MEAN WELL LAD-600DU is a security power supply with a 55.2 V main output, a separate 3 A battery-charging channel and DC UPS backup capability. The main output is rated 7.87 A and both channels share a 600.02 W total output budget. This version provides UART communication and a built-in buzzer. Select the 115/230 VAC input range by switch and apply the specified load and temperature derating.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL LAD-600 Datasheet (PDF)
The LAD-600 section is on PDF pages 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model and Configuration
Complete model
LAD-600DU
Series
LAD-600
Output code
D: 55.2 V DC
Interface version
U suffix: UART communication only
The unit supplies a main DC load on CH1 and a separate battery-charging channel on CH2. With a suitable external battery it supports DC UPS backup. The built-in AC and battery-circuit ON/OFF switches support isolation during maintenance.
Suitable applications include fire-emergency and evacuation systems, public-safety backup, security systems, central monitoring and industrial automation. Select the battery and system controls for the required application. The stated three-year warranty applies to the power supply.
Main Output, Charging Channel and Shared Power
CH1 output voltage
55.2 V
CH1 rated current
7.87 A
CH2 charge voltage
55.2 V
CH2 rated charging current
3 A
Rated total output power
600.02 W
CH1 current range
0–10.87 A
CH1 voltage adjustment
43.5–58 V by VR
CH1 maximum ripple and noise
360 mVp-p
CH1 voltage tolerance
±1%
CH1 line / load regulation
±0.5% / ±0.5%
The 600.02 W figure is the total CH1 + CH2 power budget, not an independent rating for each channel. The CH1 rated-current point accompanies the 3 A charging allocation. A higher CH1 current within its listed range must still respect the combined power limit; the two channel maxima are not an unrestricted simultaneous operating point.
The series supports suitable lead-acid and lithium-ion batteries. Match the battery chemistry, voltage and charging current to the supplied configuration. Adjust CH1 only within the stated VR range and keep the load within the current, total-power and derating limits. The catalogue does not specify an independently adjustable CH2 voltage or separate CH2 ripple/tolerance guarantee.
Unless otherwise stated, specifications are measured at 230 VAC input, rated load and 25°C ambient. Voltage tolerance includes set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation. Ripple/noise is measured with 20 MHz bandwidth using a 12-inch twisted pair terminated with 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.
Input and Timing
AC input range
90–132 VAC / 180–264 VAC, selected by switch
DC input range
240–370 VDC
Input frequency
47–63 Hz
Typical efficiency
91%
Typical AC input current
12 A at 115 VAC; 7.5 A at 230 VAC
Typical cold-start inrush
35 A at 115 VAC; 60 A at 230 VAC
Leakage current
<0.5 mA peak at 240 VAC
Select the correct 115/230 VAC input range before energizing; the factory switch setting is 230 VAC. This is a manually selected input, not a single automatic 90–264 VAC range.
Set-up time is 2000 ms and rise time 50 ms at full load for both 115 VAC and 230 VAC. Typical hold-up time is 16 ms at 230 VAC or 12 ms at 115 VAC, at full load. Battery static-discharge current is less than 100 µA.
Protection and Battery Operation
Overload threshold
CH1: 105–135%; CH2: 90–110%
CH1 overvoltage threshold
59–69 V
Battery cutoff
43 V ±0.5 V
With a battery connected, a CH1 overload around 105–120% transfers the unit to UPS mode; when the combined CH1 + CH2 output reaches around 125–135%, the output shuts down. Without a connected battery, the CH1 overload response is shutdown and reapplication of input power to recover.
CH2 overload uses constant-current limiting. A CH2 fault does not stop CH1 operation, and CH2 recovers automatically after the fault is removed. An external fuse is mandatory in series with the battery for protection; select the fuse and wiring for the actual installation.
CH1 overvoltage and overtemperature protection shut down the output and require reapplication of input power. Battery reverse polarity is protected without damage and recovers automatically after the connection fault is removed. Short-circuit protection is listed among the series features; the individual overload responses and external battery-fuse requirement still apply.
