MEAN WELL RSP-2400-12 is a single-output enclosed AC/DC power supply rated 12 V, 166.7 A and 2000.4 W. It accepts 180-264 VAC or 254-370 VDC and includes active PFC, forced-air cooling, voltage programming, remote ON/OFF, remote sense and active current sharing.
Product Datasheet
Download MEAN WELL RSP-2400 Datasheet (PDF)
The RSP-2400 section is on PDF pages 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, 50. Refer to the complete mechanical drawings and notes when planning installation.
Model and Rated Output
Complete model
RSP-2400-12
Rated DC output
12 V; 166.7 A; 2000.4 W
Output current range
0-166.7 A
Local voltage adjustment
10.8-13.2 V, using the built-in output potentiometer
Ripple and noise
150 mVp-p maximum
Accuracy / regulation
Voltage tolerance ±1.0%; line regulation ±0.5%; load regulation ±0.5%
Typical efficiency
88%
RSP identifies the enclosed, single-output AC/DC power-supply series; 2400 is the output-wattage family designation; 12 is the nominal DC voltage. This model is rated 2000.4 W. The family name does not increase its actual power rating.
Unless stated otherwise, specifications are measured at 230 VAC, rated load and 25°C ambient. Tolerance includes setup tolerance, line regulation and load regulation. Ripple/noise is measured at 20 MHz bandwidth with a 12-inch twisted pair terminated by 0.1 µF and 47 µF capacitors in parallel.
Input and Start-up
Input range
180-264 VAC or 254-370 VDC; AC frequency 47-63 Hz
Typical power factor
0.95 at 230 VAC and full load; built-in active PFC
Typical AC current
15.5 A at 180 VAC; 12 A at 230 VAC
Inrush / leakage
Typical inrush 60 A at 230 VAC; leakage <2.0 mA at 240 VAC
Start-up / hold-up
Setup 1,000 ms; rise 80 ms; typical hold-up 12 ms, at full load
The input includes active inrush-current limiting. The block diagram lists PFC switching at 88 kHz and PWM switching at 100 kHz. The 60 Hz static-input curve permits 100% load from 180 to 264 VAC, subject to temperature and other operating limits.
Protection and Overload Selection
Protection functions
Short circuit, overload, overvoltage and overtemperature
Overload threshold
100-112% of rated output power
Overvoltage trip range
13.8-16.8 V; output shuts down; reapply input power to recover
Overtemperature response
Output shuts down and recovers automatically after temperature falls
Factory setting: CN3 pin 9 (OLP) is shorted to pin 10 (OL-SD). This selects constant-current limiting followed by shutdown after 5 seconds; reapply input power to recover. Removing this jumper selects continuous constant-current limiting. These protection thresholds are not additional continuous output ratings.
Remote Sense and Output-voltage Programming
Remote-sense compensation
Up to 0.25 V of voltage drop in the load wiring
Model-specific PV output range
2.4-13.2 V with an external DC control signal
Local sensing: keep +S connected to +V and -S connected to -V as shown in the factory configuration. For remote sensing, connect CN2 pin 8 (+S) to load positive and pin 7 (-S) to load negative using a twisted pair.
When voltage programming is not used, keep CN2 pin 3 (PV) shorted to pin 4 (PS); otherwise the supply has no output. To enable PV, first remove the PV/PS shorting connection on CN1/CN2, then apply an external DC signal to CN2 pin 3 (PV) relative to pin 5 (-S). Leaving the short fitted while programming may damage internal components. The illustrated PV circuit retains local +S/+V and -S/-V connections.
Do not apply a PWM signal to PV. The function manual describes a typical 20-110% adjustment span, but the model-specific voltage range above is the applicable published range. The command-voltage graph is marked non-linear; it is not an exact linear conversion formula.
The reference current-versus-voltage graph allows 100% rated current through 100% nominal output voltage, then slopes down to 80% current at 120% voltage. Stay within the model-specific PV range, current, rated power and thermal limits; the graph does not authorize an otherwise out-of-range voltage. With PV, the derating graph load percentage means percentage of rated output current. PV is not available during parallel operation.
