MEAN WELL RPD-75B is a PCB-type dual-output medical AC/DC power supply. It provides CH1 5 V, CH2 24 V. The rated combined output is 73 W. The catalogue 98.8 W higher-load rating requires 23.5 CFM forced airflow and the applicable thermal limits.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL RPD-75 Datasheet (PDF)
The RPD-75 section is on PDF pages 5, 6, 7, 8. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model and Output Configuration
Complete model
RPD-75B
Output arrangement
2 outputs sharing the stated COM reference; polarity is shown separately for every channel.
Construction
PCB assembly for installation inside equipment.
Nominal efficiency, typical
79%.
This medical power supply is a component, not a certification of the finished medical equipment. Suitability for BF applications requires appropriate system consideration, including patient isolation, leakage current, protective grounding and EMC.
Combined Load and Peak Limits
Rated combined output
73 W; both channels share this total.
Catalogue higher-load rating
98.8 W with 23.5 CFM forced air, labelled peak load in the catalogue.
CH1 voltage adjustment
4.75–5.5 V. No independent CH2 adjustment range is specified.
The RPD-75 higher-load rating requires 23.5 CFM forced cooling. A separate timed-pulse operating rating is not specified for this family.
Meet each channel minimum load and its current limit while respecting the combined wattage limit. The upper current-range values do not replace the continuous total-power rating. Unless otherwise stated, parameters are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C ambient. Ripple/noise uses 20 MHz bandwidth and a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors. Voltage tolerance includes set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
CH1 Electrical Ratings
Output voltage
5 V.
Rated current
5 A.
Minimum load
1 A.
Specified current range
1–6.8 A; observe the total-power and forced-cooling limits.
Ripple and noise, maximum
80 mVp-p.
Voltage tolerance
±2.0%.
Line regulation
±0.5%.
Load regulation
±1.5%.
CH2 Electrical Ratings
Output voltage
24 V.
Rated current
2 A.
Minimum load
0.2 A.
Specified current range
0.2–2.7 A; observe the total-power and forced-cooling limits.
Ripple and noise, maximum
120 mVp-p.
Voltage tolerance
±6.0%.
Line regulation
±1.0%.
Load regulation
±3.0%.
Input and Start-Up
Input range
90–264 VAC, 47–63 Hz, or 127–370 VDC. Apply low-input derating.
Input current, typical
1.5 A at 115 VAC; 1 A at 230 VAC.
Cold-start inrush, typical
25 A at 115 VAC; 50 A at 230 VAC.
Set-up / rise time
500 / 30 ms at 230 VAC; 500 / 30 ms at 115 VAC, full load.
Hold-up time, typical
90 ms at 230 VAC; 20 ms at 115 VAC, full load.
Switching-frequency reference
65 kHz.
Set-up time is measured at cold start; repeated ON/OFF operation may increase it.
Protection
Short circuit / overload
Hiccup protection at 140–180% rated output power, with automatic recovery after the fault is removed.
Overvoltage protection
CH1: 5.7–6.8 V. Output shuts down; re-power to recover.
Protection thresholds are fault limits, not additional operating ratings.
Derating and Environment
Working temperature
−20 to +70°C, subject to the cooling curve.
Thermal curve
Horizontal natural convection: 100% through 40°C, falling to 50% at 60°C. With 23.5 CFM forced air, the family plot shows 133% through 50°C and 50% at 70°C. Apply the separate exact model wattage and current ratings as well; the convection curve does not extend to 70°C.
Input-voltage curve, 60 Hz
80% load at 90 VAC; 100% at 100 VAC through 264 VAC.
Working humidity
20–90% RH, non-condensing.
Storage conditions
−40 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
Temperature coefficient
±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
Vibration
10–500 Hz, 2 G; 10-minute cycles, six cycles / 60 minutes along each X, Y and Z axis.
Altitude condition
Operating altitude up to 3000 m. Above 2000 m, reduce allowable ambient temperature by 3.5°C per additional 1000 m for fanless operation, or 5°C per additional 1000 m for fan-cooled operation.
Apply temperature, input-voltage, cooling and channel loading restrictions together. Do not extrapolate beyond the plotted curve or treat a series name as the guaranteed output wattage.