For a protection-triggered restart covered by the overload, overvoltage or overtemperature note, disconnect the input and wait three minutes for the unit to cool before restarting.
UART Monitoring, Forced Start and Battery Selection
Mains-failure / recovery thresholds
115 VAC setting: fail below 75 VAC, recover above 87 VAC; 230 VAC setting: fail below 165 VAC, recover above 175 VAC
Buzzer-mode selection, CN2 pins 7–8
Open: evacuation system; short: fire-alarm system
UART sends fault signals, operating status, individual battery voltage, mains voltage, output voltage and output current to a controller. It supports control, setting and monitoring, including backup switching and the battery undervoltage point. Use the model-specific manufacturer UART manual for message definitions and permitted settings; do not connect this interface as an RS-232 port.
CN2 pins 1–2: short for forced-start UPS mode; open for normal operation. This internal-relay forced-start function has first priority. Battery undervoltage alarm remains active, but undervoltage protection is disabled, so the battery may discharge fully until system shutdown. Use this emergency or maintenance mode with appropriate battery supervision.
CN2 pins 3–4: short for remote UPS mode; open for normal operation. Remote UPS control has second priority, permits control through the communication protocol while the controller is operating normally, and retains both battery-undervoltage alarm and protection.
CN2 pins 5–6: short selects lithium-ion batteries; open selects lead-acid batteries. The charging diagrams show constant current followed by constant voltage, with the current falling toward 10% of the constant-current level. The lead-acid diagram then shows maintenance pulses; the lithium-ion diagram shows charging ending at that stage. Match the charging settings to the battery specification.
The battery-inspection diagram for this model uses 4 series-connected 12 V blocks and BAT1 at pin 9, BAT2 at pin 10 and BAT3 at pin 12. Connect the taps in the illustrated sequence from the battery-negative end. These 12 V blocks are the illustrated inspection arrangement, not a different rated charging voltage.
The built-in buzzer provides battery-low warning in fire-alarm mode. In evacuation mode the available warnings are AC failure, battery low, battery disconnection, reverse connection and overload; mode selection is also supported through UART. Charger-circuit failure monitoring covers battery disconnection, reverse polarity and signal failure.
Power Terminals and Control-Connector Wiring
CN2 is the 16-pin UART-version connector. Pins 1/2, 3/4, 5/6 and 7/8 are the paired control inputs described above. Pin 9=BAT1; pin 10=BAT2; pin 11=NC; pin 12=BAT3; pin 13=UART_RX; pin 14=UART_TX; pin 15=GND; pin 16=3.3 V reference. Use only the battery taps needed by the model-specific inspection diagram.
The 3.3 V reference is for testing only and must not supply more than 1 mA for a long time. AC OK, battery-disconnected/reverse-polarity, battery-low, battery-full and discharge states are available through UART on this version; the separate TTL signal pinout belongs to the blank version.
TB1 power terminals: 1=AC/L; 2=AC/N; 3=FG protective earth; 4=DC OUTPUT −V; 5=DC OUTPUT +V; 6=BAT−; 7=BAT+. Do not short DC OUTPUT −V to BAT−. Observe the separate battery and load terminals and use the AC/battery circuit switches as shown.
The CN2 mating housing is identified as TKP DH2 or equivalent; the mating contact is TKP DHT-1S(LF) or equivalent. Select the complete housing and wire assembly for the actual 16-pin version. These are connector references; obtain the appropriate mating parts for the supplied unit.
Environment, Cooling and Derating
Working ambient temperature
−20 to +60°C, subject to derating
Working humidity
20–95% RH, non-condensing
Storage conditions
−30 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing
Temperature coefficient
±0.03%/°C from 0 to 50°C
Vibration
10–500 Hz, 5G; 10 minutes/cycle, 60 minutes each on X, Y and Z
For horizontal mounting, the temperature curve permits 100% load from −20 to 50°C and then decreases to 60% at 60°C. Apply temperature and input limits together.