Remote ON/OFF and Auxiliary Supply
Control terminals
RCG / RC: CN1 or CN2 pins 1 / 2; alternatively CN3 pins 5 / 6
Auxiliary supply
CN3 pin 8 AUX (+) / pin 7 AUXG: 12 V, 0.1 A; only for remote ON/OFF control
Circuit A, external 12 V source: source positive to RC, and source negative through the switch to RCG. Switch open means power ON; switch closed means power OFF.
Circuit B, internal auxiliary supply: AUX to RC, with the switch between RCG and AUXG. Switch open means ON; switch closed means OFF.
Circuit C, internal auxiliary supply with reversed switch action: AUX through an external 1 kΩ resistor to RC, RCG to AUXG, and the switch between RC and RCG. Switch closed means ON; switch open means OFF. Use the matching circuit from PDF page 45; switch logic is circuit-dependent.
Power OK Signals
Relay contact
CN3 pin 2 P OK / pin 1 P OK GND; maximum sink 500 mA, 20 V, total 10 W
TTL / open collector
CN3 pin 4 P OK2 / pin 3 P OK GND2; maximum sink 10 mA, 30 V
Both interfaces require an external voltage source and resistor. Output above 80% of rated voltage produces Low (Power OK); output below 80% produces High or open (Power Fail). The datasheet does not specify the exact transition behavior at 80%. Low is 0.5 V maximum at 500 mA for the relay interface, or at 10 mA for P OK2. The P OK2 circuit shows an internal 0.1 µF capacitor. Size the external supply and resistor within the relevant interface ratings.
Active Current Sharing
Up to three units can share current. Use short, large-diameter power wires and adjust the output-voltage difference between units to less than 0.2 V before paralleling. Maximum total output current = rated current per unit × number of units × 0.9. This model contributes a rated-current basis of 166.7 A per unit; do not use the family-name wattage as a substitute.
Connect +S, -S and CS mutually in parallel through CN1 or CN2. For remote sensing, connect the load-sense pair only to the master unit and twist the sense wires together. CN1 and CN2 are internally connected. Sharing may not be fully balanced below 3% of the aggregate rated current. Output-voltage programming is unavailable in parallel mode.
The family listing mentions up to 7200 W (2+1), but actual system sizing must obey the model ratings and the 0.9 current-sharing limit above.
Using Three Units on a Three-phase Distribution System
PDF page 48 shows three separate single-phase-input supplies connected to a three-phase distribution system. Each individual supply still uses L, N and protective earth and must receive 180-264 VAC across its input terminals.
For a 3-wire 220 VAC system, each supply connects across a phase pair at 220 V. For a 4-wire 220/380 VAC system, each connects phase-to-neutral at 220 V, not phase-to-phase at 380 V. For a 4-wire 190/110 VAC system, each connects phase-to-phase at 190 V and the neutral is not connected; 110 V phase-to-neutral is outside this input range. Connect each FG terminal to protective earth.
Control Connectors and Mating Parts
CN1 and CN2, each 8 positions
Onboard HRS DF11-8DP-2DS or equivalent; mating housing HRS DF11-8DS or equivalent
CN3, 10 positions
Onboard HRS DF11-10DP-2DS or equivalent; mating housing HRS DF11-10DS or equivalent
Contacts printed in the catalog
HRS DF11-**SC or equivalent
CN1/CN2 pinout: 1 RCG (remote-control ground); 2 RC (remote ON/OFF); 3 PV (voltage programming); 4 PS (reference voltage); 5 and 7 -S (negative sense); 6 CS (current share); 8 +S (positive sense). The two headers are internally connected.
CN3 pinout: 1 P OK GND; 2 P OK (relay contact); 3 P OK GND2; 4 P OK2 (TTL/open collector); 5 RCG; 6 RC; 7 AUXG; 8 AUX; 9 OLP; 10 OL-SD. Pins 9 and 10 select overload behavior and are shorted at shipment.
There are two 8-position control headers and one 10-position header. Each connected header needs one matching housing with contacts for the positions used. This identifies mating requirements, not a promise that harnesses are included. DF11-**SC contains an unspecified suffix; select the exact contact variant for the wire and connector requirements before ordering.
