input apparent power 6440 VA at 28 A × 230 V AC; this is an AC line rating, not regulated DC output power. Internal power consumption Less than 2 W at 264 V AC, 50 Hz input. Relay limiting time at power-on 150 ±50 ms. Relay release time 100 ±50 ms. Limiting cycle rate 3 cycles per minute. Allowed capacitive load 6000 µF maximum. Respect the continuous-current, capacitive-load and repetition limits together. The 48 A inrush-limiting figure is not an additional continuous-current or peak-power rating. Operating Principle and Protection Limiting circuit Integrated bypass relay with a series limiting resistor and control circuit; not a simple NTC-only arrangement. Internal protection A thermal fuse protects against overload and fire. The block diagram shows the limiting element and its relay bypass in the live conductor, with the neutral path continuing through the module. The reviewed specification does not define a reset procedure or automatic recovery for the thermal fuse; do not treat it as a resettable overload controller. Temperature, Environment and Derating Operating ambient −30 to +70°C; apply the derating curve. Horizontal-mounting curve 100% load from −30 to +60°C, decreasing along the plotted line to 80% at +70°C. Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing. Storage temperature −40 to +85°C. Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–60°C. Operating altitude Up to 5000 m. Altitude temperature derating For this fanless unit, reduce permissible ambient temperature by 3.5°C per 1000 m above 2000 m (6500 ft). Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G, 10 minutes per cycle; 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis. Mounting compliance with IEC60068-2-6 is listed. The published temperature curve is marked HORIZONTAL. Apply both its load reduction and the altitude condition; the +70°C ambient limit does not allow full 28 A load at that temperature. Connection and System Selection Terminal 1 AC/N input. Terminal 2 AC/L input. Terminal 3 AC/N output. Terminal 4 AC/L output. The application diagram places the circuit breaker upstream in the live conductor and connects the downstream power supplies in parallel to the limiter AC output. Keep the input and output terminal assignments separate; do not use this as a DC-output parallel-sharing diagram. The diagram shows a generic group of power supplies, not a specified model combination or a guaranteed unit count. Select the connected supplies against total continuous input current, capacitance, starting behavior and the switching-cycle limit. The catalogue refers users to manufacturer selection guidance for the permissible number of supplies. Dimensions, Mounting and Hardware Body dimensions (W × H × D) 52.5 × 90 × 54.5 mm; the specification lists these three values in its dimension order. Case number ICL-28R. Drawing tolerance ±1 mm. Admissible DIN rails TS35/7.5 or TS35/15. Additional drawing dimensions The side view also marks 58.4, 63.65 and 45.15 mm; the lower rail-interface view marks 35 mm. Follow the drawing for their exact locations. Use the complete DIN-rail mechanical drawing for clearances and rail engagement. The reviewed ICL-28R drawing does not assign the linear model’s terminal-block reference to this rail-mounted version. Rail compatibility does not establish that a rail or separate mounting accessories are supplied. Safety and EMC Listed safety approval LVD BS EN/EN62368-1. Overvoltage category III according to IEC62368-1, at altitudes up to 5000 m. Pollution degree 2. Conducted and radiated emissions BS EN/EN55032, Class B for both. Harmonic current BS EN/EN61000-3-2, Class A. Voltage flicker BS EN/EN61000-3-3; no separate test-level value is printed. Immunity standards BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN61000-6-2. ESD BS EN/EN61000-4-2: Level 3, 8 kV air; Level 2, 4 kV contact; criterion A. Radiated immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-3: Level 3, criterion A. EFT / burst BS EN/EN61000-4-4: Level 3, criterion A. Surge BS EN/EN61000-4-5: Level 4, 2 kV L-N, criterion A. Conducted immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-6: Level 3, criterion A. Magnetic-field immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-8: Level 4, criterion A. Voltage dips and interruptions BS EN/EN61000-4-11: >95% dip for 0.5 periods; 30% dip for 25 periods; >95% interruption for 250 periods. The final equipment must re-confirm compliance with the EMC directives. Apply the manufacturer installation and component-EMI guidance to the complete system; the module data does not certify every connected load combination. Weight, Reliability and Reference Conditions Catalogue unit-weight reference 160 g, converted from the explicit 0.16 kg per-unit PACKING reference. This is not a measured net weight or an individual shipping-package weight. MTBF, Telcordia 6781.7 K hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore). MTBF, MIL-HDBK-217F 1601.8 K hours minimum at 25°C. Manufacturer warranty statement The catalogue lists three years; manufacturer warranty terms apply. Default measurement conditions 230 V AC input, rated load and 25°C ambient, unless otherwise specified. Datasheet version ICL-28-SPEC, 2026-04-03; combined catalogue pages 5–9. MTBF is a statistical reliability estimate, not a guaranteed service life. Per-unit weight is taken directly from the catalogue, not calculated by dividing carton weight.