The 60 Hz input curve gives 80% load at 90 VAC or 180 VAC, rising to 100% at 100 VAC or 200 VAC respectively, and remaining at 100% through 132 VAC or 264 VAC on the selected range.
An internal fan and airflow direction are shown in the mechanical drawing. Keep the fan and ventilation openings unobstructed. For operation above 2000 m, the catalogue note reduces allowable ambient temperature by 5°C per 1000 m for fan-equipped models; altitude derating does not override the electrical or installation limits.
Safety, EMC and Reliability
Safety standards
UL 62368-1, BS EN/EN 62368-1, AS/NZS 62368.1 and EAC TP TC 004 approved
Withstand voltage
I/P–O/P: 3 kVAC; I/P–FG: 2 kVAC; O/P–FG: 0.5 kVAC
Isolation resistance
100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C, 70% RH for I/P–O/P, I/P–FG and O/P–FG
Conducted and radiated emissions
BS EN/EN 55032 (CISPR 32), Class A; EAC TP TC 020
MTBF references
1019.6K hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332; 144.4K hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C
Design references include GB17945-2010 and GB4717 for the U version. This is a power-supply component; these design references do not certify an entire fire-alarm or evacuation installation.
Immunity tests list BS EN/EN 61000-4-2: level 3, 8 kV air and level 2, 6 kV contact; -4-3: level 3, 10 V/m; -4-4: level 3, 2 kV; -4-5: level 3, 1 kV line-to-line and 2 kV line-to-FG; -4-6: level 3, 10 V; -4-8: level 4, 30 A/m. Performance criterion A is stated for these tests.
The EMC setup uses a 360 × 360 mm metal plate 1 mm thick and an additional 20 × 30 × 13 mm NiZn magnetic clasp or ring on the battery output wire for radiated-emissions testing. Confirm EMC again with the complete installation.
This supply does not meet BS EN/EN 61000-3-2 harmonic-current requirements. Do not use it where all of the following apply: the end device is used in the European Union; it connects to public mains with nominal voltage 220 VAC or greater; and it has average or continuous input above 75 W or forms part of a lighting system. The catalogue lists exceptions for professional equipment with total rated input greater than 1000 W and symmetrically controlled heating elements rated 200 W or less. Verify the end-equipment category and local requirements before selection.
MTBF values are reliability calculations under the stated methods and conditions, not a guaranteed service lifetime.
Mechanical Installation and Accessories
Catalogue enclosure dimensions
225 × 124 × 41 mm (L × W × H)
Catalogue unit-weight reference
1020 g
Catalogue packing
1.02 kg; 12 pcs / 13.5 kg / 0.78 CUFT
Case 292B, dimensional tolerance ±1 mm. The mechanical drawing marks 4-M4 L=3 mm on the bottom; 8-M4 (both sides) L=6 mm. Use the holes and allowable thread lengths appropriate to the selected mounting surface, and keep clearance around the fan, terminals and switches.
The bottom mounting pattern is separate from the side-mounting bracket arrangement: the bottom holes are marked L=3 mm, whereas the side holes are marked L=6 mm. Do not interchange these penetration limits.
PGG2MHS012 is the separately ordered mounting bracket listed for this series. Four brackets are required per power supply; that installation quantity does not specify a four-piece retail pack. The installation diagram shows four M4 side-mounting screws and an L=6 mm side-fixing reference. Confirm supplied hardware and use the actual unit drawing for bracket alignment.
Select an external battery, series fuse, power wiring and control mating assembly for the charging voltage, current, backup duration and installation conditions. Battery capacity and backup runtime are system choices; no fixed runtime is specified here.
The unit-weight figure is the catalogue PACKING reference per unit, not a measured net or shipping weight. The carton count and carton weight are separate packing data.
Read
more
less