MEAN WELL RPSG-160-48 is a 5 × 3-inch open-frame medical AC/DC power supply with a 48 V main output. The main-output current is 2.3 A with natural convection and 3.25 A with the specified 20.5 CFM airflow. G version with 5 V standby output and PS-ON control. It is intended for Class I equipment with protective grounding; BF applications require appropriate system consideration.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL RPS-160 Datasheet (PDF)
The RPS-160 section is on PDF pages 37, 38, 39, 40. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model and Application
Complete model
RPSG-160-48
Configuration
G version with 5 V standby output and PS-ON control.
Board format
127 × 76.2 mm (5 × 3 inches); open-frame PCB construction.
Intended applications
Oral irrigators, hemodialysis equipment, medical monitors and sleep-apnea devices and pump equipment.
Medical component approvals and isolation ratings do not certify the completed device. The equipment design must satisfy the applicable patient-protection, grounding, leakage-current and EMC requirements.
Output Ratings and Cooling Conditions
Nominal main output
48 V.
Convection main-output current
0–2.3 A.
Forced-air main-output current
0–3.25 A with at least 20.5 CFM as shown in the installation drawing.
Main-output power at nominal voltage
110.4 W with convection and 156 W with 20.5 CFM, calculated from nominal voltage × the respective main-output current limit.
Catalogue family combined-power entries
113.4 W with convection; 161 W with 20.5 CFM. The table footnotes include 5 V standby at 0.6 A and 0.8 A respectively.
Voltage adjustment
43.2–52.8 V for the main output.
Ripple and noise, maximum
150 mVp-p.
Voltage tolerance
±2.0%; includes set-up tolerance, line regulation and load regulation.
Line regulation
±0.5%.
Load regulation
±1.0%.
Efficiency, typical
88%.
Use each rail’s voltage and current limit together with the cooling-mode total-power limit. The combined-power table is not a main-output-only rating and does not override any individual rail current limit. The standby rail is included in the total-power budget.
Unless otherwise stated, parameters are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C ambient. Ripple/noise uses 20 MHz bandwidth and a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by parallel 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors.
Input, Timing and Leakage
Input range
90–264 VAC or 127–370 VDC; observe the low-input derating curve.
Input frequency
47–63 Hz.
AC current, typical
2 A at 115 VAC; 1.1 A at 230 VAC.
Cold-start inrush, typical
35 A at 115 VAC; 70 A at 230 VAC.
Set-up and rise time
1800 ms set-up at 230 VAC; 3500 ms at 115 VAC; 30 ms rise at either input, at full load.
Hold-up time, typical
25 ms at 230 VAC; 20 ms at 115 VAC, at full load.
Earth leakage current
Less than 200 µA at 264 VAC.
Touch current
Less than 100 µA at 264 VAC, measured from primary input to DC output.
Power-factor correction
Built-in PFC; typical PF >0.93 at 230 VAC and >0.98 at 115 VAC, full load.
Switching-frequency reference
70 kHz for the 12–48 V models.
Protection
Short circuit and overload
105–135% of rated output power; hiccup mode automatically recovers after the fault is removed.
Overvoltage threshold
55.2–64.8 V.
Overvoltage response
Output shuts down; re-power to recover.
Overtemperature response
TSW1 shuts down the output and automatically recovers after temperature falls. TSW2 shuts down the output and requires re-powering to recover.
Protection trip thresholds do not increase the usable output rating.
Control and Monitoring
Power Good / Power Fail timing
10 ms < PG < 500 ms; PF >1 ms. CN3 pin 1 is labelled PG and pin 2 GND; the pages do not assign a separate PF pin or provide an additional signal-current rating.
Remote sense
The catalogue limits remote sense to the 5–15 V models; it is not specified for this 48 V output.
Status indication
An LED is shown on the mechanical drawing.
5 V standby output
5 V at up to 0.6 A with convection or 0.8 A with 20.5 CFM; tolerance ±2%, ripple/noise 50 mVp-p maximum.
PS-ON control
G model only: high (2–5 V) turns the main output on; low (0–0.5 V) turns it off. The interface sketch marks 5 mA maximum.
Standby and control connector
CN901 pin 1 PS/ON; pins 2 and 4 GND; pin 3 5VSB.
Low-power condition
Input consumption below 0.5 W is specified using PS-ON control on the G model; it is not a blanket operating no-load figure for all versions.
Temperature, Input Derating and Environment
Working temperature
−20 to +70°C with the applicable cooling and load restrictions.
Horizontal-mounting temperature curve
Natural convection: 100% of the convection rating through 40°C, falling to 40% at 60°C. With the specified fan airflow: 100% of the forced-air rating through 50°C, falling to 40% at 70°C. The no-fan curve ends at 60°C; do not extend it to 70°C.
Input-voltage curve
At 60 Hz, the graph permits 80% load at 90 VAC, rising to 100% at 100 VAC and remaining at 100% through 264 VAC.
Working humidity
20–90% RH, non-condensing.
Storage
−40 to +85°C; 10–95% RH, non-condensing.
Temperature coefficient
±0.03%/°C over 0–50°C.
Vibration
10–500 Hz, 2 G, 10 minutes per cycle; 60 minutes each along X, Y and Z.