  • ICL-16L

    MEAN WELL ICL-16 series: Linear AC Inrush Current Limiter - ICL-16L

    MEAN WELL ICL-16L is a linear terminal-block AC inrush current limiter for 180–264 VAC systems. It limits capacitive-load starting current to the specified 23 A while carrying 16 A continuously. An integrated bypass relay and thermal fuse support operation within the stated 2,500 µF load and set-up-time-dependent switching limits. Product Datasheet Download MEAN WELL ICL-16 Datasheet (PDF) The ICL-16 section is on PDF pages 1, 2, 3, 4. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation. Model and Application Product function AC inrush current limiter for the start-up of capacitive loads and power supplies; not an AC/DC converter or a regulated DC power supply. Exact configuration ICL-16L: L identifies the linear, terminal-block-mounted type. Current ratings 23 A inrush limiting current and 16 A continuous AC current. The series number does not replace the separate 23 A inrush specification. Operating principle Internal limiting resistor and integrated bypass relay, controlled electronically; not a simple NTC-only limiter. The module reduces capacitive-load starting current to help avoid unintended circuit-breaker tripping. It can allow multiple downstream power supplies on one AC line, subject to the total current, capacitance and switching-cycle limits. Breaker coordination must be checked for the actual installation. AC Electrical Ratings Input voltage 180–264 VAC. AC line frequency 47–63 Hz. Inrush limiting current 23 A. Continuous rated current 16 A continuous. AC input power reference 3,680 VA at 230 VAC (16 A × 230 VAC). This apparent-power reference is not a DC output-wattage rating. Module input consumption Less than 1.5 W at 264 VAC, 50 Hz input. Allowed capacitive load 2,500 µF maximum. Choose the number and type of downstream power supplies using their aggregate input current, input capacitance and start-up characteristics. The application drawing does not specify a universal maximum number of power supplies or a model-independent breaker size. Relay Timing and Permitted Switching Cycles Power-on limiting interval, TON 300 ±50 ms. Internal relay release time 500 ±50 ms. Power-supply set-up time below 250 ms 1 limiting cycle per 5 minutes. Power-supply set-up time from 250 to 350 ms 1 limiting cycle per minute. Power-supply set-up time above 350 ms 5 limiting cycles per minute, with more than 1,500 ms per cycle. Use the row matching the connected power supply’s set-up time. The relay timing values do not override the corresponding permitted cycle rate. Protection and AC Wiring Internal protection A thermal fuse provides overload and fire protection. Line path The limiting resistor and bypass relay are in the L path; the block diagram shows a continuous N path. Application connection Connect the AC source through the circuit breaker to the marked input. Connect the marked output L and N to the corresponding AC inputs of the downstream power supplies. Installation boundary The circuit breaker and downstream power supplies in the application example are external system components; no quantity of these components is included by the diagram. The thermal fuse is not described as an automatically resetting protection. Follow the installation instructions and identify the marked INPUT and OUTPUT before connecting the unit; keep all continuous-current, capacitance and cycle limits within specification. Dimensions, Terminals and Installation Dimensions, L × W × H 175 × 42 × 24 mm; drawing tolerance ±1 mm. Mechanical drawing details Case PLM-40; the drawing marks a 19.9 mm body height, 3.5 mm end height and 4.5 mm end-position dimensions. Use the actual hole/slot geometry rather than treating these coordinates as screw