PLP-60-12 adjustable LED power supply
MEAN WELL PLP-60-12 is an adjustable AC/DC LED power supply for built-in lighting equipment. It has a 12 V nominal output, 5 A rated current and 60 W rated power. Operate LED modules in its 9–12 V constant-current region, select an appropriate current setting, and observe the input and temperature derating limits. The board uses active PFC and free-air convection cooling.
Download MEAN WELL PLP-60 Datasheet (PDF)Combined catalog: PLP-60 specifications, drawings and LED operating guidance are on PDF pages 4–6.
Model and electrical ratings
Complete model
PLP-60-12
Series / product form
PLP-60 single-output LED power supply; open-board component for built-in installation. The final number identifies the nominal 12 V output.
Nominal DC output
12 V.
Constant-current region
9–12 V. The LED driving guide recommends operation in this CC region; its minimum boundary is 75% of nominal output voltage. The highest output voltage in CC operation depends on the end-system configuration.
Rated current / current range
5 A rated; specified output load-current range 0–5 A. This load-current range is distinct from the current-setting range below.
Rated output power
60 W; satisfy voltage, current and power limits together.
Output-current adjustment
3.75–5 A using the onboard adjustment SVR1 shown in the mechanical drawing. Match the setting and the LED string voltage to the permitted operating region.
Ripple and noise
4.5 Vp-p maximum. Measured with 20 MHz bandwidth using a 12-inch twisted pair terminated in parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.
Voltage tolerance / regulation
Voltage tolerance ±10%, including setup tolerance, line regulation and load regulation; line regulation ±3.0%; load regulation ±5.0%.
Setup time
500 ms at 230 VAC; 1200 ms at 115 VAC, at full load.
AC / DC input
Universal full-range 90–264 VAC or 127–370 VDC; AC frequency 47–63 Hz. Apply the low-input loading curve.
Active PFC / power factor
Built-in active PFC; typical PF ≥0.9 at 75–100% load with 115 VAC or 230 VAC input.
Total harmonic distortion
THD <20% at output load ≥75%, with 115 VAC or 230 VAC input.
Typical efficiency
84% at the specified catalog measurement conditions.
Typical AC input current
0.8 A at 115 VAC; 0.4 A at 230 VAC.
Maximum cold-start inrush
35 A at 230 VAC; pulse width 55 µs measured at 50% Ipeak.
16 A circuit-breaker loading
At 230 VAC: maximum 32 units on a type B breaker and 32 units on a type C breaker, as listed in this model catalog.
Leakage current
Less than 0.75 mA at 240 VAC.
Reference performance plots
The power-factor plot is for constant-current mode. The efficiency-versus-load plot on page 6 is specifically a 48 V model example at 115 V and 230 V; it does not replace this model’s tabulated typical efficiency.
Circuit frequency
Block-diagram oscillator frequency: 90 kHz at 115 VAC; 120 kHz at 230 VAC.
Protection and operating limits
Overcurrent protection
100–110%; constant-current limiting, with automatic recovery when the fault is removed. Follow the LED I–V operating-region guidance.
Short-circuit protection
Hiccup mode; automatically recovers after the fault condition is removed.
Overvoltage protection
15–18 V; shuts down the output voltage. Re-power on to recover.
Cooling / working temperature
Free-air convection; working ambient range −30 to +70°C, subject to the derating curve.
Horizontal thermal derating
For horizontal installation, 100% load from −30 to +55°C; derate along the plotted slope to 50% load at +70°C. Apply both temperature and input-voltage limits.
Input-voltage derating
At 60 Hz: 80% load at 90 VAC, rising to 100% at 100 VAC; 100% from 100 to 264 VAC.
Working humidity
20–95% RH, non-condensing.
Storage conditions
−40 to +80°C; 10–95% RH.
Temperature coefficient
±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
Vibration
10–500 Hz, 2G; 12 minutes per cycle, 72 minutes on each of the X, Y and Z axes.
Wiring and built-in installation
Dimensions
101.6 × 50.8 × 29.6 mm (L × W × H). Mechanical-drawing tolerance: ±1 mm.
Mounting geometry
Four Ø3.2 mm mounting holes; 95.25 × 44.45 mm center spacing, with 3.175 mm edge offsets. The side view separately marks 3 mm maximum below the board; preserve the necessary clearance in the final equipment.
AC input connector CN1
JST B3P-VH or equivalent: pin 1 = AC/L; pin 2 = No Pin; pin 3 = AC/N. The middle position is not a grounding terminal.