Operating altitude
Up to 3,000 m. Above 2,000 m, reduce permitted ambient temperature by 3.5°C per additional 1,000 m for fanless operation, or 5°C per additional 1,000 m with a fan.
Combine temperature, input-voltage and airflow restrictions. Do not interpret the maximum ambient temperature as a full-power rating.
Installation and Mechanical Details
Dimensions, L × W × H
127 × 76.2 × 34.6 mm.
Mounting holes
Four holes, diameter 3.5 mm; centre spacing 117 × 66.2 mm.
Drawing references
Edge-to-hole offsets are 5 mm and 5 mm as drawn. General dimensional tolerance ±1 mm; projection below the board 3 mm maximum.
Forced-air arrangement
At least 20.5 CFM; the drawing shows a fan 5 cm from the board edge, centred at the 63.5 mm longitudinal position, with airflow across the board in the indicated direction.
Safety ground and chassis
M1 is the safety-ground point. Secure electrical connections between M1, M2 and chassis ground for the specified installation and EMC performance.
Heat sinks
HS1, HS2 and HS3 must not be shorted together.
Follow the complete mechanical drawing and manufacturer installation manual. The catalogue does not specify mounting-screw torque, supplied mounting hardware or a complete fan ordering code. The indicated airflow arrangement is required for the corresponding higher-load rating.
Compatible Connectors and Mating Parts
AC input CN1
JST B3P-VH or equivalent; pin 1 AC/N, pin 2 absent, pin 3 AC/L. Mating housing is printed as JST VHR; terminal JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent.
DC output CN2
JST B8P-VH or equivalent; pins 1–4 +V, pins 5–8 −V. Mating housing is printed as JST VHR; terminal JST SVH-21T-P1.1 or equivalent.
Power-Good / sense CN3
JST B4B-XH or equivalent; pin 1 PG, pin 2 GND, pin 3 −S, pin 4 +S. Mating housing is printed as JST XHP; terminal JST SXH-001T-P0.6 or equivalent. Use sense pins only on the 5–15 V models.
Standby CN901
The catalogue prints JST B-XH or equivalent, mating housing JST XHP, terminal JST SXH-001T. Pin 1 PS/ON; pins 2 and 4 GND; pin 3 5VSB.
The complete printed connector and terminal references above identify the documented interface parts. VHR and XHP are abbreviated housing-family references; B-XH and SXH-001T for CN901 are also incomplete ordering references. Confirm the full housing/contact suffix and circuit count with the connector supplier before ordering. No unprinted suffix or inclusion in the power-supply package is implied.
Safety, Isolation and EMC
Listed medical approvals
IEC60601-1:2005+A1+A2; TUV BS EN/EN60601-1:2006+A1+A12+A2; ANSI/AAMI ES60601-1:2005+A2; CAN/CSA C22.2 No.60601-1:2014+A2; EAC TP TC004.
Other design reference
BS EN/EN60335-1 is listed as a design reference by request, not an unconditional standard configuration approval.
Patient-protection isolation
Primary to secondary: 2 × MOPP; primary to earth: 1 × MOPP; secondary to earth: 1 × MOPP.
System configuration
Class I with FG. Suitable for BF applications with appropriate system consideration.
Withstand voltage
Input to output 4 kVAC; input to FG 2 kVAC; output to FG 1.5 kVAC.
Insulation resistance
Input/output, input/FG and output/FG: 100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C and 70% RH.
Emissions
BS EN/EN55011 (CISPR11), conducted and radiated Class B for Class I configuration. Harmonic current: BS EN/EN61000-3-2 Class A; flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-3.
Immunity framework
BS EN/EN55035 and BS EN/EN60601-1-2.
ESD
BS EN/EN61000-4-2: Level 4, 15 kV air and 8 kV contact.
RF immunity
BS EN/EN61000-4-3: Level 3, 10 V/m at 80 MHz–2.7 GHz; Table 9, 9–28 V/m at 385 MHz–5.78 GHz.
EFT / burst and surge
BS EN/EN61000-4-4: Level 3, 2 kV. BS EN/EN61000-4-5: Level 4, 4 kV line-to-FG and 2 kV line-to-line.
Conducted and magnetic immunity
BS EN/EN61000-4-6: Level 3, 10 V. BS EN/EN61000-4-8: Level 4, 30 A/m.
Voltage dips and interruptions
BS EN/EN61000-4-11: 100% dip for 1 period, 30% dip for 25 periods, and 100% interruption for 250 periods.
EMC testing used a 360 × 360 mm metal plate, 1 mm thick. This supply is an equipment component; EMC compliance must be confirmed again in the finished equipment.
Weight, Reliability and Catalogue Reference
Single-unit catalogue weight
330 g, from the explicit 0.33 kg per-unit PACKING entry. This is a catalogue reference, not a measured net or shipping weight.
Packing reference
36 pieces / 12.9 kg / 0.96 CUFT.
MTBF estimates
2082.3 thousand hours minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 234.5 thousand hours minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F at 25°C.
Manufacturer warranty
3 years, subject to applicable manufacturer terms.
Catalogue revision
RPS-160-SPEC 2026-02-28; combined PDF pages 37–40.
MTBF is a statistical reliability estimate under the stated methods, not a guaranteed service life.
Read
more
less