diameters. Mounting form Linear type with terminal blocks TB1 and TB2; this model is not the R-version DIN rail housing. Input terminal block TB1 Pin 1: AC/N input; pin 2: AC/L input. Output terminal block TB2 Pin 3: AC/N output; pin 4: AC/L output. Terminal reference SWITCHLAB MB312-750 equivalent, as identified for TB1/TB2. This is a terminal reference, not a separately included accessory kit. Input and output conductor cross-section 0.5–1.5 mm², as specified in the linear-model mechanical note. Wire-retaining bar grooves 1.5 mm, 2.0 mm, 2.5 mm and 3.0 mm; choose the groove to suit the actual wire diameter. These groove dimensions are not conductor cross-sectional areas. Use the supplied unit’s installation instructions for terminal tightening and mounting details not specified in this drawing. No terminal torque or additional complete mounting-kit order code is supplied in the reviewed ICL-16 pages. The terminal reference and retaining-bar choices above apply to this L configuration only. Environment and Altitude Working ambient temperature −30 to +70°C. Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing. Storage temperature −40 to +85°C. Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C, as listed. Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G, 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z; mounting compliance with IEC60068-2-6. Operating altitude Up to 5,000 m. Overvoltage category III according to IEC62368-1, for altitude up to 5,000 m. Pollution degree 2. High-altitude temperature allowance Above 2,000 m, apply the catalogue’s fanless ambient-temperature reduction of 3.5°C per additional 1,000 m. Apply ambient, altitude, current and switching-cycle conditions together. No additional numerical temperature/load curve is specified in these ICL-16 pages. Safety and EMC Listed safety approval LVD BS EN/EN62368-1 approved. Conducted and radiated emissions BS EN/EN55032, Class B for each. Harmonic current BS EN/EN61000-3-2, Class A. Voltage flicker BS EN/EN61000-3-3 is listed; no numerical test level is provided. Immunity framework BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN61000-6-2. Electrostatic discharge BS EN/EN61000-4-2: Level 3, 8 kV air; Level 2, 4 kV contact; criterion A. Radiated susceptibility BS EN/EN61000-4-3, Level 3, criterion A. EFT / burst BS EN/EN61000-4-4, Level 3, criterion A. Surge BS EN/EN61000-4-5, Level 4, 2 kV L–N, criterion A. Conducted immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-6, Level 3, criterion A. Magnetic field BS EN/EN61000-4-8, Level 4, criterion A. Voltage dips and interruptions BS EN/EN61000-4-11: greater than 95% dip for 0.5 periods; 30% dip for 25 periods; greater than 95% interruption for 250 periods. The completed equipment must be rechecked for compliance with the applicable EMC directives. Module test data do not automatically establish compliance of the entire installation. Weight, Reliability and Reference Conditions Single-unit catalogue weight 132 g (0.132 kg), explicitly listed in PACKING. This is a catalogue unit-weight reference, not a measured net weight or shipping-package total. Packing reference 98 pieces / 14 kg / 1.04 CUFT. Minimum MTBF estimates 7217.9 thousand hours by Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 2113.8 thousand hours by MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. Default measurement conditions 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient, unless specifically stated otherwise. Catalogue warranty The catalogue lists a 3-year manufacturer warranty, subject to its applicable terms. Datasheet version ICL-16 specification dated 2026-04-03; combined catalogue pages 1–4. MTBF figures are statistical estimates under the stated methods, not a guaranteed service life.