DC output connector CN2
JST B2P-VH or equivalent: pin 1 = +V; pin 2 = −V.
Mating connector selection
For both CN1 and CN2, the catalog specifies a JST VHR mating housing and JST SVH-21T-P1.1 terminals, or equivalents. Choose the housing and terminals for the actual connector positions and wiring. These are connector references, not a statement that mating parts are supplied.
Safety ground / EMC grounding
M1 is the safety-ground point and must be grounded. For better EMC performance, provide an electrical connection between M1, M2, M3 and chassis ground.
Heat-sink isolation
Do not short HS1 and HS2. Maintain a safety isolation distance between HS1 and the system case; follow the final equipment insulation requirements.
LED connection
Direct connection to the LED modules is recommended. This supply is not suitable for use with additional LED drivers. Confirm compatibility with MEAN WELL if the final LED configuration causes operating issues.
Mains switching
Install behind a mains switch without permanent connection to the mains, as stated in the catalog ErP installation note.
Application restriction
The catalog specifies PLP-60-12 for light sources exempt from the ErP Directive (EU) 2019/2020 requirement, giving signalling products as examples: road, railway, marine or air-traffic signalling, traffic-control or airfield lamps. Check that the intended light-source application falls within the applicable exemption.
Installation safety
Disconnect the power supply from the mains before installation or maintenance and prevent accidental reconnection. Have electrical faults examined by a qualified technician.
Ventilation and orientation
Keep ventilation clear and do not place objects on the unit. Keep 10–15 cm clearance when the adjacent device is a heat source. Follow the catalog horizontal mounting orientation and the model-specific temperature and input-voltage derating curves.
System enclosure and wiring
This is a component power supply for installation in final equipment. Provide suitable insulation and isolation around interconnections; cover single-insulated wiring with the system enclosure. Use approved primary and secondary cables with current ratings at least equal to the applicable unit current.
Grounding and heat-sink isolation
M1 is the safety-ground point. Secure electrical connections between M1, M2, M3 and chassis grounding for improved EMC. Do not short HS1 to HS2; maintain a safety isolation distance between HS1 and the system case. The catalog does not specify a numerical isolation distance.
Environmental and load limits
Do not immerse the unit, install it near a fire source or exceed its specified ambient-temperature limit. Keep output current and output power within this model’s rated operating envelope.
Completed-system verification
Re-verify EMC in the completed equipment. The catalog’s 360 × 360 × 1 mm metal plate describes the EMC test arrangement; it is not a separately supplied mounting accessory.
Control interface scope
Output current is adjusted by the on-board SVR1 control within this model’s stated range. The catalog does not specify an external analog DIM, PWM, DALI or PUSH control interface; the internal PWM block diagram is not an external dimming connection.
Safety, reliability and reference data
Class 2 designation
The catalog explicitly describes this series as a Class 2 power unit. The safety-ground and built-in-installation requirements still apply.
Safety approvals
GB 19510.1 and GB 19510.14; UL 8750; TUV BS EN/EN 61347-1 and BS EN/EN 61347-2-13; EAC TP TC 004. CSA C22.2 No. 250.0-08 is also listed for this output-voltage version; the catalog marks cURus for versions other than 48 V. UL 60950-1 is a design reference, not an additional approval claim.
Withstand voltage
Input–output: 3.75 kVAC; input–FG: 2 kVAC; output–FG: 0.5 kVAC.
Isolation resistance
100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH, for input–output, input–FG and output–FG.
EMC emission
GB/T 17743; GB 17625.1; BS EN/EN 55015; BS EN/EN 61000-3-2 Class C at load ≥75%; BS EN/EN 61000-3-3; EAC TP TC 020.
EMC immunity
BS EN/EN 61000-4-2, -3, -4, -5, -6, -8 and -11; BS EN/EN 55035; BS EN/EN 61547, light-industry level; EAC TP TC 020.
Final-equipment EMC
The supply is a component used within final equipment. The catalog EMC tests mounted it on a 360 × 360 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick; this is a test configuration. Reconfirm EMC compliance in the complete installation because the final assembly affects performance.
MTBF
5065.8 thousand hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 583.3 thousand hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
Unit mass
160 g, converted from the catalog PACKING per-unit reference of 0.16 kg. This is not a measured shipping-package weight.
Production test / warranty
The catalog states 100% full-load burn-in testing and a 2-year manufacturer warranty; warranty coverage is subject to the manufacturer’s terms.
Measurement conditions
Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient. Typical values and model-specific test conditions retain their stated scope.
Download MEAN WELL LED Installation Manual
Read
more
less