MEAN WELL SE-1500-48 is a single-output enclosed AC/DC switching power supply rated at 48 V DC, 31.3 A and 1502.4 W. It provides forced-air cooling and remote sensing. Output ratings are subject to the input-voltage, ambient-temperature and installation conditions below.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL SE-1500 Datasheet (PDF)
This combined SE catalog contains the SE-1500 section on pages 8–10; the specification revision is 2024-09-25. Refer to its full mechanical and function drawings when selecting wiring and installation hardware.
The manufacturer datasheet lists a 2-year warranty; coverage is subject to the applicable manufacturer warranty terms.
Model and Output Specifications
Item
Specification / condition
Complete model
SE-1500-48
Datasheet family
SE-1500
Nominal DC output
48 V
Rated output current
31.3 A
Current range
0–31.3 A
Rated output power
1502.4 W
Ripple and noise, maximum
150 mVp-p
Output voltage adjustment
43.2–56 V
Voltage tolerance
±1.0%
Line regulation
±0.5%
Load regulation
±0.5%
Typical efficiency
89%
Unless otherwise specified, parameters are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient.
Ripple and noise: 20 MHz bandwidth; 12-inch twisted pair terminated with parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.
Voltage tolerance includes set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
Input and Start-up
Item
Specification / condition
AC input range
180–264 VAC
AC range selection
No 115 V AC range; 180–264 V AC input only.
DC input range
254–370 VDC
Input frequency
47–63 Hz
Typical AC input current
17.5 A at 230 VAC
AC surge-current control
Active surge-current limiting
Typical inrush current
60 A at 230 VAC
Leakage current
<3.5 mA at 240 VAC
Setup time
150 ms at 230 VAC
Rise time
12 ms at 230 VAC
Typical hold-up time
26 ms at 230 VAC
Setup, rise and hold-up times apply at full load and 230 VAC input. This family has a 180–264 VAC input range, with no 115 VAC setting in this datasheet.
Protection and Recovery
Item
Specification / condition
Short-circuit protection
Listed in the datasheet.
Overload threshold
105–125 % of rated output power; Shut down output voltage; re-power on to recover.
Overvoltage threshold
57.6–67.2 V; Shut down output voltage; re-power on to recover.
Overtemperature protection
Shut down output voltage; automatically recovers after temperature goes down.
The overload percentage is a protection threshold, not a specified timed peak-power rating. Do not size the load as though this percentage were an additional continuous output capability.
Cooling and Control Connections
Forced-air cooling uses built-in DC ball-bearing fans. Fan-lock protection is shown in the block diagram.
The mechanical drawing identifies an LED beside the output and control connections.
For remote sensing, connect CN3 pin 4 (+S) to the positive load terminal and pin 3 (-S) to the negative load terminal. Use a twisted sense pair as shown in the function diagram.
DC OK is a TTL-level signal measured from CN3 pin 1 to pin 2 (DC_OK GND): 3.3–5.6 V when the supply is on and 0–1 V when it is off. The diagram specifies 10 mA maximum signal current; pin 2 is connected to -V.
Remote ON/OFF is controlled between CN3 pin 6 (RC+) and pin 5 (RC-): 0–0.8 V enables the output, while 4–10 V disables it. The wiring diagram uses an external control source and specifies 6–20 mA control current.
Item
Specification / condition
CN3 pin 1
DC_OK signal
CN3 pin 2
DC_OK GND
CN3 pin 3
-S
CN3 pin 4
+S
CN3 pin 5
RC-
CN3 pin 6
RC+
Mating Connectors and Ordering Details
Item
Specification / condition
Board connector, as printed
JST B6B-XH or equivalent
Mating housing reference, as printed
JST XHP or equivalent
Contact reference, as printed
JST SXH-001T or equivalent
Connector positions
6
CN3 is listed as JST B6B-XH or equivalent. The mating references are JST XHP housing and JST SXH-001T contacts, or equivalents. Use one compatible six-position housing; six contacts populate all three signal pairs, while each individual function uses its designated two pins. The catalog does not give complete ordering suffixes, so confirm the exact housing/contact variants for the selected wiring.