  • ICL-16R

    MEAN WELL ICL-16 series: DIN Rail AC Inrush Current Limiter - ICL-16R

    MEAN WELL ICL-16R is a DIN rail AC inrush current limiter for 180–264 VAC systems. It limits capacitive-load starting current to the specified 23 A while carrying 16 A continuously. An integrated bypass relay and thermal fuse support operation within the stated 2,500 µF load and set-up-time-dependent switching limits. Product Datasheet Download MEAN WELL ICL-16 Datasheet (PDF) The ICL-16 section is on PDF pages 1, 2, 3, 4. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation. Model and Application Product function AC inrush current limiter for the start-up of capacitive loads and power supplies; not an AC/DC converter or a regulated DC power supply. Exact configuration ICL-16R: R identifies the DIN rail, rail-mounted type. Current ratings 23 A inrush limiting current and 16 A continuous AC current. The series number does not replace the separate 23 A inrush specification. Operating principle Internal limiting resistor and integrated bypass relay, controlled electronically; not a simple NTC-only limiter. The module reduces capacitive-load starting current to help avoid unintended circuit-breaker tripping. It can allow multiple downstream power supplies on one AC line, subject to the total current, capacitance and switching-cycle limits. Breaker coordination must be checked for the actual installation. AC Electrical Ratings Input voltage 180–264 VAC. AC line frequency 47–63 Hz. Inrush limiting current 23 A. Continuous rated current 16 A continuous. AC input power reference 3,680 VA at 230 VAC (16 A × 230 VAC). This apparent-power reference is not a DC output-wattage rating. Module input consumption Less than 1.5 W at 264 VAC, 50 Hz input. Allowed capacitive load 2,500 µF maximum. Choose the number and type of downstream power supplies using their aggregate input current, input capacitance and start-up characteristics. The application drawing does not specify a universal maximum number of power supplies or a model-independent breaker size. Relay Timing and Permitted Switching Cycles Power-on limiting interval, TON 300 ±50 ms. Internal relay release time 500 ±50 ms. Power-supply set-up time below 250 ms 1 limiting cycle per 5 minutes. Power-supply set-up time from 250 to 350 ms 1 limiting cycle per minute. Power-supply set-up time above 350 ms 5 limiting cycles per minute, with more than 1,500 ms per cycle. Use the row matching the connected power supply’s set-up time. The relay timing values do not override the corresponding permitted cycle rate. Protection and AC Wiring Internal protection A thermal fuse provides overload and fire protection. Line path The limiting resistor and bypass relay are in the L path; the block diagram shows a continuous N path. Application connection Connect the AC source through the circuit breaker to the marked input. Connect the marked output L and N to the corresponding AC inputs of the downstream power supplies. Installation boundary The circuit breaker and downstream power supplies in the application example are external system components; no quantity of these components is included by the diagram. The thermal fuse is not described as an automatically resetting protection. Follow the installation instructions and identify the marked INPUT and OUTPUT before connecting the unit; keep all continuous-current, capacitance and cycle limits within specification. Dimensions, Terminals and Installation Dimensions, W × H × D 35 × 90 × 54.5 mm; drawing tolerance ±1 mm. Additional drawing clearances The side drawing also marks a 58.4 mm overall extent and vertical reference dimensions of 63.65 mm and 45.15 mm. Use the complete drawing to check installation space. Case ICL-16R. Mounting DIN rail TS35/7.5 or TS35/15. Input terminals Pin 1: AC/L input; pin 2: AC/N input. Output terminals Pin 3: AC/L output; pin 4: AC/N output. Use the supplied unit’s installation instructions for terminal tightening and mounting details not specified in this drawing. No terminal torque or additional complete mounting-kit order code is supplied in the reviewed ICL-16 pages. The rail specification identifies the mounting interface; the drawing does not establish that a rail is supplied with the product. Environment and Altitude Working ambient temperature −30 to +70°C. Working humidity 20–90% RH, non-condensing. Storage temperature −40 to +85°C. Temperature coefficient ±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C, as listed. Vibration 10–500 Hz, 2 G, 10 minutes per cycle, 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z; mounting compliance with IEC60068-2-6. Operating altitude Up to 5,000 m. Overvoltage category III according to IEC62368-1, for altitude up to 5,000 m. Pollution degree 2. High-altitude temperature allowance Above 2,000 m, apply the catalogue’s fanless ambient-temperature reduction of 3.5°C per additional 1,000 m. Apply ambient, altitude, current and switching-cycle conditions together. No additional numerical temperature/load curve is specified in these ICL-16 pages. Safety and EMC Listed safety approval LVD BS EN/EN62368-1 approved. Conducted and radiated emissions BS EN/EN55032, Class B for each. Harmonic current BS EN/EN61000-3-2, Class A. Voltage flicker BS EN/EN61000-3-3 is listed; no numerical test level is provided. Immunity framework BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN61000-6-2. Electrostatic discharge BS EN/EN61000-4-2: Level 3, 8 kV air; Level 2, 4 kV contact; criterion A. Radiated susceptibility BS EN/EN61000-4-3, Level 3, criterion A. EFT / burst BS EN/EN61000-4-4, Level 3, criterion A. Surge BS EN/EN61000-4-5, Level 4, 2 kV L–N, criterion A. Conducted immunity BS EN/EN61000-4-6, Level 3, criterion A. Magnetic field BS EN/EN61000-4-8, Level 4, criterion A. Voltage dips and interruptions BS EN/EN61000-4-11: greater than 95% dip for 0.5 periods; 30% dip for 25 periods; greater than 95% interruption for 250 periods. The completed equipment must be rechecked for compliance with the applicable EMC directives. Module test data do not automatically establish compliance of the entire installation. Weight, Reliability and Reference Conditions Single-unit catalogue weight 116 g (0.116 kg), explicitly listed in PACKING. This is a catalogue unit-weight reference, not a measured net weight or shipping-package total. Packing reference 96 pieces / 12.2 kg / 1.04 CUFT. Minimum MTBF estimates 7229.0 thousand hours by Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 2157.3 thousand hours by MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C. Default measurement conditions 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient, unless specifically stated otherwise. Catalogue warranty The catalogue lists a 3-year manufacturer warranty, subject to its applicable terms. Datasheet version ICL-16 specification dated 2026-04-03; combined catalogue pages 1–4. MTBF figures are statistical estimates under the stated methods, not a guaranteed service life.

Footer image

© 2026 MEAN WELL, ,

  • US (USD $) US (USD $)
  • Ach Direct Debit
  • AliPay
  • Amazon
  • American Express
  • Apple Pay
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Google Pay
  • Mastercard
  • PayPal
  • Shop Pay
  • USDC
  • Visa