MEAN WELL RHP-1UI-A is a 19-inch, 1U rack shelf for up to five compatible 1600 W-class rectifier or charger modules. This version has five IEC320-C14 AC inlets and PMBus communication. The shelf code does not specify installed modules or a complete output rating.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL RHP-1U Datasheet (PDF)
The RHP-1U section is on PDF pages 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model and System Configuration
Complete model
RHP-1UI-A
Configuration
1U Rack Shelf; 1U / 19-inch format with five module positions. A identifies the rack type for 1600 W-class modules.
AC connection version
I version: five IEC320-C14 AC inlets.
Communication option
PMBus. The blank communication suffix denotes the catalogue PMBus version. CANBus is a separate by-request option, not an additional interface promised for this model.
Module selection
RCP-1600-12 / RCP-1600-24 / RCP-1600-48 for a power-supply configuration, or RCB-1600-12 / RCB-1600-24 / RCB-1600-48 for a charger configuration. Use matching modules and the correct rack communication option.
The bare rack and a populated system are different ordering configurations. Confirm the installed module quantity, voltage and communication interface for the ordered assembly. Module hot-plug capability does not remove the need to follow the manufacturer’s installation and service instructions.
Capacity and Function Selection
Shelf capacity
Five 1600 W-class module positions; actual output voltage, current and power are determined by the installed, matching modules. The empty rack does not generate a main DC output.
Power configuration
RCP-1600 rectifiers support active current sharing, voltage/current programming and remote sense. The catalogue describes up to three power racks in parallel, subject to the selected voltage model and all module limits.
Charger configuration
RCB-1600 chargers provide boost/float charging and temperature compensation. Their CN2 connections are temperature-sensing inputs rather than the power system’s remote-sense connections.
Configuration boundary
Do not combine rectifier and charger function assignments within an unspecified assembly. Select the complete module configuration before applying any electrical rating or control wiring.
Input, Cooling and Operating Limits
Input voltage / frequency
For a selected RCP-1600 power configuration: 90–264 VAC or 250–370 VDC. For an RCB-1600 charger configuration: 90–264 VAC or 127–370 VDC. AC frequency: 47–63 Hz. Match the input supply to the actual installed module rating and apply low-line derating.
Installed-module AC current
The rack tables list 14 A / 8 A at 115 / 230 VAC for a 12 V module and 15 A / 8.5 A for a 24 V or 48 V module. Size each supply circuit for the selected module and installation.
Per-module leakage current
Less than 1.5 mA at 230 VAC per rectifier or charger. Total system leakage depends on the number of installed modules.
Conversion, active PFC, fan cooling and electrical protection are functions of the installed rectifier or charger modules. Keep the module and rack airflow paths clear. Select matching overload, short-circuit, overvoltage and overtemperature characteristics from the applicable module specification; no separate numeric trip threshold is assigned to an empty shelf.
The rack working-temperature range is −30 to +70°C, with derating. Low-line and ambient limits must both be observed; this range is not a full-load guarantee at every input voltage or temperature. Use the derating curve of the actual installed module revision. The RCP rectifier curve must not be used as an RCB charger curve.
Unless otherwise stated, rack specifications are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C. Ripple measurements use 20 MHz bandwidth and a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors in parallel.
Programming and Application-Specific Sensing
Voltage programming PV
RCP power systems: 40–125% of nominal voltage, except 12 V models at 60–125%. RCB charger systems: 75–125% of nominal voltage. CN1 pin 26, referenced to −V(signal) on pin 24.
Current programming PC
20–100% of rated current; CN1 pin 25, referenced to −V(signal) on pin 24.
External-control curves
The diagrams mark the relationships non-linear and show a transition at 0.4 V. For the controlled portion, 1 V corresponds to the minimum PV output and 4.7 V to 125% nominal output; PC is 20% at 1 V and 100% at 4.7 V. Follow the full curve rather than assuming one linear conversion.
Power-system voltage / current limit
The power-system curve allows 100% rated current through 100% nominal output voltage and reduces it to 75% at 125% nominal voltage. This is a rectifier-system curve, not a charger-system curve.
CN2 application-specific pin map
Power system: 1 +S, 2 −S, 3 +V(signal), 4 −V(signal); up to 0.5 V line-drop compensation, with twisted sense pair to the load or local links 1–3 and 2–4. Charger system: 1 RTH+, 2 RTH−, 3/4 NC. Never use signal terminals as load connections.
CN1 Control and Status
Connector and mating parts
Rack CN1: HRS DF11-26DP-2DS. Mating housing: HRS DF11-26DS or equivalent. Contact-family reference: HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent; specify the full contact variant for the selected wire assembly.
Module signal groups
For modules A / B / C / D / E respectively: AC OK pins 1 / 5 / 9 / 13 / 17; DC OK pins 2 / 6 / 10 / 14 / 18; remote ON/OFF pins 3 / 7 / 11 / 15 / 19; T-Alarm pins 4 / 8 / 12 / 16 / 20.
AC OK
High 3.5–5.5 V when input is at least 87 Vrms; low −0.5 to +0.5 V when input is at most 75 Vrms. Maximum sourcing current 10 mA; output signal only.
DC OK
For a power system, high indicates output at or below 80% ±5% of the output reference, and low indicates output at or above that threshold. For a charger system, the corresponding thresholds are 8 / 16 / 32 V ±1 V for nominal 12 / 24 / 48 V. High is 3.5–5.5 V; low is −0.5 to +0.5 V. Maximum sourcing current 10 mA; output signal only.