Installation and Mechanical Details
Dimensions, L × W × H
127 × 76.2 × 31 mm.
Drawing dimensions
Millimetres, general tolerance ±1 mm; 4 x Ø3.8 mm on 115.8 × 64.75 mm centres.
Underside clearance
3 mm maximum component projection is shown below the board; allow the installation clearance required by the manufacturer. It is not a mounting-screw penetration rating.
Mounting references
5.6 mm and 5.7 mm edge references; M1 is safety ground. Secure electrical connection between M1, M2 and chassis ground for EMC.
Forced-air installation
At least 23.5 CFM, fan 15 cm from the illustrated board edge; fan centre reference 63.5 mm.
Heat sinks and fuses
HS1, HS2 and HS3 must not be shorted. The AC fuses FS1/FS2 are marked T2.5/250V; no complete replacement-fuse ordering code is supplied.
Use the applicable complete mechanical drawing and installation instructions. The listed mating connector references, external fan and mounting hardware are not stated to be supplied accessories. These RPD models require a Class I installation with protective ground (FG).
Connectors and Mating References
AC input CN1
JST B3P-VH or equivalent: pin 1 AC/N, pin 2 absent, pin 3 AC/L. Mating housing reference JST VHR; terminal JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent.
DC output CN2
JST B8P-VH or equivalent: pins 1–2 V1, 3–5 COM, 6–7 V2, 8 NC. NC means no connection, not a third output.
The main input/output connectors use the JST VHR housing family and JST SVH-21T-P1.1 contact reference. Select the complete mating housing for the required circuit count and wire size; loose mating parts and any external fan are not stated as included.
Medical Isolation, Leakage and Safety
Isolation level
Primary–secondary: 2 MOPP; primary–earth: 1 MOPP.
Withstand voltage
Input–output 4 kVAC; input–FG 2 kVAC; output–FG 1.5 kVAC.
Insulation resistance
100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH, for input–output, input–FG and output–FG.
Leakage current
Earth leakage <150 µA at 264 VAC; touch current <100 µA at 264 VAC. Touch current is measured from primary input to DC output.
The safety table lists IEC60601-1:2005+A1+A2; TUV BS EN/EN60601-1:2006+A1+A12+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.60601-1:2014+A2; and EAC TP TC004. BS EN/EN60335-1 is a design reference by request, not an unconditional standard-product approval.
This medical power supply is a component, not a certification of the finished medical equipment. Suitability for BF applications requires appropriate system consideration, including patient isolation, leakage current, protective grounding and EMC.
EMC and System Integration
Conducted and radiated emissions: BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11) Class B for the specified Class I configuration. Harmonic current: BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; voltage flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-3. Immunity framework: BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN60601-1-2.
The listed immunity tests are EN61000-4-2 ESD Level 4, 15 kV air / 8 kV contact; EN61000-4-3 RF Level 3, 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz and Table 9, 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz; EN61000-4-4 EFT Level 3, 2 kV; EN61000-4-5 surge Level 3, 4 kV line–FG / 2 kV line–line; EN61000-4-6 conducted susceptibility Level 3, 10 V; EN61000-4-8 magnetic field Level 4, 30 A/m; EN61000-4-11 100% dip for 1 period, 30% dip for 25 periods and 100% interruption for 250 periods.
EMC tests used the unit on a 360 × 360 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick. This component is intended for installation in final equipment; reconfirm EMC compliance in the completed system.
Weight and Reliability
Catalogue single-unit reference
0.25 kg = 250 g per unit, from the PACKING entry.
Carton reference
63 pieces / 17.3 kg / 1.28 CUFT; carton weight is not the per-unit product weight.
MTBF, minimum
2575.6 K hours, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 569.9 K hours, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
Manufacturer warranty
3 years, subject to applicable manufacturer terms.
Catalogue edition
RPD-75-SPEC 2024-11-22; combined PDF pages 5–8.
The RPD-75 features list a lifetime greater than 140,000 hours; this is a catalogue reliability statement, distinct from MTBF and not an unconditional service-life guarantee.
PACKING is a catalogue single-unit reference, not an independently weighed net or shipping mass. MTBF is a statistical estimate under the stated methods.
Read
more
less