Dimensions, Mounting and Cooling
Case dimensions
278 × 177.8 × 63.5 mm (L × W × H); 2U; case 982B
Mounting screws
M4; maximum penetration 5 mm; recommended mounting torque 7-10 kgf·cm
AC terminals TB1
1 AC/L; 2 AC/N; 3 FG (protective earth); maximum terminal torque 18 kgf·cm
Cooling
Forced air from built-in DC fans with fan-speed control
The mechanical drawing tolerance is ±0.5 mm. Base mounting: 4-M4, L=5 mm, on a 236.3 × 162 mm pattern; shown offsets are 27 mm longitudinally and 7.9 mm transversely. Side mounting: 8-M4 on both sides, L=5 mm, with 38 mm vertical spacing and a 12.5 mm top offset. Use the complete drawing on PDF page 49 for hole locations.
The +V/-V output bars project 40 mm beyond the case, are 4 mm thick and show Ø8.5 mm holes; the drawing also identifies 2-M4 and M3 features. The AC terminal projection is 16 mm maximum. Allow room for busbars, wiring and service access in addition to the case dimensions. The 18 kgf·cm value is for AC terminals, not a specified output-bar torque.
Airflow runs from the two-fan end toward the terminal/output end. Keep that path unobstructed; this catalog does not give a numerical external ventilation clearance. The terminal-end drawing shows an LED and the output-voltage adjustment control. Conformal coating is optional; a complete coating order suffix is not specified in these pages.
Operating Conditions and Derating
Operating ambient
-20 to +70°C, subject to derating
Humidity / storage
Operating 20-90% RH; storage -40 to +85°C, 10-95% RH; non-condensing
Temperature coefficient
±0.05%/°C over 0-50°C
Vibration
10-500 Hz, 2 G; 10 min/cycle, 60 min along each X/Y/Z axis
In horizontal orientation, the thermal curve permits 100% load from -20 to 50°C, declining linearly to 50% at 70°C. Load means output-power percentage in normal operation, or rated-output-current percentage when PV is used. Apply all input, thermal, current and power limits together.
Above 2000 m (6500 ft), reduce the permitted ambient temperature by 5°C per additional 1000 m for this fan-cooled series. The fanless 3.5°C note is not applicable. The efficiency-versus-load graph is specifically for the 48 V model at 230 VAC; it does not replace this model's tabulated efficiency.
Safety, EMC and Reliability
Dielectric withstand
Input-output 3 kVAC; input-FG 2 kVAC; output-FG 0.5 kVAC
Insulation resistance
100 MΩ at 500 VDC, 25°C, 70% RH for input-output, input-FG and output-FG
Catalog unit-weight reference
3300 g, from the per-unit PACKING entry
Packing reference
3.3 kg per unit; 4 pcs / 14.2 kg / 2.04 CUFT
MTBF
692.3K h minimum, Telcordia SR-332 (Bellcore); 83.9K h minimum, MIL-HDBK-217F (25°C)
The datasheet lists UL62368-1, CSA C22.2 No. 62368-1, TUV BS EN/EN62368-1, BSMI CNS15598-1, AS/NZS62368.1, IS13252(Part1)/IEC60950-1 and EAC TP TC 004 approvals. These are the catalog's listed standards, not a separate verification of a particular installed system.
Conducted emissions: BS EN/EN55032 (CISPR32), CNS15936 Class B. Radiated emissions: the same standards, Class A. Harmonic current and flicker: BS EN/EN61000-3-2 and -3-3. The immunity framework lists BS EN/EN55035, BS EN/EN61000-6-2 and BSMI CNS13438.
Immunity levels: BS EN/EN61000-4-2 ESD, level 3 at 8 kV air and level 2 at 4 kV contact; -4-3 radiated, -4-4 EFT/burst and -4-6 conducted, level 3; -4-5 surge, level 3 at 2 kV line-earth and level 2 at 1 kV line-line; -4-8 magnetic field, level 4. The -4-11 tests list >95% dips for 0.5 periods, 30% dips for 25 periods and >95% interruptions for 250 periods.
EMC tests used a 720 × 360 × 1 mm metal plate. This supply is a component for final equipment; the completed equipment must be reconfirmed for EMC compliance.
The unit-weight figure is a catalog packing reference, not a separately measured net weight or the weight of a complete shipment. The manufacturer datasheet lists a 5-year warranty, subject to the applicable manufacturer terms.
Read
more
less