The housing/contact quantities above describe the connection needed to populate the port, not an included accessory kit. Inclusion of mating parts is not stated in this datasheet. Use the printed references to confirm exact compatible ordering variants; do not treat a wildcard or abbreviated family reference as a complete contact order code.
Dimensions, Mounting and Wiring
Item
Specification / condition
Case drawing
982A
Housing dimensions, L × W × H
278 × 177.8 × 63.5 mm
Drawing tolerance
±1 mm
Mounting callouts, as printed
4-M4 L=5mm; 8-M4 (Both Sides) L=8mm
Housing dimensions are 278 × 177.8 × 63.5 mm (L × W × H), with drawing tolerance ±1 mm. Mounting is marked 4-M4, L=5 mm, at the base and 8-M4 across both sides, L=8 mm. The input-terminal projection is 16 mm max.; the output projection is dimensioned at 40 mm. The unit is specified for 180–264 VAC; it has no 115 V input-range option in this datasheet. Input terminals 1/2/3 are L/N/FG. Connect the load to the labelled +V and -V output busbars; their detail includes 2-M4 and an 8.5 mm diameter hole.
Case dimensions are separate from terminal projections and the space needed for wiring. Mounting-hole callouts describe the drawing, not supplied screw quantities. Use the full drawing for hole locations and any stated thread-depth limits.
Operating Environment and Derating
Item
Specification / condition
Working ambient temperature
-20–70 °C; apply derating curves
Working humidity
20–90 % RH, non-condensing
Storage temperature
-40–85 °C
Storage humidity
10–95 % RH
Temperature coefficient
±0.05%/°C over 0–50 °C
Vibration
10–500 Hz; 2 G; 10 min/cycle; 60 min each along X/Y/Z
Item
Specification / condition
Temperature-derating curve, this output
-20 °C: 80% load; -10 °C: 100% load; 50 °C: 100% load; 70 °C: 40% load
Curve mounting orientation
Horizontal
Item
Specification / condition
Input derating, 180–264 VAC
180 VAC: 90% load; 200 VAC: 100% load; 264 VAC: 100% load
The input-voltage static-characteristics graph is specified at 60 Hz. Values above are the labelled curve points for this model, not a replacement for the complete curves. Apply temperature and input-voltage derating together; consult the original graphs between labelled points. The rightmost plotted input label does not replace the specified operating range.
For operation above 2,000 m, apply the datasheet ambient-temperature derating of 5°C per additional 1,000 m for fan-cooled models.
Keep the illustrated fan-airflow path clear. The catalog temperature-derating curves are specified for horizontal mounting.
The altitude note gives an additional temperature derating above 2,000 m; this datasheet does not state a maximum operating altitude.
Safety, Insulation and Integration Conditions
Item
Specification / condition
Approvals listed in this datasheet for the model
UL62368-1; BSMI CNS15598-1; EAC TP TC 004
Design standard reference, not an approval claim
BS EN/EN62368-1
Withstand voltage
Input–output: 3 kVAC; input–FG: 1.5 kVAC; output–FG: 0.5 kVAC
Isolation resistance
100 MΩ at 500 VDC; I/P-O/P, I/P-FG, O/P-FG; 25°C / 70% RH
MTBF reference, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore)
999.9 thousand hours minimum
MTBF reference, MIL-HDBK-217F
134.5 thousand hours minimum at 25°C
The listed approvals and design references reflect this datasheet revision and model scope. They do not certify a complete end product or remove installation and application restrictions.
The datasheet states that this supply does not meet EN 61000-3-2 harmonic-current requirements. It excludes use in end equipment in the European Union connected to public mains rated 220 VAC or higher when the end equipment has average or continuous input power above 75 W, or when the supply forms part of a lighting system. The listed exceptions are professional equipment with total rated input power above 1,000 W, and symmetrically controlled heating elements rated at 200 W or less.
The supply is a component for integration into final equipment. The catalog EMC tests used a 720 × 360 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick; compliance must be re-confirmed in the completed equipment.
Weight and Packing Reference
Item
Specification / condition
Catalog packing reference per unit
3300 g (3.3 kg)
Carton reference
4 units / 14.2 kg / 1.14 CUFT
The per-unit value is the catalog PACKING reference. It is not a measured net mass or an actual shipping-parcel weight; the carton figures are separate packing data.
Read
more
less