Remote ON/OFF
Connect the relevant module remote pin to +5V-AUX on pin 21: short / 4.5–5.5 V for ON; open / 0–0.5 V for OFF. Maximum input is 5.5 V. Control the module channels separately or together as shown in the diagram.
Temperature / fan alarm
T-Alarm is high 3.5–5.5 V when the internal temperature exceeds the alarm limit or a fan fails; low −0.5 to +0.5 V during normal temperature and fan operation. Maximum sourcing current 10 mA; output signal only.
Auxiliary outputs
Pin 21: +5V-AUX, 4.5–5.5 V at up to 0.3 A. Pin 23: +12V-AUX, 10.8–13.2 V at up to 0.8 A. Both reference pin 22 GND-AUX, have built-in ORing diodes and remain independent of remote ON/OFF.
Signal references
AC OK, DC OK, T-Alarm and remote control are isolated signals referenced to GND-AUX. Pin 22 is isolated from the main +V/−V output. Pin 24 −V(signal), pin 25 PC and pin 26 PV are non-isolated; pin 24 is a control/local-sense reference, not a load terminal.
Communication, CN2 and Status Indicators
CN2 mating parts
Rack CN2: HRS DF11-4DP-2DS; mating housing HRS DF11-4DS or equivalent, with contacts selected from HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent. Use the power-system or charger-system pin assignment appropriate to the installed modules.
JK1 RJ45 pin map
1 DA and 2 DB: differential parallel-control signals; 3 −V(signal): their non-isolated reference, not a load connection. Pin 4 CONTROL: PMBus remote ON/OFF signal, isolated and referenced to GND-AUX. Pin 5: NC / reserved. Pin 8: GND-AUX, isolated from the main output.
JK1 selected communication pins
PMBus version: pin 6 SDA; pin 7 SCL. The catalogue specifies PMBus revision 1.1 with maximum 100 kHz clock for reading operating status and controlling configured functions.
Communication connection
The RJ45 connector carries the assigned power-system control bus; it is not an Ethernet interface. Select the correct bus wiring and address-switch settings for the system.
Status LEDs
Power-system green means normal operation. Charger-system green means float (stage 3) and orange means charging (stage 1 or 2). Constant red indicates an abnormal module condition. Flashing red at 60°C internal temperature is an early warning while operation continues, not an ambient-temperature rating or immediate OTP shutdown; the catalogue also describes a PMBus alarm indication.
Dimensions, Installation and Supply
Dimensions
365 × 440 × 44 mm (L × W × H) without brackets; 365 × 482.6 × 44 mm with rack brackets. Case 242A; general drawing tolerance ±0.5 mm.
Rack mounting
Follow the case drawing and bracket positions. Mounting holes marked 1 use M4 screws, maximum penetration 4 mm and recommended torque 7–10 kgf·cm. The drawing shows five side mounting positions on each side.
DC output connections
The mechanical drawing specifies M8 × L16 output fasteners. The M4 mounting torque is not a tightening specification for the DC output fasteners; follow the supplied assembly instructions.
AC connection
Five IEC320-C14 inputs, one for each module bay. Provide correctly rated mains leads for the actual installation.
Airflow / service
Preserve the airflow path through the plug-in modules and the rear of the rack. Follow the mechanical drawing, module insertion orientation and hot-plug servicing instructions.
Supply configuration
Specify the rack input style, communication option and matching module population. The connector mating housings and contacts are selection references; extra loose mating parts, AC leads and rack installation hardware are not stated as included.
Confirm the mass of the exact supplied rack or populated assembly when planning installation and shipping. No configuration-specific mass is assigned here.
Environment, Insulation and EMC
Working / storage
Working: −30 to +70°C with applicable derating, 20–90% RH non-condensing. Storage: −40 to +85°C, 10–95% RH non-condensing.
Temperature coefficient / altitude
±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C. Above 2000 m, the catalogue requires 5°C lower allowable ambient per 1000 m for fan-cooled models. This derating note does not by itself establish a maximum operating altitude.
Vibration
10–500 Hz, 2 G, 10 minutes per cycle and 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.
Catalogue safety standards
UL 62368-1; CAN/CSA C22.2 No. 62368-1; TUV BS EN/EN 62368-1; EAC TP TC 004. Select the applicable system/module configuration; final equipment requires its own compliance assessment.
Dielectric withstand
Input–output: 3 kVAC; input–FG: 2 kVAC; output–FG: 1.5 kVAC, except 12 V configurations at 0.5 kVAC.
Insulation resistance
100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH for input–output, input–FG and output–FG.
Emissions
BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32): conducted Class B and radiated Class A. Harmonic current: BS EN/EN61000-3-2; voltage flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-3. The power-system table specifies harmonic Class A.
Immunity
BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN61000-6-2; EN61000-4-2 / -3 / -4 / -5 / -6 / -8 / -11. Power-system levels: ESD 8 kV air / 4 kV contact; radiated RF level 3; EFT/burst level 3; surge level 4, 2 kV line–line / 4 kV line–earth; conducted RF level 3; magnetic field level 4.
Final-equipment EMC
Rack EMC tests use a 1000 × 1300 × 1 mm metal plate. The rack supply is a component for installation in final equipment, which must be checked again for EMC compliance.
Manufacturer document / warranty
RHP-1U rack-system specification dated 2024-09-04; the catalogue lists a 5-year manufacturer warranty.
The power-system immunity table specifies input dips greater than 95% for 0.5 period, 30% for 25 periods, and interruptions greater than 95% for 250 periods.
Read
more
less